Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Zephyr on the Charles Reviews List

Zephyr on the Charles

Zephyr on the Charles is located along the Charles River overlooking the Boston skyline. Featuring a modern ambiance that is both inviting and friendly, guests are welcomed to this New England style restaurant where local cuisine and fresh flavors are celebrated.

With a locally inspired menu serving breakfast, lunch, dinner and cocktails, Zephyr on the Charles is a classically inspired New England cuisine restaurant with great views. The restaurant offers New England regional cuisine inspired by the bounty of our local fisheries, farms, and dairies in the area. Enjoy three-hours of complimentary self-parking.

This summer, visit our new venture with Cape Ann Brewing Company, Under the Hops. Offering seasonal craft beer tastings, creative cocktails and an artisanal pizza menu, all on an outdoor patio overlooking the Boston skyline and Charles River, Under the Hops is open each Thursday night from 5:30PM-8:00PM.
See more Zephyr on the Charles details
71 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
(71 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 71 reviews
5 stars
(17)
4 stars
(32)
3 stars
(12)
2 stars
(8)
1 star
(2)
Food 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Service 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Ambiance 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Noise Level
1.6 / 3
Moderate
Value 
3.5 / 5
(Very Good) 3.5 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • scenic view(34)
  • great for lunch(15)
  • special occasion(12)
  • fit for foodies(10)
  • great for brunch(9)
  • romantic(9)
Zephyr on the Charles Reviews List
Review 1 for Zephyr on the Charles
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2015
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Zephyr on the Charles
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 2/03/2016
 2001
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Zephyr on the Charles
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 1/21/2016
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Zephyr on the Charles
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 1/06/2016
 2001
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Zephyr on the Charles
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

The food never came...

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/12/2016
 2013
Dined on 1/12/2016
 2013
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"The waiter was professional, but the service was not good, in that it took forever for the
food to arrive. I have eaten at Zephyr many times and this was the longest it took. There
really is no excuse for this, as the restaurant was not full (at all). Other colleagues have
complained about this as well. We can't continue to support you, when you don't address
our concerns. We will need to go to Kendall Square...
"
Dined on 1/12/2016
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Zephyr on the Charles
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/10/2016
 2010
Dined on 1/10/2016
 2010
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 1/10/2016
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Zephyr on the Charles
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2015
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2015
Special Features: scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Zephyr on the Charles
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Great views if you are seated by the windows overlooking the Charles river. In the summer, it would be great to dine outdoors. New Year's Eve was busy and they didn't seem to have enough staff around. Overall, it was still a very good dinner, more reasonably priced than other Boston hotel restaurants"
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2014
Special Features: great for brunch, scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Zephyr on the Charles
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2012
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2012
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2012
Special Features: scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Zephyr on the Charles
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2012
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Zephyr on the Charles
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Zephyr on the Charles
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 12/21/2015
 2001
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Zephyr on the Charles
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Great Sunday lunch with scenic view

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Zephyr is a go-to if I want to get together with friends on a Sunday. It's easy to get to, free parking, you can almost always get an Open Table reservation even close to the date. The food is good -- in winter I often go for the fish and chips, the fish is moist, the batter is lightly crisp and delicious, the fries thinnish and not too heavy. My dining companion usually has the caesar salad with grilled shrimp which is fresh and comes in a large bowl. Service is prompt and attentive, and everyone is pleasant and non-intrusive from the host to the busboy. The view is awesome -- across the Charles River to the BU skyline. I'll add that in summer there is a balcony with tables that are a delight as long as it is not too hot (shading depends on the angle of the sun) and buggy, although the sounds from Memorial Drive may bother some (it didn't take a lot for me to tune it out.)"
Dined on 12/13/2015
 2008
Special Features: great for brunch, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Zephyr on the Charles
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 12/09/2015
 2001
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Zephyr on the Charles
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 12/08/2015
 2001
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Zephyr on the Charles
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Dramatic decrease in portion size!

