Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Canal Street Grill - Permanently Closed Reviews List

Canal Street Grill - Permanently Closed

Permanently Closed - Please note we currently are unable to accept reservations online.

Introducing the all-new Canal Street Grill; a sophisticated yet comfortable atmosphere where you’ll find vibrant tastes to satisfy every palette.

See more Canal Street Grill - Permanently Closed details
26 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.4 / 5
(Very Good) 3.4 / 5
(26 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 26 reviews
5 stars
(6)
4 stars
(6)
3 stars
(8)
2 stars
(5)
1 star
(1)
Food 
3.3 / 5
(Very Good) 3.3 / 5
Service 
3.3 / 5
(Very Good) 3.3 / 5
Ambiance 
3.2 / 5
(Very Good) 3.2 / 5
Noise Level
2.1 / 3
Energetic
Value 
2.3 / 5
(Good) 2.3 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • good for groups(3)
  • great for brunch(2)
  • great for lunch(2)
  • special occasion(2)
  • fit for foodies(1)
  • late-night find(1)
Canal Street Grill - Permanently Closed Reviews List
Review 1 for Canal Street Grill - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/09/2009
 2009
Dined on 3/09/2009
 2009
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Decent food."
Dined on 3/09/2009
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Canal Street Grill - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Not what we expected

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2015
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"The service was OK. There were not very many dining we we arrive at 6:30. Did not enjoy the food at all. Would not recommend."
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Canal Street Grill - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Canal Street Grill - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"This restaurant just did not have amazing food. The jalapeño corn muffins are served cold. The Mahi Mahi was flavorless. The green beans were fine and potatoes were delicious. However, the potatoes were merely sprinkled on the plate as more of a decoration than a side. The fish was a generous portion but lacked any seasoning, for New Orleans that just does not work. On an evening where every restaurant in the city was packed, we were the only patrons at this establishment. New Oleans is a city where delicious food is on every corner ....except this one.
If you are not a big spice person who is looking for good service with few crowds and a nice atmosphere , this might be a good option for you."
Dined on 12/30/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Canal Street Grill - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 12/30/2015
 2008
Special Features: great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Canal Street Grill - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Loved the atmosphere. Was very disappointed in how slow it was (2.5 hrs) and not only did they NOT have complimentary valet, but the parking garage was full. We had to park at a pay lot and walk 2 blocks."
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Canal Street Grill - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2008
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2008
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Use your GPS because there is no exterior signage for this place. We had to guess that we were entering the correct place based on the GPS. The food was fair at best. Pieces of shell in the crab cake. A waiter who never asked us how the good was. My fault for waiting to the last minute on reservations."
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Canal Street Grill - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2015
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"we should have been told that they were under major renovation. Food was not appetizing to either the eye or palate. Every aspect was disappointing that we even canceled our evening reservation"
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Canal Street Grill - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2009
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2009
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Canal Street Grill - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Disspointing Menu

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"My family and I had dinner at the Canal Street Grill for Christmas. We choose that restaurant based off the menu we saw online. The biggest disappointment I had was that we were unaware that there would be a pri fixe menu that night. While I absolutely understand the necessity of a pre-set menu on a Holiday night it would have been nice to know before hand. Once we arrived we found out that the menu we were so excited to order off of was not available. I also found that $65 was extremely expensive for what we received. The food was good, not great, and not worth a total bill of $250. I would like to go back to Canal Street Grill to try their regular menu, but I was not at all impressed with how they handled a special dinner, such as Christmas."
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2014
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Canal Street Grill - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 12/24/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Canal Street Grill - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 12/25/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Canal Street Grill - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Don't put a closed restaurant on Opentable

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"Walked to the restaurant and couldn't get in the main door due to construction. Called to ask how to get in and was told to go down to Magazine St (three blocks away). Found our own way in only to find inside construction and NO staff around. Waited five minutes (there was a few patrons having coffee) then we left."
Dined on 12/18/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Canal Street Grill - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Typical Marriott food service superb as always."
Dined on 12/15/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Canal Street Grill - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/12/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/12/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/12/2015
 2015
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Canal Street Grill - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/14/2015
 2015
Dined on 11/14/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/14/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Canal Street Grill - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Fooled by the 5-Star rating

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Very disappointed. I didn't do enough research before booking this restaurant for dinner. I based it on the 5-Star rating on Open Table, which it certainly is not worthy of. I was actually embarrassed and apologetic to my guests.
It's in the JW Marriott, which is under construction. The one positive-- we could hear each other speak. We were the only table that sat in the "dining room". The only real noise we heard was the very loud construction happening right on the other side of the wall.
The food was adequate, not great. The service was poor. Amateur at best. I believe our server had very little experience and his lack of a personality didn't begin to make up for it.
If you just want a quick bite to eat in a quiet environment you might be satisfied with The Canal Street Grill. Otherwise, save your money."
Dined on 11/09/2015
 2004
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Canal Street Grill - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Oasis of quiet.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"New Orleans can be a very noisy wild place. Nice to find a restaurant that was an oasis from all the noise and wildness."
Dined on 10/05/2015
 2007
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Canal Street Grill - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Didn't live up to the Open Table reviews

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Inside the JW Marriott. No ambiance. Limited menu. Food was marginal. Served warm to cold. Mediocre service."
Dined on 4/27/2015
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Canal Street Grill - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Brunch

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Open early for brunch so you can get on with your day. Wait staff was very attentive. Coffee so good we got to go cups."
Dined on 4/24/2015
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Canal Street Grill - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Thanksgiving Dinner

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Food was so so, service was very rushed. Limited resaurants open on Thanksgiving so we reserved here. Special Thanksgiving menu. Main course fine, apps and dessert so so. Servers were kept bringing food out before we were finished the previous course. Convenient as we were staying in the J.W. Marriott"
Dined on 11/27/2014
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Canal Street Grill - Permanently Closed
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Disappointed with service and price of wine glass

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Disappointed with service and price of glass of wine very high . Service started off very good and then mid-way thru dinner waitress disappeared yet restaurant was not busy. I had to "hail" her down to pay. The bread dishes were not cleared when the dessert was brought. When you spend $60 per person for a meal, you expect food and service that are a cut above. It was Thanksgiving evening, but restaurant only 1/4 full of guests. Most staff not interested in patrons. Food tasted very good. Perhaps on a non-holiday, service would be better. Pecan pie I almost had to use a knife to cut thru it, worse than grocery store pie. Overall disappointed. We expected more, and we are out-of-town guests. Won't recommend it. Sorry for the bad review. This place I'm sure has possibilities."
Dined on 11/27/2014
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Canal Street Grill - Permanently Closed
Based on the average of (4) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.5 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.5 / 5
3 out of 3 recommend this product
Food 
4.5 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.5 / 5
Service 
4.8 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.8 / 5
Ambiance 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Noise Level
2.3 / 3
Energetic