Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Trattoria Nicola's Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Trattoria Nicola's

A comfortable neighborhood Trattoria located between Georgetown and Dupont Circle serving rustic Italian cuisine. Trattoria Nicola's features a dramatic entrance on 23rd street, al fresco dining on the patio and private dining available in the Wine Room adjacent to the bar. The main dining area is split level and features romantic high backed booths and rich, colorful decor that stimulates the appetite. The sophisticated bar features happy hour and daily martini specials.
19 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
(19 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 19 reviews
5 stars
(6)
4 stars
(4)
3 stars
(6)
2 stars
(3)
1 star
(0)
Food 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Service 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Ambiance 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Noise Level
1.9 / 3
Moderate
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • great for lunch(5)
  • neighborhood gem(3)
  • special occasion(3)
  • good for groups(2)
  • notable wine list(2)
  • romantic(2)
Trattoria Nicola's Reviews List
Review 1 for Trattoria Nicola's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/29/2011
 2011
Dined on 5/29/2011
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/29/2011
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Trattoria Nicola's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 7/31/2015
 2014
Special Features: special occasion, notable wine list, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Trattoria Nicola's
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/21/2015
 2013
Dined on 5/21/2015
 2013
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We went 4 to have dinner and they mixed up the plates and brought pasta to a person that ordered risotto. The food was not good, the pasta was overcooked and they added too much cream on top of it."
Dined on 5/21/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Trattoria Nicola's
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

service disappointing

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Trattoria Nicola is part of the Embassy Suites in DC and it was our last night of a long weekend spent celebrating our 50th anniversary. We were looking for quiet and simple and chose to go here since it was close and looked pleasant. All was well at the beginning of the meal...we ordered gazpacho which was delicious. Then we waited and waited and waited for our pizza ...asked about it and waited some more. We got excuses but, of course, we didn't want excuses...we wanted our main course. People who arrived after U.S. were served but still we waited. Finally it came. It was good but by then the annoyance exceeded the enjoyment of the food.
Then I ordered dessert and they brought the wrong thing!!!!!
There are a ton of restaurants in that area. Our advice is go to one of the others!
"
Dined on 6/23/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Trattoria Nicola's
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/22/2015
 2010
Dined on 5/22/2015
 2010
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/22/2015
 2010
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Trattoria Nicola's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/17/2015
 2013
Dined on 5/17/2015
 2013
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/17/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Trattoria Nicola's
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Disappointing Food

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The food was nothing special. The ragu pasta sauce tasted like it was from a jar. We were all very disappointed with our meals."
Dined on 5/09/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Trattoria Nicola's
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Nice for a hotel restaurant

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"I booked this restauant on Open Table because it looked decent and I was in a hurry to find somewhere to eat in DC. I never saw on this website that the restaurant was actually inside the Embassy Suites Hotel. I would honestly never have booked it if I had known this.
The food was decent and our server was really great. He made us feel welcome and was fun and lively.
Great place if you are staying at the hotel and don't want to go out, but in DC with so many choices I would have done better. My bad.
"
Dined on 4/17/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Trattoria Nicola's
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food okay, service non-existent.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The food was pretty good. Wasn't the best, but good for a casual meal. Service was completely lacking. We entered, and there was no one at the podium to seat us. I spotted what I assumed were the two hosts standing by the door to the hotel just sitting on their cell phones. Eventually one came over and took us to our seats. Then he took our order, but the server came around and didn't seem to think there had been anything entered into the system. They hadn't been, so it was good he came and checked. However he tried to get my mom to change her order, and when it came out he was surprised she liked it. Overall the food was good, the desserts were probably the best part of the meal."
Dined on 1/18/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Trattoria Nicola's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Best Hunch @ Lunch

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Great Italian specialty buffet, with wonderful soup or pasta added. Best deal too for area midday meal-- a corporate type place at worker prices!"
Dined on 12/22/2014
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Trattoria Nicola's
Based on the average of (9) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
6 out of 7 recommend this product
Food 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Service 
4.5 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
1.9 / 3
Moderate