Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Salt Tasting Room Reviews List

Salt Tasting Room

Salt Tasting Room in Blood Alley showcases the finest meats, cheese, and condiments in all the land. Our chalk-board menu changes daily: J.N.&Z. smoked beef tenderloin, Mike Vitow's corned beef, Agassiz Farm House Cheddar, Cashel Blue Irish Blue Cheese, Neal's Yard Lincolnshire Poacher, Fireweed Honey, Marcona Almonds and Ambrosia apples may be on. Create a tasting plate and pair with a flight of rare wines, beers or sherries. Dine at our 18ft. communal table deep in the heart of Historic Gastown.
See more Salt Tasting Room details
128 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
(128 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 128 reviews
5 stars
(35)
4 stars
(60)
3 stars
(22)
2 stars
(9)
1 star
(2)
Food 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Service 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Ambiance 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Noise Level
2 / 3
Moderate
Value 
3.4 / 5
(Very Good) 3.4 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • fit for foodies(64)
  • notable wine list(56)
  • good for groups(39)
  • neighborhood gem(28)
  • romantic(26)
  • special occasion(24)
Salt Tasting Room Reviews List
Review 1 for Salt Tasting Room
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 30/01/2016
 2012
Dined on 30/01/2016
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 30/01/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Salt Tasting Room
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 27/01/2016
 2013
Dined on 27/01/2016
 2013
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"It was a great experience. The food is on the pricey side but delicious."
Dined on 27/01/2016
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Salt Tasting Room
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 29/01/2016
 2015
Dined on 29/01/2016
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 29/01/2016
 2015
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Salt Tasting Room
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 29/01/2016
 2015
Dined on 29/01/2016
 2015
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 29/01/2016
 2015
Special Features: late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Salt Tasting Room
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 22/01/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Salt Tasting Room
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

perfect for snack, wine flight and social meet up

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 24/01/2016
 2016
Dined on 24/01/2016
 2016
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 24/01/2016
 2016
Special Features: romantic, notable wine list, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Salt Tasting Room
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 16/06/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Salt Tasting Room
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great overall, BUT...

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"I heard a lot of good things about this place, so a friend & I made a reservation to celebrate a thing. I loved the beer list & the non-alcoholic flight option, & the cheese plate was absolutely fantastic.
The only problem was the service. It was great until we got our meal, but no one said a word to us for 45 minutes after we got our plates (except the ol' "how is everything"). We had wanted to get more drinks & dessert, but after we realised half an hour had passed while we waited with empty glasses, we decided to just get the bill. I put my coat on & still waited 15 minutes for someone to ask if we wanted the bill. It was frustrating & definitely cut the night short on a sour note. The service was perfectly fine until that point, & as a former waitress I know that sometimes on a busy night you just drop the ball, so I would still like to try Salt one more time. I hope this was a one-time issue."
Dined on 23/01/2016
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Salt Tasting Room
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 23/01/2016
 2016
Dined on 23/01/2016
 2016
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"Very light fare. Do not go hungry. Value for quantity not great, there are other places that do great charcuterie with better portions and more accompaniments. The charcuterie itself was tasty, but the soup for the starter was watery and the Mousse had more of the consistency of pudding. I liked the wide selection of wines and of local items. Also very long wait times between courses, but that is somewhat to be expected during Dine Out. I would maybe visit again for a light appy, but not for a full meal."
Dined on 23/01/2016
 2016
Special Features: notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Salt Tasting Room
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 23/01/2016
 2016
Dined on 23/01/2016
 2016
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 23/01/2016
 2016
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Salt Tasting Room
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

disappointing

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 18/01/2016
 2015
Dined on 18/01/2016
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"it started off well enough, but the soft drinks on the menu were not available - so I decided to drink water. it was the dine out Vancouver menu, which comes with desert. we waited over 20 minutes for this desert, with no known reason for the delay, also, I was offered tea, which I would have liked, when the waitress then returned to the table to state that they do not serve tea at the Salt tasting room - REALLY ?? who doesn't serve Tea ?
I won't recommend it to others.
"
Dined on 18/01/2016
 2015
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Salt Tasting Room
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 30/06/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Salt Tasting Room
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 22/01/2016
 2014
Dined on 22/01/2016
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Dined on 22/01/2016
 2014
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Salt Tasting Room
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Overall great experience

