Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Palm Restaurant - NYC One Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Palm Restaurant - NYC One

Palm Restaurant...The Classic American Steak House is renowned for its USDA prime aged steaks, jumbo Nova Scotia lobsters, Italian dishes, the freshest of seafood, warm smiles, outstanding service and an atmosphere like nowhere else. Still at its original location, Palm Restaurant is a New York legend that began in 1926 at the historic address of 837 Second Avenue on the East Side of Manhattan—where some of the original wall art and the famous restaurant still reside! Ask Palm Restaurant about joining The 837 Club, and enjoy the perks and rewards of good taste, great food, and Palm Restaurant experience.
133 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
(133 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 133 reviews
5 stars
(76)
4 stars
(29)
3 stars
(16)
2 stars
(9)
1 star
(3)
Food 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Service 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Ambiance 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Noise Level
2.4 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • special occasion(48)
  • fit for foodies(42)
  • neighborhood gem(41)
  • good for groups(33)
  • great for lunch(24)
  • notable wine list(21)
Palm Restaurant - NYC One Reviews List
Review 1 for Palm Restaurant - NYC One
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/08/2013
 2012
Dined on 3/08/2013
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 3/08/2013
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Palm Restaurant - NYC One
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/19/2010
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Palm Restaurant - NYC One
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/05/2015
 2015
Dined on 3/05/2015
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Place is good and food is great.
Good for work lunches with group.
"
Dined on 3/05/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Palm Restaurant - NYC One
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Excellent place to eat It brings you back to where all began at the Palm"
Dined on 9/17/2014
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Palm Restaurant - NYC One
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/08/2014
 2006
Dined on 11/08/2014
 2006
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/08/2014
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Palm Restaurant - NYC One
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Must see

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The food and service were excellent. Best part is the caricatures all over the walls, they are a NYC landmark all by themselves.
Worth every pretty penny paid."
Dined on 8/07/2013
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Palm Restaurant - NYC One
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/26/2013
 2012
Dined on 7/26/2013
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/26/2013
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Palm Restaurant - NYC One
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

It's a great, iconic steak house

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We visited the Palm after opening day at Yankee Stadium. Both are special, but the Original Palm was closing for renovations. I believe this was the first time in its decades long history. I wanted to be sure we got one last look at this wonderful place. We weren't disappointed. Porterhouse for 2 was prepared exactly as ordered, and it was as tender as any steak I've ever had. Of course, half and half, and creamed spinach were mandatory. Mozzarella on the tomato Capri was buttery and the tomatoes were ripe and delicious. Wait staff were attentive and caring - we all talked about the restaurant, its history and its closing. We will all miss this place, but we'll have to try Palm Too, directly across the street next time as we anxiously await the re-opening of the original."
Dined on 4/06/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Palm Restaurant - NYC One
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Always a treat!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I've been going to The Palm (now called Palm One) since 1948. My father ate lunch there every day from 1936 to 1965 and with the Ganzi and Bozzi families for Thanksgiving. It was Good Friday and remarkably quiet for lunch.
Palm One will be closing for renovations and I wanted to make sure I saw is as it has been for 65 plus years but I was assured that the cartoons and caricatures downstairs will remain the same. There will be a new bar upstairs; the bar downstairs is small but lively at dinnertime.
The house salad with blue cheese is always a winner and the creamed spinach is still the best in the world although often copied it is never the same. Regretfully, there was no roast beef because of the holiday; the best in NYC, but the NY strip was superb. The cheesecake is second to none.
Hopefully, it will reopen soon and all of us who have frequented The Palm will be back in our old haunt."
Dined on 4/03/2015
 2008
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Palm Restaurant - NYC One
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

A true New York Institution

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/23/2015
 2007
Dined on 3/23/2015
 2007
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"It's classic NYC. I first went to The Palm as a child. My Nana took my brother and I to see a show and then dinner at The Palm. this was '74 or '75 and I was amazed. I loved my first steak out. The waiter helped me cut the steak and told me how to properly order it. Anyway, it hasn't changed one bit. 40yrs later and it still never fails to impress. Perfectly cooked steak. Service so perfect that you would think that the waitstaff were psychic. Love this place."
Dined on 3/23/2015
 2007
Special Features: great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Palm Restaurant - NYC One
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great food!!!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"great food. great service. what else someone needs?"
Dined on 3/20/2015
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Palm Restaurant - NYC One
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Izstew

