Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Provence Mediterranean Grill Reviews List

Provence Mediterranean Grill

With it's warm neighborhood ambiance, welcoming service, and delicious flavours from the South of France, Provence Mediterranean Grill enjoys continued success with a loyal local following. December 2014 marks the restaurants 17th anniversary.
See more Provence Mediterranean Grill details
98 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
(98 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 98 reviews
5 stars
(32)
4 stars
(54)
3 stars
(9)
2 stars
(3)
1 star
(0)
Food 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Service 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
2.4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • neighborhood gem(58)
  • fit for foodies(42)
  • special occasion(41)
  • great for lunch(32)
  • great for brunch(21)
  • good for groups(18)
Provence Mediterranean Grill Reviews List
Review 1 for Provence Mediterranean Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/02/2016
 2015
Dined on 11/02/2016
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 11/02/2016
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Provence Mediterranean Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 21/09/2013
 2010
Dined on 21/09/2013
 2010
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 21/09/2013
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Provence Mediterranean Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Consistently Great!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Excellent in every way! No matter the time of year or day of the week, this restaurant is consistently good. We have eaten here many times and have never been disappointed"
Dined on 23/05/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Provence Mediterranean Grill
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Just needs better service

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 27/05/2015
 2012
Dined on 27/05/2015
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"French style is not to be rushed, and I can appreciate that, but good service is different.
I didn't mind the ambience or quality of food, but the server was loud and rough around the edges. She mixed up main dishes, never refilled coffee, forgot simple drinks that were ordered and overall was kind of dissapointing. What bothers me as a past server myself was the fact that the resturant wasn't even that busy. We were one of 5-7 tables over the time of 2 hours, granted, there was a large party of 10 or so, but they were finishing up when we arrived and all tables were seated at different times. Even more so there with two other workers we helping. To be blunt, the frequent mistakes made shouldn't have been happening.
I would go back if I knew this particular server wouldn't be serving me."
Dined on 27/05/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Provence Mediterranean Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 15/05/2015
 2007
Dined on 15/05/2015
 2007
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 15/05/2015
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Provence Mediterranean Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/05/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/05/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/05/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Provence Mediterranean Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 12/05/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Provence Mediterranean Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/05/2015
 2009
Dined on 10/05/2015
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 10/05/2015
 2009
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Provence Mediterranean Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Have been numerous times...

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"As residents in the neighborhood, we always enjoy going to Provence. It's a little pricey, so we don't visit often - only on special occasions. For our latest visit with friends from Calgary, one couple wanted to share an entrée; twas no problem for the staff. Very competent waitstaff, never overbearing. Food quality unfailingly good; if the special is not to your liking, and you're feeling like fish, try the bouillabaisse. Provence is highly recommended for a splurge....."
Dined on 04/05/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Provence Mediterranean Grill
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

the hostess was a scatter brain

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I called ahead to say that our party had increased and could they accommodate us. They said yes if we came 15min later. When we arrived the hostess said they were just setting up our table. I offered to stand outside since the place was small . When we came back in a few minutes later, the same lady asked me if I had a reservation. We sat down and were given water. This was refilled later and then again.....still no one came to offer drinks or give us a menu. When I finally flagged the hostess down again....she said "oh, I thought you had already ordered.""
Dined on 06/05/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Provence Mediterranean Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 02/05/2015
 2014
Dined on 02/05/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 02/05/2015
 2014
Special Features: great for brunch, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Provence Mediterranean Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 01/05/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Provence Mediterranean Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 24/04/2015
 2014
Dined on 24/04/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 24/04/2015
 2014
Special Features: special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Provence Mediterranean Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 18/04/2015
 2013
Dined on 18/04/2015
 2013
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 18/04/2015
 2013
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Provence Mediterranean Grill
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 18/04/2015
 2007
Dined on 18/04/2015
 2007
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 18/04/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Provence Mediterranean Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 17/04/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Provence Mediterranean Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Another birthday celebration.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We're going to stop counting the years! We enjoyed our friend's birthday with a chatty brunch at Provence. The service is always friendly and the food is dependable. The desserts of course are delightful. Nicole did a great job serving us. All in all a fun time with friends."
Dined on 11/04/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Provence Mediterranean Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Never disappoints.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The wild mushroom ravioli is to die for. My only complaint is that 2 of us split a portion after our server said it was a large serving and I (even though I usually eat little) was still hungry."
Dined on 17/03/2015
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Provence Mediterranean Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Enjoyable Saturday brunch with the girlfriends

