164 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 164 reviews
5 stars
(77)
4 stars
(61)
3 stars
(19)
2 stars
(5)
1 star
(2)
Food 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Service 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Ambiance 
4.6 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.6 / 5
Noise Level
2.4 / 3
Energetic
164 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 164 reviews
5 stars
(77)
4 stars
(61)
3 stars
(19)
2 stars
(5)
1 star
(2)
Food 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Service 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Ambiance 
4.6 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.6 / 5
Noise Level
2.4 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
You are viewing 132 reviews with the following filters: tagged: scenic view. (remove all tag filters)
Current OpenTable.com Diner Reviews (164)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Weekday lunch
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We Had ordered a glass of wine at the bar and barely had a sip before we were called for our table. so when we went to our table we told the server we wanted just a few minutes to enjoy a few sips of our wine before we wanted to order....or she could take our order and just wait 5 minutes before putting it in. She said she would just come back otherwise she would "forget".
Well, she forgot either way....we were almost done with our glass of wine when we had to flag her down to take our order. The atmosphere is always great but the service has always been so-so.
"
Dined on 2/26/2015
 2015
Special Features: great for lunch, scenic view, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dinner with a great view
Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/18/2015
 2013
Dined on 2/18/2015
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The outdoor patio is right on the beach and provides a perfect sunset view. The service was good and the food was great at a decent price. It is perfect for a nice dinner without having to be too formal and/or fancy."
Dined on 2/18/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service was awful. forever to get our food.
Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/16/2015
 2015
Dined on 2/16/2015
 2015
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I go here all the time and was shocked how bad our service, food etc was etc..."
Dined on 2/16/2015
 2015
Special Features: scenic view, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Nice ocean view from patio tables!
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Good food and scenic ambience. The place was very busy and our waitress had too many large parties to deal with but we got satisfactory service, not great!"
Dined on 2/15/2015
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Valentines Day
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Service on Valentines Day not up to the usual high standards otherwise it was a great experience just avoid peak holidays."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2004
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Good Restaurant, but has room for improvement.
Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/13/2015
 2015
Dined on 2/13/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Had to wait about an hour after ordering to get our food, was a little noisy. The food was good and the server did a great job."
Dined on 2/13/2015
 2015
Special Features: great for lunch, scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Wonderful
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Our favorite and special place to watch the surf while nearly on the beach. The fish tacos are a treat and a great deal. The only problem is that after some time you have to leave."
Dined on 2/10/2015
 2010
Special Features: great for lunch, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Romantic Dinner for Two
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"My husband and I celebrated my birthday at Poseidon with a romantic dinner for two. We had 5:00 pm dinner reservations so that we could enjoy the early winter sunset. The service was attentive but low key. We prefer not to be rushed or hovered over; the slower pace allowed us the time to enjoy our excellent Veuve Cliquot champagne, clam chowder, pistachio crusted brie, lobster tail with asparagus, and cheesecake. They also served a layered potato dish that was more Dauphinoise than au gratin, but the herbs were a little strong, and we ate very little of it. The view was fantastic, the food was excellent (except for the potatoes), and the service was perfect. We highly recommend Poseidon for romantic special occasions. We will definitely return."
Dined on 2/07/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Good food, great service and incredible view
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/08/2015
 2011
Dined on 2/08/2015
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Our sunset timed dinner was wonderful. Highly recommend the truffle fries."
Dined on 2/08/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
used to be better
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Food was nearly cold, grilled vegetable sandwich was overdone (too many vegies spoiled the taste) and tasted (and felt) very fatty from the oil used to grill the bread, waited for nearly 40 minutes until food arrived, requested additional bread came after we got the entrees (about 45 min. later!), waitress appeared to be not very enthusiastic
we still believe that latest price increases were outrageous...ahi tuna salad from $ 16 to $ 26 for lunch, really? That's $ 33 with tax and tip. It's just a salad with a little bit of fish! ...and the list goes on. Seems the owner is desparate to squeeze the last money out of his loyal customer base. Glad we have a wide choice of restaurants in North County, Poseidon no longer is among our favorites.
"
Dined on 2/04/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, scenic view, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>
Filtering is in progress. Please wait until it completes.