Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Azul, Ihilani Resort & Spa Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Azul, Ihilani Resort & Spa

Our Chef performs culinary magic, enchanting you with a delicate balance of Italian flavors, using only the freshest island ingredients.
35 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.5 / 5
(Very Good) 3.5 / 5
(35 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 35 reviews
5 stars
(11)
4 stars
(12)
3 stars
(3)
2 stars
(3)
1 star
(6)
Food 
3.5 / 5
(Very Good) 3.5 / 5
Service 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Ambiance 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Noise Level
2.3 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • romantic(14)
  • special occasion(14)
  • great for outdoor dining(11)
  • fit for foodies(8)
  • scenic view(7)
  • notable wine list(3)
Azul, Ihilani Resort & Spa Reviews List
Review 1 for Azul, Ihilani Resort & Spa
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

One of the best in Ko Ilina (Kapolei)

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Food portions were huge - even the calamari appetizer could be shared with two persons.
However, this may be as a result of the restaurant closing down and fewer guests that evening.
"
Dined on 2/20/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Azul, Ihilani Resort & Spa
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Horrible Valentine's Dinner

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"My husband and I had planned for our Valentine's dinner for about a month and we were very excited to have that romantic fine dining experience at the Azul . We got there on time as our reservations were made for 6:30 pm. via (Open Table) unfortunately there was an overflow and was informed that we were going to be seated in the ballroom instead. Apparently, we were told that usually guests are to dine outside on the lanai/patio surroundings but due to the windy weather conditions we would be seated in the Ocean Ballroom.
At that point we were very disappointed as we were being seated, this seemed like we were attending a small quiet wedding- nothing romantic and simply no ambience as we had expected. We waited for about 10 minutes to get a cold glass of water, and noticed that all the servers were like banquet wait staff & not the servers from the restaurant. The Crab Salad seemed frugal as we had about a Tsp. of crab, The Farfalle all 'Aragosta Lobster pasta was cold and I could make it better. One thing I enjoyed was the 4 oz. Angus Filet Mignon which was pretty good with the Jumbo Shrimps/ veggies on the side. Dessert was terrible, I think it was Tiramisu which could have been better. All in all, very disappointed in this dining experience, for $75.00 a person, I think we should have atleast gotten a discount since we didn't get to experience fine dining in the Azul & there was no ambience of a romantic Valentines dinner for us.
"
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Azul, Ihilani Resort & Spa
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Worst Valentine's dinner ever!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2013
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2013
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"After waiting a hour and half past our reservations for dinner we ended up leaving and going across the street. What a ridiculous waste of time. Will never go here again or recommend to anyone."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Azul, Ihilani Resort & Spa
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Terrible Valentines Dinner

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Made a reservation in advance. Got there, people who had an reservation over an hour before us were still waiting. They couldn't accommodate everyone due to the high winds (and half their restaurant being open seating). However, they should've planned ahead of time for things like this. People were walking out before even being served and warning us who were waiting to just go somewhere else. Was really excited to eat here but by 8'oclock there was still an hour or so wait. So we just went next door."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Azul, Ihilani Resort & Spa
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Love it!

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/13/2015
 2011
Dined on 2/13/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Had a great experience! Loved the food and service, I would definitely go again or get a take out!"
Dined on 2/13/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Azul, Ihilani Resort & Spa
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Horrible Valentines Dinner

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I looked at all the reviews before booking here, so when I was able to make a Valentines day reservation there, I was excited! However, the actual experience there will go down as probably the worst dinner ever at a fine dining restaurant. As this was Valentines day, YMMV. 1. It took about 10 minutes till our waiter take our drink order. 2. The prefix menu came with an amusebusch. We had to ask for it. Our waiters excuse was "oh I thought someone already brought it", even though we had no empty plates on the table. 3. The menu had fine sounding dishes like crab salad, and lobster pasta. Honestly, my wife and I could've cooked food better than what we were served. 4. Filet mignon should be served med-rare. The first one I got was seared, completely raw in the middle. The second, just a touch above rare, but still very under done. 5. Jumbo shrimp in a very bland white cream sauce that tasted like paste. 6. At $75 a person, and on Valentines day, I'd expect a great chocolate dessert! We got a square of dry chocolate cake with sprinkles. it was so bad I took half a bite and didn't touch it afterward.
Worst Valentines dinner experience ever!"
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Azul, Ihilani Resort & Spa
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Azul on Valentine's was awful

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2012
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2012
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Absolutely awful service, fixed menu with 3 of 4 courses being seafood with no substitute for vegetarian or non-shellfish, and the food was not worthy of the price."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Azul, Ihilani Resort & Spa
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

We love Azul!!!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"They have the best lobster bisque. I love dinning outside at sunset; it's so beautiful."
Dined on 2/12/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Azul, Ihilani Resort & Spa
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Expensive

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The pasta dishes were very good and reasonably priced. Not many people know about this place since the hotel is under renovation and changing owners to the Four Seasons. Was a little lonely but we almost had the restaurant to ourselves."
Dined on 1/31/2015
 2011
Special Features: fit for foodies
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Azul, Ihilani Resort & Spa
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Fine dining in the west side of Oahu

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Azul was very impressive! We enjoyed the fine Italian food and thought there was a great variety of dishes to choose from. We celebrated our 13th anniversary there and we would definitely eat there again !"
Dined on 1/02/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Azul, Ihilani Resort & Spa
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great food and outstanding service

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Had a great New Year's Eve dinner here. The Food was great and the service was very attentive throughout the experience."
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2007
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Azul, Ihilani Resort & Spa
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

love it

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/25/2014
 2008
Dined on 12/25/2014
 2008
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Great food we will come back again. Best food in Ko Olina. Nice device as well."
Dined on 12/25/2014
 2008
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Azul, Ihilani Resort & Spa
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Awesome across the board

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/19/2014
 2009
Dined on 12/19/2014
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We decided to try Azul on Friday night. I ordered the spinach salad (which was one of the best I've EVER had) and the seafood pasta - which I requested without any tomatoes. The seafood tasted very fresh and I really enjoyed the dish. Can't remember what the rest of my party had...but we agreed that this restaurant was exceptional! I wish I could remember our server's name but it escapes me. Thanks Azul...for a wonderful dining experience! We will definitely return!"
Dined on 12/19/2014
 2009
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Azul, Ihilani Resort & Spa
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

It was obvious the hotel is closing.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/09/2014
 2012
Dined on 12/09/2014
 2012
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We have had dinner at Azul several times over the years. Food was only average. It is obvious the hotel is closing at the end of December. Lights are burnt out , maintenance it lacking and quality of food and prep was significantly poorer vs past visits.
Our service was excellent. She saved the evening with quality service.
"
Dined on 12/09/2014
 2012
Special Features: romantic
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Azul, Ihilani Resort & Spa
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/04/2014
 2014
Dined on 12/04/2014
 2014
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Waiter was informed that I was gluten free but my dinner came with a sauce that contained gluten. My husband had to track down waiter while his food got cold. Had to wait for new meal, while my husband ate his. He was done when mine arrived so we did not get to enjoy our meal together. They did end up discounting the bill a bit, but only after my husband asked what they would do for the inconvenience and not so good experience. I would not recommend this restaurant."
Dined on 12/04/2014
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Azul, Ihilani Resort & Spa
Based on the average of (20) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
11 out of 15 recommend this product
Food 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Service 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Ambiance 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Noise Level
2.5 / 3
Energetic