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Portion size has decreased significantly: it is now ridiculous. Especially for the prices charged. Will not go back."
Dined on 12/03/2015
 2003
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Zephyr on the Charles
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 12/07/2015
 2001
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Zephyr on the Charles
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/02/2011
 2011
Dined on 6/02/2011
 2011
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/02/2011
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Zephyr on the Charles
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

View was the best part of the meal

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2008
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2008
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We booked for Thanksgiving dinner at Zephyr on the Charles. The view was lovely and the service was friendly and attentive. Unfortunately, the food was mediocre. The dinner started promisingly with a delicious parsnip soup., but it went downhill from there. The entrees were both underwhelming and the dessert buffet looked like it needed refreshing and nothing looked very appetizing. All in all, we were pretty disappointed in the food."
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2008
Special Features: scenic view, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Zephyr on the Charles
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Restaurant Staff Shine

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"A big thank you to Zephyr staff and some patrons who helped a family member up after a fall. People couldn't have been nicer and more reassuring. Fall had NOTHING to do with anything out of whack at the restaurant. Just an accident. A great lunch followed. Kindness came from all corners, especially the hostess. Thank you!"
Dined on 11/08/2015
 2005
Special Features: great for lunch, scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Zephyr on the Charles
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Delicious food & view of Boston across the Charles

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Many restaurants with good views get by with uninspiring food. Zephyr is a notable exception. Every dinner that I've eaten here has been simply delicious. Consequently, I keep coming back. My child attending college nearby also really likes the food here, so dinner at Zephyr has become a part of every family visit."
Dined on 10/24/2015
 2013
Special Features: scenic view, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Zephyr on the Charles
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/23/2015
 2014
Dined on 9/23/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/23/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Zephyr on the Charles
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Romantic, scenic and excellent service

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"My wife and I ate at Zephyr t celebrate our 15th wedding anniversary. It was a beautiful night, so we opted to dine at one of their outdoor tables. Our waiter was excellent; attentive and friendly. I had the pork chop, my wife had the flank steak. We both had the clam chowder as an appetizer, and the waiter offered a delicious pretzel roll with a honey mustard dipping sauce. The food was very good, and the cocktails were also delicious. I highly recommend Zephyr."
Dined on 9/19/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, kid-friendly, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Zephyr on the Charles
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/19/2015
 2015
Dined on 8/19/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/19/2015
 2015
Special Features: great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Zephyr on the Charles
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/05/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Zephyr on the Charles
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 9/04/2015
 2015
Special Features: scenic view, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Zephyr on the Charles
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Great service!"
Dined on 9/04/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Zephyr on the Charles
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/27/2015
 2011
Dined on 8/27/2015
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/27/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Zephyr on the Charles
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/26/2015
 2010
Dined on 8/26/2015
 2010
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/26/2015
 2010
Special Features: great for lunch, scenic view, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Zephyr on the Charles
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/20/2015
 2015
Dined on 8/20/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/20/2015
 2015
Special Features: scenic view, great for outdoor dining, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Zephyr on the Charles
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/20/2015
 2006
Dined on 8/20/2015
 2006
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/20/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Zephyr on the Charles
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

The food was great. The staff was good.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The food was great. The staff was friendly and pleasant. However where we sat was not set up yet. We were given utensils and napkins, but not place mats or dish for bread. This did not mean I would not recommend them."
Dined on 8/20/2015
 2011
Special Features: great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Zephyr on the Charles
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/17/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Zephyr on the Charles
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

AMAZING VIEW

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/01/2015
 2014
Dined on 3/01/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Amazing view!!! Its great for special occasion. I had a lovely time."
Dined on 3/01/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Zephyr on the Charles
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

not unexpected but nonetheless disappointing

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"the food was OK, the setting is tired and oddly laid out, and the hotel within which the restaurant sits is a dinosaur, but the worst part of this meal by far was the service. plus side: very friendly servers (only reason for 2 stars). down side: the servers spend more time talking to one another and wandering around aimlessly than they do serving customers. it took forever, on a # of occasions, to get someone's attention. then the waiter starts offering suggestions ("my favorites") without asking me what i like (as it happens, i don't eat red meat and his two suggestions were red meat). anyway, mediocre food and a bad service experience in a dated setting make for a NO recommendation; there are WAY too many great restaurants in Cambridge to spend time and $$$ at this one."
Dined on 7/13/2015
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Zephyr on the Charles
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/24/2015
 2013
Dined on 7/24/2015
 2013
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/24/2015
 2013
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Zephyr on the Charles
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/15/2015
 2012
Dined on 7/15/2015
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/15/2015
 2012
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Zephyr on the Charles
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/15/2015
 2009
Dined on 7/15/2015
 2009
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/15/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Zephyr on the Charles
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 7/04/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Zephyr on the Charles
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/11/2015
 2011
Dined on 6/11/2015
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/11/2015
 2011
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for Zephyr on the Charles
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/09/2015
 2015
Dined on 6/09/2015
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/09/2015
 2015
Special Features: great for lunch, scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Zephyr on the Charles
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Great location; OK food; distracted service

