Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Vlora Bar and Restaurant Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Vlora Bar and Restaurant

Located in the heart of Boston's Back Bay (Boylston Street and Clarendon Street), Vlora Bar and Restaurant focuses on truly authentic Mediterranean cuisine that is characterized by only the use of olive oil, a minimalist approach to cooking with an emphasis on taste and the use of the freshest ingredients. Owned and operated by husband and wife team Aldo Velaj and Cindy Tsai, the restaurant is named after Aldo's home town - Vlora, Albania. Vlora's menu stems largely from Aldo's experiences traveling and eating through the Northern Mediterranean region of Southern Italy, Greece and Albania. Featuring an extensive yet reasonably priced wine and beer menu, the restaurant also offers a late night menu available until closing.
18 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
(18 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 18 reviews
5 stars
(6)
4 stars
(7)
3 stars
(1)
2 stars
(3)
1 star
(1)
Food 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Service 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Ambiance 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Noise Level
2.4 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • fit for foodies(3)
  • good for groups(3)
  • great for lunch(3)
  • neighborhood gem(3)
  • romantic(3)
  • great for brunch(1)
Vlora Bar and Restaurant Reviews List
Review 1 for Vlora Bar and Restaurant
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/30/2012
 2012
Dined on 12/30/2012
 2012
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 12/30/2012
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vlora Bar and Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Pleasantly surprised

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"After reading some reviews of this restaurant I was a little worried that my valentines day dinner would be just a plain dinner. But once seated at Vlora, our waitress greeted us right away and placed the order for out appetizer and dinner right away. Every meal we had was absolutely delicious, the spanikopita and the Feta stuffed meatballs were some of the best I've ever had. My lamb chops were perfect, expertly cooked and deliciously seasoned. My dates rib eye was delicious as well and definitely looked the part. As for dessert, I personally am not a big fan of Tiramisu, but I thought it was quite delicious. Overall I had an amazing experience here and will definitely be coming back."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vlora Bar and Restaurant
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Food was gross and cold by the time it was finally served. Service was poor- very inattentive. Had to get up and ask the hosts for things like refills. Place settings etc. Will not be returning. Must better restaurant options in the area!"
Dined on 8/24/2014
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vlora Bar and Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Cozy

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Cozy, found a great couch spot in the corner, just the right amount of people. Ambient lighting in ceiling and on faux trees was romantic and fascinating. Standard beer list, nothing out of the ordinary. Was able to book last minute, on new years! Despite a full restaurant waitress service was immediate and felt treated like a king. Would definitely recommend for a late night get away."
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2014
Special Features: romantic, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vlora Bar and Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Top spot for brunch!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"This was our second time here for brunch, and I still say this is one of the best places in the Back Bay to get brunch or lunch. The service was friendly and speedy, and the food is excellent and a GREAT value. They had a special pumpkin soup that day that was outstanding. We will definitely be returning!"
Dined on 11/30/2014
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vlora Bar and Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great food and attentive service

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The food was quite delicious and service was gracious. The place was quiet - don't know why with an experience of this quality! Perhaps because they have streamlined their menu...? We do miss their broader variety of offerings, but what they serve is always well-prepared."
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2009
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Vlora Bar and Restaurant
Based on the average of (12) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
7 out of 9 recommend this product
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Ambiance 
3.5 / 5
(Very Good) 3.5 / 5
Noise Level
2.5 / 3
Energetic