Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Northbank Restaurant & Bar Reviews List

Northbank Restaurant & Bar

Northbank is located next to the Millennium Bridge with spectacular views of the Tate Modern and Globe Theatre. Head Chef Jason Marchant is passionate about sourcing local produce for his Modern British menu with a Cornish influence. Enjoy a Traditional Afternoon Tea or indulge in the eclectic wine and cocktail list. Together with the terrace, riverside views, friendly service and all round relaxed atmosphere, Northbank is a great lunch or dinner getaway. Group bookings, private hire also available.
See more Northbank Restaurant & Bar details
288 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
(288 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 288 reviews
5 stars
(95)
4 stars
(140)
3 stars
(40)
2 stars
(11)
1 star
(2)
Food 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Value 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • Business Meals(155)
  • special occasion(121)
  • fit for foodies(85)
  • romantic(80)
  • great for outdoor dining(51)
  • good for groups(48)
Northbank Restaurant & Bar Reviews List
Review 1 for Northbank Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 04/02/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Northbank Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Lovely Meal

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"We really enjoyed our dinner at The Northbank. We started with drinks at the bar where we were looked after by a friendly and charming barman who tested out some new cocktails on us.
Food was delicious. The smoked trout mousse which came with our starter was a highlight and both steak and fish dishes came as requested.
Sticky toffee pudding was outrageous, wine good value, service unobtrusive and well timed.
"
Dined on 30/01/2016
 2007
Special Features: Business Meals
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Northbank Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Recovered well

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Three options had run out on the menu. This meant we all ended up having fish. I was very disappointed but the absolutely charming staff brought us a glass of champagne on the house which helped the situation.
What we did have was excellent. I would never have thought of pairing sea bass with oxtail but it worked a treat. And the chocolate fondant with raspberry sorbet was also delicious. Well done Jason!
And well done to the front of house workers who could not be faulted."
Dined on 30/01/2016
 2004
Special Features: Sunday Lunch, Business Meals
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Northbank Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 28/01/2016
 2001
Special Features: Pre/Post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Northbank Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Another great meal

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Went on the 50% off a la carte deal. The crab linguine starters was lovely as was the venison. Finished off with a sticky toffee pudding. It was all cooked well and really lovely. The ambience in Northbank is lovely and the staff were great. I will definitely go back."
Dined on 20/01/2016
 2006
Special Features: Business Meals
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Northbank Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Gorgeous setting, lovely food

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"We dined here for a cheeky lunchtime date in London using a 50% off deal. This made the food really reasonable for inner London. It was a sunny winter's day and we loved people watching all the walkers and runners running along the Thames. Great variety on the menu and my cocktail was enormous. Food was really lovely if not amazing."
Dined on 06/02/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Northbank Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Very Good and recommend !

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Second time to Northbank. Very satisfied. Happened to be in a Michelin star restaurant just the day before. Must say Northbank is much better!"
Dined on 12/01/2016
 2012
Special Features: Business Meals
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Northbank Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Superb view

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Excellent meal by the window with great view of the Thames. Salmon special and sea bass both well presented and left room for delicious sticky toffee pudding. Courteous service made this a good option for a business meeting"
Dined on 14/01/2016
 2005
Special Features: Business Meals
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Northbank Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Amazing food, beautiful restaurant

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Lovely interior and really wonderful staff. We went as 6 for a birthday meal, we had an extra join us and the staff were really accommodating. The venison and short rib dishes were excellent. Good wine menu and delicious espresso martini! We had a glass of fizz on arrival too and a complimentary amuse-bouche, and 50% off, which meant we were all pleasantly surprised with the bill. Quite low key atmosphere and we were a big group but it is January! Will definitely return, would be good for clients."
Dined on 14/01/2016
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Northbank Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

really good find

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"hidden away down on the river - this was really nice on a cold jan evening but would be truly fab on a sunny summers day.
And their current offer of 50% off food is genuine and very worthwhile - saved us £70
We will definitely be back"
Dined on 13/01/2016
 2005
Special Features: Business Meals, Disabled Access
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Northbank Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Lovely food

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 12/01/2016
 2003
Special Features: Business Meals
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Northbank Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 12/01/2016
 2010
Special Features: Business Meals
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Northbank Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

An excellent lunch venue

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"An excellent lunch venue which I am sure will be great in the summer when the outdoor area will be available"
Dined on 12/01/2016
 2011
Special Features: Business Meals
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Northbank Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 12/12/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Northbank Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Excellent Service and enjoyable meal

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 30/10/2015
 2009
Special Features: Business Meals
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Northbank Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 31/12/2015
 2015
Dined on 31/12/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 31/12/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Northbank Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 31/12/2015
 2015
Dined on 31/12/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 31/12/2015
 2015
Special Features: Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Northbank Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Awful service

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 31/12/2015
 2012
Dined on 31/12/2015
 2012
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"Our prosecco was put in a shared ice bucket with all diners wines. We received only two small glasses of prosecco as the rest was distributed with other diners. We had cheese and 1 bottle of prosecco which came to £100. How is that possible when the prosecco was £19 and the cheese was £9. When we complained they showed us a different bill. Terrible service."
Dined on 31/12/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Northbank Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Great food

