Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Maurya Indian Cuisine Reviews List

Maurya Indian Cuisine

Maurya Indian Cuisine is a landmark of fine dining in Vancouver. Serving exotic, mouth watering dishes, Maurya balances flavour with healthy cuisine using minimal oils, butter and creams. Using a base of five "mother sauces" instead of the usual one, Maurya's splendid cuisine is light while still keeping the flame of traditional Indian cuisine burning bright. Each dish is prepared & served in the same manner as it was made really for the Maharajas and Nawabs (Emperors) of India. A true oasis for food-lovers Maurya delivers impeccable service and a team of chefs direct from Delhi to greet every customer with a bright smile. In a unique approach to Indian food, Maurya's proprietors have prepared an extensive and select wine list to be paired with memorable, complete meals versus a la carte service. Its interiors are elegant, calm and beautiful, producing a harmonious and exotic environment. A sun-drenched patio is sure to mesmerize you.
See more Maurya Indian Cuisine details
70 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.4 / 5
(Very Good) 3.4 / 5
(70 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 70 reviews
5 stars
(8)
4 stars
(28)
3 stars
(21)
2 stars
(10)
1 star
(3)
Food 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Service 
3.2 / 5
(Very Good) 3.2 / 5
Ambiance 
3.3 / 5
(Very Good) 3.3 / 5
Noise Level
2 / 3
Moderate
Value 
3.4 / 5
(Very Good) 3.4 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • good for groups(25)
  • neighborhood gem(18)
  • fit for foodies(17)
  • special occasion(13)
  • kid-friendly(10)
  • great for lunch(9)
Maurya Indian Cuisine Reviews List
Review 1 for Maurya Indian Cuisine
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/04/2016
 2007
Dined on 11/04/2016
 2007
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/04/2016
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Maurya Indian Cuisine
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 31/03/2016
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Maurya Indian Cuisine
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 27/03/2016
 2012
Dined on 27/03/2016
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 27/03/2016
 2012
Special Features: good for groups, neighborhood gem, great for lunch, special occasion, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Maurya Indian Cuisine
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Dined on 18/03/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Maurya Indian Cuisine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

really good food

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"we went there on a saturday night at 9pm and had a really enjoyable meal.
would definitely go back.
"
Dined on 19/03/2016
 2004
Special Features: neighborhood gem, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Maurya Indian Cuisine
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/03/2016
 2006
Dined on 12/03/2016
 2006
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 12/03/2016
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Maurya Indian Cuisine
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/03/2016
 2014
Dined on 10/03/2016
 2014
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"It had been many years since we ate at Maurya, and had good memories of the food, ambiance and service. The place is no longer the same though. The server was rushed and unpleasant, the food was very disappointing and as far as ambiance well, let's just say that there is none. The only question remains: when are they closing?"
Dined on 10/03/2016
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Maurya Indian Cuisine
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Dined on 05/03/2016
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Maurya Indian Cuisine
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 27/02/2016
 2007
Dined on 27/02/2016
 2007
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 27/02/2016
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Maurya Indian Cuisine
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Dined on 17/02/2016
 2004
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Maurya Indian Cuisine
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 14/02/2016
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Maurya Indian Cuisine
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Dined on 21/02/2016
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Maurya Indian Cuisine
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 19/02/2016
 2016
Dined on 19/02/2016
 2016
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 19/02/2016
 2016
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Maurya Indian Cuisine
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 13/02/2016
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Maurya Indian Cuisine
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 14/02/2016
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Maurya Indian Cuisine
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 14/02/2016
 2016
Dined on 14/02/2016
 2016
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 14/02/2016
 2016
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Maurya Indian Cuisine
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great family spot for Indian food

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 14/02/2016
 2005
Dined on 14/02/2016
 2005
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"This is one of our faves in Vancouver! LOVE the Lamb Korma! Great place for good food at a decent price!"
Dined on 14/02/2016
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Maurya Indian Cuisine
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 13/02/2016
 2015
Dined on 13/02/2016
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 13/02/2016
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Maurya Indian Cuisine
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 13/02/2016
 2012
Dined on 13/02/2016
 2012
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 13/02/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Maurya Indian Cuisine
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Not as good as it used to be

