178 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 178 reviews
5 stars
(86)
4 stars
(66)
3 stars
(20)
2 stars
(5)
1 star
(1)
Food 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Service 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Ambiance 
4.6 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.6 / 5
Noise Level
2.4 / 3
Energetic
178 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 178 reviews
5 stars
(86)
4 stars
(66)
3 stars
(20)
2 stars
(5)
1 star
(1)
Food 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Service 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Ambiance 
4.6 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.6 / 5
Noise Level
2.4 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
You are viewing 138 reviews with the following filters: tagged: great for outdoor dining. (remove all tag filters)
Current OpenTable.com Diner Reviews (178)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Not a bang for your buck any longer
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I was bummed to hear that Poseidon would not be honoring the Passport card soon. So- 333 Pacific in Oceanside will be getting my busy soon. So long Poseidon- it's all about value!"
Dined on 1/25/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, hot spot, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Great View
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We had a late lunch after a noon concert. We had a lovely table beach side and the food was good. The service was rather perfunctory, however. I had noted that we were celebrating our friends birthday on the reservation, but there was no acknowledgement from the hostess or wait staff, and no offer of a dessert (we saw another table get a dessert with a candle while we dined, so we thought there would be something coming). The plates were cleared quickly and the waitress dropped off the bill without asking if we wanted dessert. It felt like we were getting the bums rush at the end of the meal. But aside from that it was a great place to go and a good meal."
Dined on 1/21/2015
 2005
Special Features: great for lunch, scenic view, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Poseidon is always a great place for good food and a great view, with good service"
Dined on 1/12/2015
 2008
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Glorious Day at the Beach
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"The sun was shining and the weather was warm. We sat outside for lunch and could hear the waves crashing. I wish they would turn off the music so the natural ambience would be more prominent. Get there early and have a reservation for a good seat. It fills up quickly and gets VERY crowded and noisy on a Thursday. We were not in a hurry. Good place for an expensive, leisurely lunch. The salmon sandwich with salad ($18) was EXCELLENT!"
Dined on 1/15/2015
 2007
Special Features: great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Beautiful day, great lunch
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Visited Poseidon for lunch the day after New Year's. It was a beautiful day in Del Mar. Perfect day to dine at Poseidon. We were seated on the patio along the wall bordering the beach. Wonderful view!
Our server (Jay) was absolutely wonderful. He was very efficient, attentive without being overbearing and offered excellent recommendations. The food, from appetizers to dessert and coffee, was exceptional. All in all, a beautiful day in Del Mar and great lunch at Poseidon! Highly recommended."
Dined on 1/02/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, scenic view, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Feels homey but still elegant for fine dining.
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"My husband and I enjoy the ambience and light at Poseidon. The booths facing the windows are our favorite seating spot, where we were fortunate to be seated on our most recent visit. We wanted to start the New Year at one of the berst sesafood restaurants around that feels homey and comfortable but produces excellent food. Originally we wanted lunch but the lunch menu, while probably very good is a little too casual and not remarkable, soup, sald, sandwich fare. The full dining experience later on (we got seating for 4:30, the first dinner service) is great. Excellent food and good wait staff and front desk. We also like the fact that young, old, and families all mingle nicely at Poseidon."
Dined on 1/01/2015
 2013
Special Features: scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service is fantastic!
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"The servers at Poseidon made our afternoon out the best experience ever. Food was great, weather was perfect and the San Diego sunset spectacular."
Dined on 12/23/2014
 2010
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
New Years Eve Sunset
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Enjoyed the last sunset of 2014 from the outdoor dining area. What a wonderful restaurant.. and what a fantastic view. Food was a bit pricey (but maybe that's the norm for this area); but the selections and food were fantastic. Service got a little slow when things got a bit busy... but we were enjoying the evening so there wasn't a rush."
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2013
Special Features: scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
amazing food with a view
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Incredibly impressed. Ordered the bread and spread appetizer, cheese tortellini with shrimp, and pork chop entree. All cooked perfectly with lots of flavor. Amazing view and impeccable service."
Dined on 12/29/2014
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Lovely views with great food
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/24/2014
 2005
Dined on 12/24/2014
 2005
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"I always love meeting friends for a meal at the Poseidon. You can't beat the view, and the food it tasty."
Dined on 12/24/2014
 2005
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>
Filtering is in progress. Please wait until it completes.