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"It was the usual very dependable service with a tasty brunch menu. The four of us had plenty of time to enjoy ourselves and catch up on our news. The servers are always friendly and the restaurant provides a relaxed environment. This is our go-to place for a nice time."
Dined on 28/02/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Provence Mediterranean Grill
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Better Options Available

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Went to Provence on 10 Ave. for Valentine's dinner. Atmosphere is good, wait staff were friendly and attentive, however food was a disappointment. Scallop dish was cold, venison was tough and chewy, with stringy tendons running through it. Flavour was nice, but I expect more for $65/person.
Part way through our meal we noticed other entrees arriving that were not part of their Valentine's dinner. It would have been nice to be given a regular menu, or at least told items from their regular menu are available. It also would have been much better value.
Overall, just not good value for money spent, too many better options available."
Dined on 14/02/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Provence Mediterranean Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

birthday outing success!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 30/01/2015
 2013
Dined on 30/01/2015
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Took the wifey here fire her birthday (sans kidlets) and had a great time. We typically have a hard time finding restaurants that cater to both of our preferences - with hers being more aquatic/gluten free and myself liking good ol' fashion terra - but Provence delivered. We ordered grilled squid and scallop (read bacon bits included) appies, followed by steelhead trout and mushroom ravioli. I had the ravioli with the suggested wine pairing. All food came quickly, was fresh and at the perfect temperature.
Couple great food with friendly, efficient service and it turned into a great experience overall. Cheers!
"
Dined on 30/01/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Provence Mediterranean Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Overall a delicious experience!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 25/01/2015
 2008
Dined on 25/01/2015
 2008
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"One of our party ordered the Dine Out Vancouver menu. While it was delicious, the portions could have been more generous."
Dined on 25/01/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Provence Mediterranean Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The food and ambiance were both excellent, as always. It is always a little noisier than we like when it is busy, but staff were great about finding us a quieter table at the side. It is really the quality of the service at Provence that sets it apart from other restaurants that also have very good food at relatively modest prices."
Dined on 17/01/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Provence Mediterranean Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Longtime neighbourhood favourite

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 20/01/2015
 2010
Dined on 20/01/2015
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"First time here, during Dine Out Vancouver 2015. Had read many favorable things, and was not disappointed! The room is simple and classy, well lit and quiet, perfect for conversation. The service was friendly and attentive. The wine list featured many nice local varieties. The food was fantastic: scallops appetizer and sablefish entree. Dessert (apple pastry) was OK; other reviews have mentioned this is not a strong point. Will be back to try the regular menu!"
Dined on 20/01/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Provence Mediterranean Grill
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

dining experience was fine but ...

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"I liked it as a cozy neighbourhood hangout.
Service was excellent, but still thinks Marinaside has much better cuisine.
"
Dined on 20/01/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Provence Mediterranean Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 16/01/2015
 2010
Dined on 16/01/2015
 2010
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"service is good, food is very salty& we didn't feel well that whole night."
Dined on 16/01/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Provence Mediterranean Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Always delighted

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"I have always been delighted with the food, the room, and the excellent service! I want to give an electric hug and shout out, Thanks. R.T."
Dined on 18/01/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Provence Mediterranean Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Simple and charming

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Our Sunday brunch at Provence Mediterranean was delightful; pleasing menu options with a hint of creativity and not the same old, same old. Portion sizes were large and items were tasty. Service was adequate but sometimes cavalier. All in all, an excellent experience and a place to be recommended."
Dined on 11/01/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Provence Mediterranean Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 19/12/2014
 2014
Dined on 19/12/2014
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We don't go to this restaurant often, but the food is always consistent and it is a relaxing environment."
Dined on 19/12/2014
 2014
Special Features: great for brunch, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Provence Mediterranean Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

DElish

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"I've been to this resto many times over the years, and it is consistantly the best. Everything is DELISH, and reminds me of my families meals in the south of France.
I highly recommend!
Bon appetit!"
Dined on 05/12/2014
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Provence Mediterranean Grill
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Good cuisine. The food in the plate makes it all.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The menu a la carte is balanced and creative.
The food in the dishes is delicious and keeps its promises.
The wine that was recommended was perfect.
"
Dined on 29/11/2014
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Provence Mediterranean Grill
Based on the average of (67) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
54 out of 56 recommend this product
Food 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Service 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4 / 5
Noise Level
2.5 / 3
Energetic