226 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 226 reviews
5 stars
(100)
4 stars
(86)
3 stars
(29)
2 stars
(8)
1 star
(3)
Food 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Service 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Ambiance 
4.5 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.5 / 5
Noise Level
2.4 / 3
Energetic
226 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 226 reviews
5 stars
(100)
4 stars
(86)
3 stars
(29)
2 stars
(8)
1 star
(3)
Food 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Service 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Ambiance 
4.5 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.5 / 5
Noise Level
2.4 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
You are viewing 74 reviews with the following filters: tagged: neighborhood gem. (remove all tag filters)
Current OpenTable.com Diner Reviews (226)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Wonderful beachside restaurant
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Excellent service, fun atmosphere beautiful view and delicious food!"
Dined on 04/10/2014
 2013
Special Features: great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Birthday Delight
Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 03/26/2014
 2014
Dined on 03/26/2014
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I celebrated my birthday with a close friend and I was amazed, I tried clams and scallops for the first time....Thank you. I love them and your restaurant. Definitely will return."
Dined on 03/26/2014
 2014
Special Features: fit for foodies, good for groups, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, notable wine list, romantic, scenic view, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
No more Jakes
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I brought someone who has eaten at Jakes for years and never walked next door. She will never go back to Jake's. The outdoor patio sealed the deal and she thought the food was slightly better especially the salmon"
Dined on 03/28/2014
 2014
Special Features: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
A perfect evening
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Even though we parked ourselves in the lot (meters), we were still greeted by the young man at the Valet desk as we approached the restaurant. The hostesses were just as cordial. We were a bit daunted by the crowded bar — we were expecting another couple, who hadn't arrived — but were still impressed by the flow and energy of that area. We were even more impressed, however, that the hostess offered to seat us before our friends arrived. Most places wait for the whole party before you can be seated, but Poseidon seems to understand that sometimes, when arriving at a crowded restaurant, all you want to do is be seated and settled in, whether your whole party is there or not. The food and service were fantastic as well. Thank you so much!!"
Dined on 03/28/2014
 2013
Special Features: fit for foodies, good for groups, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, great for brunch, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list, hot spot, great for lunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Outstanding!
Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 03/28/2014
 2013
Dined on 03/28/2014
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Food is probably the best we had in a long time. We make a point to eat here every time we visit south California. Can't wait to be back."
Dined on 03/28/2014
 2013
Special Features: great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Geat Calamari !!
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Great Calamari, Mahi Mahi and service"
Dined on 03/24/2014
 2013
Special Features: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, great for lunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
The Poseidon in Del Mar
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"is the best place to eat well prepared food and watch a sunset. The air is always wonderful and so is the staff. I usually share a dinner with my guy and a salad in order to cut down on calories late in the day, but the portions are small here, so we came home hungry. We love being able to walk from our home to the restaurant- they have a great Happy Hour too."
Dined on 03/22/2014
 2013
Special Features: vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Spectacular ocean views
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Beautiful location on the beach in Del Mar. Spectacular ocean views, excellent selection of seafood and steaks and fine sevice. Bar scene is very active on warm sunny beach days. Parking is a challenge, valet parking available."
Dined on 03/16/2014
 2009
Special Features: vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, notable wine list, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
One more time
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I eat at Poseidon at least 25 times a year. It is a real favorite. They are very accommodating to requests."
Dined on 03/15/2014
 2014
Special Features: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Had a wonderful lunch with lovely view of Del Mar coastline. Food was delicious and reasonably priced for the location and ambiance."
Dined on 03/14/2014
 2009
Special Features: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>
Filtering is in progress. Please wait until it completes.