228 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 228 reviews
5 stars
(101)
4 stars
(87)
3 stars
(29)
2 stars
(8)
1 star
(3)
Food 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Service 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Ambiance 
4.5 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.5 / 5
Noise Level
2.4 / 3
Energetic
228 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 228 reviews
5 stars
(101)
4 stars
(87)
3 stars
(29)
2 stars
(8)
1 star
(3)
Food 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Service 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Ambiance 
4.5 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.5 / 5
Noise Level
2.4 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
You are viewing 110 reviews with the following filters: tagged: special occasion. (remove all tag filters)
Current OpenTable.com Diner Reviews (228)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Great Setting, OK Food
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"I ordered the Seafood Linguini and could not finish it. Not because of the volume of food, but the volume of butter in the sauce. I like butter but this was just too much. This dish would have been very good if the Butter Sauce was replaced with a tangy marinara. Spectacular view of the ocean. The waitress was just a little too enthusiastic, which was slightly annoying, but the service was very good otherwise. I would recommend this restaurant on the setting alone. Next time I will order the Sea Bass."
Dined on 4/15/2014
 2014
Special Features: scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
New Find.
Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 04/10/2014
 2013
Dined on 04/10/2014
 2013
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Although we have been a regular visitor to Solana. Beach , we had never known about Poseidon. I had seen it on a walk and decided to try it out. Food was great, servers were friendly and efficient, and the surf side location and view was outstanding. This will be a regular spot for us!."
Dined on 04/10/2014
 2013
Special Features: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, notable wine list, hot spot, special occasion, great for lunch, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Wonderful beachside restaurant
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Excellent service, fun atmosphere beautiful view and delicious food!"
Dined on 04/10/2014
 2013
Special Features: great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Fantastic Meal
Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 04/01/2014
 2014
Dined on 04/01/2014
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The food was amazing. Our server was very knowledgeable and gave excellent and appropriate recommendations. She was responsive to our needs and requests. We were able to get a table overlooking the ocean and the entire experience was perfect and memorable. We would certainly look forward to going there again and would feel comfortable recommending Poseidon to anyone."
Dined on 04/01/2014
 2014
Special Features: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, notable wine list, romantic, scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Birthday Delight
Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 03/26/2014
 2014
Dined on 03/26/2014
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I celebrated my birthday with a close friend and I was amazed, I tried clams and scallops for the first time....Thank you. I love them and your restaurant. Definitely will return."
Dined on 03/26/2014
 2014
Special Features: fit for foodies, good for groups, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, notable wine list, romantic, scenic view, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Good times
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We went there to celebrate a special birthday because I knew the food, atmosphere and service would be spot on from prior experiences I had at the restaurant. I was right! The food not only sounds good when you look at the menu with all the descriptions, it is prepared and tastes just the way it should be with a beautiful presentation on the plate. The service is perfect from the entire staff, very attentive.
Highly recommend.
"
Dined on 03/29/2014
 2014
Special Features: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, late-night find, hot spot, great for lunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
A perfect evening
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Even though we parked ourselves in the lot (meters), we were still greeted by the young man at the Valet desk as we approached the restaurant. The hostesses were just as cordial. We were a bit daunted by the crowded bar — we were expecting another couple, who hadn't arrived — but were still impressed by the flow and energy of that area. We were even more impressed, however, that the hostess offered to seat us before our friends arrived. Most places wait for the whole party before you can be seated, but Poseidon seems to understand that sometimes, when arriving at a crowded restaurant, all you want to do is be seated and settled in, whether your whole party is there or not. The food and service were fantastic as well. Thank you so much!!"
Dined on 03/28/2014
 2013
Special Features: fit for foodies, good for groups, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, great for brunch, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list, hot spot, great for lunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Outstanding!
Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 03/28/2014
 2013
Dined on 03/28/2014
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Food is probably the best we had in a long time. We make a point to eat here every time we visit south California. Can't wait to be back."
Dined on 03/28/2014
 2013
Special Features: great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Great food with a Great view.
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Had a great time dining and will be back."
Dined on 03/25/2014
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, notable wine list, romantic, hot spot, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Fantastic view of the ocean and sunset, with great food, service and atmosphere. Great for a special occasion or just to have a nice dinner and enjoy the view."
Dined on 03/24/2014
 2006
Special Features: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>
Filtering is in progress. Please wait until it completes.