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"I came to the restaurant with a couple friends for our first time at the salt tasting room. The reservation was made online and was super simple. Arriving/finding the restaurant was interesting, as I had no idea where it was, but needed up being in a pretty cool location. We had a great time. The decor was cool and the food was great."
Dined on 22/01/2016
 2016
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Salt Tasting Room
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 23/01/2016
 2008
Dined on 23/01/2016
 2008
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 23/01/2016
 2008
Special Features: good for groups, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Salt Tasting Room
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great for a Romantic Date

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"I really like Salt Tasting Lounge. I had been there in the past with friends, and recently went back to celebrate a special occasion, and really enjoyed it. Yes, it is pricey (especially for the small portions), but the setting is very fun, the service was good, and the food and wine options are great!
The main downside was that they don't own an espresso machine, so you literally can't order coffee with dessert, which I felt was a bad note to have after a great evening out. But aside from that, I'll definitely recommend it and I'll go back.
The place is not for everyone, but if you like going to unique places and don't mind splurging a bit now and then, definitely check it out!"
Dined on 17/01/2016
 2016
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Salt Tasting Room
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good Food, Good Wine

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 18/01/2016
 2014
Dined on 18/01/2016
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"Being able to choose your own cheese/meat plates is pretty cool, but I hadn't heard of many of the cheeses and felt bad asking for too many explanations on them. Would be nice to see some short descriptions posted somewhere!"
Dined on 18/01/2016
 2014
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Salt Tasting Room
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 16/01/2016
 2015
Dined on 16/01/2016
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 16/01/2016
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Salt Tasting Room
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 16/01/2016
 2015
Dined on 16/01/2016
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 16/01/2016
 2015
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, notable wine list, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Salt Tasting Room
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 15/01/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Salt Tasting Room
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 13/01/2016
 2012
Special Features: hot spot, notable wine list, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Salt Tasting Room
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great first experience

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 09/01/2016
 2015
Dined on 09/01/2016
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 09/01/2016
 2015
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Salt Tasting Room
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great Evening

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Our two servers were very knowledgable and explained all of the menu items to us. They helped us pair wine with our chacuterie and were very friendly. The food and wine were delicious. I will definitely be back!"
Dined on 06/01/2016
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Salt Tasting Room
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Dined on 30/12/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Salt Tasting Room
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Dined on 31/12/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Salt Tasting Room
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Anniversary Tasting

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"We loved our experience at Salt! Our server was great at making suggestions for us and I was pleased to see many of BC wines featured, as well as other BC products
The staff even treated us to a glass of sparkling wine for our anniversary
"
Dined on 02/01/2016
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Salt Tasting Room
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 02/01/2016
 2011
Special Features: notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Salt Tasting Room
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 31/12/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Salt Tasting Room
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 31/12/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Salt Tasting Room
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 31/12/2015
 2015
Dined on 31/12/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 31/12/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Salt Tasting Room
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 06/10/2012
 2012
Dined on 06/10/2012
 2012
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Not really my kind of place but it was an interesting place to try out. Decent food though the price is a lot for the portion size. I guess it's a good spot for a group to share a bunch of stuff."
Dined on 06/10/2012
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Salt Tasting Room
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 30/12/2015
 2015
Dined on 30/12/2015
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 30/12/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Salt Tasting Room
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Would go back

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Unique dining experience with great service. Choose from a variety of meets, cheeses & condiments and good drink options. Don't go here if you prefer the chain restaurant experience, rather go if you're a bit adventurous and looking for something new like duck, strong aged cheese and yummy beers. It's tapas with atmosphere, not Earls."
Dined on 30/12/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, scenic view, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Salt Tasting Room
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 27/12/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Salt Tasting Room
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 05/08/2015
 2011
Dined on 05/08/2015
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 05/08/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Salt Tasting Room
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 16/12/2015
 2015
Dined on 16/12/2015
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 16/12/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Salt Tasting Room
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/12/2015
 2014
Dined on 12/12/2015
 2014
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 12/12/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Salt Tasting Room
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Awesome experience

