Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Market Street Grill Reviews List

Market Street Grill

The Market Street Grill serves modern fare in the classic space just inside the historic Hotel Whitcomb. Enter through the Tavern Bar with it's Barbary Coast ambiance, complete with vaulted ceilings, Tiffany Glass, and rich Janesero paneling. Our straightforward cuisine focuses on using the finest farm fresh local products. The seasonal menus pair well with approachable yet refined wine list, which features extensive selections that highlight California Craftsmenship.
See more Market Street Grill details
655 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
(655 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 655 reviews
5 stars
(194)
4 stars
(254)
3 stars
(134)
2 stars
(63)
1 star
(10)
Food 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Service 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Ambiance 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Noise Level
1.8 / 3
Moderate
Value 
3.5 / 5
(Very Good) 3.5 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • neighborhood gem(160)
  • special occasion(152)
  • great for lunch(145)
  • good for groups(143)
  • fit for foodies(112)
  • romantic(75)
Market Street Grill Reviews List
Review 1 for Market Street Grill
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/21/2016
 2008
Dined on 4/21/2016
 2008
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Dined on 4/21/2016
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Market Street Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/15/2016
 2016
Dined on 4/15/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 4/15/2016
 2016
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Market Street Grill
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Not a good meal

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"We were a few minutes late, I will admit that. BUT.... Stood at the door for 7 minutes while at least 6 different waiters looked at us and ignored us. Hostess finally comes out and seats us. Table near the kitchen door. Fine, we were late so we deserve that I guess. I order a cocktail- waiter tells me the bar is closed. Fine. We order sandwiches. I ask for onion rings. I get truffle fries and a soggy sandwich with Oscar Meyer turkey on it and bacon bits. Who makes a club sandwich with bacon bits?? Overpriced, bad service, worse food. Don't fall into the "but its right next to the place we are seeing the show" trap. Leave earlier and go someplace else."
Dined on 4/16/2016
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Market Street Grill
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Disappointing

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"My daughter and went for lunch before a Wicked performance. We had a reservation but they sat a group of people before us. No one seemed to manning the hostess stand. The service was slow. It seemed like our waiter was gone. We weren't offered bread and felt like we were an after thought. It is a pretty, historic location and convenient for going to a play. It looks fancy but we felt like weren't worth waiting on."
Dined on 4/16/2016
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Market Street Grill
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Disapponted

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"When arrived, I realized I dined at this restaurant a couple of times a while ago. My recollection is it was a good experience. However, this time was different . The service was clumsy, a server didn't know how to explain when asked about a dish, and the food was so, so. Cleanness didn't look good either. It seemed the ownership has been changed. Disappointed."
Dined on 4/14/2016
 2002
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Market Street Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/16/2016
 2016
Dined on 4/16/2016
 2016
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 4/16/2016
 2016
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Market Street Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/09/2016
 2009
Dined on 4/09/2016
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 4/09/2016
 2009
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Market Street Grill
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/15/2016
 2003
Dined on 4/15/2016
 2003
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/15/2016
 2003
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Market Street Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/10/2016
 2016
Dined on 4/10/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 4/10/2016
 2016
Special Features: good for groups, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Market Street Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/09/2016
 2009
Dined on 4/09/2016
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 4/09/2016
 2009
Special Features: great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Market Street Grill
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Disappointing

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"I have eaten here many times and always come back because it has always been great. Not so much this visit. There were several items on the menu that were not available (even though we were one of the first parties seated). Drink orders incorrect. Food delivery ackward as the server walked around and asked who the plate was for. All around disappointing. Another favorite gone bad."
Dined on 4/10/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Market Street Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/09/2016
 2007
Dined on 4/09/2016
 2007
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 4/09/2016
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Market Street Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Beautiful room. Thoughtful service, efficient but not rushed. Perfect location for a lovely lunch or dinner before attending the Orpheum."
Dined on 4/10/2016
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Market Street Grill
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

a place with potential but then disappointing

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/09/2016
 2008
Dined on 4/09/2016
 2008
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"Nice location, close to the opera and symphony, in an "historic hotel" with early 20the century architecture and décor. a place with potential for a good dining experience.
However, the windows looking out onto the street were badly in need of cleaning, which on a rainy day, added to the feeling of gloominess. The food was good and reasonably priced, and good values were found in the drinks, as well as over the top prices on the wine list. What greatly ruined our experience was the uneven service, very good for half the time, but abominable afterward - a period of 30 minutes with no waiter contact whatsoever!
We had to practically beg for the check, once we finally saw our waiter - a bad way to end our visit experience.
"
Dined on 4/09/2016
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Market Street Grill
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Dined on 4/07/2016
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Market Street Grill
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Pre Theater Dining

