Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Twenty Eight Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Twenty Eight

MODERN AMERICAN CUISINE WITH A CHINESE SOUL.

TWENTY EIGHT is a chance for you to enjoy Top Chef finalist, Shirley Chung’s play with California flavors and cuisines from all over the world. As playful as her personality, TWENTY EIGHT’s food is not just rethought; it is refocused on creating flavor experiences that are familiar, approachable and simply enjoyable.
23 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
(23 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 23 reviews
5 stars
(14)
4 stars
(4)
3 stars
(3)
2 stars
(1)
1 star
(1)
Food 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Service 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Ambiance 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Noise Level
1.9 / 3
Moderate
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • fit for foodies(16)
  • good for groups(12)
  • great for lunch(10)
  • hot spot(10)
  • special occasion(10)
  • great for brunch(7)
Twenty Eight Reviews List
Review 1 for Twenty Eight
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/08/2015
 2012
Dined on 8/08/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 8/08/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Twenty Eight
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Stay Away

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Empty restaurant. Confused waiters. Blasting music. It took three request to lower it down. This place will soon be out of business."
Dined on 9/01/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Twenty Eight
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

What a delight! Some of the best food ever!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/30/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Twenty Eight
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/21/2015
 2013
Dined on 8/21/2015
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/21/2015
 2013
Special Features: good for groups, hot spot, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Twenty Eight
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/14/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Twenty Eight
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/07/2015
 2011
Dined on 8/07/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Wonderful dining experience. We had our waiter pick our dinner, and had 5 delicious choices to share. Dessert was great, as were our drinks. Beautiful night!"
Dined on 8/07/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Twenty Eight
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/30/2015
 2014
Dined on 7/30/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/30/2015
 2014
Special Features: special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Twenty Eight
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Excellent food, drinks and service

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"This is a hidden gem in the OC. Located close to Google headquarters, 28 is a fantastic restaurant. The chef is preparing delicious and unusual entrees and appetizers. We will definitely go again."
Dined on 7/31/2015
 2005
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Twenty Eight
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Tapas style Asian fusion food. Wonderful

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 7/31/2015
 2011
Special Features: special occasion, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Twenty Eight
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/22/2015
 2011
Dined on 7/22/2015
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 7/22/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Twenty Eight
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/19/2015
 2008
Dined on 7/19/2015
 2008
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 7/19/2015
 2008
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Twenty Eight
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Asian Fusion done well

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Unique flavors. Well done. Food served more tapas style. Mocktails were amazing!!"
Dined on 7/19/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Twenty Eight
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/11/2015
 2015
Dined on 7/11/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 7/11/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Twenty Eight
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great Place

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We've been here several times and have enjoyed the deliciousiness that is Twenty-Eight. We've enjoyed both brunch and dinner...our favorite restaurante."
Dined on 7/12/2015
 2006
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Twenty Eight
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/10/2015
 2006
Dined on 7/10/2015
 2006
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/10/2015
 2006
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Twenty Eight
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 7/09/2015
 2013
Special Features: great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Twenty Eight
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

An Adventure in Taste, Imagination & Honest Food

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Shirley Chung is a culinary genius. With inspiring creativity, Chef Shirley brings together “modern American cuisine with a Chinese soul,” highlight traditional Asian flavors with imaginative and surprising accents that catch you off guard with remarkable delivery and execution.
What Chef Shirley and her business partner Stacie have done with the physical space is nothing short of spectacular.
Immediately after the sheer beauty of the place takes one back, you’re greeted by one of the best restaurant teams out there. The front of the house staff are on point—warm, hospitable, welcoming, and thoroughly professional. In fact, the entire staff are attentive, knowledgeable, friendly, and embody the culture of hospitality that Chef Shirley and Stacie have gifted the diner.
Clearly, the staff are make up an outstanding team that work together with what appears to be effortless camaraderie, the space itself is marvelous and warm, and of course the food is not only fabulous but is enjoyed as a experience unto itself.
The menu is clear, easy to navigate, makes sense as entire work of art, and reasonably priced for such outstanding food.
Chef Shirley’s scissor cut noodles are among the best I've ever eaten anywhere (and I've lived in/worked in/travelled in over 20 Asian countries). I ordered them off the brunch menu and then again with the red braised pork belly off the dinner menu as well.
What Chef Shirley has done is created an adventure in taste no doubt rooted in her deep integrity to honor excellent products, imaginative flavor combinations, and gorgeous plating presentations. Her focus on honest food and excellent service is well worth a visit to his hip and fresh spot that no doubt will be an innovation force in the region’s cuisine.
After my visits to Twenty Eight I have nothing but respect, admiration, and gratitude for the important work she and Stacie are doing to elevate culinary consciousness."
Dined on 7/06/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Twenty Eight
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Excellent Asian Fusion

