195 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 195 reviews
5 stars
(91)
4 stars
(71)
3 stars
(24)
2 stars
(5)
1 star
(4)
Food 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Service 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Ambiance 
4.6 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.6 / 5
Noise Level
2.5 / 3
Energetic
195 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 195 reviews
5 stars
(91)
4 stars
(71)
3 stars
(24)
2 stars
(5)
1 star
(4)
Food 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Service 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Ambiance 
4.6 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.6 / 5
Noise Level
2.5 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
You are viewing 145 reviews with the following filters: tagged: great for outdoor dining. (remove all tag filters)
Current OpenTable.com Diner Reviews (195)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Romatic, Great Ocean View. Excellent food
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Poseidon is a great place to go for a Sunset dinner. Ask for a patio table, ocean side.
Fun to watch the families, surfers, waves. Top that off with a great meal and some good wine, we were in heaven.
"
Dined on 3/27/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"A perfect evening"
Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/14/2015
 2007
Dined on 3/14/2015
 2007
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"This place was awsome! The dining was fabulous!, Friendly and accommodating staff! Everything we ate was superb! Exquisite views, our attentive waiter Teresa was perfect! We are going back on April 4. We are driving from Los Angeles for a repeat experience!"
Dined on 3/14/2015
 2007
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, scenic view, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Poseidon delivers
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Great food, great service, fantastic sunset to celebrate my daughter making the Deans list last semester. My 2nd time at Poseidon in the last month and I was very pleased."
Dined on 3/14/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, scenic view, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Generally a great place to go for lunch or dinner. Wonderful view and very good food. I've been there many times and always had a pleasant experience. My last visit was the first where the seating and service was underwhelming. They were busy and took awhile to even offer seating."
Dined on 3/13/2015
 2007
Special Features: scenic view, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Great cocktail list and wine list!
Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/13/2015
 2013
Dined on 3/13/2015
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Had a wonderful lunch with the Girls our regular Friday event!!"
Dined on 3/13/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Not quite what I was hoping for
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"In general, I like this restaurant, and have been there many times. This was my mom's favorite place, and she passed away a few months ago. As it was her birthday, I wanted to honor her by going there with my family.
In my reservation, I specifically requested a nice view table to honor her, and when we arrived, no one said anything about it, and said if we wanted a good table, we'd have to wait 45 minutes. Why bother to write it if no one reads it?
One of the specials was "surf & turf". Isn't that supposed to be a steak and a piece of shellfish? Instead, it was a steak and something that looked like a crab cake mix that had been made into a tuna salad style instead of a cake.
My daughter requested plain grilled salmon and french fries. We were charged the same price for that as my full salmon dinner? That seems odd, especially when you can get grilled salmon on a salad for $10.
Our full bill came to $190. That seemed excessive for what we ordered. I think I'll stick to lunch there from now on."
Dined on 3/13/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
A Great Seaside Landslide of Succulent Seafood!
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Others claim to provide an ocean view...Poseidon gives you the ocean up close and personal. The view is almost a delicious as the cuisine...amazing ahi and superb drinks all served with laidback San Diego-style. And if you're super lucky, Lupe will be your server! Dine at sunset and do it often. I'll see you there!"
Dined on 3/10/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Nice restaurant
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The Poseidon is a very good place to have dinner at sunset. The views are perfect. We enjoyed the food and the service was great. It does, however, need remodeling. The inside is dated. Other than that, it's worth the visit. We will return."
Dined on 3/09/2015
 2002
Special Features: great for brunch, scenic view, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Great view and food!
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We always enjoy the Poseidon. The view can't be beat and seating options are varied based on your desire and the weather. Great outdoor patio as well as indoor seating with a nice ocean view. Brunch on the weekends is very nice with excellent eggs benedict. Great place for a special dinner. Enjoy!"
Dined on 3/10/2015
 2014
Special Features: great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
something for everyone
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The best sunset dining! Also fun for a walk on the beach before lunch. The patio is adjacent to a great sandy beach. Food is generally good, sometimes outstanding. Service is variable."
Dined on 3/06/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>
Filtering is in progress. Please wait until it completes.