Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Los Gatos Brewing Company Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Los Gatos Brewing Company

Los Gatos Brewing Co., established in 1991, offers a remarkable menu of the finest California cuisine, a lively atmosphere of casual sophistication and, of course, the original Los Gatos Brew.
81 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
(81 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 81 reviews
5 stars
(24)
4 stars
(37)
3 stars
(13)
2 stars
(4)
1 star
(3)
Food 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Service 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Ambiance 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Noise Level
2.3 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • good for groups(33)
  • neighborhood gem(22)
  • great for lunch(20)
  • fit for foodies(19)
  • vibrant bar scene(17)
  • kid-friendly(16)
Los Gatos Brewing Company Reviews List
Review 1 for Los Gatos Brewing Company
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/22/2014
 2010
Dined on 2/22/2014
 2010
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 2/22/2014
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Los Gatos Brewing Company
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

LGBC RIP

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/17/2015
 2014
Dined on 2/17/2015
 2014
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"This restaurant is closing March 7th
Looking forward to something New
"
Dined on 2/17/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Los Gatos Brewing Company
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Los Gatos brewery

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We ate dinner at here on a Friday evening. We were seated promptly, our server was friendly and knowledgeable about the menu. I ordered the Halibut with mango salsa, it was just ok. Did not taste fresh."
Dined on 2/13/2015
 2011
Special Features: great for lunch, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Los Gatos Brewing Company
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

An OK Superbowl Watching Experience

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Came here in a group of 4 to watch Superbowl and drink beer. The place was semi-empty and felt a little said. Even though most people came to watch Superbowl the volume of TVs was too low to hear the commentary. The local beer tasted decent but not too impressive. Didn't really offer any good snacks to go with the beer. After second quarter decided to go watch the rest of the game at home, with the volume high up!"
Dined on 2/01/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Los Gatos Brewing Company
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Will be sad to see LGBC close…..

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"It's too bad that Los Gatos Brewing Co. will close to change hands and open up under new ownership. In talking to our server, the new owners want to present something entirely NEW. Not sure you need to change anything. We had an early dinner so food off of the Pub Menu - a couple of seafood appetizers and a pizza, as well as good brews - it was excellent!
Let's hope the new owners keep the current vide going. The atmosphere is relaxed and friendly, with good food. Love the openness of the building, exposed wood and the great bar presentation!"
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Los Gatos Brewing Company
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Sold

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/12/2015
 2005
Dined on 2/12/2015
 2005
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"They're closing the end of February 2015. It was a good run. Looking forward to the ale house."
Dined on 2/12/2015
 2005
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Los Gatos Brewing Company
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

A neighborhood standard

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Could always rely on good food in reasonable portions and great wait staff! Will really miss it when it closes next month as we have been loyal and steady customers since they opened their doors!"
Dined on 2/07/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Los Gatos Brewing Company
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Awesome Clam Chowder

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"It was pouring rain and we weren't very excited to go out in it, but needed to eat out. We decided on the clam chowder and it exceeded our expectations. Along with the fresh french bread, we were in 7th heaven. One of the guests ordered the fish tacos and was pleasantly surprised just how good they were as well."
Dined on 2/06/2015
 2009
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Los Gatos Brewing Company
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

good lunch spot

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We were very pleased with our lunch and it is perfect before an afternoon movie. Steak salad was tasty and tender, the cauliflower penne was delious. The servings were generous as was the wine pour. The Scottish ale was a bit flat. We will be back, lots of items on the menu I want to try."
Dined on 2/05/2015
 2012
Special Features: great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Los Gatos Brewing Company
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Sunday Morning at LGBC

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Food was excellent and have always enjoyed the environment here. Our server Agatha was very attentive and she certainly made our Sunday brunch an enjoyable one. Will request her next time we dine there. Although there are lots of choices in Los Gatos, this is one of my favorites."
Dined on 2/01/2015
 2009
Special Features: great for brunch, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Los Gatos Brewing Company
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

12 Party birthday

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I had a reservation for 12 last Saturday and we had great service and food. Everyone was happy and no one had any complaints! I'm glad we were here."
Dined on 1/24/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Los Gatos Brewing Company
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Beer and food not that great

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Tried the ale; not very good. Unfortunately, beer at our local establishments not very good; beer better at chains like Rock Bottom. For dinner, I had the cabresa sausage pizza which was descent. But my wife had the osso bucca which was meh."
Dined on 1/24/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Los Gatos Brewing Company
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Good beer, but WAY overpriced

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Good beer, but I paid $75 for dinner for 2 where we each had 2 pints and a burger. WOW, now that is outrageous."
Dined on 1/14/2015
 2013
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Los Gatos Brewing Company
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Not good enough to go back

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/28/2014
 2014
Dined on 12/28/2014
 2014
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Overall, pretty mediocre. They were not ready to seat us at the time of our reservation. The food was bland and unexciting. The pork chop was very tough. I wouldn't go back."
Dined on 12/28/2014
 2014
Special Features: vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Los Gatos Brewing Company
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Can't believe I have missed this

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I guess we always try someplace else because I thought this was all about the beer...which I don't drink...and maybe burgers and chops, etc. my son suggested it and I was more than pleasantly surprised. We had a party of seven, everyone had something different and all the food was amazing, from the bread/garlic oil herb dip to the Tiramisu...no complaints."
Dined on 1/03/2015
 2007
Special Features: good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Los Gatos Brewing Company
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Good food and the service was excellent. I had a burger that they cooked perfectly and my boyfriend had the meat pizza which was great. They were also very accommodating when figuring out how to make paying with a visa gift card work cause there turned out to some weird rules for using the card that I wasn't aware of."
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2011
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Los Gatos Brewing Company
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Welcoming environment to enjoy great food

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"This restaurant never fails to provide a wonderful experience in terms of food, ambiance and service. We have been more than satisfied customers for many years and always look forward to our visits there. Never fails to put a smile on our faces."
Dined on 12/10/2014
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies, kid-friendly, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Los Gatos Brewing Company
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

bad food, bad wine, bad service

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"First of all, we had to wait over 30 min from our reservation time to get seated. Service was very slow. The house Cabernet tasted like vinegar, we sent it back. I ordered the duck, it came cold and stale. We ordered the salmon, and it came very salty and swimming in butter. Everything was bad. And did I say the service was very slow?"
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Los Gatos Brewing Company
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Long wait despite reservation

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2007
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2007
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Although we had a reservation, we had to wait 30 minutes to be seated. In addition, there was a party of 45 ahead of us, so we waited about an hour for our food to arrive. The kitchen was understandably busy with such a large party, but the restaurant should have anticipated that and planned accordingly."
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Los Gatos Brewing Company
Based on the average of (62) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
36 out of 41 recommend this product
Food 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
2.4 / 3
Energetic