Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Allgauer's on the Riverfront Reviews List

Allgauer's on the Riverfront

Exciting, contemporary twists on American fare - using only the freshest ingredients available - that is what makes Allgauer's on the Riverfront THE destination restaurant on the North Shore! Overlooking a gently flowing, tree-lined river, our award-winning restaurant offers only USDA prime steaks, amazing seafood entrees, tender pasta, fresh salads and decadent desserts made fresh daily by our Pastry Chef. Enjoy a comfortable yet sophisticated atmosphere, accented with beautiful decor, distinctive artwork, and soaring vaulted ceilings that compliment the exquisite culinary creations of the Chef. Allgauer's is the perfect setting for a business power lunch or a romantic dinner for two. Allgauer’s serves breakfast, lunch and dinner every day and is noted for a mouth-watering Friday Seafood Buffet and Award-Winning Sunday Champagne Brunch.
See more Allgauer's on the Riverfront details
60 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
(60 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 60 reviews
5 stars
(21)
4 stars
(14)
3 stars
(14)
2 stars
(8)
1 star
(3)
Food 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Service 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Ambiance 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Noise Level
1.8 / 3
Moderate
Value 
3.3 / 5
(Very Good) 3.3 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • special occasion(21)
  • good for groups(19)
  • great for brunch(19)
  • scenic view(19)
  • fit for foodies(11)
  • great for lunch(7)
Allgauer's on the Riverfront Reviews List
Review 1 for Allgauer's on the Riverfront
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Poor Allgauer's

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"Recently changed dining - $46 including Lobster. Not many people, Over-cooked cold Lobster, not enough oyster, etc."
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Allgauer's on the Riverfront
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"very enjoyable for lunch with a lovely river view. the buffet was lavish though uneccsary
since the menu offerings were more than adequate.
The service was excellent...especially good choice for a business lunch.
"
Dined on 1/07/2016
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Allgauer's on the Riverfront
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/03/2016
 2010
Special Features: romantic, great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Allgauer's on the Riverfront
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

New Years Even Dinner on the Riverfront

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"We thought Allgauers River Front would be a good choice for dinner because we've been there for brunch and dinner before and had wonderful experiences. But to us now knowing celebrating New Years Eve was not our best choice seeing the hotel had a big New Year's Eve banquet going on. We enjoyed the time with our friends at dinner but it was embrassing that the restaurant was so under staff and management not around to assist and make patrons comfortable and assured an enjoyable evening. We received no parties favors that the restaurant had for the guess. Our table was not set for four people, we never got bread plates, silver ware. Waiter took to much time checking with us.
Once we ordered we all new our meals would come out in a timely manner, but not in a hurry because we were not in a hurry. But, as we enjoyed our time with our friends we began to notice time was escaping, we orders appetizers, they finally came. We ordered drinks, enjoyed nice conversations, time went by, no soups or salads appeared, no waiter to call upon to ask, finally surprisingly our dinner arrived. I said to the waiter what happened to our soups and salads? He was very surprised too, that we had not gotten them. He placed our dinners at our table and hurried to get the soups and salads, so we could eat everything together.
Our dinners were tasty, the steaks cooked right, soups and salads ok, even the tiramisu was delicious. So in conclusion News Years Eve dinner might not have come out as planned, we didn't let the poor service we received ruin our night. Our overall experience was ok, a little disappointing, but ok. We're not sure if we'll return for another News Year Eve dinner, but we'll be back for a brunch or dinner buffet. That's where the service is! Happy New Year!!
"
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2015
Special Features: great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Allgauer's on the Riverfront
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Allgauer's on the Riverfront
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/26/2015
 2014
Dined on 12/26/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 12/26/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for brunch, scenic view, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Allgauer's on the Riverfront
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 9/19/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Allgauer's on the Riverfront
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Allgauer's on the Riverfront
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

not what it was

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"For years we've enjoyed Allgauer's brunch, Sundays or on special occasions like Thanksgiving. Most recently, we had taken friends at Easter, 2015.
But when we revisited last Sunday (12/10) we were surprised and disappointed at how it had shrunk.
First, the staff had been reduced to the point where our table was only partly set and it took a couple of appeals to the hostess before a waiter appeared to bring the remaining silverware and coffee cups. He then vanished from the floor, and appears to have been the only one on duty in the first place. The previously ubiquitous circulating champagne bottle had vanished, though once the waiter rematerialized, at our request he offered a single refill. Two of us ordered tea, which took more than 30 minutes to appear. Seriously.One of us struggled to open some crab legs, minus the cracker he'd requested, until, when he was almost done, the waiter brought him two (!) of them.
The buffet itself was perhaps 60% the size of previous spreads. A number of the dishes were un-labeled, making it impossible to identify their contents; fish, chicken, beef, pork, alligator? There appeared to be no flame under either the sausage or breakfast potatoes -- both were room temperature. At the omelet/sliced meats station, one lone server, the second burner unlit and unattended, making the wait for eggs overlong. When I returned for sliced meat (there used to be two choices -- Sunday only one was presented) I had to flag down an employee to go into the kitchen and summon someone to man the station.
Sadly, we won't be back. It seems clear that management is seriously cutting costs, perhaps due to shrinking custom, but this can only increase the trend.
We will miss the old version, though. If anyone reading this knows of a good northshore brunch, I'd love to learn its name."
Dined on 12/20/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Allgauer's on the Riverfront
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/19/2015
 2008
Dined on 12/19/2015
 2008
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 12/19/2015
 2008
Special Features: great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Allgauer's on the Riverfront
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/11/2015
 2014
Dined on 12/11/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 12/11/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, scenic view, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Allgauer's on the Riverfront
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Dined on 11/06/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Allgauer's on the Riverfront
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/06/2015
 2012
Dined on 11/06/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 11/06/2015
 2012
Special Features: good for groups, scenic view, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Allgauer's on the Riverfront
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I've eaten there many many times.
Always a pleasure
"
Dined on 10/03/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Allgauer's on the Riverfront
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 9/27/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Allgauer's on the Riverfront
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good for view on a celebratory occasion

