227 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 227 reviews
5 stars
(110)
4 stars
(81)
3 stars
(23)
2 stars
(10)
1 star
(3)
Food 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Service 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Ambiance 
4.6 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.6 / 5
Noise Level
2.3 / 3
Energetic
227 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 227 reviews
5 stars
(110)
4 stars
(81)
3 stars
(23)
2 stars
(10)
1 star
(3)
Food 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Service 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Ambiance 
4.6 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.6 / 5
Noise Level
2.3 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
You are viewing 93 reviews with the following filters: tagged: romantic. (remove all tag filters)
Current OpenTable.com Diner Reviews (227)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Had a fantastic time
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We had a wonderful time at Poseidon the other evening. The service was friendly, timely and attentive. We had requested patio seating so we could hear the waves and watch the sunset. The staff took us to our table right away and within a couple minutes our waitress was there taking our drink order. It can get a little noisy on the patio, so don't expect a quiet dining experience. But that is to be expected when sitting on the patio at the beach. We were very please with the staff, ambiance and food at Poseidon! We will be back again!"
Dined on 7/27/2014
 2010
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Poseidon
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Always amazing dinner with a view, great service too!"
Dined on 7/26/2014
 2013
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service needs a ton of work
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Such a beautiful location and the food is good and improving. BUT - Service was terribly slow and servers were forgetful and not very attentive. Waited almost 10 minutes before getting water or a drink order taken and then also had to call them back to quickly order an app b/c we were not asked. Finally they came back to take the lunch order... still waiting on the app (bread and spreads takes time??) Ordered lunch. Soups came... still no appetizers so asked to cancel. She said too late, it's already made!
Great location (although the valet was full - boo) and maybe they think they don't need to have good service since people will come anyway.
Disappointed for sure."
Dined on 7/25/2014
 2014
Special Features: romantic, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Poseidon dinner
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Food was great, view is great. Will definitely be going back."
Dined on 7/20/2014
 2013
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
AMAZING!!
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Everything was fabulous, from the food to the view to the ambiance. The service was a little slow but it was still well worth the wait. Will definitely go again!!"
Dined on 7/15/2014
 2006
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Can't beat the view!
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"You are closer to the beach/surf than any place in San Diego but, and it's a big but, you will pay for it. If you get a full meal (drinks, appetizer or salad, entree) you will pay top dollar. The food is OK but at $35-$47 for most entrees, it should be better. We will just go for drinks and appetizers next time because like I said, you can't beat the view!"
Dined on 7/10/2014
 2006
Special Features: romantic, great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"My friend wanted to eat at the beach but didn't know where. I chose Poseidon. She had never been there. She got there before me and was seated at our table and text me that she was there and the restaurant was amazing! She was so excited and said I couldn't have picked a more perfect spot for lunch! Only down side is it has limited parking and will cost 3 times more to park if you have to park in paid lot across street to come early or later in day!"
Dined on 7/09/2014
 2009
Special Features: romantic, great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Amazing
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Super fun, great food, AMAZING view... Service was on time"
Dined on 7/07/2014
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
A great on the beach restaurant
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Been to Poseidon few weeks ago for the first time for a farewell dinner with a group of 12 people . The seating outside was amazing with the beach right next to you and the food was delicious . Had calamari for the first time and it was oh so yummy . Made reservations to go there again when my husband came back home from an overseas deployment and again the whole experience and the food was amazing . If I ever come back to San Diego will for sure come and eat there again . :)"
Dined on 7/05/2014
 2014
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Great Sunset
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"It's been a while since we've been to Poseidon and the restaurant has changed for the better. The menu is more sophisticated and the food was excellent. The fish was fresh and the portions were large. We sat on the patio and had an incredible view of the ocean as sunset approached. The service was impeccable and the food came out quickly. I wouldn't call it relaxing but the noise level was much lower than I expectedf given how crowded the restaurant was."
Dined on 7/05/2014
 2007
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, scenic view, great for outdoor dining, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>
Filtering is in progress. Please wait until it completes.