Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Ouest Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Ouest

Ouest is a contemporary American Bistro, highly regarded on the Upper West Side and citywide. Executive Chef/Owner Thomas Valenti has created an oasis of fine dining and fine wines in a casual but sophisticated environment. If there is a special occasion (i.e. birthday, anniversary), please let us know if you would like a candle in dessert.

Corkage fee; $30. If you bring your own cake, it is a $3 per person plate charge.
217 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
(217 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 217 reviews
5 stars
(74)
4 stars
(85)
3 stars
(38)
2 stars
(17)
1 star
(3)
Food 
4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4 / 5
Service 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Ambiance 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Noise Level
2.2 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • neighborhood gem(115)
  • fit for foodies(92)
  • special occasion(71)
  • romantic(50)
  • good for groups(32)
  • notable wine list(26)
Ouest Reviews List
Review 1 for Ouest
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 2/17/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Ouest
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Eat at the bar. What they serve in lieu of bread is addictive and not served at tables. Great meal, romantic, and easy to miss like an old speakeasy."
Dined on 5/27/2013
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Ouest
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/28/2012
 2008
Dined on 1/28/2012
 2008
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 1/28/2012
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Ouest
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 3/11/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Ouest
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Could Have Been Good

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/12/2015
 2007
Dined on 6/12/2015
 2007
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"What could have been a good dining experience was unfortunately ruined by a combination of a very overdone pork chop combined with the manager's insistence on charging us for it. Briefly, we (2 people) ordered drinks, appetizers and entrees, with one entree being a medium-rare pork chop. Drinks were fine; appetizers were good; but the pork chop came out very well done and dry as sand. Tried to see if the interior of the pork chop might be more rare and/or easier to eat, but no luck. Politely returned it to the waitress, noting that it was clearly not medium-rare but very well-done and dry and not actually edible. The manager came over, noted that 1/2 half of the chop had been eaten (actually, about 20% before we decided it was not salvageable), and told us that we would have to pay for it notwithstanding it being returned or our objection. When the bill came we objected again, and he reluctantly took off 50% of an otherwise inedible entree. We paid the bill, but this is a good way to ensure two customers will never return or recommend this place."
Dined on 6/12/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Ouest
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/13/2015
 2014
Dined on 6/13/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Goodbye old friend"
Dined on 6/13/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Ouest
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Restaurant is closing for good on 6/13/15

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"When we got to the restaurant we were told that the restaurant was closing down for good in two days. That explained a lot of the terrible service we received. They didn't have cloth napkins and had paper napkins on the table. When we asked for cloth napkins they threw two on our table, despite us having four people at our table. It took over one and a half hours to get our food. Almost an hour to get drinks. The chef walked around saying goodbye to everyone so maybe every in the kitchen decided to call it quits. The bartender ended up pitching in and he was great, but otherwise the service was beyond lousy. When our food did arrive, it was delicious, but not worth the wait and aggravation. All in all it was a pretty terrible dining experience."
Dined on 6/11/2015
 2006
Special Features: great for brunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Ouest
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/09/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Ouest
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/09/2015
 2010
Dined on 6/09/2015
 2010
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/09/2015
 2010
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Ouest
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Server was super slow as was our food - would have been nice to get an update from our server sooner than 45 mins after we ordered. Food quality was good - had the omelette appetizer and trout which were both great. Didn't get any cheese puff bread."
Dined on 5/28/2015
 2004
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Ouest
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/30/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Ouest
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/29/2015
 2009
Dined on 5/29/2015
 2009
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/29/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Ouest
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/28/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Ouest
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

great food!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"I love the chicken & told the waiter I would like to have it inserted into my body via I.V. -- also love the lamb shank & the pork chop and their salad dressing is great."
Dined on 5/28/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Ouest
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/27/2015
 2006
Dined on 5/27/2015
 2006
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/27/2015
 2006
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Ouest
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/27/2015
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Ouest
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/22/2015
 2006
Dined on 5/22/2015
 2006
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/22/2015
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Ouest
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Always Delivers

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Looking for a solid meal? You've come to the right place. Excellent food, prepared with care and service that matches. Well though out wine list at reasonable prices. A dependable winner."
Dined on 5/22/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Ouest
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/21/2015
 2010
Dined on 5/21/2015
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/21/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Ouest
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/21/2015
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Ouest
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Still a stand out after all these years!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I was dreaming about their maple glazed broiled pork chop I had eaten at Ouest 4 years ago. The other evening the dish arrived at our cozy red leather booth, better than ever. Along with incomparable creamy polenta, the meal was a real stand out!"
Dined on 5/20/2015
 2006
Special Features: hot spot, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Ouest
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/18/2015
 2012
Dined on 5/18/2015
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/18/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Ouest
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

