Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Cafe Eau Reviews List

Cafe Eau

Café Eau has become a popular dining and nightlife hot spot in the St. Louis area. Located on the south side of the main lobby, it is a great choice to enjoy a meal accompanied by exciting live entertainment. Guests will love the fabulous features of Café Eau, including an ice bar that keeps refreshments perfectly chilled, a beautiful bar and patio space, and a cozy outdoor fireplace.
On Friday and Saturday nights, guests can listen to live entertainment while dining. We have musical performances from 9:30 pm until 1:00 am.

See more Cafe Eau details
23 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.3 / 5
(Very Good) 3.3 / 5
(23 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 23 reviews
5 stars
(2)
4 stars
(9)
3 stars
(8)
2 stars
(1)
1 star
(3)
Food 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Service 
3.3 / 5
(Very Good) 3.3 / 5
Ambiance 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Noise Level
2.2 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • great for outdoor dining(11)
  • good for groups(8)
  • late-night find(6)
  • neighborhood gem(6)
  • special occasion(6)
  • vibrant bar scene(6)
Cafe Eau Reviews List
Review 1 for Cafe Eau
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Cafe Eau? Cafe NO!

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/31/2015
 2010
Dined on 10/31/2015
 2010
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Our waiter could not have been more snooty. It took him 25 min. to come back to our table to take our order, and when he did, he had the audacity to say he didn't think we were ready to order because one menu was open. Also, we had a gift certificate from Restaurant.com that never expires, but we were told that, as of that day, they were no longer accepting those certificates. We questioned it, asking if they were truly going to decline a certificate that we had purchased. They said yes. The sole reason we went to Cafe Eau is because we bought the coupon to their restaurant. The marketing worked, but they wouldn't deliver. Bait and switch? Let's see what the BBB thinks."
Dined on 10/31/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Cafe Eau
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/28/2015
 2008
Dined on 10/28/2015
 2008
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 10/28/2015
 2008
Special Features: great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Cafe Eau
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/01/2015
 2012
Dined on 10/01/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 10/01/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Cafe Eau
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Service

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We have been to Cafe Eau several times and love the food and atmosphere of the outdoor patio. This time the service just was not good. We know this sometimes happens so we won't let it deter us from eating here again since the food is so good."
Dined on 9/26/2015
 2007
Special Features: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Cafe Eau
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Great Food, Inadequate Service

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"The server wasn't attentive. There were multiple examples throughout the dining experience in which we had to constantly ask for refills on water, needing more table settings due to them being taken away with our appetizer plates, asking for steak knives when steak meals arrived at the table to name a few. There were a nine guests in my party and the food took approx. 35 minutes to arrive. The orders consisted of 3 steaks, 2 salmon, 1 lobster mac n cheese, 2 orders of fish tacos and toasted ravioli. The restaurant wasn't crowded at all. Not sure if I'll be returning anytime soon due to the service."
Dined on 9/26/2015
 2013
Special Features: great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Cafe Eau
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 9/13/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Cafe Eau
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Nothing. Screaming kids and parents who did nothing."
Dined on 9/12/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Cafe Eau
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/23/2015
 2009
Dined on 8/23/2015
 2009
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 8/23/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Cafe Eau
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Staff is Not Well Managed, Service Problems

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We dined here a year ago, and the outdoor atmosphere by the fountain pool was nice. Back then I remembered service being very slow, and our second glass of wine took 20 minutes and arrived just before we left. So this time, I booked at 6:15 to have an hour and a half to get to our MUNY show at 8:15. This time food was good and service was attentive at first. We skipped wine to avoid the problem we had last time. It was rather warm, so I drank my water fast and they refilled it fast the first time. But our food took 25 minutes to cook, and the appetizer came out after we had both finished our main courses. So it more like desert I guess. And it took 20 minute to get someone's attention to get my water glass refilled - I was eating with no beverage essentially. When they brought out the late appetizer, I told the waiter I needed water. He acknowledged but then was running around helping another waiter serve folks by the pool. So after another 5 or 10 minutes trying to get someone's attention, I stood up in the path of another server at the next table and asked if I could get a glass of water. I couldn't flag her or anyone down any other way. The water person we saw early on disappeared and we never saw him again. They brought out my water finally with the check. I don't blame the waiter -- they had problems a year ago and these were all new waiters. I blame the restaurant manager for poor training or understaffing. Maybe the kitchen is swamped or too small forcing them to cook appetizers after main courses -- I don't know. But I do not plan on going back. I think they will survive on just the out-of-town folks from the hotel, but I don't think locals who know about the problems eat here."
Dined on 7/23/2015
 2010
Special Features: great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Cafe Eau
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/10/2015
 2011
Dined on 7/10/2015
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 7/10/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, hot spot, great for outdoor dining, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Cafe Eau
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 7/03/2015
 2010
Special Features: hot spot, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Cafe Eau
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/27/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Cafe Eau
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/15/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Cafe Eau
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/14/2015
 2009
Dined on 6/14/2015
 2009
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/14/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Cafe Eau
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2008
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2008
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2008
Special Features: great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Cafe Eau
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great service and great good!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We love going to Cafe Eau for either a quick bite to eat or a nice dinner that we are able to relax and then head to the Chase for a movie. We had a great server who was attentive. We saw all ages at the night we were in and people that appeared to be traveling and people from the neighborhood."
Dined on 3/24/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Cafe Eau
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Birthday Dinner

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"My friends and I were celebrating my birthday. We had a great time. I highly recommend the Crab Macaroni and Cheese - it was excellent."
Dined on 2/28/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Cafe Eau
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Taking Mom Down Memory Lane

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I took my Mom to this restaurant as she used to be a regular at the Chase in her 20's which was some 50 plus years ago. She came to dance every weekend at the Zodiac and Starlight Room. We had lunch at Cafe Eau which she told me used to be called The Steeplechase. We got one appetizer with 4 shrimp, a small salad and some pretzel bites. Oh, and my Mom had coffee. The bill was over $40 plus when you add on another 20% for a tip, I would call that a very pricey lunch for two considering what we got. The background music was so loud you could hardly hear each other talk. I would recommend turning that down for the lunch crowd who are trying to converse. Our waiter was very nice and attentive."
Dined on 12/27/2014
 2014
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Cafe Eau
Based on the average of (5) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
3.2 / 5
(Very Good) 3.2 / 5
3 out of 5 recommend this product
Food 
3.4 / 5
(Very Good) 3.4 / 5
Service 
3.4 / 5
(Very Good) 3.4 / 5
Ambiance 
3.2 / 5
(Very Good) 3.2 / 5
Noise Level
1.8 / 3
Moderate