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We feted the start of summer with 2/3 triplet coed granddaughters at this old favorite on the Charles. Plentiful overly chunky ingredients in the lobster cob salad; haddock special wasn't; lobster roll was excellent; ; superior ice cream and cheesecake deserts. Slow, forgetful wine service. Perhaps the staff was distracted by the large formal dinner downstairs."
Dined on 5/28/2015
 2009
Special Features: scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Zephyr on the Charles
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/20/2015
 2015
Dined on 5/20/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The staff was outstanding! We had a nice view of the Charles river cuz we asked for it :) food was delicious, we had lobster bisque, chicken wings is really good :) a bit of spicy!"
Dined on 5/20/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Zephyr on the Charles
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Delicious food

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/14/2015
 2015
Dined on 4/14/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Delicious healthy food, warm welcoming staff, excellent service, beautiful surroundings, spectacular river views, and to top it all off, reasonable prices!!"
Dined on 4/14/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, scenic view, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Zephyr on the Charles
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

No Sunday Brunch!

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/12/2015
 2010
Dined on 4/12/2015
 2010
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Booked this out-of-the-way spot through searches for brunch, because of the reviews on their buffet brunch. When we got there at 12.45...there is no brunch!!!
Food was mediocre, asked for medium rare chicken in my sandwich and it arrived dry as bone.
Overall, not at all satisfactory.
Beautiful views overlooking the river. Our server was very attentive and kind.
The facility however is drab and dated.
"
Dined on 4/12/2015
 2010
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Zephyr on the Charles
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Lovely room with a view!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We tried this on restaurant week in March. We were given a semi-private room to ourselves with a great view of the Charles River. The restaurant week choices were great, but the rest of my party ordered off the menu...also great. I quite enjoyed this venue for their food and their great service."
Dined on 3/08/2015
 2008
Special Features: scenic view, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Zephyr on the Charles
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The only complaint I have have is that in trying to find the restaurant there was no signage outside the building nor was it made clear that it was inside the Hyatt Hotel."
Dined on 3/18/2015
 2008
Special Features: scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Zephyr on the Charles
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Nice

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/13/2015
 2015
Dined on 3/13/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"My boyfriend and I came here the last night of Restaurant Week and enjoyed ourselves. I ordered the lobster bisque, duck with blueberry sauce, asparagus and quinoa, and the key lime tart. He ordered the fried calamari, steak and mashed potatoes and key lime tart. The food was delicious and filling. We ended up having to take our desserts home because we were stuffed. The only critique i would make, the wait staff needs to be more attentive. I shouldn't have to track someone down to refill my water, especially when I didn't order a drink. But she was very nice when she did finally come around. It was a very nice experience. I was born and raised in Cambridge, but never had been to the Hyatt. It was exciting finally getting an opportunity to ride in those lit up elevators that I've seen from the road many of nights. I felt like a tourist when we went to the top floor and took pictures out the window at the amazing view. :-)"
Dined on 3/13/2015
 2015
Special Features: scenic view, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Zephyr on the Charles
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Gorgeous view, if only the food matched

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"My husband and I joined friends for "Dine Out Boston" at Zephyr on a Friday evening. Even before we entered the restaurant there was a lot of buzz with the Air Force Ball attendees gathering in the vestibule, which was fun to witness.
The staff were friendly and ready to take us to our seat, despite our few minutes tardiness. The view for three of the four of us looked out on the Charles with the Citgo sign beaming across the river, and really was lovely.
The options on the Dine Out Boston menu were almost identical to what we had seen on their website, with the exception of the mussels that my husband had been eager to order. He went with the calamari instead, which was good, though a little heavy on the oil in the frying process, I think.
I had the lobster bisque, which was quite delicious, though lacking in any significant chunks of lobster meat, one of my favorite parts of a good bisque.
We both had the Sweet English Pea ravioli, which had a nice light sauce and pesto. The pasta was fairly good, but the pea stuffing was barely tolerable. The peas were almost on the crunchy side and were it not for the fact that I was "eating for two", I likely would have eaten much less than I managed.
The key lime pie I had for dessert was passable, though rather heavy, and the additional chocolate straws on top and pool of condensed milk next to the slice didn't seem to fit with the rest of the dish.
This was the first time we had been to Zephyr, and were really hoping for great things, since this is the hotel we booked a block of rooms for our wedding guests back in August. We only hope that any of them that dined at Zephyr during their stay had a better meal than we experienced on Friday."
Dined on 3/06/2015
 2010
Special Features: scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Zephyr on the Charles
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Very disappointing

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The meal service and atmosphere were mediocre at best. The hotel management was very professional and generously payed for the meal and then some. They also let us know they would be sharing our comments with the restaurant to help improve things going forward."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2015
Special Features: great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>