225 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 225 reviews
5 stars
(108)
4 stars
(81)
3 stars
(23)
2 stars
(10)
1 star
(3)
Food 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Service 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Ambiance 
4.6 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.6 / 5
Noise Level
2.3 / 3
Energetic
225 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 225 reviews
5 stars
(108)
4 stars
(81)
3 stars
(23)
2 stars
(10)
1 star
(3)
Food 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Service 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Ambiance 
4.6 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.6 / 5
Noise Level
2.3 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
You are viewing 110 reviews with the following filters: tagged: special occasion. (remove all tag filters)
Current OpenTable.com Diner Reviews (225)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Had a fantastic time
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We had a wonderful time at Poseidon the other evening. The service was friendly, timely and attentive. We had requested patio seating so we could hear the waves and watch the sunset. The staff took us to our table right away and within a couple minutes our waitress was there taking our drink order. It can get a little noisy on the patio, so don't expect a quiet dining experience. But that is to be expected when sitting on the patio at the beach. We were very please with the staff, ambiance and food at Poseidon! We will be back again!"
Dined on 7/27/2014
 2010
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Poseidon
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Always amazing dinner with a view, great service too!"
Dined on 7/26/2014
 2013
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Sunset Dinner
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The setting is wonderful! Food is great. Wonderful experience for out of town guests."
Dined on 7/25/2014
 2006
Special Features: great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service needs a ton of work
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Such a beautiful location and the food is good and improving. BUT - Service was terribly slow and servers were forgetful and not very attentive. Waited almost 10 minutes before getting water or a drink order taken and then also had to call them back to quickly order an app b/c we were not asked. Finally they came back to take the lunch order... still waiting on the app (bread and spreads takes time??) Ordered lunch. Soups came... still no appetizers so asked to cancel. She said too late, it's already made!
Great location (although the valet was full - boo) and maybe they think they don't need to have good service since people will come anyway.
Disappointed for sure."
Dined on 7/25/2014
 2014
Special Features: romantic, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Poseidon
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The pistachio crusted Brie was so so good. I got fish tacos and the fish was tiny and fried way too much. My husband got the fish tacos with the catch of the day and it was way bigger. Our server was excellent. I had this before and it was better. Off day I guess."
Dined on 7/23/2014
 2014
Special Features: great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Best location in Del Mar
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"On the beach. That says it all. The sun was a bit problematic out on the patio, but with the view we had, it's hard to complain. The food was truly awesome. Surf and turf was pricey, but portions seemed quite generous. Field green salad with ahi was terrific as was the same salad with salmon. All had healthy portions which made the prices seem fair enough. Definitely a spot for a special occasion, but if you want to be out on the patio, bring sunglasses and sunscreen as even with the umbrellas we still had more sun on us than we would have liked."
Dined on 7/20/2014
 2011
Special Features: scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Poseidon dinner
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Food was great, view is great. Will definitely be going back."
Dined on 7/20/2014
 2013
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Beautiful Poseidon
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"As long time residents, we remember burgers on the wood patio, dressed in whatever was comfy from the beach. Today's Poseidon is just superb. Can't ask for a better view or better service. The menu offers many choices and the Chilean Seabass was amazing! Excellent presentation, delicious from every different flavor. One of the finest, by all means!"
Dined on 7/15/2014
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
AMAZING!!
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Everything was fabulous, from the food to the view to the ambiance. The service was a little slow but it was still well worth the wait. Will definitely go again!!"
Dined on 7/15/2014
 2006
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Can't beat the view!
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"You are closer to the beach/surf than any place in San Diego but, and it's a big but, you will pay for it. If you get a full meal (drinks, appetizer or salad, entree) you will pay top dollar. The food is OK but at $35-$47 for most entrees, it should be better. We will just go for drinks and appetizers next time because like I said, you can't beat the view!"
Dined on 7/10/2014
 2006
Special Features: romantic, great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>
Filtering is in progress. Please wait until it completes.