Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Amaya the Indian room Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Amaya the Indian room

Joanne Kates (The Globe and Mail Restaurant Critic) writes…”Amaya, which opened recently in the (renovated) premises of the former Jov, is heaven-sent. The combination of silken service and excellent ingredients freshly cooked, with sensitive spicing, is seductive in the way that only the food of the subcontinent can be - rich, assertive, complex, exotic.” Just as the food avoids clichés, so does the setting. The 40-seat dining room is accented with subtle hints of India through stunning photography creating an inviting atmosphere that is casual and friendly yet elegant and sophisticated.
103 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
(103 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 103 reviews
5 stars
(50)
4 stars
(44)
3 stars
(8)
2 stars
(0)
1 star
(1)
Food 
4.5 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.5 / 5
Service 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Ambiance 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Noise Level
1.8 / 3
Moderate
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • fit for foodies(61)
  • neighborhood gem(53)
  • special occasion(33)
  • good for groups(24)
  • romantic(24)
  • great for lunch(15)
Amaya the Indian room Reviews List
Review 1 for Amaya the Indian room
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 29/02/2012
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Amaya the Indian room
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 16/11/2011
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Amaya the Indian room
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 30/06/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Amaya the Indian room
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 20/07/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Amaya the Indian room
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 21/07/2015
 2012
Dined on 21/07/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Amazing food"
Dined on 21/07/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Amaya the Indian room
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable "confirms" phantom reservations

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Earlier this week, I made a reservation at Amaya's Indian Room in Toronto, and got the usual confirmation email from OpenTable. When our party arrived at the restaurant, the door was locked and there was a "goodbye" notice taped to the front door. It astonishes me that OpenTable can "confirm" reservations at a restaurant that stopped operating two weeks ago. Super dumb ... and irritating."
Dined on 03/08/2015
 2015
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Amaya the Indian room
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Love the food and excellent service. I would go back again if I lived closer."
Dined on 09/02/2014
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Amaya the Indian room
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 24/07/2015
 2015
Dined on 24/07/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Amazing food and atmosphere! We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves."
Dined on 24/07/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Amaya the Indian room
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food was good; Service Lacking

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 22/07/2015
 2015
Dined on 22/07/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"A friend and I decided to try out Amaya for Summerlicious as it was near our homes and we both were craving Butter Chicken. We arrived early for our reservation and were promptly seated. Appetizers arrived quickly and were very tasty. Service started lacking after the appetizers. The restaurant started to fill up and the waiters were more focused on giving great service to patrons ordering from the regular menu than us. Butter chicken was delicious; full of flavor and tender. It took 10 minutes to flag someone to order Naan and my water glass sat empty on the table for 15 minutes. The table next to us were given their own carafe's of still tap water while we were not.
Overall the food was good and worth the $25 dollars. I don't know if I'd return for table service but I might order delivery."
Dined on 22/07/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Amaya the Indian room
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Fantastic Indian food

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 23/07/2015
 2011
Dined on 23/07/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We went to the Summerlicious event. The menu was extensive and very reasonably priced. The food was superb."
Dined on 23/07/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Amaya the Indian room
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 22/07/2015
 2010
Dined on 22/07/2015
 2010
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 22/07/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Amaya the Indian room
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 19/07/2015
 2015
Dined on 19/07/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 19/07/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Amaya the Indian room
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 18/07/2015
 2015
Dined on 18/07/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 18/07/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Amaya the Indian room
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 17/07/2015
 2013
Dined on 17/07/2015
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 17/07/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Amaya the Indian room
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Went for Summerlicious dinner and was pleasantly surprised. The food was excellent and I asked if I could have another appertizer (Raj Kkachori) to take home with me. This was made for me without any complaint. The portions were almost too large but everything was delicious."
Dined on 15/07/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Amaya the Indian room
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 13/07/2015
 2008
Dined on 13/07/2015
 2008
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 13/07/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Amaya the Indian room
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Excellent food and service

