Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Chart House Restaurant - Boston Reviews List

Chart House Restaurant - Boston

An incredible landmark location on Boston’s Long Wharf, Chart House is situated in the Gardiner Building – the restored 18th-century offices of American Patriot John Hancock. Combine the extraordinary setting with outstanding cuisine & it’s not hard to see why the restaurant is a longtime favorite. Since 1961, Chart House has been dedicated to providing the ideal dining experience. With 29 historic, waterfront & showcase locations across the U.S., Chart House offers spectacular views & exceptional service that you’re sure to enjoy. From fresh fish specialties to slow-roasted prime rib, our renowned chefs have tailored a menu to complement local cuisine while introducing a hint of the exotic. Choose from our famous entrées such as Macadamia Crusted Mahi, Miso Glazed Salmon & Whole Maine Lobster. We also offer a daily selection of fresh fish, an extensive collection of fine wines & decadent desserts like our famous Hot Chocolate Lava Cake. Pato Dining at its finest!
See more Chart House Restaurant - Boston details
691 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
(691 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 691 reviews
5 stars
(336)
4 stars
(224)
3 stars
(70)
2 stars
(34)
1 star
(27)
Food 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Service 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Ambiance 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Noise Level
2 / 3
Moderate
Value 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • special occasion(332)
  • scenic view(288)
  • romantic(218)
  • fit for foodies(202)
  • good for groups(193)
  • great for outdoor dining(142)
Chart House Restaurant - Boston Reviews List
Review 1 for Chart House Restaurant - Boston
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 8/01/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Chart House Restaurant - Boston
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/02/2016
 2016
Dined on 2/02/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Great dinner. Menu selections were very good and I enjoyed sharing the ambieance with my colleagues."
Dined on 2/02/2016
 2016
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Chart House Restaurant - Boston
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 1/22/2016
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Chart House Restaurant - Boston
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2007
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2007
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2007
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Chart House Restaurant - Boston
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2013
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2013
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Chart House Restaurant - Boston
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2014
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Chart House Restaurant - Boston
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food was delisios but the service was so slow

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2007
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Chart House Restaurant - Boston
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Disappointing visit

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"I have been to the Chart House in Boston many times and consider it one of Boston's best unfortunately this visit did not live up to past visits.
Our waitress was attentive to our needs and responded to our wish for a leisurely dining experience. Cocktails were ordered and the special infused martinis for 2 were ordered and enjoyed. Appetizers were ordered and the Tuna 3 ways was a great success. It was artistically presented and provided exceptional taste and texture. Up to now it was an exceptional choice for a pleasant evening of catching up with relatives. Entrees are where things fell apart.
Our party ordered the 2 1/2 pound boiled lobster. The lobsters were cracked by the waitress and presented at the table in a very nice way. My Tuna entre was OK, a bit bland and not served with very exciting sauces. I was fine with this. The problem came with the 2 orders of Mahi. One was ordered grilled with a topping and rice, the other was ordered blackened with no topping and a baked potato, plain. The orders came with toppings on both. This was pointed out to the waitress who brought them back and tried to remedy. They came back out from the kitchen again wrong. Sent back again they finally came out correctly, however by this time the Mahi was cooled.
Management did respond without the need for us to ask for them. Their response was less than genuine. We were offered a dessert for the table, refused because no one wanted dessert. The manager kept on asking what they could do. I suggested that they take at least 1 entrée off of the bill, fully expecting that both would be taken off. Only one was, the lower priced one. I don't feel that this was an adequate response from a restaurant that has a good reputation. I'll have to consider my choice of the Chart House in the future and I'm not sure if I'll keep this on my list of places to go in Boston. I consider customer service to be the top priority in my dining decisions and the customer service here failed.
"
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2009
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Chart House Restaurant - Boston
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Not as good as it has been

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"I have used this restaurant many times to dine customers and prospects. Service and food have always been impeccable. Not this time. Our server clearly had no clue how the dishes were served - with comments like "yes, it comes with some sort of vegetable". Our drinks took over 20 minutes (and the restaurant was maybe 10% full). When our food arrived, the two steaks that the group ordered were VERY overcooked. They did offer to re-cook both of them (and the one they re-cooked was excellent). I really hope that quality improves to how it used to be - or our experience was a one off."
Dined on 1/26/2016
 2010
Special Features: scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Chart House Restaurant - Boston
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/22/2016
 2011
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Chart House Restaurant - Boston
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 1/22/2016
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Chart House Restaurant - Boston
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2016
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2016
Special Features: scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Chart House Restaurant - Boston
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Wounderful experience

