Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Surf Club Ocean Grille - Wyndham Oceanfront Reviews List

Surf Club Ocean Grille - Wyndham Oceanfront

The Surf Club Ocean Grille is Virginia Beach's most elegant oceanfront eatery. Our name has evolved from the history of our property, which goes back to the thirties and forties. Back then, Big Band Leaders such as Jimmy Dorsey and Glenn Miller brought their big sound to our sandy shores. In remembrance of those glory years, we have created an atmosphere with the freshest seafood, contemporary comfort, and of course, a sensational view!
See more Surf Club Ocean Grille - Wyndham Oceanfront details
24 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
(24 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 24 reviews
5 stars
(6)
4 stars
(11)
3 stars
(2)
2 stars
(3)
1 star
(2)
Food 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Service 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
1.9 / 3
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • scenic view(15)
  • special occasion(9)
  • romantic(8)
  • good for groups(6)
  • great for outdoor dining(6)
  • great for brunch(5)
Surf Club Ocean Grille - Wyndham Oceanfront Reviews List
Review 1 for Surf Club Ocean Grille - Wyndham Oceanfront
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Off their game

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/13/2016
 2011
Dined on 3/13/2016
 2011
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"My brother and his fiancee are searching for wedding venues. I took the family here for brunch so they could check out the space. It was one of the ones my wife and I considered for our wedding and reception. In this particular morning, they were just off. The buffet was nothing special, the server forgot to bring milk for my wife's coffee, there were no spoons readily available. To top it off, the cup that my mother's coffee came in had crusted food stuck to the inside, which she didn't discover until 2/3 through drinking it. I've been here before and it's usually really good so I'll give them the benefit of the doubt. Unfortunately, it was a bad first impression on my family and I doubt any of them will be back - weeding, brunch or otherwise."
Dined on 3/13/2016
 2011
Special Features: scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Surf Club Ocean Grille - Wyndham Oceanfront
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 2/19/2016
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, hot spot, scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Surf Club Ocean Grille - Wyndham Oceanfront
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/23/2016
 2012
Dined on 1/23/2016
 2012
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 1/23/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Surf Club Ocean Grille - Wyndham Oceanfront
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/14/2015
 2014
Dined on 11/14/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/14/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Surf Club Ocean Grille - Wyndham Oceanfront
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Staff, food and scenery were perfect ....

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/21/2015
 2015
Dined on 8/21/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/21/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, notable wine list, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies, kid-friendly, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Surf Club Ocean Grille - Wyndham Oceanfront
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/18/2015
 2011
Dined on 8/18/2015
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"the window view of the ocean is best."
Dined on 8/18/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Surf Club Ocean Grille - Wyndham Oceanfront
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/14/2015
 2009
Dined on 8/14/2015
 2009
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 8/14/2015
 2009
Special Features: good for groups, scenic view, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Surf Club Ocean Grille - Wyndham Oceanfront
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/04/2015
 2011
Dined on 8/04/2015
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 8/04/2015
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Surf Club Ocean Grille - Wyndham Oceanfront
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

DO NOT S

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/25/2015
 2011
Dined on 7/25/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 7/25/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Surf Club Ocean Grille - Wyndham Oceanfront
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/23/2015
 2006
Dined on 7/23/2015
 2006
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/23/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Surf Club Ocean Grille - Wyndham Oceanfront
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 7/02/2015
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, scenic view, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Surf Club Ocean Grille - Wyndham Oceanfront
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Ocean View - Food is just OK

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The Surf Club is in the Wyndham Hotel on Atlantic Avenue at 57th Street. That's about 17 blocks north of the end of the Virginia Beach Boardwalk. So, is it worth the trip? If you're a vacationer staying on the Boardwalk, then "no;" you already have the view and several good restaurants within blocks. If you're staying at the Wyndham, then "yes;" it's convenient, with the Ocean view, but the food is just OK, not great.
On the other hand, when they have live music on the Patio, it's a nice place to sit and have a drink - check the Happy Hour deals."
Dined on 5/24/2015
 2011
Special Features: scenic view, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Surf Club Ocean Grille - Wyndham Oceanfront
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Excellent Food and service

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Great food and service over the holiday weekend. Recommended it to many friends during our stay in VA Beach. Would definitely go again!"
Dined on 5/22/2015
 2014
Special Features: scenic view, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Surf Club Ocean Grille - Wyndham Oceanfront
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

We enjoyed listening toa great guitarist. Awesome

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/16/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Surf Club Ocean Grille - Wyndham Oceanfront
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Nice view but menu was not as advertised on Open Table"
Dined on 3/22/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Surf Club Ocean Grille - Wyndham Oceanfront
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great pre-race pasta meal deal

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We came here the night before the Shamrock Half Marathon because they were offering an all-you-can pasta buffet for runners. The place was crowded with other runners, but we got right in because we had made reservations first. We got a table with an ocean view, and it was wonderful. Our server took a little while to get our drink orders, but it was understandable considering how busy it was. They had 3 kinds of pasta to choose from, along with salad, marinara and alfredo sauces, garlic bread, and even grilled chicken to add to your meal. Definitely a great deal for only $15 a person, and I would highly recommend."
Dined on 3/21/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Surf Club Ocean Grille - Wyndham Oceanfront
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Terrible service, okay food

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/21/2015
 2008
Dined on 3/21/2015
 2008
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We were in town for the Shamrock Marathon Weekend. The restaurant was listed as a recommended spot by the racing organization, so I made a reservation for my family for the night before the race.
There was a great deal of traffic, so I called to say we would be running late. I was told by the person who answered the phone that my reservation would not be guaranteed as they were very busy. Overall the woman who answered the phone was quite rude about it and didn't take my name to note whose reservation I was calling about. When we arrived (@ 6:13) we were told "Oh your table is wide open. " The restaurant seemed busy, but was also not completely full either.
After being sat, we waited TWENTY minutes for water. We waited another ten to have our order taken, and another THIRTY to get our food. And the waiter got the order wrong. We were given several different excuses for all the mess ups.
Overall it was a disappointing experience and I wish we had gone somewhere else when we talked to the rude person on the phone in the beginning."
Dined on 3/21/2015
 2008
Special Features: scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Surf Club Ocean Grille - Wyndham Oceanfront
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We had our daughter's wedding reception in the Surf Club Ocean Grill and our son's rehearsal dinner here. Love this place!"
Dined on 3/03/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Surf Club Ocean Grille - Wyndham Oceanfront
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

We ate here twice, and thoroughly enjoyed it..

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We had Thanksgiving here, and their buffet was the best we have found. The turkey and prime rib were outstanding. The oyster dressing and array of vegetables were excellent.
We came back for dinner, and enjoyed the seafood platter. They serve plenty of fresh food. Our server Kip took very good care of us. They are located in the Wyndham.
"
Dined on 11/29/2014
 2006
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for brunch, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Surf Club Ocean Grille - Wyndham Oceanfront
Based on the average of (5) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
4 out of 4 recommend this product
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4.5 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.5 / 5
Ambiance 
4.5 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.5 / 5
Noise Level
2 / 3
Moderate