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/14/2015
 2011
Dined on 3/14/2015
 2011
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Very disappointing steak for the price, fries soggy and wine recommendation dishonest, said it was on sale from$180 but cos last few bottles they would sell at $70 . In fact retail price was $34 so $70 about right but why lie about $180?
Went there cos it was famous but would do an outback in preference in future at value end & capital grill at high end
"
Dined on 3/14/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Palm Restaurant - NYC One
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/14/2015
 2010
Dined on 3/14/2015
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Fabulous meal with the family. Steaks cooked to perfection"
Dined on 3/14/2015
 2010
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Palm Restaurant - NYC One
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"There is not a better restaurant anywhere than Palm One!!!!"
Dined on 5/05/2014
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Palm Restaurant - NYC One
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"My most favorite restaurant for Prime Rib for many years..... Keeps getting better!!!!"
Dined on 3/05/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Palm Restaurant - NYC One
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great Service, Predictable Food

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/10/2015
 2015
Dined on 3/10/2015
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Excellent service- knowledgeable, highly attentive but not aggressive or intrusive. Old school menu- linguine and clams, veal martini, etc. Nice cocktails- again, classics. No extensive cocktail list but if you want a well honed martini, this is the place. Fun caricatures on the walls going back to the 1930s."
Dined on 3/10/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Palm Restaurant - NYC One
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

The ambiance is perfect and fun!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The location, decor and ambiance is fun for either couples or big groups. The food was superb. I will love to come back and try other dishes."
Dined on 3/06/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Palm Restaurant - NYC One
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

sorry

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"not the palm it used to be.
food was good, wine was terrible, service fine old fashion service.
"
Dined on 2/02/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Palm Restaurant - NYC One
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great dinner!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/28/2015
 2011
Dined on 2/28/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Perfect dinner! Eating early before the crowds is definitely the way to go! Had amazing service and very quiet!"
Dined on 2/28/2015
 2011
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Palm Restaurant - NYC One
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Truly an off nite for the palm

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Highly dissatisfied with the palm
The quintessential old school steak joint missed it.
Bread was colder than a snow bank -
I'm talking hockey puck cold and hard.
Steak under cooked.
Oh, and the one glass of wine I ordered was miss-priced and over charged.
My late father was a fan.
Thought it would make for a nice place to celebrate my daughters 10th birthday, but alas, not so much.
So long the palm, won't return.
"
Dined on 2/27/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Palm Restaurant - NYC One
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

When in NYC

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"This is my go to NYC restaurant for first timers to the city. Ive been to many of their locations around the country but the original can't be beat."
Dined on 8/26/2013
 2010
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Palm Restaurant - NYC One
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Recent NYC Visit

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Love, Love, Love this place. Been to many of their locations and all of them are fantastic. However, this one has the history and ambiance unlike any other."
Dined on 9/24/2014
 2010
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Palm Restaurant - NYC One
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Dad likes it.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/25/2015
 2012
Dined on 2/25/2015
 2012
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Ordered the special steak which was a t bone. Ordered medium rare but came in with no pink on the thiner areas. Half chips, half onion rings were good."
Dined on 2/25/2015
 2012
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Palm Restaurant - NYC One
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/26/2015
 2013
Dined on 2/26/2015
 2013
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The ambiance is terrific. Not too stuffy and the service is fantastic. Will definitely come back."
Dined on 2/26/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Palm Restaurant - NYC One
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great Birthday Night.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/20/2015
 2015
Dined on 2/20/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Love a good steak. But had to give up red meat a few years back for health reasons. I treat myself to what I hope will be a great steak once a year on my birthday. This year was no disappointment. Had the house specialty, The Porterhouse. That, the company I was with and the excellent service made for a great birthday night. Thank you"
Dined on 2/20/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Palm Restaurant - NYC One
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Sub-Par Cooking

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2015
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2015
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Steak was extremely burnt, overpowering the natural flavor of the steak. The veil parm was like eating a piece of burnt rubber covered in cheap pasta sauce (tasted like Prego) and so much cheese they were clearly hoping to cover the terrible tasting veil. The lobster bisque was average. Overall it was an incredibly overpriced meal for what it was and was by no means special dinning."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Palm Restaurant - NYC One
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Awesome!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The wait staff was wonderful. The cook came out to say hello. The food and drinks were wonderful."
Dined on 4/05/2013
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Palm Restaurant - NYC One
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great as always

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The dinner was outstanding. The food was good as always."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Palm Restaurant - NYC One
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great steaks but be fast with requests