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Great food. Flavor combinations are so unique. Ambience is way cool."
Dined on 7/02/2015
 2010
Special Features: good for groups, hot spot, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Twenty Eight
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

28 came up shor

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I chose 28 for my Birthday dinner, it had received a favorable review in AAA magazine and I wanted to try something new and special to celebrate. On the positive side, the ambiance here is great. The restaurant section is light and airy and quiet, away from the noisy bar area. The hostess was attentive to my notification that one of our party was disabled. I was excited to experience a dinner cooked by a celebrity chef but the first thing our overly chummy waiter told us after we had sat down was that she was not available that night. He bragged about a large party she catered over the weekend that had necessitated a well earned rest. While I agree that Chefs need to rest, this was not welcome news and should not have been shared at this juncture. It was disappointing and set a negative tone for the dinner. We ordered some drinks, my husband ordered a single malt Scotch and was told that they did not have that type, I do not drink alcohol and wanted something special for my Birthday, so I requested a blended soft drink with a few ingredients. I was flatly told that the bar tenders could not accommodate me and yet at other restaurants when I had ordered the same drink, they had cheerfully approximated my request. We ordered several small plates and we got a dish that we did not order and did not get the one we did. The chicken I had was over cooked and cold, the plate was not warmed. There were very few selections for a vegetarian so my husband ended up with a bowl of undercooked green beans with an undercooked poached egg on top. The white of the egg was clear and gelatinous. We ordered three desserts and only got two so had to re order the third. We are only amateur foodies although we know the difference between good and bad food and 28 came up short."
Dined on 6/30/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Twenty Eight
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Disappointing

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"First thing you'll notice when you get there is the decor...it's beautiful!
The hostess was very pleasant and seated us after a few minutes. Once seated we realized that there were only 10-15 customers in the entire restaurant. They've been open since November and the service lacks immensely. It took incredibly long to get anything which was incredibly disappointing. They were sold out of a few items and not sure how when nobody's there!
The suggested menu items prepared by the "world class chef" were not exciting nor was the presentation memorable.
I'd pass on this restaurant for now until they iron out the kinks, but if they haven't accomplished that yet after 7 months bring open its probably not going to happen."
Dined on 6/26/2015
 2009
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Twenty Eight
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Future Hot Spot

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"This place is hidden away behind large buildings in Irvine and that is why it isn't as busy as it deserves to be. The food is great! Everything was beautifully presented and the taste matched!"
Dined on 6/19/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, hot spot, scenic view, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Twenty Eight
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/15/2015
 2005
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Twenty Eight
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Unique Menu at Twenty Eight

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Enjoyed special dinner in dining room for opportunity to try unique menu items by Chef Shirley Chung, Top Chef celebrity. Experience was good and ordered dishes met expectations. Our table favored the Beijing duck. (By the way, our caramel lace prawns came with only four prawns, whereas the description in WESTWAYS said seven ) Service team seemed young and inexperienced for the class of resturant. Dining room and lounge quiet for a Saturday night; probably due to location. Better for Happy Hour ; drinks and small plates. Will check back for future menus as the seasons change however."
Dined on 6/13/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.