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 06/02/2016
 2009
Dined on 06/02/2016
 2009
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"This used to be our go-to place for a special Indian meal. It's a couple of years since we ate here, and some things haven't changed: the service is still slow and lacking in professional polish, and the lights are still too bright.
New this time: the music was far too loud for such an echo chamber of a room, especially when it's that screechy and atonal. And some of the food is still good (the Seekh kebab, for instance) but my companion doubted that the chicken in his chicken tikka masala had seen the inside of a tandoor, or had more than a passing glance at the spice rack. The shahee paneer used to be a sublime experience, but has also gone downhill.
We didn't complain, but we won't be hurrying back."
Dined on 06/02/2016
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Maurya Indian Cuisine
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Dined on 02/02/2016
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Maurya Indian Cuisine
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 02/01/2016
 2008
Dined on 02/01/2016
 2008
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 02/01/2016
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Maurya Indian Cuisine
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 25/12/2015
 2015
Dined on 25/12/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 25/12/2015
 2015
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Maurya Indian Cuisine
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 25/12/2015
 2009
Dined on 25/12/2015
 2009
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 25/12/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Maurya Indian Cuisine
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 25/12/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Maurya Indian Cuisine
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 25/12/2015
 2014
Dined on 25/12/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 25/12/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Maurya Indian Cuisine
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 25/12/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Maurya Indian Cuisine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Pleasant dining experience

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The food was very good. The mango lassi is a must-try."
Dined on 26/11/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Maurya Indian Cuisine
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 14/11/2015
 2007
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Maurya Indian Cuisine
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/11/2015
 2006
Dined on 11/11/2015
 2006
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/11/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Maurya Indian Cuisine
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 29/10/2015
 2011
Dined on 29/10/2015
 2011
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 29/10/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Maurya Indian Cuisine
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 16/10/2015
 2009
Dined on 16/10/2015
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 16/10/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Maurya Indian Cuisine
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 09/10/2015
 2007
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Maurya Indian Cuisine
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/09/2015
 2009
Dined on 11/09/2015
 2009
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"The decor is a bit dated but the food was very tasty."
Dined on 11/09/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Maurya Indian Cuisine
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 13/09/2015
 2012
Dined on 13/09/2015
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 13/09/2015
 2012
Special Features: good for groups, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Maurya Indian Cuisine
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 09/09/2015
 2010
Dined on 09/09/2015
 2010
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 09/09/2015
 2010
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Maurya Indian Cuisine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Yummy

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Nice spacious restaurant. Good place for families looking for something a bit different."
Dined on 29/08/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Maurya Indian Cuisine
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 22/08/2015
 2008
Special Features: good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Maurya Indian Cuisine
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Reasonable Indian food

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"A place to get reasonable Indian food in a pleasant, quiet setting"
Dined on 06/08/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Maurya Indian Cuisine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Airy, Roomy, Distinctive, Delicious

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Maurya is one of ( perhaps the) best Indian restaurants in Vancouver (that has lots). A fine departure from Punjabi cusine and has a certain Mughal elegance, although there are a variety of regional Indian dishes. It has splendid appetizers, rich meat entrees, a handsome array of vegetarian choices, a variety of Indian sweets (which are -- sweet). There is a good selection of beer, including pints on tap, and splendid chai. For some reason coffee was "off" on the evening when we were there. Service is attentive, and selections are delivered speedily. It is normally very quiet. The evening we were there there was a gathering behind screens and the noise carried. This is unusual. It is a very good place for lunch/brunch (serves a buffet) and conversation. Slightly off the beaten track so normally not crowded. Plenty of parking out front after 6:00 and free parking behind. Easy access from downtown up Fir, and east-west along Broadway. It is mid-priced. Slightly higher than standard Indian restaurants, and lower than the up-market ones, which, from my perspective, it compares very favourably in terms of quality."
Dined on 30/07/2015
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for Maurya Indian Cuisine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Excellent Indian restaurant on west side

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We always really enjoy this restaurant . Food delicious good service reasonable prices"
Dined on 27/07/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Maurya Indian Cuisine
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Nice atmosphere, friendly server, reasonable price

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The marble floors, giant curtained windows and ceiling are quite breathtaking when you enter. This restaurant gives you that "upscale" feel without breaking the bank. My mom and I ate dinner for $80 and took home leftovers for two more meals... so not badly priced at all. The food was maybe not unique enough for "foodies" or worth a review in a magazine, but it was still really, really, yummy. Our server was also friendly and patient, explaining what unfamiliar dishes were. If you're a food critic or hipster looking for something one-of-a-kind, this isn't the place for you. But if you want a good quality Indian dinner for a reasonable price in elegant surroundings with friendly, courteous and punctual service, I highly recommend this place."
Dined on 12/07/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Maurya Indian Cuisine
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 28/06/2015
 2012
Dined on 28/06/2015
 2012
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 28/06/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Maurya Indian Cuisine
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

"sir...excuse me sir...you shorted me"

