232 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 232 reviews
5 stars
(114)
4 stars
(83)
3 stars
(22)
2 stars
(9)
1 star
(4)
Food 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Service 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Ambiance 
4.6 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.6 / 5
Noise Level
2.4 / 3
Energetic
232 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 232 reviews
5 stars
(114)
4 stars
(83)
3 stars
(22)
2 stars
(9)
1 star
(4)
Food 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Service 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Ambiance 
4.6 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.6 / 5
Noise Level
2.4 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
You are viewing 193 reviews with the following filters: tagged: great for outdoor dining. (remove all tag filters)
Current OpenTable.com Diner Reviews (232)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Best location in Del Mar
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"On the beach. That says it all. The sun was a bit problematic out on the patio, but with the view we had, it's hard to complain. The food was truly awesome. Surf and turf was pricey, but portions seemed quite generous. Field green salad with ahi was terrific as was the same salad with salmon. All had healthy portions which made the prices seem fair enough. Definitely a spot for a special occasion, but if you want to be out on the patio, bring sunglasses and sunscreen as even with the umbrellas we still had more sun on us than we would have liked."
Dined on 7/20/2014
 2011
Special Features: scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Poseidon dinner
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Food was great, view is great. Will definitely be going back."
Dined on 7/20/2014
 2013
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Beautiful Poseidon
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"As long time residents, we remember burgers on the wood patio, dressed in whatever was comfy from the beach. Today's Poseidon is just superb. Can't ask for a better view or better service. The menu offers many choices and the Chilean Seabass was amazing! Excellent presentation, delicious from every different flavor. One of the finest, by all means!"
Dined on 7/15/2014
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
AMAZING!!
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Everything was fabulous, from the food to the view to the ambiance. The service was a little slow but it was still well worth the wait. Will definitely go again!!"
Dined on 7/15/2014
 2006
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Can't beat the view!
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"You are closer to the beach/surf than any place in San Diego but, and it's a big but, you will pay for it. If you get a full meal (drinks, appetizer or salad, entree) you will pay top dollar. The food is OK but at $35-$47 for most entrees, it should be better. We will just go for drinks and appetizers next time because like I said, you can't beat the view!"
Dined on 7/10/2014
 2006
Special Features: romantic, great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Parking nightmare
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Went to Poseidon twice in one week.
Love the ocean and the view.
JULY IS TOURIST SEASON AND VALET PARKING WAS FULL.
Parking across the street is difficult to secure and pricey.
"
Dined on 7/10/2014
 2007
Special Features: scenic view, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"My friend wanted to eat at the beach but didn't know where. I chose Poseidon. She had never been there. She got there before me and was seated at our table and text me that she was there and the restaurant was amazing! She was so excited and said I couldn't have picked a more perfect spot for lunch! Only down side is it has limited parking and will cost 3 times more to park if you have to park in paid lot across street to come early or later in day!"
Dined on 7/09/2014
 2009
Special Features: romantic, great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
no more rack of lamb
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The night we chose to dine was the night the restaurant introduced a new menu. I was looking forward to the soft shell crab appetizer and the rack of lamb for my entree as we have dined there a few times before. Both were gone! I was quite disappointed. However, we did have the spring rolls which were delicious, and the cioppino and Chilean sea bass which were also good. I don't think I will drive that far for those entrees which are available ocean-side nearer to our home. Also because of the new menu wait staff was not as attentive as they have been in the passt."
Dined on 7/08/2014
 2014
Special Features: scenic view, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Amazing
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Super fun, great food, AMAZING view... Service was on time"
Dined on 7/07/2014
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
best ocean dining experience
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"you are on the sand, can hear the surf,
but the patio is quite noisy.
Everyone talking pretty loud and music playing.
Perhaps a later lunch will be less crowed/hectic.
Food is good, parking is a nightmare..
"
Dined on 7/07/2014
 2007
Special Features: hot spot, scenic view, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>
Filtering is in progress. Please wait until it completes.