Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

MaSo Reviews List

MaSo

MASO
Our SoMa hotel welcomes guests and visitors to our relaxing and contemporary experience from breakfast in the morning to our bar, lounge and terrace in the afternoon and evening. With stylish interior space and captivating exteriors, our hotel in downtown San Francisco provides the ideal venue to meet friends and associates.
Open daily, MaSo is the perfect place to grab a bite, sip after-work cocktails or simply enjoy spending time with friends in a relaxing environment.
See more MaSo details
23 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
(23 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 23 reviews
5 stars
(3)
4 stars
(15)
3 stars
(4)
2 stars
(1)
1 star
(0)
Food 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Service 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Ambiance 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Noise Level
2.3 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • good for groups(8)
  • fit for foodies(6)
  • special occasion(5)
  • great for lunch(3)
  • romantic(3)
  • vibrant bar scene(3)
MaSo Reviews List
Review 1 for MaSo
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/08/2016
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for MaSo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 3/24/2016
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for MaSo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/28/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for MaSo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Not crowded - which is great for groups

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"delicious food, good wine and a nice space. easy to have a conversation and the staff doesn't rush you out"
Dined on 5/28/2015
 2009
Special Features: good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for MaSo
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/20/2015
 2009
Dined on 5/20/2015
 2009
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The food here is average or slighly above. Its the poor service that made this a notable experience. Started with one waiter who took our order. A second waiter arrived and said he was taking over so we had to order again. Both waiters promptly disappeared. Food was delivered by the kitchen staff. We finished our drinks, were never offered more, water was never refilled and ordered an appetizer that never came. Had to wait 20 minutes after we finished eating to ask the hostess for our bill. After paying I had to give my card to another tables server. Altogether it felt like having customers was a real bother to them."
Dined on 5/20/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for MaSo
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Interesting Food, Low Energy

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Food interesting and good quality although quite expensive. Servers nice but not engaged. Atmosphere attractive but lacked energy."
Dined on 5/16/2015
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for MaSo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 5/13/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for MaSo
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 4/20/2015
 2000
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for MaSo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/20/2015
 2008
Dined on 4/20/2015
 2008
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 4/20/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for MaSo
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Christmas Dinner

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"My party and I were in San Francisco for the holidays. We were staying at a nearby hotel. We did not want an expensive meal. I read the reviews and also solicited help from the concierge at the hotel where we were staying. It was difficult to discern what restaurants were open on Christmas. The reviews for MaSo were decent and it was walking distance from our hotel. The service was great but the food was meh. We had salads first - the romaine on my Caesar was very bitter and the other salad had slimy greens for a portion of the salad. I had the Christmas special which featured a filet and lobster tail. This entree was fine but not remarkable. Our other entree was the blackened flounder which was so-so. My special came with a special chocolate chestnut dessert. The cake was dry on my first bite but it did improve after that."
Dined on 12/25/2014
 2014
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for MaSo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

great for lunch!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"My companion and i had lunch and we chose the crab cake and the lobster club sandwich. we picked the stars on the menu. The crabcake has just enough seasoning so you can taste the freshness of the crabmeat. And the lobster club! Darn big chunks of lobster in every bite, the bread is thick country bread so it is really filling. I highly recommend these 2 items on the menu.
Service is attentive and cordial. Our server greeted us with a big smile which started things off great."
Dined on 11/21/2014
 2004
Special Features: great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for MaSo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Got in on short notice!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Wonderfully warm atmosphere and a rare find that allowed us in on short notice. Order the yam fries with aeoli sauce."
Dined on 12/04/2014
 2009
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for MaSo
Based on the average of (11) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
7 out of 8 recommend this product
Food 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
2.1 / 3
Energetic