227 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 227 reviews
5 stars
(111)
4 stars
(82)
3 stars
(22)
2 stars
(9)
1 star
(3)
Food 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Service 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Ambiance 
4.6 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.6 / 5
Noise Level
2.3 / 3
Energetic
227 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 227 reviews
5 stars
(111)
4 stars
(82)
3 stars
(22)
2 stars
(9)
1 star
(3)
Food 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Service 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Ambiance 
4.6 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.6 / 5
Noise Level
2.3 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
You are viewing 95 reviews with the following filters: tagged: romantic. (remove all tag filters)
Current OpenTable.com Diner Reviews (227)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Poseidon dinner
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Food was great, view is great. Will definitely be going back."
Dined on 7/20/2014
 2013
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
AMAZING!!
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Everything was fabulous, from the food to the view to the ambiance. The service was a little slow but it was still well worth the wait. Will definitely go again!!"
Dined on 7/15/2014
 2006
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Can't beat the view!
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"You are closer to the beach/surf than any place in San Diego but, and it's a big but, you will pay for it. If you get a full meal (drinks, appetizer or salad, entree) you will pay top dollar. The food is OK but at $35-$47 for most entrees, it should be better. We will just go for drinks and appetizers next time because like I said, you can't beat the view!"
Dined on 7/10/2014
 2006
Special Features: romantic, great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"My friend wanted to eat at the beach but didn't know where. I chose Poseidon. She had never been there. She got there before me and was seated at our table and text me that she was there and the restaurant was amazing! She was so excited and said I couldn't have picked a more perfect spot for lunch! Only down side is it has limited parking and will cost 3 times more to park if you have to park in paid lot across street to come early or later in day!"
Dined on 7/09/2014
 2009
Special Features: romantic, great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Amazing
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Super fun, great food, AMAZING view... Service was on time"
Dined on 7/07/2014
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
A great on the beach restaurant
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Been to Poseidon few weeks ago for the first time for a farewell dinner with a group of 12 people . The seating outside was amazing with the beach right next to you and the food was delicious . Had calamari for the first time and it was oh so yummy . Made reservations to go there again when my husband came back home from an overseas deployment and again the whole experience and the food was amazing . If I ever come back to San Diego will for sure come and eat there again . :)"
Dined on 7/05/2014
 2014
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Great Sunset
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"It's been a while since we've been to Poseidon and the restaurant has changed for the better. The menu is more sophisticated and the food was excellent. The fish was fresh and the portions were large. We sat on the patio and had an incredible view of the ocean as sunset approached. The service was impeccable and the food came out quickly. I wouldn't call it relaxing but the noise level was much lower than I expectedf given how crowded the restaurant was."
Dined on 7/05/2014
 2007
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, scenic view, great for outdoor dining, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dining experience
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Our dining experience was outstanding. We were recommended by a friend and couldn't of been more pleased. Was greeted at the door by friendly smiling faces. Wait staff was great! Our waitress Nilmin (don't know if that is the proper spelling) was outstanding. Very attentive! Ambiance was perfect. Food came out in a timely matter! We will definelty come back the next time we come to visit California."
Dined on 7/03/2014
 2010
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, notable wine list, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Just Great
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"I took my mom here for a belated Mothers Day dinner where she requested the beach dining to watch the sunset. This was perfect. We sat there right next to the sand for over 2 hours and the waitress did not rush us at all and was happy that we were enjoying the evening. The food was just spectacular. I got the Lobester Tail and my mom got the Surf & Turf, we did not speak that whole time the food was just so good. Go! You will be happy you did."
Dined on 6/29/2014
 2011
Special Features: romantic, great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Missed the seafood tower
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Otherwise, it was a great experience, and we understand that this is temporary during kitchen renovations."
Dined on 6/22/2014
 2004
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>
Filtering is in progress. Please wait until it completes.