SBT

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/17/2015
 2011
Dined on 5/17/2015
 2011
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Went to Ouest for a graduation celebration- early Sunday night reservation. Disappointed that
the cheese puffs were not available nor the Tom Valenti's signature dish-
the lamb shanks.
All our dishes seem to be lacking !
Our server was lovely though!
"
Dined on 5/17/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Ouest
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/17/2015
 2012
Special Features: great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Ouest
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/15/2015
 2012
Dined on 5/15/2015
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/15/2015
 2012
Special Features: good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Ouest
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/14/2015
 2014
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Ouest
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/13/2015
 2012
Dined on 5/13/2015
 2012
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 5/13/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Ouest
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2015
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, notable wine list, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Ouest
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Not performing up to standard

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2009
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2009
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Good food; disorganized service; nice atmosphere; very fully priced. Place needs a very detail-driven manager to train servers and put in place superior systems"
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Ouest
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/09/2015
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Ouest
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/09/2015
 2006
Dined on 5/09/2015
 2006
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 5/09/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Ouest
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/07/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Ouest
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/07/2015
 2011
Dined on 5/07/2015
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/07/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Ouest
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

A Perfect Birthday Dinner!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"It was a great evening that combined wonderful friends and family with the ambiance and fabulous food. It was a perfect birthday."
Dined on 4/23/2015
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Ouest
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/03/2015
 2014
Dined on 5/03/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/03/2015
 2014
Special Features: great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Ouest
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/01/2015
 2003
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for Ouest
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/02/2015
 2004
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for Ouest
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Disappointed on a Saturday night

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We went to Ouest as a party of four on a Saturday evening. Upon arriving, we were seated at a booth that faced the bussing station and kitchen. Generally speaking, we can enjoy watching the kitchen at work but we were seated in an area with the entranceway and bussing station on either side, having to watch servers go back and forth. We accepted the table to continue our dining experience . After cocktails, we proceeded to order wine for the table and we had to order five different wines because none of the wines on the menu were in stock. The service was amateurish - someone was shadowing our waiter and it was difficult to know who was in charged. The food was good, but given all of the other issues, including poor table choice, fair service, and lack of wine even though it was featured on menu ended up being a so-so experience. I would have preferred to spend the money elsewhere."
Dined on 4/11/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for Ouest
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

NOT LIKEY TO RETURN

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The food was very good; the service inexcusably poor and amateurish. We waited 30 minutes for anyone to pay attention to our table and another 30 before they returned to take our dinner orders, stating that "no server had been assigned to our table" by some sort of oversight.
This is not what a paying customer wants to hear, or be bothered with.
"
Dined on 4/29/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for Ouest
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/28/2015
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 41 for Ouest
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/26/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for Ouest
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/25/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 43 for Ouest
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/25/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 44 for Ouest
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/19/2015
 2015
Dined on 4/19/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/19/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 45 for Ouest
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/19/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 46 for Ouest
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dinner at Ouest

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Third time at this delicious restaurant. The reservation was actually honored on time. The food and waitstaff always good. I have to say I did not enjoy sitting downstairs. I didn't even know there was a downstairs until this visit. There is little ambiance, it's larger and noisier than upstairs, and way too light. I would ask for upstairs dining from now on. Also, they changed the menu since my last visit, and although I enjoyed the food, I had less choices."
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 47 for Ouest
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

From East to Ouest

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I traveled across town from the Upper East Side to celebrate my birthday with my sister who had heard about Ouest and was "dying" to try it. She was disappointed with her meal; me, less so with mine. For an appetizer, she had a fried oyster in a creamy chowder. The oyster itself was tiny and, presentation-wise, it looked silly fłoating atop a Yellow Sea. (My sister is big on "presentation" as far as her restaurant dining experiences go.). She sent it back and ordered what I had as an appetizer which featured a chick pea pancake. We both rather liked that. For her entree, she ordered the lamb shank. The portion was very generous. For my entree, I ordered the trout. It was tasty, but very skimpy and was sitting on top of a small dollop of mushy risotto. (disclosure: I HATE any kind of watery food. If I want liquid, I'll order soup!) So, I have to say my entree was a bit disappointing. I noticed inconsistencies in the food portions. Diners on either side of me were having double pork chops, which were enormous! Other dishes also looked more substantial than what I had. Our server was very accommodating and nice and the service was good. We also enjoyed a bottle of Prosecco. My sister ordered "Parmesan cheese puffs" listed on the menu for $6.00 "for the table." I found them to be way too spicy and therefore did not enjoy them. I had creme freche for dessert, which I found to be adequate. My sister said it was not "real creme freche." If I were to rate this dining experience on a scale of 1-10, I would give it a 5. My sister said she would give it a 3. I don't think either of us will be going "East to Ouest" again anytime soon."
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 48 for Ouest
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/05/2015
 2013
Dined on 4/05/2015
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/05/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 49 for Ouest
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/17/2015
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 50 for Ouest
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/16/2015
 2003
Dined on 4/16/2015
 2003
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/16/2015
 2003
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>