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I took my girlfriend here for her birthday. The food was great, the service was great; we really enjoyed our time there. We have even been back since, and have recommended it to others. The only problem that makes me quite upset was when I paid (in cash) my girlfriend and I started walking down the street and we heard "sir...excuse me sir...you shorted me" to this I was confused because I know I paid enough and even enough to give the server a handsome tip. So I walk back and I looked through my wallet knowing how much I had before the bill and how much I should have left (which was correct). The server simply stared at my face counting the bills (there was a $20 bill short)...she says "you owe me another $20" i told her that's impossible and she simply replied "well it's not here" with a disbelief tone. I started walking around our table...and what do you know...it was on the floor...the server had dropped it on the floor...and yet blamed me...didn't even apologize...she's lucky the rest of the experience and the food was so good otherwise I'd never go back again."
Dined on 25/11/2011
 2011
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Maurya Indian Cuisine
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"excellent service and great menu. prices are reasonble"
Dined on 16/03/2015
 2013
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Maurya Indian Cuisine
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

I need to try this restaurant again

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I enjoyed my meal very much but found the service a little lacking. We were seated right away but that's where it stopped. It was a good five minutes before anyone came to take our beverage order. My husband didn't enjoy his meal but it was probably what he ordered wasn't exactly to his liking. After we had finished our meal we waited for quite a while for someone to come by and finally had to ask someone to pack our leftovers. She sent someone over who was very confused and left our table to deal with a customer at the next table that didn't like their meal. Then she came back and took part of our meal and packed it up. I had to then ask her to wrap the rest of it. She was nice enough, but I don't think serving in a restaurant is up her alley. I'll definitely try again because the food was good. Hopefully the service is better."
Dined on 07/03/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Maurya Indian Cuisine
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

resercations were NOT honoured. People not served.

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We stood at the entrance with others who also had a reservation. No one came to speak to us or explain that they had a problem. Eventually we sat at the bar thinking we'll relax and have a drink while we wait - Ha HA - no one could serve us there either. Eventually the couple in front of us got a table but after about fifteen minutes the male of the party got up to find a menu. We wondered if they would even get to eat so we decided to leave. They should have given us complimentary drinks but we couldn't even PAY for a drink. We walked down the street and found a WONDERFUL alternative - an Indian restaurant that will get a good review from me."
Dined on 14/02/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Maurya Indian Cuisine
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Completely understaffed

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"My husband and I went for dinner on Valentine's Day. Luckily, we booked ahead. Although the staff were working their butts off, there was just not enough of them. This definitely wasn't their fault - the management let the ball drop on this one.
One couple by us, waited 15 minutes just to get menus and then finally went up to get them, themselves. Another table had (who were already there when we sat down), hadn't even received their appetizers when by the time we had received our dinner.
Our food arrived in decent time, however we never saw our server after that. We kept trying to flag someone down. Finally we went up to the bar and asked if someone could pack up our leftovers. Then no one came to settle up our bill so after waiting for at least 15 minutes we went up to the bar ourselves to pay.
All this time, there was a line out the door! I felt bad for some of them as a few of us were trying to leave!
I hope the management learns from this, as their staff took the brunt from some tables who were very vocal about their displeasure and it definitely wasn't their fault."
Dined on 14/02/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Maurya Indian Cuisine
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Not what it used to be

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 07/02/2015
 2007
Dined on 07/02/2015
 2007
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"While in the past I loved going to this place, I did not enjoy my latest visit: the quality and variety of dishes offered have gone down immensely. Pakoras and samosas: gone. Seafood dish: gone. Only tandoori chicken, butter chicken and a hard to chew beef dish are left, and the rest are peas/vegetarian based. \
Even rice and several dishes were not replenished: instead, customers had to ask staff for this, which is unacceptable for a buffet restaurant.
As for service: though it was very empty, the server gave naan to two parties who came in later without being asked, we had to ask for it as it had not arrived by the end of our meal.
In short, I will not come again, nor can I recommend others to go there.
"
Dined on 07/02/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Maurya Indian Cuisine
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food is delicious, service is atrocious

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 25/12/2014
 2005
Dined on 25/12/2014
 2005
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Food was delicious, if not slightly pricey considering their lunch buffet is a great value.
Our server did not initiate checking in on us at all through our entire meal.
Tables beside and behind us were not cleared for at least 30-45 minutes, and when we were able to flag someone over, they did not clear any of our empty plates or bowls. The restaurant was full when we arrived, however there were no new diners that came in after that. Staff weren't rude, just clueless.
Would recommend to friends if they want good Indian cuisine, but to not expect any service."
Dined on 25/12/2014
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>