216 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 216 reviews
5 stars
(112)
4 stars
(77)
3 stars
(22)
2 stars
(5)
1 star
(0)
Food 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Service 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Ambiance 
4.6 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.6 / 5
Noise Level
2.3 / 3
Energetic
216 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 216 reviews
5 stars
(112)
4 stars
(77)
3 stars
(22)
2 stars
(5)
1 star
(0)
Food 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Service 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Ambiance 
4.6 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.6 / 5
Noise Level
2.3 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
You are viewing 102 reviews with the following filters: tagged: special occasion. (remove all tag filters)
Current OpenTable.com Diner Reviews (216)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Gorgeous outdoor ocean view setting
Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/17/2014
 2014
Dined on 10/17/2014
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We wanted an outdoor lunch for our birthdays almost literally on the sand. This Del Mar restaurant fits the bill. The only drawback was the noise of all the people outside, and the fact that a 3 foot high cement wall separates the dining area from the sand. It was crowded on a Friday afternoon and service was slow. We had to wait in a line of cars for nearly 15 minutes to drop off the car for Valet parking. Otherwise, it was a perfect setting for a lovely afternoon."
Dined on 10/17/2014
 2014
Special Features: great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Anniversary night out
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"At first walking in the hostess was very friendly and made sure our spot was perfect for our celebration of our wedding anniversary dinner. Waiter was attentive and took care of our needs, could of been a bit more warm/friendly but I am sure he was very busy being a Saturday night. Dinner was great. Hostess knew it was our anniversary and was very friendly with well wishes to us on our special day. ONLY thought was, which it isn't expected, but thought maybe a dessert would of been given as a treat for celebrating our day there. But overall, evening was very nice.
be sure you get there before your reservations, valet was full, had to pay $15.00 across the street. a bit of disappointing to pay, there parking area for valet is small.
"
Dined on 10/11/2014
 2014
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Beautiful inside and out
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Couldn't be a better view or service. We couldn't have had a better server, Devin. He was really the best, couldn't be better. His service was perfect, he was there when we needed him but didn't constantly keep bothering us. He knew his job and had all the answers to all of our questions. An all round good guy. He's a keeper."
Dined on 10/12/2014
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, hot spot, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
wonderful
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Have come here for decades and the owner still carries on. We are both getting old but don't change the place. I thank you."
Dined on 10/08/2014
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
EAter
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We celebrated my 71st birthday at Poseidon. We got there early and were seated on the patio with a beautiful view of the beach and sunset. The seabass, steak, porkchop and cioppino were absolutely delicious! The Caesar salad was disappointing to say the least; skimpy, no flavor of anchovies. My husband asked the waiter to bring some anchovies for his salad and he did. They were delicious. The service was perfect. It was a memorable birthday!"
Dined on 10/05/2014
 2009
Special Features: great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Great food, fantastic view!
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
".... and excellent service too. Wonderful dinner, right on the Pacific."
Dined on 9/27/2014
 2010
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/03/2014
 2014
Dined on 10/03/2014
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We had never been to this restaurant and came from Arizona to celebrate our anniversary dinner here. Absolutely wonderful experience."
Dined on 10/03/2014
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Romantic Diner with sunset
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I went to diner here with my lady friend. Never have had a more romantic place to have diner sitting at the beach, watching the sunset in the pacific. Next to that the food was also fantastic."
Dined on 10/02/2014
 2014
Special Features: romantic, hot spot, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Reflections
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The food was excellent EXCEPT the tails were left on the spinach and at these prices that was not acceptable.
The wine, at 1/2 price was priced right and was quite good.
The valet parking, at $5 helped us avoid the hassle of hunting for one.
All staff were courteous, especially our waiter, Kevin.
The restaurant is too pricy for us to be used except for special occasions, but for those it is super.
"
Dined on 10/01/2014
 2012
Special Features: scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Happy Birthday
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We celebrated my birthday dinner at Poseidon.
We usually love this restaurant on the beach for lunch.
It is Restaurant Week, so the place was full to capacity and very noisy.
The waitress seemed to want us to "hurry up."
She brought the dessert menu before my son finished his dinner.
Parking, as usual, was a nightmare, but you can't beat the view.
"
Dined on 10/01/2014
 2007
Special Features: scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>
Filtering is in progress. Please wait until it completes.