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2016
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"It was our 20th wedding anniversary and we had never been to the Chart House. It was a memorable night for us and the food/service at the Chart House was one of our favorite parts of the night. We will be back for sure!!!"
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2016
Special Features: romantic, hot spot, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Chart House Restaurant - Boston
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2006
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2006
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Chart House Restaurant - Boston
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2015
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2015
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Chart House Restaurant - Boston
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 1/12/2016
 2009
Special Features: good for groups, scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Chart House Restaurant - Boston
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/12/2016
 2011
Dined on 1/12/2016
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/12/2016
 2011
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Chart House Restaurant - Boston
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/20/2013
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Chart House Restaurant - Boston
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Dined on 1/12/2016
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Chart House Restaurant - Boston
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2009
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2009
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2009
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Chart House Restaurant - Boston
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/26/2015
 2014
Dined on 12/26/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 12/26/2015
 2014
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Chart House Restaurant - Boston
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Lounge area on a quiet night

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"We ordered a number of small plates from the pub menu that's available until about 6:30. Well worth the price and the choices are great. The bar area was quiet with just a few tables so we were able to talk without the overhead music, enjoy delicious food (shrimp taco!) and have a variety of food without a big bill. Definitely recommend."
Dined on 1/08/2016
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Chart House Restaurant - Boston
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 1/08/2016
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Chart House Restaurant - Boston
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 1/02/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Chart House Restaurant - Boston
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

A favorite for meetings.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Consistent quality food and service. Great location with parking."
Dined on 1/06/2016
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, scenic view, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Chart House Restaurant - Boston
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2015
Special Features: great for lunch, scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Chart House Restaurant - Boston
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Disappointed in Chart House

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"I've had good experiences at Chart House in the past, but this last experience left much to be desired.
We went here for New Year's Eve with a group of 10. It was understandably busy, so I expected some delay, but we were seated over 45 minutes after our reservation time (and each time I checked with them it was "just another couple of minutes").
Then they couldn't make any blended drinks (because the blender was broken). My daughter wanted a virgin daiquiri, which they couldn't make because they had no daiquiri mix.
Food quality was mixed. A couple of the dishes were good, but my steak was absolutely awful (very dry), and the seared tuna was basically cooked through. Even the mashed potatoes were disappointing.
Since we were seated so late, we had to step outside in the middle of our meal to see the fireworks. We ordered a bottle of prosecco, which they didn't have, so we ordered a bottle of sparkling wine to be ready when we came back to the table. Our waiter forgot the bottle (we had empty champagne flutes on the table, but no champagne. He said "I thought you said you didn't want the champagne"... at that point, I wasn't really surprised).
My wife did talk to the manager on the way out, but she really wasn't interested in finding out what happened or rectifying the situation.
We won't be back here, which quite a shame because the location is phenomenal!
"
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2011
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Chart House Restaurant - Boston
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Just Average

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/02/2016
 2006
Dined on 1/02/2016
 2006
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"The food and service were just average. Waiter took drink order, returned with drinks no water. Had salad course, got water finally. Dinner came, we had to ask the dinner server for bread.
The chart house has gone down in quality."
Dined on 1/02/2016
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Chart House Restaurant - Boston
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great Prime rib

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"after two weeks of eating fish and seafood in Florida and Boston, my wife wanted some prime rib and Chart House delivered with medium-rare beef and horesradish. I had salmon and restaurant adjusted recipe to accommodate a mustard allergy. Soups (gazpacho and chowder) were thick and filling and signature lava cake was big enough to share."
Dined on 1/01/2016
 2014
Special Features: scenic view, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Chart House Restaurant - Boston
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

ksh8

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"Overpriced. The calamari app was very greasy even though it was supposed to be lightly fried. The Chart room was good in the past but now has gone downhill.
Salad was saturated with dressing and soggy."
Dined on 1/02/2016
 2014
Special Features: scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Chart House Restaurant - Boston
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/01/2016
 2016
Dined on 1/01/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Amazing meal! I would highly recommend ordering the chocolate lava cake- best cake I've ever eaten!!"
Dined on 1/01/2016
 2016
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Chart House Restaurant - Boston
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great NYE Dinner

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"I took my wife here for dinner on NYE and we so pleased with our experience. The food was absolutely amazing; I had seafood, which was the freshest I have ever consumed and my wife had steak, which she raved about as well. Their wine list is pretty extensive at great prices for the value. The ambiance is perfect, especially for a romantic night out or if you're looking for a gem with a great scenic view. The service was also very quick and attentive. Overall, highly recommend."
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Chart House Restaurant - Boston
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 1/02/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Chart House Restaurant - Boston
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Poor service on a quiet afternoon

