160 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 160 reviews
5 stars
(73)
4 stars
(63)
3 stars
(17)
2 stars
(5)
1 star
(2)
Food 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Service 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Ambiance 
4.6 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.6 / 5
Noise Level
2.4 / 3
Energetic
160 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 160 reviews
5 stars
(73)
4 stars
(63)
3 stars
(17)
2 stars
(5)
1 star
(2)
Food 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Service 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Ambiance 
4.6 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.6 / 5
Noise Level
2.4 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
You are viewing 72 reviews with the following filters: tagged: romantic. (remove all tag filters)
Current OpenTable.com Diner Reviews (160)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Great Food, Great Sunset
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Had a great evening at Poseidon. I was in town for Dad's Weekend for my Daughters (Delta Gamma) sorority at SDSU so I treated her to a wonderful sunset, beachfront dinner at Poseidon. Everyone, from the valet to the hostess to the waitress gave us great service. The food did not disappoint and the sunset and setting were the best! Thanks"
Dined on 2/26/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dinner with a great view
Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/18/2015
 2013
Dined on 2/18/2015
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The outdoor patio is right on the beach and provides a perfect sunset view. The service was good and the food was great at a decent price. It is perfect for a nice dinner without having to be too formal and/or fancy."
Dined on 2/18/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Valentines Day
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Service on Valentines Day not up to the usual high standards otherwise it was a great experience just avoid peak holidays."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2004
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Romantic Dinner for Two
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"My husband and I celebrated my birthday at Poseidon with a romantic dinner for two. We had 5:00 pm dinner reservations so that we could enjoy the early winter sunset. The service was attentive but low key. We prefer not to be rushed or hovered over; the slower pace allowed us the time to enjoy our excellent Veuve Cliquot champagne, clam chowder, pistachio crusted brie, lobster tail with asparagus, and cheesecake. They also served a layered potato dish that was more Dauphinoise than au gratin, but the herbs were a little strong, and we ate very little of it. The view was fantastic, the food was excellent (except for the potatoes), and the service was perfect. We highly recommend Poseidon for romantic special occasions. We will definitely return."
Dined on 2/07/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Good food, great service and incredible view
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/08/2015
 2011
Dined on 2/08/2015
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Our sunset timed dinner was wonderful. Highly recommend the truffle fries."
Dined on 2/08/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
out of town guests
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Great ocean view with amazing sunset. My out of town guests enjoyed the view, wine, and food. Attentive service! Perfect evening enabled by the Poseidon staff. Thanks for arranging the whale broaching the waters just offshore..."
Dined on 1/31/2015
 2007
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
The food and service were excellent.
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We took a limo ride to the Poseiden for a very spevial birthday dinner. We booked a table for 5:00.
The sunset was magnificent. We were able to see a green flash. The food was outstanding. The biggest lobster tail that we have been served in SD County. The service was excellent and they were right there with anything we might need or any question that we might have had about the menu. The ambience was very friendly. When the sun set, it seemed that everyone in the place cheered because it was so spectacular. We will definitely go back to this restaurant again. Thanks for everything!!
"
Dined on 1/31/2015
 2007
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Poseidon is always a great place for good food and a great view, with good service"
Dined on 1/12/2015
 2008
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service is fantastic!
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"The servers at Poseidon made our afternoon out the best experience ever. Food was great, weather was perfect and the San Diego sunset spectacular."
Dined on 12/23/2014
 2010
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
amazing food with a view
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Incredibly impressed. Ordered the bread and spread appetizer, cheese tortellini with shrimp, and pork chop entree. All cooked perfectly with lots of flavor. Amazing view and impeccable service."
Dined on 12/29/2014
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>
Filtering is in progress. Please wait until it completes.