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 29/06/2015
 2012
Special Features: good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Amaya the Indian room
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2015
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2015
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Amaya the Indian room
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 09/07/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Amaya the Indian room
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 06/07/2015
 2009
Dined on 06/07/2015
 2009
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 06/07/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Amaya the Indian room
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 04/07/2015
 2012
Dined on 04/07/2015
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 04/07/2015
 2012
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Amaya the Indian room
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 04/07/2015
 2014
Dined on 04/07/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 04/07/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Amaya the Indian room
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 01/07/2015
 2015
Dined on 01/07/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 01/07/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Amaya the Indian room
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 20/06/2015
 2015
Dined on 20/06/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 20/06/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Amaya the Indian room
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 15/06/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, hot spot, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Amaya the Indian room
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 07/06/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Amaya the Indian room
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 03/06/2015
 2015
Dined on 03/06/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 03/06/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, hot spot
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Amaya the Indian room
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Excellent service & food. It feels homey"
Dined on 25/05/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Amaya the Indian room
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 24/05/2015
 2010
Dined on 24/05/2015
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 24/05/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Amaya the Indian room
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 17/05/2015
 2011
Dined on 17/05/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Excellent quality and taste. The lamb lollipops are exceptional. The best indian in town"
Dined on 17/05/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Amaya the Indian room
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

My Son's 12th Bday

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Took my son here for his birthday. We received a complimentary Watermelon drink which my son enjoyed (including mine). The food was tasty and served pleasantly by 2 very polite and friendly waiters. At the end of the meal, one of the waiters brought my son a complimentary Indian dessert with a candle and stayed at the table to sing Happy Birthday. :)
My son was soooo happy with the meal and the evening that he said "Mom, I'm coming here for all of my birthdays and father's days too!"
Thank you Amaya and that kind waiter! :)"
Dined on 11/05/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Amaya the Indian room
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Truly a wonderful experience!!!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I took my very dear friend Ruth to this venue to celebrate her birthday - she is a world traveler and I wanted something that was truly an experience from her travels. Amaya truly provided that for her. It also provided for me an exceptional experience to taste this wonderful cuisine! We tried the chef's table and it was absolutely amazing, definitely more than enough and the wine selection was perfect!"
Dined on 07/05/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Amaya the Indian room
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/05/2015
 2013
Dined on 10/05/2015
 2013
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 10/05/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Amaya the Indian room
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 09/05/2015
 2015
Dined on 09/05/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 09/05/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Amaya the Indian room
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Excellent Indian cuisine

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 24/04/2015
 2007
Special Features: good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Amaya the Indian room
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 22/04/2015
 2008
Dined on 22/04/2015
 2008
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 22/04/2015
 2008
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for Amaya the Indian room
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 19/04/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for Amaya the Indian room
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

This was our second visit but not our last.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I like the interesting menu, fresh food and wonderful tastes. Also, they make the best buttered Naan anywhere. This restaurant is definitely notches above the ordinary. I can highly recommend."
Dined on 20/04/2015
 2012
Special Features: great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for Amaya the Indian room
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

A place I visit often!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The menu includes many of the staples you'd expect to find in an Indian restaurant, but the dishes are prepared in innovative and interesting ways. High quality food and attentive service."
Dined on 16/04/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for Amaya the Indian room
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 17/04/2015
 2015
Dined on 17/04/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 17/04/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 41 for Amaya the Indian room
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dinner for Two

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 06/04/2015
 2012
Dined on 06/04/2015
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We went for dinner on Easter Monday. Food and ambiance were great. We had two servers. First server was friendly and helpful. The second server seemed preoccupied - he asked if I wanted a drink and took my order, but didn't ask the same to my partner so she had to ask him. When the drinks were brought out they were given to the wrong person. Otherwise everything was great. Tasty food and nice ambiance.
Thanks!
"
Dined on 06/04/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for Amaya the Indian room
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Superb