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"Like most reviewers we ate at Market Street Grill because it is across the street from the Orpheum Theater. My partner had the New York steak which was cooked perfectly. I had the half roast chicken; it was excellent. Service is great: we arrived 2-1/2 hour before curtain. Closer to curtain time the restaurant was rushed and slow. Service is not as attentive as it should be considering the elevated prices. Dinner menu is restricted to a few entrées which seems to result in better prepared meals. (We have had dinner many times over the past years)."
Dined on 4/08/2016
 2003
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Market Street Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

The staff is always wonderful EVERY time we dine!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/07/2016
 2006
Dined on 4/07/2016
 2006
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 4/07/2016
 2006
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, special occasion, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Market Street Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dinner before a Show

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"This is a great spot for dinner before a show at the Orpheum. My friend and I each had the lamb chops, and it was delicious. I ate my entire plate, but my friend had leftovers to take home for lunch the next day. We had a leisurely meal nd a short stroll to the theatre."
Dined on 4/07/2016
 2012
Special Features: good for groups, neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Market Street Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good Food Near Orpheum

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"We needed a place to grab lunch near the Orpheum Theater before a matinee. Market Street Grill was the perfect place. The food was good, the dining environment lovely with high ceilings and warm wood decor. The service was timely, which was important to us this particular day. Everyone enjoyed their meals."
Dined on 4/03/2016
 2008
Special Features: great for lunch, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Market Street Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Get to the theatre on time!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"This gem is within walking distance to both the Orpheum and Golden Gate theaters and they are very sensitive to serving you quickly and well so you make curtain time. My date had the roasted chicken and loved it. I had the arugula salad with salmon and it was delish! Great house coffee and desserts too - the apple tart was fabulous! Attentive service was appreciated!"
Dined on 4/05/2016
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Market Street Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/03/2016
 2000
Dined on 4/03/2016
 2000
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 4/03/2016
 2000
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Market Street Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Lamb chops the best! NY steak fabulous ! 2nd time eating here while seeing a show across the street"
Dined on 4/02/2016
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Market Street Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/02/2016
 2011
Dined on 4/02/2016
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 4/02/2016
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Market Street Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We enjoyed the chicken and Salmon! Service was excellent!"
Dined on 3/31/2016
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Market Street Grill
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Steak not your best choice

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/01/2016
 2003
Dined on 4/01/2016
 2003
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"Market Street Grill is close to both the Golden Gate and Orpheum Theaters, so we chose it for that reason. Repeat visit, but this time steak was not a good choice. Two of us (4 in party) ordered steaks...they were thin and "medium rare" came pretty well done. They did replace one with a beautifully done piece of meat, so obviously they can! Our reservation was honored even though we were a bit late (we called); service was friendly. Would probably go back if we had theater tickets again."
Dined on 4/01/2016
 2003
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Market Street Grill
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Market Street Grill Serves an Important Function

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"The Market Street Grill is conveniently located near the Strand and Orpheum theatres in San Francisco. The service is good and the food and drinks are ok, not great, but I always feel we are being treated honestly and respectfully. Because, they know about half their dinner clientele is attending theatre, they serve VERY quickly . The speed takes from dinner enjoyment. We had a salad and lamb chops. They were ok, but came about two seconds after the appetizer. If there were more dinner possibilities in that mid Market neighborhood, we would try them. There was a BART delay and we called them to say we would be late and they were very accommodating. Wei is always our service provider and he is very friendly and helpful."
Dined on 3/30/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Market Street Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/31/2016
 2016
Dined on 3/31/2016
 2016
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 3/31/2016
 2016
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Market Street Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 3/31/2016
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Market Street Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 3/31/2016
 2002
Special Features: romantic, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Market Street Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 3/31/2016
 2001
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Market Street Grill
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/30/2016
 2008
Dined on 3/30/2016
 2008
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 3/30/2016
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Market Street Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Good food during anniversary

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/29/2016
 2016
Dined on 3/29/2016
 2016
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"Nice environment and good food for price, it is attached to the hotel and near sf opera"
Dined on 3/29/2016
 2016
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Market Street Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Crab Sandwich Disappointing