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The history of the place unfolds in the cartoons painted on the walls throughout the establishment. One can easily tell this is a place where stories are told time and again. Add to that the great steaks and you have a really fun evening. I chose the bone-in filet along with peppercorn sauce and my beautiful wife chose the crab cakes. We chose the green beans and potatoes au gratin to share as our sides. The courses came out in about the right amount of time one would expect to correctly cook a very thick filet and we used the time to enjoy each other's company and take in the history of the place. Further, being Friday before Valentines Day, the place was pretty packed. This may be typical but not sure as this was our first time to dine here. That said, we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves save one detail, the wait staff was way too quick to step away from our table as we would make a request and they would then only have half the request of what was needed. We found ourselves more than once having to wait until they came back many minutes later to finish what was being needed. The management needs to instruct the team to pause for a moment to ensure they have "listened" to the guest fully before stepping away from the table to fulfill the request. Resolve this and this will be a 5-star establishment in my book."
Dined on 2/13/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Palm Restaurant - NYC One
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/04/2015
 2011
Dined on 2/04/2015
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Expensive but portions a good size in dtink and food"
Dined on 2/04/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Palm Restaurant - NYC One
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Always great

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Hadn't been to The Palm in years. Loved stepping into the feel of old times. It doesn't change and that's good...it's an icon. New celebrity faces on the wall but the rest remains the same. Great food and service. Pay the $25 to join the club. It's worth it with $25 off your next tab."
Dined on 2/06/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Palm Restaurant - NYC One
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Disappointed the waitress wasn't aware of 'seasonal specials' on the website which weren't available anyway. I chose one of the porterhouse specials she offered only to have her revisit m y table and advise me they were out of those specials also.
It was my company that got me thru a nice evening, sorry not the restaurant.
"
Dined on 2/04/2015
 2015
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Palm Restaurant - NYC One
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The whole experience was great. The food was very good. The ambience was perfect for a family reunion. The atmosphere was just right for the kids. We had a memorable night
I reallly recommend this place for a family dinner.
Please send my thanks to Bernard and Yabo who made this night so special
"
Dined on 1/19/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list, kid-friendly, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Palm Restaurant - NYC One
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Quintessential NYC Steak House

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"The Palm ( Palm 1 ) is an institution. Its been there forever at its same 2nd Ave. location. I've been going there since 1976. Recently, a good friend who I used to go there with, was up from Florida, celebrating his Birthday, only one place to go.
It can get a little loud. The steaks are excellent, cooked to perfection. Service is great.
There are a lot of Steak Houses in NYC. This is the one to go to , especially if you are only going to go to one."
Dined on 12/29/2014
 2006
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Palm Restaurant - NYC One
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Great food, awful night to be there

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/14/2015
 2012
Dined on 1/14/2015
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Sit upstairs if at all possible. The table was right next to the stairs and people were constantly rushing by. There was a huge party shrieking at the large table by the window, we could not hear each other speaking across the table. The host was even glaring at them but didn't dare say anything.
The steaks were amazing but ludicrously expensive. Next time I'll go to Keens."
Dined on 1/14/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Palm Restaurant - NYC One
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dinner with my daughter

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/08/2015
 2009
Dined on 1/08/2015
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"i was in the city overnight and wanted to take my daughter out for a nice dinner. I had been to several Palm restaurants, but never the original. The service was good. The food was excellent. I had the bone in ribeye and my daughter had the chicken parm. The steak was perfect as always and the chicken parm was good and massive. I would highly recommend the Palm."
Dined on 1/08/2015
 2009
Special Features: great for lunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for Palm Restaurant - NYC One
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Night at The Palm

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/27/2014
 2010
Dined on 12/27/2014
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"I recently went to a play in NY and ate dinner at The Palm afterwards. The food was great and Nadine, our server, was wonderful."
Dined on 12/27/2014
 2010
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for Palm Restaurant - NYC One
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

The worst Palm I have been to.

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"The salad did not come as ordered and the steak was not to the correct temperature."
Dined on 10/15/2014
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for Palm Restaurant - NYC One
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Terrible experience

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I've long been intrigued by the legendary Palm. When I finally went, what a disappointment. My wife and 24 year old daughter joined me for the worst dining experience in years. Starting with the maître d who ignored us for 15 minutes as he tried to deal with an older group whose spokesperson was throwing the biggest hissy fit I've ever seen an adult have because he wasn't getting "his" table. Literally screaming to call the manager at home. When I finally confronted the maitre'd and said I was leaving, we were seated. The frazzled waiter came quickly enough and took our order, for which we then waited over an hour! Meanwhile we had to snag other wait staff to get more water as ours disappeared. When I finally got our waiter's attention, he said "well-done takes awhile". Really? The food finally came and while the quality was acceptable, it was nothing compared to other less famous establishments at which we've dined. And as to comparable reputation places (e.g., Mortons) Palm falls off the chart. I'll never return."
Dined on 12/23/2014
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for Palm Restaurant - NYC One
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

great place

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"I love going to the palm I always have a great meal and the service is beautiful I will be back"
Dined on 12/23/2014
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 41 for Palm Restaurant - NYC One
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Wonderful evening

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"I eat at the Washington Palm all the time. Dining at the original Palm is like a religious pilgrimage!"
Dined on 12/20/2014
 2004
Special Features: special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for Palm Restaurant - NYC One
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

One of my faves...