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"We enjoyed our lunch. The food was great and the service excellent. The only thing we felt was that the restaurant, or the part we sat in, is quite narrow so I was conscious of knocking someone over if I moved my chair back! Other than that great place with lovely views of the river."
Dined on 18/12/2015
 2015
Special Features: Business Meals, Disabled Access
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Northbank Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 25/11/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Northbank Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great food and friendly staff

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"No complaints, food was excellent and staff friendly. I love the cornish theme from the beer through to the fish and cheeses. parsnip soup hor d'oeuvres and bread was an added bonus, very nice touch."
Dined on 15/12/2015
 2015
Special Features: Business Meals
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Northbank Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 16/12/2015
 2014
Dined on 16/12/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 16/12/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Northbank Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 10/12/2015
 2007
Special Features: Business Meals
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Northbank Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/12/2015
 2009
Dined on 10/12/2015
 2009
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 10/12/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Northbank Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Business lunch at Northbank

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"This was my first time at the Northbank and it made for a pleasing alternative to the city restaurants I normally attend. I would recommend it to others for lunches."
Dined on 02/12/2015
 2011
Special Features: Business Meals
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Northbank Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 05/12/2015
 2014
Dined on 05/12/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"The staff and the food were just perfect! Fantastic meal.
Went for an amazing crab linguine and followed by a perfectly cooked fillet steak! Along with a beautiful New Zealand Sauvignon blanc I'd recommend this to everyone!
"
Dined on 05/12/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Northbank Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

A special occasion made memorable

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"After attending a service at St Paul's Cathedral we made our way towards the river and the welcome sight of 'Northbank'.
We were immediately made to feel welcome and as requested our table with the view of the river was ready for us.
Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and they looked after us very well.
I had told the restaurant in advance it was my wife's birthday, and the 'Happy birthday' message spelt out on her desert plate was a lovely way to end the evening.
"
Dined on 28/11/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Northbank Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 19/09/2015
 2015
Dined on 19/09/2015
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 19/09/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Northbank Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great food and decor let down by poor service

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"Great location, excellent food though portions are very much on the stingy side.
The experience was marred by a couple of waitresses that were pleasing on the eye, but spoke hardly any English (or if they did their heavy accent made it impossible to understand)
Not sure if restaurants hire these people to save money, but I felt it detracted from the fabulous food.
One of the side orders (mash) was very late in arriving and the mash served with the beef rib was tasty but cold."
Dined on 26/11/2015
 2011
Special Features: Business Meals
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Northbank Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Had a special anniversary dinner here. We wanted a good restaurant for a special occasion and indeed we were very happy with the choice. Food was top quality. Service was good as well, although at times we wanted more time between the courses as we wanted to enjoy the moment and we were not in a rush. Also we were surprised by a special dessert to celebrate our occasion which was really nice.
Overall, highly recommend.
"
Dined on 26/11/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Northbank Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 25/11/2015
 2003
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Northbank Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

good food, service a bit sleepy

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Very pleasant lunch at an old favourite. Food good as usual-Cod was excellent and the collar of pork/pig cheeks also much enjoyed.Service was a little slow however which meant a later return to the office than was desirable."
Dined on 23/11/2015
 2012
Special Features: Business Meals
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Northbank Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 18/11/2015
 2010
Special Features: Business Meals
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Northbank Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 19/11/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Northbank Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great food, great service

Customer Avatar
an OpenTable Diner
Dined on 02/11/2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Had dinner here on 2nd November. The food was excellent. Scallops just melted in the mouth. The service was fantastic and the waitresses were so friendly. Great night, if a little on the pricey side but definitely worth it.
Will definitely be going back"
Dined on 02/11/2015
Special Features: Business Meals, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Northbank Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Northbank Restaurant & Bar

Customer Avatar
an OpenTable Diner
Dined on 31/10/2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"Disappointing on a few levels. Quite a restricted menu and service much too over-attentive.
The restaurant was not full but we felt quite rushed as we had not even finished our starters when our bread plates were whisked away. We had to ask for a delay between starter and mains as the arrival of the mains was far too soon. One diner had a steak - and considering vegetables had to be ordered and paid for separately - the presentation of it was poor, sitting as it did in the middle of the plate all by itself without any garnish.
Lighting was so low other diners had to use their mobile phones as torches to read the menu! A great location with lovely views but would not re-visit for reasons stated."
Dined on 31/10/2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Northbank Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Nice place. Vegetarians: you'll survive not thrive

Customer Avatar
an OpenTable Diner
Dined on 30/10/2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"Great view. Diligent and friendly service. Drinks are pricey. Produce quality is impeccable. Cooking was great but not oustanding. That however is a reflection of competition in London rather than absolute. It doesn't pitch to vegetarians specifically but given the market and effort put in for the meat based menu I was surprised to see such heavy bordering on stodgy and limited non-meat options. Not because of cooking rather the options - pastry or pasta. Non meat options appeared an after thought. Go again? Yes, but not before exploring other options at that range. Anywhere else but London it'd be high end."
Dined on 30/10/2015
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Northbank Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