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"Beautiful restaurant. Very convenient when going to the Orpheum Theater across the street. Sweet potato fries were hot and very good. Salad was boring and if it had dressing on it, I couldn't tell. Crab sandwich was a huge disappointment. Sandwiches at AT&T park are so much better. I would still recommend the restaurant because it was a beautiful place, service was great."
Dined on 3/23/2016
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Market Street Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 3/17/2016
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Market Street Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 3/27/2016
 2006
Special Features: good for groups, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Market Street Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Perfect for a pre show dinner!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"We've been here twice now before seeing a show at the Orpheum. So convenient, right across the street! Both times we had drinks in the bar first, both times really tasty. Appetizers were fabulous, the crab cakes were delicious. I had the salmon, and loved it. My husband had a sausage pasta that he loved as well. We will be back for sure!"
Dined on 3/25/2016
 2012
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Market Street Grill
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/25/2016
 2009
Dined on 3/25/2016
 2009
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Dined on 3/25/2016
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Market Street Grill
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Not worth the money...

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/26/2016
 2012
Dined on 3/26/2016
 2012
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"We were only one of two tables at opening and we had to call for service. The food was below the standard of what I expected.
When it came time for the check, I had been charged different prices as those advertised on the menu. When I brought this to the attention of our server, she said we had the wrong menu. But if I hadn't said something, they would have not changed it.
The overall impression is that the restaurant doesn't have to try too hard because it is the only one close to the Theatre. However, I would rather walk the three or four blocks to another establishment next time.
"
Dined on 3/26/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Market Street Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 3/24/2016
 2011
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Market Street Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/24/2016
 2011
Dined on 3/24/2016
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 3/24/2016
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, neighborhood gem, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for Market Street Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/24/2016
 2016
Dined on 3/24/2016
 2016
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 3/24/2016
 2016
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Market Street Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great lunch place before the theater

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/20/2016
 2014
Dined on 3/20/2016
 2014
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"It's inside the Whitcomb Hotel. Windows on all one side to see the street, very nice and light. Two of my friends had the Salmon..we all tasted it and agreed that it is outstanding! One had the Raviolis, pretty good. Rich and filling. I had a Chicken Salad Sandwich with Fries. So-So. It was on dry bread, would be better if you request mayo to spread on the inside of the bread as the chicken kept falling out of the dry bread. The bread was good, just too dry to keep the salad inside. Ambiance was good...lightly raining so they had the fireplace going. Our waitress disappeared right after she took the money and we wanted another drink so we had to go to the bar. Bartender was great, a very friendly guy and seemed to like his job."
Dined on 3/20/2016
 2014
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Market Street Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 3/19/2016
 2014
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Market Street Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

A good standby Restaurant for groups

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/17/2016
 2012
Dined on 3/17/2016
 2012
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"The restaurant accommodated our late reservation request for five, and sadness at a nice table by the window on market Street. The Grill is located on the ground floor of a hotel near the Orpheum Theater, And I thought it was very pleasant, almost luxurious, inside. The acoustics were good, and we had no trouble conversing. The portions were large, and the menu had an adequate variety of beef, lamb, chicken and seafood entrées. All in all, it was a good dining experience for our group. I would have rated this restaurant higher, except that service was slow, my lamb came out very rare despite my request for medium (then reappeared medium well), and multiple people in our group complained of an off putting taste to the potatoes , as if they had been fried in used or old oil.
On the whole, I would eat at the Market St. Grill again if I were seeing a show at the Orpheum. The food was adequate, the ambience was nice, and the location was very convenient."
Dined on 3/17/2016
 2012
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Market Street Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

First time, very impressed

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"This was the first time for the Market Street Grill inside the Hotel Whitcom. We were going to
the Orpheum across the street to see Wicked, found the Market Street Grill on Open Table.
Notice that is was across the street from the Orpheum, and at a Bart Station.
As you walk in from Market Street, you enter this beautiful lobby with marble floors, walls and lovely chanderliers. The Grill is to the right of the lobby, Greeted quickly and friendly.
The service is top notch, right on top of everything.
We had the salmon, and trout as entrees, with wine, and a delicious appetizer.
Enjoyed the meal and the great service. Don't bypass the Hotel Whitcomb and the Market Street Grill. It is worth exploring.
"
Dined on 3/17/2016
 2005
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Market Street Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great experience. Good attention to food allergy

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/16/2016
 2014
Dined on 3/16/2016
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 3/16/2016
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Market Street Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"It's a nice place to go for lunch specially when you go to the teachers nearby. It's a very decent, nice place., and the food is good."
Dined on 3/16/2016
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Market Street Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 3/15/2016
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Market Street Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 3/15/2016
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Market Street Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/12/2016
 2014
Dined on 3/12/2016
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Always a great experience. Our special requests are routinely accommodated. Great food and service. And, we always make the show on time!"
Dined on 3/12/2016
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, neighborhood gem, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 12 next>>