226 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 226 reviews
5 stars
(99)
4 stars
(87)
3 stars
(29)
2 stars
(8)
1 star
(3)
Food 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Service 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Ambiance 
4.5 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.5 / 5
Noise Level
2.4 / 3
Energetic
226 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 226 reviews
5 stars
(99)
4 stars
(87)
3 stars
(29)
2 stars
(8)
1 star
(3)
Food 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Service 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Ambiance 
4.5 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.5 / 5
Noise Level
2.4 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
You are viewing 158 reviews with the following filters: tagged: scenic view. (remove all tag filters)
Current OpenTable.com Diner Reviews (226)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Great Setting, OK Food
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"I ordered the Seafood Linguini and could not finish it. Not because of the volume of food, but the volume of butter in the sauce. I like butter but this was just too much. This dish would have been very good if the Butter Sauce was replaced with a tangy marinara. Spectacular view of the ocean. The waitress was just a little too enthusiastic, which was slightly annoying, but the service was very good otherwise. I would recommend this restaurant on the setting alone. Next time I will order the Sea Bass."
Dined on 4/15/2014
 2014
Special Features: scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Right on the Beach
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The best part about Poseidon
is that it sits right on the beach.
We have been there several times.
The scallops were delicious!
Lunch is reasonable.
Dinner is pricey.
Make sure you have a reservation.
"
Dined on 04/13/2014
 2008
Special Features: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
great night
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"It was a wonderful restaurant,with wonderful food, and great view of the ocean. The service was fantastic. I would highly recommend. ."
Dined on 04/12/2014
 2014
Special Features: great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
New Find.
Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 04/10/2014
 2013
Dined on 04/10/2014
 2013
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Although we have been a regular visitor to Solana. Beach , we had never known about Poseidon. I had seen it on a walk and decided to try it out. Food was great, servers were friendly and efficient, and the surf side location and view was outstanding. This will be a regular spot for us!."
Dined on 04/10/2014
 2013
Special Features: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, notable wine list, hot spot, special occasion, great for lunch, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Wonderful beachside restaurant
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Excellent service, fun atmosphere beautiful view and delicious food!"
Dined on 04/10/2014
 2013
Special Features: great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Appalling service. I was given a gift certificate for my recent engagement, and told the host who took my reservation that it was a special event. Our server couldn't have been less attentive. Piles of dirty app plates on the table in between courses and generally couldn't be found. The clam broth looked like dirty dish water ;although the clams were good, the broth was lackluster. We were not told that the flatbread would be cold and not crispy, so the duck confit flatbread was a major let down that we sent back after a slice. The calamari were strips, which it didn't state on the menu, and were mediocre mainly due to a paltry amount of sauce(wanted more, but the server couldn't be found)."
Dined on 04/03/2014
 2013
Special Features: scenic view
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dinner with Friends
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Poseidon was a good spot. Location on the beach. It was my first time at the restaurant and I was taking friends from out of town to a seafood dinner. The food was good, but not great. The waitress and the valet were personable and friendly. I liked Poseidon but I believe it might be a better lunch spot than a dinner spot. When I pay this kind of money for a dinner, I don't want to compete with every other table in the restaurant in order for the people I am dining with to hear me."
Dined on 04/03/2014
 2013
Special Features: scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Maybe I got there a little early
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"My experiences at Poseidon have always been good, and the beachfront location is wonderful, at least in warm weather. The only flaw at my latest visit was that the table wasn't fully set-for example there were no sweetener packets within sight. Could be the seagulls had made off with them, or perhaps my noon arrival was a little early. Nonetheless, the food was excellent as usual, and the ambience fine. I highly recommend it-just make sure to ask for your condiments when you have the waitress' attention."
Dined on 04/01/2014
 2014
Special Features: great for outdoor dining, scenic view, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Great food right on the beach
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"If you love great food and the beach, this restaurant is for you. I had the freshest and best prepared salmon in recent history. A little noisy on patio, hard to have conversation across table but the view more than makes up for that. We will definitely return."
Dined on 03/31/2014
 2014
Special Features: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Fantastic Meal
Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 04/01/2014
 2014
Dined on 04/01/2014
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The food was amazing. Our server was very knowledgeable and gave excellent and appropriate recommendations. She was responsive to our needs and requests. We were able to get a table overlooking the ocean and the entire experience was perfect and memorable. We would certainly look forward to going there again and would feel comfortable recommending Poseidon to anyone."
Dined on 04/01/2014
 2014
Special Features: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, notable wine list, romantic, scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>
Filtering is in progress. Please wait until it completes.