Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Globe Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Globe

Globe offers casual fine dining with no attitude.
32 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
(32 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 32 reviews
5 stars
(5)
4 stars
(12)
3 stars
(11)
2 stars
(4)
1 star
(0)
Food 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Service 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Ambiance 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Noise Level
1.8 / 3
Moderate
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • neighborhood gem(15)
  • late-night find(11)
  • fit for foodies(9)
  • great for lunch(7)
  • romantic(4)
  • good for groups(3)
Globe Reviews List
Review 1 for Globe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

SF late nighter

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Great spot for all the traditional reasons PLUS the added bonus of being open Late.
Late does not mean that the quality of food or service is in any way sub par,
Food and wine selections include a few standard dishes plus up dates and seasonal surprises."
Dined on 5/23/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Globe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/30/2015
 2002
Dined on 5/30/2015
 2002
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/30/2015
 2002
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Globe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Little gem for late-night dining

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"This is the sort of place local chefs go after they close their restaurants. One of the places in town you can get really decent food after midnight. Service slips towards closing- at one point we tipped the bus boy also because he'd done more for us than the service staff- but the food is totally worth a little lassiez-faire atmosphere in the wee hours. Generally inspired wine list, very good cocktails, and great bartenders as well."
Dined on 12/31/2012
 2013
Special Features: romantic, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Globe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/29/2015
 2004
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Globe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/27/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Globe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/22/2015
 2009
Dined on 5/22/2015
 2009
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/22/2015
 2009
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Globe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/15/2015
 2005
Dined on 5/15/2015
 2005
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/15/2015
 2005
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Globe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

excellent food very reasonably priced

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"I was very pleasantly surprised. The Globe has been around for a while and seems to have gone under the radar. I hadn't been there in many years. As it is near where I work, a co worker and I decided to go for lunch. We were blown away by the quality of the food and a very nice wine list to go with it.
The menu is short but both our dishes were both great. Very well prepared. One was a Caesar salad type dish with chicken. The chicken was grilled on their charcoal grille and that, plus a great dressing made every bit of difference. I had wild salmon - a big chunk with skin on, perfectly cooked and topped with chopped scallions and other (sub the) seasonings. It was served over home made pasta (it was obvious and didn't need advertising on the menu) with broccolini and soft cheese. The balance was nicely done so that the salmon taste predominated. We both had a glass of Pinot Grigio and espresso .
Not to be overlooked is the price, not much more than some of the gourmet burgers around town these days and maybe even less. You can't buy all this stuff at the market, let alone spend time preparing it for what we paid ( at least I can't). So what we thought was going to be a quick lunch turned to be a nicely civilized occasion.
The only downside is the noise. Brick walls on both sides and a hard ceiling & floor. It's impossible to hear things when it's full. They need some sort of sound absorbing treatment (could be disguised as artwork) on the walls. If you wait and go after 1:00 pm, it's pretty quiet as most people have left. But, even with the high noise level, it's worth going to.
"
Dined on 5/14/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Globe
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/12/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Globe
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I was expecting to order their steak dish, but they didn't have that available. The chicken and lamb were not good replacements."
Dined on 5/05/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Globe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/25/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Globe
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/21/2015
 2015
Dined on 4/21/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/21/2015
 2015
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Globe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/22/2015
 2010
Dined on 4/22/2015
 2010
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/22/2015
 2010
Special Features: fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Globe
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Wouldn't go back

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2013
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2013
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"My boyfriend and I took his sister while she was in town and we were pretty bummed with the overall experience.
First of all, our waiter was very nice and none of the issues I have with the restaurant were because of him. However, it was completely empty inside. We went on a Saturday night so I don't recommend it if you're looking for any sort of ambiance. It just feels empty and strange that no one else is there except you and the staff.
The food started and ended badly. First they brought out bread which looked like poundcake. It wasn't great (how do you mess up bread?). Then came the radicchio salad which no one could eat. We already knew radicchio was bitter, but there was nothing else in the salad to cut the bite. It was pretty bad. Then we ordered our entrees - spaghetti, burrata pizza and chicken liver pasta. If I had to say something was the best, I guess I'd say it was the spaghetti but it was really really spicy. The menu said "homemade spaghetti" - didn't mention anything about spice so that was a little off-putting. The burrata pizza was so soggy everything fell off the "dough" instantly. It was a big mess. Lastly, everywhere else we've ordered chicken liver pasta, the livers come in the sauce. Not here. First you got a plate of overly-salted pasta and then a HUGE skillet of plain chicken livers to accompany it. I don't know anyone that can eat chicken livers like that - and definitely not that many of them. I am not a picky eater at all, and it was hard for me to eat any of it. Very unappetizing.
Sad to say we will not be going back and won't recommend it to anyone."
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Globe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2001
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2001
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We loved this little restaurant. It had a nice neighborhood feel and a top-notch menu. Most especially, the staff were friendly and most accommodating."
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2001
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Globe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

limited lunch menu, but excellent

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"beet salad, cesar salad, pork ragu, and marguerite pizza.
All excellent. Especially the pork ragu with house-made noodles."
Dined on 4/08/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Globe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Great place and always fun but a bit limited for non gluten and non dairy options."
Dined on 3/27/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Globe
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

No rib-eye

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/29/2014
 2009
Dined on 12/29/2014
 2009
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Pork was fine but I went here for the rib-eye steak and potatoes--but both were unavailable. Major bummer."
Dined on 12/29/2014
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Globe
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Ok, but....

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I like Globe. The food is nice, straightforward and appropriately priced. But the service we recently received was sub-par. Our waitress was perfectly decent, but she was somewhat oblivious, didn't seem very interested in serving us, and spent most of her time behind the bar talking loudly with the bartender."
Dined on 12/09/2014
 2002
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Globe
Based on the average of (13) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
3.2 / 5
(Very Good) 3.2 / 5
5 out of 10 recommend this product
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2.9 / 5
(Good) 2.9 / 5
Ambiance 
3.5 / 5
(Very Good) 3.5 / 5
Noise Level
2.2 / 3
Energetic