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The ambiance is nice, refined, quiet. The host was friendly and helpful. The waiter seemed depressed but served adequately. Overall, this is too expensive unless you have a discount."
Dined on 9/20/2015
 2015
Special Features: scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Allgauer's on the Riverfront
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/12/2015
 2005
Special Features: scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Allgauer's on the Riverfront
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good basic restaurant

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Excellent menu with small plates, sandwiches, salads and entrees . Quality of meats and chicken was excellent."
Dined on 9/05/2015
 2003
Special Features: good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Allgauer's on the Riverfront
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/30/2015
 2011
Dined on 8/30/2015
 2011
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 8/30/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Allgauer's on the Riverfront
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/21/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for brunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Allgauer's on the Riverfront
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/24/2015
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Allgauer's on the Riverfront
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/23/2015
 2004
Special Features: great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Allgauer's on the Riverfront
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Allgauer's buffet

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I had the lunch buffet. It was OK, not great. My companions both ordered salads and seemed very pleased with their selection."
Dined on 8/12/2015
 2013
Special Features: scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Allgauer's on the Riverfront
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Sunday Brunch Buffet

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"An outstanding dining experience! We reserved our table (for 4) for 10:00 (opening time for the buffet) and stayed until 2:00. Taking our time allowed us to sample most of the extraordinary number of dishes available on the buffet among us and we did not find one dish lacking. The array of salads was impressive and every one was prepared with fresh ingredients and some with creative combinations. The hot dishes and other items were likewise beautifully prepared. Omelets to order and fresh-carved meats filled out the main dish array. The dessert table with its flowing chocolate fountain topped off the meal (some of us started and finished there!).
Our server was very attentive, keeping our mimosa/champagne glasses full and clearing our plates as we emptied them.
We are all looking forward to returning and bringing others with us.
"
Dined on 8/02/2015
 2004
Special Features: special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Allgauer's on the Riverfront
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 6/21/2015
 2009
Special Features: great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Allgauer's on the Riverfront
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/14/2015
 2012
Special Features: great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Allgauer's on the Riverfront
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

slow service

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"There were only three tables of guests and yet the service was very slow. Food was average. Dining room was very nice. Staff started vacuuming while we were still eating - that was very noisy and rude."
Dined on 5/30/2015
 2009
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Allgauer's on the Riverfront
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/17/2015
 2006
Special Features: great for brunch, scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Allgauer's on the Riverfront
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Not worth the price

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Has the feel of a Bakers Square but priced like Fogo de Chao. Would not go again."
Dined on 5/08/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Allgauer's on the Riverfront
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Just ok this time

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I have long been a fan of Allgauer's but this experience was not a good one. My dinner was mediocre, and the service was painfully slow. I will reluctantly give it another try, but if I have a repeat of this experience, I will not come back again."
Dined on 4/30/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Allgauer's on the Riverfront
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/26/2015
 2014
Dined on 4/26/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/26/2015
 2014
Special Features: great for brunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Allgauer's on the Riverfront
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

just ok

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/25/2015
 2010
Dined on 4/25/2015
 2010
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"It is a typical restaurant attached to a hotel. I had crab cakes - plural per the menu - but was one and was terrible. Others diners food was ok."
Dined on 4/25/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Allgauer's on the Riverfront
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

unexpected and pleasant surprise

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Our recent dinner with friends turned out to be a pleasant evening out. The food presentation was beautiful. The taste and quality was excellent. The waiter was polite and competent, though somewhat over worked. I will return."
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2012
Special Features: scenic view, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Allgauer's on the Riverfront
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

relaxing and elegant

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"There were six of us and we had a relaxing time getting together. The meals were excellent, as was the dessert.
We were treated royally and we were allowed to take our time ordering and savoring our food.
I appreciated the fact that we were finally in a restaurant that doesn't rush people out the door.
We will definitely return!"
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2012
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Allgauer's on the Riverfront
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great Brunch