A little disappointed

Customer Avatar
an OpenTable Diner
Dined on 30/10/2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"We were a little disappointed that al the specials had been sold especially when you consider we had a Friday night booking. You would have thought that enough would have Ben purchased for the weekend."
Dined on 30/10/2015
Special Features: romantic, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Northbank Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
an OpenTable Diner
Dined on 14/07/2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Excellent service and nice freebie little touches like a free Gazpacho,
Despite the weather being awful the table looking out onto the southbank was a great spot,
Thoroughly recommend
"
Dined on 14/07/2015
Special Features: Pre/Post Theatre, Business Meals, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Northbank Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great Meal and Service

Customer Avatar
an OpenTable Diner
Dined on 24/10/2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Had a fabulous meal here to celebrate my husbands 60th birthday. Food and service was outstanding. The barman also made a cocktail for my husband which wasn't on their menu but he was happy to oblige!"
Dined on 24/10/2015
Special Features: romantic, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for Northbank Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

nice dinner

an OpenTable Diner
Dined on 22/10/2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"nothing memorable, but good menu nicely executed, from the bread through dessert. steak and sea bream were especially good. servers are young, struggled with English & didn't pick up some of our requests, but tried & were pleasant. good meal: nothing more, nothing less. safe choice near St Paul's."
Dined on 22/10/2015
Special Features: Business Meals
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Northbank Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Fab Restaurant

Customer Avatar
an OpenTable Diner
Dined on 20/10/2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Had a lovely dinner with two girlfriends. We booked the special set price deal and were really impressed with the additional freebies - delicious amuse bouche, hot rolls & butter and petit fours. Service was top notch too - our waitresses were very friendly, helpful and professional."
Dined on 20/10/2015
Special Features: Business Meals, Outstanding Value, romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Northbank Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
an OpenTable Diner
Dined on 17/10/2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 17/10/2015
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Northbank Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

an OpenTable Diner
Dined on 25/09/2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 25/09/2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Northbank Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
an OpenTable Diner
Dined on 17/10/2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 17/10/2015
Special Features: Business Meals, fit for foodies, Afternoon Tea, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Northbank Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
an OpenTable Diner
Dined on 19/09/2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"We loved everything there ! Cocktails , wines , the food were amazing ! The service was great! Defiantly return again!"
Dined on 19/09/2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Northbank Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Great food - staff not so good

Customer Avatar
an OpenTable Diner
Dined on 08/10/2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"The restaurant looks nice and the food was good but the staff let the place down. They are too intent on having a good time themselves, hugging, chatting and even all disappearing together at one point. Shame, I was really looking forward to visiting Northbank."
Dined on 08/10/2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Northbank Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
an OpenTable Diner
Dined on 12/10/2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 12/10/2015
Special Features: Business Meals, Outstanding Value, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Northbank Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Disappointed but I'll give it another try

Customer Avatar
an OpenTable Diner
Dined on 10/10/2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"I had high hopes for this but left rather deflated. The welcome was rather brusque and my table was the first one by the door, so the common attitude to single diners. Wasn't offered the option of sitting elsewhere - this was plainly my allocated table - but I should have requested. If you're offered any of the first 5-6 tables, ask to be seated further into the restaurant as they are devoid of any ambience. Add to the fact there was a cool draught throughout the evening from the entrance, which spoilt my enjoyment of the food. I felt the service was too rushed with little time to savour the food between courses. Whereas it was reasonably polite, it was not warm and engaging and felt as if there was no differentiation between customers there for a weekday business meal and those there for a relaxing meal at the weekend (I went on a Saturday evening deliberately). I think they've missed a trick there. And as for the now ubiquitous command "Enjoy!" every time a dish is placed in front of you. How I dislike that - please use something else. I'll decide if I enjoy it or not, thank you.
That aside, the saving graces were the red wines on offer and the lamb rump - the lamb, in particular, was cooked just right and there was a good portion of it as well, with the potato terrine. I'd have that again for sure. The opening crab & clotted cream tart could have done with a tad more crab for taste but was a pleasant starter. I was a bit disappointed with the cheese board with four small pieces of cheese in one quarter and the rest of the board covered in crackers, toasted baguette slices and a large dollop of chutney. Slightly larger cheese portions (same cheese would be fine as the tastes were very good) and a smaller amount of chutney would address the balance.
I went there with a view to scout the place as a potential venue for a planned dinner party for 10-12. I left unsure how to score it but there's enough to go back and give it a second chance."
Dined on 10/10/2015
Special Features: Pre/Post Theatre, Business Meals, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Northbank Restaurant & Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Northbank Restaurant

an OpenTable Diner
Dined on 09/10/2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Lovely lunch held outside in the lovely Autumn sunshine. Great place right by the river"
Dined on 09/10/2015
Special Features: Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, fit for foodies, good for groups, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, Disabled Access
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>