160 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 160 reviews
5 stars
(73)
4 stars
(63)
3 stars
(17)
2 stars
(5)
1 star
(2)
Food 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Service 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Ambiance 
4.6 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.6 / 5
Noise Level
2.4 / 3
Energetic
160 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 160 reviews
5 stars
(73)
4 stars
(63)
3 stars
(17)
2 stars
(5)
1 star
(2)
Food 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Service 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Ambiance 
4.6 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.6 / 5
Noise Level
2.4 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
You are viewing 116 reviews with the following filters: tagged: great for outdoor dining. (remove all tag filters)
Current OpenTable.com Diner Reviews (160)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
The Pojo burger is still the best!!
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"You can't beat the ambiance since the they an outdoor patio right on the Del Mar beach. The food is delicious and is a great place for lunch or dinner."
Dined on 3/02/2015
 2007
Special Features: great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Great Food, Great Sunset
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Had a great evening at Poseidon. I was in town for Dad's Weekend for my Daughters (Delta Gamma) sorority at SDSU so I treated her to a wonderful sunset, beachfront dinner at Poseidon. Everyone, from the valet to the hostess to the waitress gave us great service. The food did not disappoint and the sunset and setting were the best! Thanks"
Dined on 2/26/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Weekday lunch
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We Had ordered a glass of wine at the bar and barely had a sip before we were called for our table. so when we went to our table we told the server we wanted just a few minutes to enjoy a few sips of our wine before we wanted to order....or she could take our order and just wait 5 minutes before putting it in. She said she would just come back otherwise she would "forget".
Well, she forgot either way....we were almost done with our glass of wine when we had to flag her down to take our order. The atmosphere is always great but the service has always been so-so.
"
Dined on 2/26/2015
 2015
Special Features: great for lunch, scenic view, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Nice ocean view from patio tables!
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Good food and scenic ambience. The place was very busy and our waitress had too many large parties to deal with but we got satisfactory service, not great!"
Dined on 2/15/2015
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Valentines Day
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Service on Valentines Day not up to the usual high standards otherwise it was a great experience just avoid peak holidays."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2004
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Wonderful
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Our favorite and special place to watch the surf while nearly on the beach. The fish tacos are a treat and a great deal. The only problem is that after some time you have to leave."
Dined on 2/10/2015
 2010
Special Features: great for lunch, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Good food, great service and incredible view
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/08/2015
 2011
Dined on 2/08/2015
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Our sunset timed dinner was wonderful. Highly recommend the truffle fries."
Dined on 2/08/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
used to be better
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Food was nearly cold, grilled vegetable sandwich was overdone (too many vegies spoiled the taste) and tasted (and felt) very fatty from the oil used to grill the bread, waited for nearly 40 minutes until food arrived, requested additional bread came after we got the entrees (about 45 min. later!), waitress appeared to be not very enthusiastic
we still believe that latest price increases were outrageous...ahi tuna salad from $ 16 to $ 26 for lunch, really? That's $ 33 with tax and tip. It's just a salad with a little bit of fish! ...and the list goes on. Seems the owner is desparate to squeeze the last money out of his loyal customer base. Glad we have a wide choice of restaurants in North County, Poseidon no longer is among our favorites.
"
Dined on 2/04/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, scenic view, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
out of town guests
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Great ocean view with amazing sunset. My out of town guests enjoyed the view, wine, and food. Attentive service! Perfect evening enabled by the Poseidon staff. Thanks for arranging the whale broaching the waters just offshore..."
Dined on 1/31/2015
 2007
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
The food and service were excellent.
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We took a limo ride to the Poseiden for a very spevial birthday dinner. We booked a table for 5:00.
The sunset was magnificent. We were able to see a green flash. The food was outstanding. The biggest lobster tail that we have been served in SD County. The service was excellent and they were right there with anything we might need or any question that we might have had about the menu. The ambience was very friendly. When the sun set, it seemed that everyone in the place cheered because it was so spectacular. We will definitely go back to this restaurant again. Thanks for everything!!
"
Dined on 1/31/2015
 2007
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>
Filtering is in progress. Please wait until it completes.