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Have been going to Allgauer's for brunch for 30 years. Always great. Great selection of items to select. Attentive staff kept our champagne glasses full."
Dined on 3/01/2015
 2010
Special Features: great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Allgauer's on the Riverfront
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Our server, Jose, was absolutely wonderful and very responsive. The quality of food for the Friday Seafood Buffet was disappointing as most of the fish dishes were very overcooked (dried out, soggy fish, including the cold shrimp was over cooked - mushy. I cannot comment on the other items from the menu, but we definitely will not be back for the buffet. - very disappointed and pricey when you pay for poor quality."
Dined on 2/20/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Allgauer's on the Riverfront
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Excellent Brunch!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We were a party of 7 for Sunday brunch. The food was outstanding, with a wonderful selection. Best brunch ever!"
Dined on 2/08/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for brunch, scenic view, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Allgauer's on the Riverfront
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Inattentive and Slow Service - Poor to Great Food

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Allgauer's is a mixed bag. This could be a top notch restaurant for the area with some greater attention to detail and focus on the menu.
Good:
The bone-in 2" thick pork chop was among the best pork chops I have had anywhere. Perfectly seasoned and perfectly cooked, I would go back just for that one dish. The french onion soup was also among the best I have had.
Scenic view right on the Des Plaines river, with large picture windows overlooking the scenery. We went in the winter, but I can tell that in the summer it would be lovely. Outdoor lighting was not on, so it was hard to see at night in the winter; some inexpensive outdoor lighting would greatly improve view.
Allgauer's salad was excellent and unique.
Bad:
- Service was horrible. Our iced tea and sodas were always empty for long periods of time. 20 minutes passed between finishing our appetizer/salad course and the entree, with our waiter nowhere to be seen. When we did see our waiter, he kept his head and eyes averted (looking at the floor) so as to make it almost impossible to get his attention. I had to yell out after waiting 30 minutes for refills on our drink just to get his attention. Bread basket was empty and never go refilled. Side dishes were incorrectly described (green beans turned out to be asparagus), Baked potato was brought out plain with no butter, no cheese, no bacon, etc. (and none was offered as an option).
- The Orange Roughy was average. Unfortunately 2 of our party selected this. A few errant bones showed lack of care in preparation. Bland seasoning (seems like they baked it and sprinkled with Old Bay, not much else) ruined the presentation and taste, though it was cooked correctly and seemed fresh. Could have been much better.
- The Baked Alaska was among the worst we have ever had. The dessert had obviously been premade and frozen, and was barely thawed when it came to our table. Meringue was hard and chewy, cake frozen and dry. Yuck."
Dined on 2/07/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Allgauer's on the Riverfront
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Great place but avoid it on New Year's Eve

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"The menu selections are great & my rack of lamb was delicious. Waiter was really nice but service was terrible since they were grossly understaffed & kitchen was slow. Our waiter was rushing all over & very accommodating but he was way overworked. They had party in ballroom so I think that's where servers were. My lamb initially was undercooked, then was perfect. Kitchen sent out wrong side dish & sauce. Waiter corrected all but it was frustrating. Have been there other times when service was great, so chalking this up to it being New Year's Eve."
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2009
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Allgauer's on the Riverfront
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Conversation Friendly

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We chose this restaurant for a special family dinner on a Sunday evening. The dining room was less than half filled. We had a window table for four. Our waiter did not rush us. He did make a special trip to the kitchen to check on the availability of one of the entrees (which was subsequently ordered.) The quality of the food was excellent. With few customers, the room was very conversation friendly. The restaurant featured a special Sunday dinner menu of several complete dinners, including soup, salad bar, entree and desert bar quite fairly priced."
Dined on 12/28/2014
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, scenic view, special occasion
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for Allgauer's on the Riverfront
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"The service was great and they were able to accomadate a 7th person for me at a last minute notice...........................many thanks!"
Dined on 12/28/2014
 2012
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, late-night find
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Allgauer's on the Riverfront
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Always a Great Place to Dine

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We go here often -- one of our very favorite restaurants! However, they usual have a lunch buffet and because it was the day after Christmas, they did not have one. We were very disappointed. Their lunch buffet is outstanding!! Allgauer's also has what they call an Early Sunday Supper where a diner orders their main entree from the menu, and there is a large salad and dessert bar to accompany the main course a diner chooses. That is wonderful as well!"
Dined on 12/26/2014
 2013
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Allgauer's on the Riverfront
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dinner buffet

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Personally, I had never been to Allgauer's for the dinner brunch. My friends suggested it and so we went there as a group of 7. It was very nice and quiet. The buffet had everything to eat and more! Seafood and meat included. It was delicious! And, for $40 the price was right, considering everything that was offered."
Dined on 12/05/2014
 2011
Special Features: good for groups
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Allgauer's on the Riverfront
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Meet friends for brunch twice a year at Algauers

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"They have changed the layout for the food stations. Very crowded and spent a lot of time waiting in lines for food And clean plates. Food and service are very good but too expensive to be standing in lines. Will not be going back."
Dined on 11/30/2014
 2014
Special Features: great for brunch, special occasion
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Allgauer's on the Riverfront
Based on the average of (16) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
9 out of 13 recommend this product
Food 
3.4 / 5
(Very Good) 3.4 / 5
Service 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Ambiance 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Noise Level
2.1 / 3
Energetic