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Delicious food. Terrific service. There is a reason it is a mainstay on the East Side."
Dined on 12/20/2014
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 43 for Palm Restaurant - NYC One
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

The Palm has definitely lost its way.

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"There are just simply too many great restaurants AND too many great steak places to deliver a mediocre experience, and the Palm has become mediocre at best. We were the 2nd table in the restaurant when we arrived, so no issues with the kitchen, and it took over an hour to get our entrée, which then had to be sent back since it was so grossly undercooked. The crab on the filet medallions was kind of crusty without a ton of flavor, and the potato/onion string thing we had was also sub par. Very disappointing from a restaurant I used to love. The ONLY thing that was still Palmesque, was that the maî·tre d' comped our wine because of the long wait."
Dined on 12/19/2014
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 44 for Palm Restaurant - NYC One
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Who could go wrong with a beautifully crusted bone-in ribeye with a medium-rare center that fills your plate, and your happiness meter, all at the same time? I would have had mine cooked a bit more medium than rare (they tend to undercook the inside), but the scent alone made me what to devour it on the spot instead of parting with it for an additional 10 minutes by sending it back to the kitchen to get more heat. My request for a "side of steamed spinach with roasted garlic," was met with the response, "However you ask for it, it will be served." Now THAT is the response every hungry carnivore dreams of, and the result melted in my mouth, a perfect pairing to my main course; steak, spinach, steak, spinach-heaven.
Even though a variety of breads were put on the table, I was wise enough to hold off so that the only thing left on my plate at the end of the evening was a bone. The only thing a little off-putting was the 5 to 7-minute speech about the 847 club that delayed me in ordering my food; but then again, it allowed me more time to build up my appetite
Attentive service (although I am not quite sure why I needed four different people to introduce themselves and ask me if I was satisfied, especially when my mouth was full), great food, a cozy comfortable booth to sit in with lighting that masterfully dimmed on cue, and a staff that knows and loves what they do makes this the reason I keep coming back. There really is only one Palm. Everything else is a substitute."
Dined on 12/15/2014
 2013
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 45 for Palm Restaurant - NYC One
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Old favorite

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The Palm still has what it had thirty years ago- great food, great service- some things never change- and I'm here to testify to that! Loved it when I was thirty and love it even more at 60!"
Dined on 12/13/2014
 2012
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 46 for Palm Restaurant - NYC One
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

AMBIENCE

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I'm pushing 90 years old. Going to The Palm reminds me of the old days when I was active and having those great business lunches and dinners. Great memories and hasn;t lost it's charm. In fact, service is even better."
Dined on 12/13/2014
 2012
Special Features: special occasion, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 47 for Palm Restaurant - NYC One
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Dissapointed

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"I have been to 12 different Palms and the one on 50th. In NYC our favorite. Do to reservation times chose the Palm One. Was rushed from the time we walked in. Never had a chance to check wet coats or umbrellas, didn't take our name for reservation so received email later that we didn't honor reservation. Water and bread brought to table next to us, they just switched it to our table. Wedge salad little crumble blue with house on it, all other times a chunky creamy blue. Our side half fried onions and cottage fries, onions fine cottage fries on bottom all greasy. My Prime Rib and wife's NY Strip was excellent and up to the Palm standard.
Was overall very disappointed. As a 837 Club member I will continue dining at the Palm but will not return to the original on 2nd.
"
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 48 for Palm Restaurant - NYC One
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Wonderful lobster always cooked perfectly

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Wonderful wait staff, happy to accommodate special needs."
Dined on 12/08/2014
 2012
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 49 for Palm Restaurant - NYC One
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Off night?

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/05/2014
 2004
Dined on 12/05/2014
 2004
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Been going for over thirty years. First time a disappointment. Steak was not hot, service ok at best? Wife made a simple request for chicken with a salad which they did not want to do. Hope just an off night and not a change in quality"
Dined on 12/05/2014
 2004
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 50 for Palm Restaurant - NYC One
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food Only Fair

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Our meat and fish way overcooked. My salad dressing tasted like straight vinegar. The best part was the dessert, creme brulee."
Dined on 12/05/2014
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>