225 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 225 reviews
5 stars
(99)
4 stars
(87)
3 stars
(28)
2 stars
(8)
1 star
(3)
Food 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Service 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Ambiance 
4.5 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.5 / 5
Noise Level
2.4 / 3
Energetic
225 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 225 reviews
5 stars
(99)
4 stars
(87)
3 stars
(28)
2 stars
(8)
1 star
(3)
Food 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Service 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Ambiance 
4.5 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.5 / 5
Noise Level
2.4 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
You are viewing 42 reviews with the following filters: tagged: vibrant bar scene. (remove all tag filters)
Current OpenTable.com Diner Reviews (225)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
New Find.
Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 04/10/2014
 2013
Dined on 04/10/2014
 2013
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Although we have been a regular visitor to Solana. Beach , we had never known about Poseidon. I had seen it on a walk and decided to try it out. Food was great, servers were friendly and efficient, and the surf side location and view was outstanding. This will be a regular spot for us!."
Dined on 04/10/2014
 2013
Special Features: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, notable wine list, hot spot, special occasion, great for lunch, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Birthday Delight
Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 03/26/2014
 2014
Dined on 03/26/2014
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I celebrated my birthday with a close friend and I was amazed, I tried clams and scallops for the first time....Thank you. I love them and your restaurant. Definitely will return."
Dined on 03/26/2014
 2014
Special Features: fit for foodies, good for groups, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, notable wine list, romantic, scenic view, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
A perfect evening
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Even though we parked ourselves in the lot (meters), we were still greeted by the young man at the Valet desk as we approached the restaurant. The hostesses were just as cordial. We were a bit daunted by the crowded bar — we were expecting another couple, who hadn't arrived — but were still impressed by the flow and energy of that area. We were even more impressed, however, that the hostess offered to seat us before our friends arrived. Most places wait for the whole party before you can be seated, but Poseidon seems to understand that sometimes, when arriving at a crowded restaurant, all you want to do is be seated and settled in, whether your whole party is there or not. The food and service were fantastic as well. Thank you so much!!"
Dined on 03/28/2014
 2013
Special Features: fit for foodies, good for groups, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, great for brunch, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list, hot spot, great for lunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
The Poseidon in Del Mar
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"is the best place to eat well prepared food and watch a sunset. The air is always wonderful and so is the staff. I usually share a dinner with my guy and a salad in order to cut down on calories late in the day, but the portions are small here, so we came home hungry. We love being able to walk from our home to the restaurant- they have a great Happy Hour too."
Dined on 03/22/2014
 2013
Special Features: vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Consistently Delivers Excellence
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"As the title says, the Poseidon consistently delivers excellence. Don't be fooled by the understated street side appearance, the bar is warm, energetic and inviting; way nicer than next door. The patio dining is my local favorite. Overall service is timely and professional; food is always superb. Our meals last night were 10's in anyone's book. Check it out, cozy up in the bar and order off that menu to get a taste; you'll be back. Recommend reservations for the Patio (which is heated)"
Dined on 03/19/2014
 2014
Special Features: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, hot spot, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
One of the best views in San Diego
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We love to go to Poseidon when we want to sit by the beach and have some great lobster and drinks. We've also eaten their during restaurant week and the choices are great. My only pet peeve is the vanilla infusion into things like mashed potatoes. I just like my vanilla flavoring in sweet items instead of savory"
Dined on 02/23/2014
 2013
Special Features: vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Spectacular ocean views
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Beautiful location on the beach in Del Mar. Spectacular ocean views, excellent selection of seafood and steaks and fine sevice. Bar scene is very active on warm sunny beach days. Parking is a challenge, valet parking available."
Dined on 03/16/2014
 2009
Special Features: vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, notable wine list, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Expensive!
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The food is so expensive! Why? They even charge for a refill on a soda! I know this place is supposed to be high-class but that doesn't mean they should charge for a soda refill."
Dined on 02/24/2014
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, notable wine list, romantic, scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Reservaton?
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We had a reservation at 12:45 but were told that it would be 15 to 30 minutes for our table. We went to the bar and checked back in 30 minutes. Someone was hassling the hostess about not getting his table (he had just walked in) and so he was seated before we were. To the credit of the hostesses, I think they handled the situation as peacefully as possible; however, the manager should have been at the front desk helping out and kicking out people like that guy. There just didn't seem to be any management around on February 14....a very busy day at the restaurant.
All in all, we had a nice lunch. I just think our reservation should have been taken more seriously.
"
Dined on 02/14/2014
 2009
Special Features: vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Favorite spot
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I will diffidently will make this a regular stop for us!"
Dined on 02/07/2014
 2005
Special Features: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, romantic
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>
Filtering is in progress. Please wait until it completes.