233 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 233 reviews
5 stars
(114)
4 stars
(83)
3 stars
(23)
2 stars
(9)
1 star
(4)
Food 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Service 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Ambiance 
4.6 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.6 / 5
Noise Level
2.4 / 3
Energetic
233 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 233 reviews
5 stars
(114)
4 stars
(83)
3 stars
(23)
2 stars
(9)
1 star
(4)
Food 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Service 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Ambiance 
4.6 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.6 / 5
Noise Level
2.4 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
You are viewing 58 reviews with the following filters: tagged: neighborhood gem. (remove all tag filters)
Current OpenTable.com Diner Reviews (233)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Beautiful Poseidon
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"As long time residents, we remember burgers on the wood patio, dressed in whatever was comfy from the beach. Today's Poseidon is just superb. Can't ask for a better view or better service. The menu offers many choices and the Chilean Seabass was amazing! Excellent presentation, delicious from every different flavor. One of the finest, by all means!"
Dined on 7/15/2014
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
AMAZING!!
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Everything was fabulous, from the food to the view to the ambiance. The service was a little slow but it was still well worth the wait. Will definitely go again!!"
Dined on 7/15/2014
 2006
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Amazing
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Super fun, great food, AMAZING view... Service was on time"
Dined on 7/07/2014
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Great Sunset
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"It's been a while since we've been to Poseidon and the restaurant has changed for the better. The menu is more sophisticated and the food was excellent. The fish was fresh and the portions were large. We sat on the patio and had an incredible view of the ocean as sunset approached. The service was impeccable and the food came out quickly. I wouldn't call it relaxing but the noise level was much lower than I expectedf given how crowded the restaurant was."
Dined on 7/05/2014
 2007
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, scenic view, great for outdoor dining, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dining experience
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Our dining experience was outstanding. We were recommended by a friend and couldn't of been more pleased. Was greeted at the door by friendly smiling faces. Wait staff was great! Our waitress Nilmin (don't know if that is the proper spelling) was outstanding. Very attentive! Ambiance was perfect. Food came out in a timely matter! We will definelty come back the next time we come to visit California."
Dined on 7/03/2014
 2010
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, notable wine list, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ocean view
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"I love this restaurant. Food is always wonderful and you can't beat the patio for close to the ocean dining!"
Dined on 6/21/2014
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Just Perfect
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Great food, service, ambience! We had a cozy booth with a beautiful ocean view! A new favorite restaurant for our family."
Dined on 6/15/2014
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We had forgotten house delightful Poseidon is. Our table was inside, but right where the doors had opened, so we were protected yet still right at the beautiful ocean. Particularly important is their early evening hour, since dinner and the theater can be a puzzlement on time. Both our meals were excellent. Outstanding!"
Dined on 6/04/2014
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, hot spot, scenic view, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Poseidon May 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Food preparation and presentation is as usual, excellent. Table service is normally outstanding except this time we got a server who was nothing more than an order taker. Nothing destroys a dining experience more than when get an order taker whom you see only when you arrive, takes your order and then you don't see again until they present you with a bill. That kind of service you can obtain from a food truck. Food quality and previous experience says that I would still give this restaurant at least 3 stars."
Dined on 5/29/2014
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Foodman
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Whenever I want someone to have a San Diego experience I bring them to the Poseidon. A no fail option. Everyone wants to linger as long as they can."
Dined on 5/25/2014
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for lunch, scenic view, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>
Filtering is in progress. Please wait until it completes.