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2009
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2009
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"We arrived at approximately 2pm for our 2:30 reservation. The restaurant was quiet at this time of day; we were able to be seated immediately. Our server arrived promptly and took our drink and water order; we asked for lemons for the water. He returned with water (but no lemon) and took our appetizer and entree order. Our appetizers arrived at approximately 2:30 - an excessively long time for a quiet restaurant. At this time we asked again for lemon. We had to wave down a different server to ask for our beverages - the original server returned with one but not both drinks. When our entrees arrived, we again asked for the second drink. The service overall was clearly subpar; while our oyster appetizer was delicious, the remainder of the meal was mediocre at best. Note to restaurant - bottled tartar sauce is a fail."
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Chart House Restaurant - Boston
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"food quality, preparation and presentation is outstanding. We are repeat customers and will continue to be. Service this night (New Year's Eve) was a little slow, but the restaurant was very busy. We had ordered wine with out entrée and it did not come until we finished our entrée. The waiter apologized and offered us a free desert to make up for the wine, so all is good.
a very pleasurable evening, met nice folks in the dining room and bar after dinner. All very festive!
"
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2013
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Chart House Restaurant - Boston
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Chart House Restaurant - Boston
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Spent NYE here, some delay with reservation but minimal. Had looked at the menu ahead of time and was excited to order the Savoury Shrimp Scampi only to find it NOT on the menu in the restaurant!! Decided to get the coconut shrimp, although tasty, not worth the price, the mango sticky rice was not satisfying. My boyfriend and I had expected more. He got the lobster stuffed scrod and wasn't thrilled. Should've got the prime rib, we tried to change it up and get something different over New Years, however we would've been happier sticking to what we love (prime rib). I can't say I would go back, especially for the price. Disappointing, although our waiter was very attentive and nice."
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Chart House Restaurant - Boston
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2013
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Chart House Restaurant - Boston
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2011
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Chart House Restaurant - Boston
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2011
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, scenic view, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for Chart House Restaurant - Boston
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Chart House Restaurant - Boston
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Not concerned with diners needs

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"I called to see if they were offering their full menu on NYE - it was important, as my partner and I decided on The Chart House based on the menu. I also told them I woudl be proposing. They tried to sell me champagne, I declined, but it was nice to ask..
They told me that they would have their full menu and some specials.
Well we got there and the menu was limited and the items we wanted WERE NOT THERE. When I inquired, I got a brushed off, semi rude answer that they were only serving what was on the menu. Disappointingly we made due, and ordered. We got the special dessert to because it was the only thing on the menu, and we ordered in advance because it took 30 minutes to cook. The table next to us was then offered a dessert menu at the end of their meal. (I thought they were only serving what was on the menu). Didn't feel appreciated or like they cared. Needless to say, I didn't propose, I will wait for an actual setting where my partner and I are both not annoyed.
Not worth it - the food was only okay, the service was extremely rushed (we were out within 75 minutes). It was very disappointing and very aggravating.
Lesson learned. The Chart House is not interested in your experience, just in you paying for food and turning over the table as quickly as possible. I never leave reviews.. this restaurant experience warrants one."
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Chart House Restaurant - Boston
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Chart House Restaurant - Boston
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Great as always from chart house"
Dined on 10/30/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Chart House Restaurant - Boston
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/25/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Chart House Restaurant - Boston
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 1/01/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Chart House Restaurant - Boston
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/01/2016
 2015
Dined on 1/01/2016
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 1/01/2016
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Chart House Restaurant - Boston
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great spot on the wharf

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Easy access from the airport made this a good location to take 2 college kids out for a special meal. We all enjoyed it and liked that the serving sizes were generous and they had something to take back to the dorm. Definitely worth a repeat. The building is historic."
Dined on 9/11/2015
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Chart House Restaurant - Boston
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Christmas at the Chart House

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"My family had Christmas dinner at the Chart House. The food was excellent. My Prime rib was done to perfection and the rest of the family's king crab legs were excellent. One note, asparagas was served with red pepper flakes, not a fan and they were not noted on the menu that way. Our dessert was delicious and the best part was our waiter Tony. He was personable, attentive and made the whole experience an enjoyable occasion. Highly recommend for a special occasion as it is a bit pricey."
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2010
Special Features: great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Chart House Restaurant - Boston
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great (and good) surpise

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/29/2015
 2012
Dined on 12/29/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"We were there in winter and the weather was terrible ... Boston has so many super restaurants that the last thing we would generally do is look out the hotel window to see which was closest in the icy rain ... the Chart House is 400 yards from the Long Wharf Marriott. The building is warm and welcoming brick - the photos just about do it justice ... and the food was outstanding ... my wife stuck with lobster (as she had all trip) but my son and I ventured to the beef rib. Nice wine list ... and they ade sure to remind both son's that if they wanted the chocolate fondant desert it had to be ordered 30 minutes in advance ... they did and it was outrageously good. Not a cheap eat ... but really good and worth the view (in good weather) and the 800 yard jump across the road from Quincy market."
Dined on 12/29/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 12 next>>