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"- great food, wine and service. Loved the experience from when the taxi dropped us in 'blood alley' and we found the door wit the salt shaker to the awesome server who paired the cheeses, meats and wine for us!"
Dined on 05/12/2015
 2012
Special Features: hot spot, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Salt Tasting Room
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Meh

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Way too expensive, tiny portions, amateur service. Won't be going back."
Dined on 28/11/2015
 2015
Special Features: notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Salt Tasting Room
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 21/11/2015
 2015
Dined on 21/11/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 21/11/2015
 2015
Special Features: special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for Salt Tasting Room
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 20/11/2015
 2011
Dined on 20/11/2015
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 20/11/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, hot spot, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Salt Tasting Room
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 19/11/2015
 2009
Dined on 19/11/2015
 2009
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 19/11/2015
 2009
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Salt Tasting Room
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

A must when in Vancouver!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I come to Salt every time I'm in Vancouver, and am never disappointed. They always have a great selection of local BC and Canadian meats and cheeses, and a good international selection. Their staff are knowledgable about the available selections, and I've never been disappointed with my wine pairings."
Dined on 09/11/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, hot spot, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Salt Tasting Room
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

We did not feel welcomed here.

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Be sure to make a reservation. And when you make a reservation, show up at that time. Or else, be prepared to be reprimanded.
We made a reservation. However, we could no longer make it. We were nearby and decided to peek in to see if they can accommodate us earlier. (We were also traveling internationally so we had no working cell phone to call.) Although there was a few seating options available, they were very unhappy to accommodate us. We felt like a big inconvenience. A simple no would've sufficed, and we could have rescheduled. In retrospect, we should've just left since they clearly didn't want our money or our business, but we sat down anyway.
We were seated next to a large group, who had a reservation and were way more demanding and nitpicking at everything... yet we (party of 2 here) still felt unwelcomed as the evening went on despite being nothing but nice.
The menu was a lot to take in and we didn't know what would be good pairings. In asking for recommendations, our waitress was somewhat helpful. You can tell she knew everything about the menu but was a bit snobby about it. We picked items with some of her input and felt we did a decent job for what it was. It was fun mixing and matching in part of our experimentation with pairings. The ingredients were high quality and so were the accompanying wine flights. The fig jam went with everything, including the cheeses and meats we picked out.
Would I come back? Nah. Plenty of places closer to us in Napa wine country to indulge in without the degrading feeling."
Dined on 25/10/2015
 2013
Special Features: notable wine list, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Salt Tasting Room
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 06/11/2015
 2015
Dined on 06/11/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 06/11/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Salt Tasting Room
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Good but wouldn't do it again

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"It was good but not great... I had read great reviews about it, so I guess I was a bit disappointed with the experience. The servers were great and always checking on us to make sure we were enjoying our food.
I guess, the biggest disappointed for me was the tapas offered, which was a limited time offer that they were having (so not a regular part of the Salt tasting room experience!). The food was really bland, it tasted like it needed more salt (the irony...).
For the wine, we had our server choose it for us but neither of us really liked the choices; they tasted like cheap $8 wines.
Overall, a fun and different experience but I wouldn't do it again.
"
Dined on 30/10/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Salt Tasting Room
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Excellent place

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"This restaurant was by far my favourite place that I dined while visiting Vancouver. Friendly staff, amazing wine, amazing meat and cheese selection. Can't wait to return"
Dined on 25/10/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Salt Tasting Room
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 24/10/2015
 2015
Dined on 24/10/2015
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 24/10/2015
 2015
Special Features: notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Salt Tasting Room
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Overall, STR's San Sebastián experiment was enjoyable because of the food. The ambience was simple but perhaps a bit of Spanish music would help convey the experience better? I also think the flights should also include international wines & not solely, BC wines. Otherwise, I would recommend it since STR is offering something quite unique to Vancouver."
Dined on 25/10/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Salt Tasting Room
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 29/09/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>