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The warm and cozy space has a sophisticated feel to it, just like the food they serve.
Indian food with a twist and Innovative . I've been here a couple of times now and they make a point of attentive friendly service and quality food. No complaints
"
Dined on 10/03/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 43 for Amaya the Indian room
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

A pleasure for the palate

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/03/2015
 2015
Dined on 10/03/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"When we want an experience that is above the run-of-the-mill in Indian Cuisine, we choose the Amaya Indian Room. We go several times a year for special occasions. The chef has a magical touch with herbs and spices. The flavour is not about heat but about awakening an amazing array of sensations on the palate. Every bite is pleasure-filled and brings satisfaction. The chef's tasting menu with wine pairings is worth every penny. The service is impeccable and servers are eager to explain each dish as it is served. Servers are present while remaining unobtrusive. This place is a gem that we hope endures for decades to come."
Dined on 10/03/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 44 for Amaya the Indian room
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great food and service

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"While the interior of Amaya is nothing special (and I didn't find the western pop music enhanced the atmosphere), the food and service are well worth it. Very high quality ingredients and preparation resulted in delicious food and our well-informed waiter went out of his way to make our lunch a great experience.
So, go for the food, enjoy the service, but don't expect much in the way of ambiance."
Dined on 12/02/2015
 2015
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 45 for Amaya the Indian room
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Winterlicious win!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Enjoyed a fabulous winterlicious menu on our most recent visit. Especially enjoyed the okra appetizer."
Dined on 10/02/2015
 2008
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 46 for Amaya the Indian room
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Your senses will crave for more...

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/02/2015
 2014
Dined on 10/02/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Lamb lollipops and Amaya prawns - they looked appealing enough to order as starters. Both arrived in short order and around the table pupils dilated upon sight of the creative plating. The fragrant aroma summoned sighs of delight. Fork in hand I reached for a lamb lollipop - as the fork went in I could feel the tenderness of the meat. I drew the lamb closer to my nose, wafting the lollipop to relish the fragrance of the spices before my first bite. As my teeth sunk into the lamb, the first bite melted into my mouth - succulent, tender, flavourful. Gently nodding my head in approval, I leaned into the back of my chair savouring the satisfying experience. The prawns were even better. Butterflied and perfectly cooked, the prawns were bathed in a light, aromatic sauce that begged for naan - which we promptly requested. The braised ribs were decadent - a must for those who enjoy a rich, full flavour. The lamb shank was enjoyable with the creative jackfruit basmati pilaf. The only hiccup was the cod dish. Pleasing to look at with a wonderful aroma, I found the chef's hand too heavy with the salt for this fish. Our waitperson was receptive to the feedback about the cod and appropriately considered our dining experience. There are many creative dishes on the menu we have yet to enjoy - we're already craving for more."
Dined on 10/02/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 47 for Amaya the Indian room
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Excellent

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"For Winterlicious we (four of us) decided to try Amaya the Indian Room this year. I had a craving for Indian food and have tried others in our area in past years. We were not disappointed in either the food, ambiance, and especially the service. So glad to have Amaya in our neighbourhood!"
Dined on 06/02/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 48 for Amaya the Indian room
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Tasty Indian food--not too crazy for North American tastes but still very authentic"
Dined on 30/01/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 49 for Amaya the Indian room
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Loved the Tasting Menu

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We were introduced to a wonderful selection of starters, mains and signature dishes, finished with a delightful dessert. The welcoming atmosphere, knowledgable and friendly service, and wonderful selection were a highlight in city with many great choices. This was a wonderful place to take our out of town friends for an unforgettable meal. We'll be back!"
Dined on 08/12/2014
 2009
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies, kid-friendly, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Amaya the Indian room
Based on the average of (54) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
47 out of 48 recommend this product
Food 
4.5 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.5 / 5
Service 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Ambiance 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Noise Level
2 / 3
Energetic