198 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 198 reviews
5 stars
(93)
4 stars
(72)
3 stars
(24)
2 stars
(5)
1 star
(4)
Food 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Service 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Ambiance 
4.6 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.6 / 5
Noise Level
2.5 / 3
Energetic
198 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 198 reviews
5 stars
(93)
4 stars
(72)
3 stars
(24)
2 stars
(5)
1 star
(4)
Food 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Service 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Ambiance 
4.6 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.6 / 5
Noise Level
2.5 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
You are viewing 88 reviews with the following filters: tagged: romantic. (remove all tag filters)
Current OpenTable.com Diner Reviews (198)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Best Sunset in Town!
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Poseiden Restaurant had the greatest dinner ambience for our out of town guests from Germany. The were very impressed with the beach location, the patio dining experience, plus the great scenery."
Dined on 3/30/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, hot spot, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Romatic, Great Ocean View. Excellent food
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Poseidon is a great place to go for a Sunset dinner. Ask for a patio table, ocean side.
Fun to watch the families, surfers, waves. Top that off with a great meal and some good wine, we were in heaven.
"
Dined on 3/27/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
EXCELLENT SERVICE, DELICIOUS FOOD AND ROMANTIC.
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"WE WERE SEATED IN A BOOTH AND EVEN THOUGH WE WERE NOT BY THE WINDOW, WE STILL HAD A BEAUTIFUL VIEW AT THE SEA AND THE SUNSET. THE SURF AND TURF I ORDERED WERE PERFECT LY COOKED AND SO IS THE SICILIAN SEABASS. WE WILL DEFINITELY GO BACK THERE AND WOULD RECOMMEND IT TO MY FRIENDS AND FAMILY. WE ACTUALLY LIKE THIS PLACE BETTER THAN THE NEIGHBOR RESTAURANT."
Dined on 3/20/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"A perfect evening"
Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/14/2015
 2007
Dined on 3/14/2015
 2007
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"This place was awsome! The dining was fabulous!, Friendly and accommodating staff! Everything we ate was superb! Exquisite views, our attentive waiter Teresa was perfect! We are going back on April 4. We are driving from Los Angeles for a repeat experience!"
Dined on 3/14/2015
 2007
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, scenic view, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Poseidon delivers
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Great food, great service, fantastic sunset to celebrate my daughter making the Deans list last semester. My 2nd time at Poseidon in the last month and I was very pleased."
Dined on 3/14/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, scenic view, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Great cocktail list and wine list!
Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/13/2015
 2013
Dined on 3/13/2015
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Had a wonderful lunch with the Girls our regular Friday event!!"
Dined on 3/13/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Not quite what I was hoping for
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"In general, I like this restaurant, and have been there many times. This was my mom's favorite place, and she passed away a few months ago. As it was her birthday, I wanted to honor her by going there with my family.
In my reservation, I specifically requested a nice view table to honor her, and when we arrived, no one said anything about it, and said if we wanted a good table, we'd have to wait 45 minutes. Why bother to write it if no one reads it?
One of the specials was "surf & turf". Isn't that supposed to be a steak and a piece of shellfish? Instead, it was a steak and something that looked like a crab cake mix that had been made into a tuna salad style instead of a cake.
My daughter requested plain grilled salmon and french fries. We were charged the same price for that as my full salmon dinner? That seems odd, especially when you can get grilled salmon on a salad for $10.
Our full bill came to $190. That seemed excessive for what we ordered. I think I'll stick to lunch there from now on."
Dined on 3/13/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
A Great Seaside Landslide of Succulent Seafood!
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Others claim to provide an ocean view...Poseidon gives you the ocean up close and personal. The view is almost a delicious as the cuisine...amazing ahi and superb drinks all served with laidback San Diego-style. And if you're super lucky, Lupe will be your server! Dine at sunset and do it often. I'll see you there!"
Dined on 3/10/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Perfect spot to catch the sunset!
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Had dinner at Poseidon and watched the sunset. Amazing view and the food was great! Service was attentive, too. A great evening!"
Dined on 3/07/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Great Food, Great Sunset
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Had a great evening at Poseidon. I was in town for Dad's Weekend for my Daughters (Delta Gamma) sorority at SDSU so I treated her to a wonderful sunset, beachfront dinner at Poseidon. Everyone, from the valet to the hostess to the waitress gave us great service. The food did not disappoint and the sunset and setting were the best! Thanks"
Dined on 2/26/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>
Filtering is in progress. Please wait until it completes.