Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Ugly Kitchen Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Ugly Kitchen

Ugly Kitchen (U.K.) specializes in an eclectic Asian fusion
menu. We take pride not only in our enticing Filipino
foods and drinks, but also in having a great time.

36 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
(36 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 36 reviews
5 stars
(11)
4 stars
(12)
3 stars
(10)
2 stars
(2)
1 star
(1)
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Ambiance 
3.5 / 5
(Very Good) 3.5 / 5
Noise Level
2.3 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • good for groups(13)
  • neighborhood gem(13)
  • fit for foodies(12)
  • vibrant bar scene(11)
  • late-night find(7)
  • hot spot(4)
Ugly Kitchen Reviews List
Review 1 for Ugly Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/10/2014
 2012
Dined on 9/10/2014
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 9/10/2014
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Ugly Kitchen
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Dined on 1/02/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Ugly Kitchen
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/29/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/29/2015
 2015
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/29/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Ugly Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

A good sampling of Filipino food

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I brought my friends here to get them to dip their toe into one of my favorite cuisines. They all left full and happy, 2 of them even tried the balut. While it has some Americanized dishes for the unadventurous, those looking for a solid Filipino meal will leave satisfied. Not the most extensive menu, but what they do, they do well.
We had the spicy pork buns and fried spring rolls to start, both were well liked with one friend wolfing down more than their fair share. One ordered the ugly grilled apple salad and raved about it. Another ordered the goat stew and ravenously devoured it. The rest of us were considerate enough share and the chicken adobo (which I find to be the easiest dish to ease the hesitant into trying) went over very well, as did the pork belly, and sisig. I didn't even get a chance to try the pork belly as it vanished while my back was turned.
The wait staff was friendly and accommodating and the owner made sure we were taken cared of. Overall a very successful food outing and I would definitely come again"
Dined on 11/22/2015
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Ugly Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 12/05/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Ugly Kitchen
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Filipino food that is adapted towards an American palate. However, food is good and reasonably priced. If dining in the dining area, arrive early before the crowd. Bar scene on a Friday night gets very vibrant and DJ spins music through the night."
Dined on 11/06/2015
 2013
Special Features: vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Ugly Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/01/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Ugly Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/10/2015
 2011
Dined on 10/10/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 10/10/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Ugly Kitchen
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Decent

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Some people had their drinks come way after their food. Drinks were weak. Food was okay. Portions are small. Their website says happy hour everyday until 9. It ends at 8. I think that's how they get you"
Dined on 10/03/2015
 2013
Special Features: good for groups, hot spot
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Ugly Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/30/2015
 2012
Dined on 9/30/2015
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Ugly kitchen is the quintessential local joint for young professionals-good food, lovely bartenders,and great service.
My boyfriend and I ordered the tapsilog,longsilog, fried isaw,and the seasoned frites. All were delicious, but the best part were the drinks and the bartender,Rica who took good care of us and made sure we had a good time even when she was really busy."
Dined on 9/30/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Ugly Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/26/2015
 2008
Dined on 9/26/2015
 2008
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 9/26/2015
 2008
Special Features: good for groups, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Ugly Kitchen
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food was good.

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 9/17/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Ugly Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/19/2015
 2015
Dined on 8/19/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/19/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Ugly Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/01/2014
 2014
Dined on 11/01/2014
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/01/2014
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Ugly Kitchen
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 8/17/2015
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Ugly Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Great food. Isaw and red horse. Everyone's on top of their game which makes the service really amazing."
Dined on 7/03/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Ugly Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/05/2015
 2015
Dined on 6/05/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/05/2015
 2015
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Ugly Kitchen
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/19/2015
 2012
Dined on 6/19/2015
 2012
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/19/2015
 2012
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Ugly Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/13/2015
 2013
Dined on 6/13/2015
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/13/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Ugly Kitchen
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/08/2015
 2005
Dined on 6/08/2015
 2005
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/08/2015
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Ugly Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/23/2015
 2010
Dined on 5/23/2015
 2010
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/23/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Ugly Kitchen
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/21/2015
 2012
Dined on 5/21/2015
 2012
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 5/21/2015
 2012
Special Features: vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Ugly Kitchen
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Has potential

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The servers were really very friendly and very nice but there were not too many of them. I also don't think they were trained well. We ordered a bottle of sauvignon blanc and the gentleman brought to our table a bottle of white burgundy. We did not really mind but we told him that we asked for sauvignon blanc, he said they were the same!! The portions were small but they were good"
Dined on 5/19/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Ugly Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

I enjoyed it

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/17/2015
 2009
Dined on 5/17/2015
 2009
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Service is very attentive and the ambiance is nice (love the decor). Food was mostly good, has the usual selection of filipino cuisine with above average presentation and good portion control. Only sore spot was I went on a Sunday and some things were out of stock (they restock on Sunday)."
Dined on 5/17/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Ugly Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Good Filipino food.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"What a great dining experience! Good authentic Filipino good, great service and nice ambience. Will definitely come back.."
Dined on 5/18/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Ugly Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Surprisingly delicious meal

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We picked Ugly kitchen because we wanted to east Asian in that area of town and when we arrived we were a bit disappointed because there are so many charming looking restaurants in that area and this was not one of them BUT once we were inside it was cute enough and most importantly the drinks and the food were absolutely delicious! We had spring rolls (good) and dumplings (delicious), and three pork dishes (so good we re-ordered some). I would definitely go back!"
Dined on 1/31/2015
 2012
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Ugly Kitchen
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Never come again

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The manager tried to kick us off a table we had reserved for another group. We were still ordering drinks, and even had a meal order placed. His reason: 1h30min eating limit. But he refused to answer to us why he felt the need to move us and not the other table that was there longer than us. Not only this, but we also got moved to sit under a huge vent with cold air blowing. The female server was just plain rude and had a sour attitude, the male servers however where the sweetest. The worst dinning experience yet."
Dined on 1/17/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Ugly Kitchen
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Can I order this? Nope.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"I enjoyed my overall experience at the Ugly Kitchen. The only thing I have to complain about is they didn't have anything. I wanted to order wings-- they didn't have it. I wanted to order fries-- they didn't have that either. I wanted to order the ribs-- they didn't have it. Even their fear factor specialty which I really wanted to try was done. It was really frustrating . I want to go back so I can actually get a chance to try those things, but overall my dinner was good and the staff was very friendly."
Dined on 12/30/2014
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Ugly Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Some of the best Filipino food!!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Of all the Filipino restaurants in the area, this is by far THE BEST!! Great authentic cuisine at prices better than the neighboring restaurants. Can't go wrong here!!"
Dined on 12/13/2014
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, vibrant bar scene, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Ugly Kitchen
Based on the average of (7) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
5 out of 5 recommend this product
Food 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Noise Level
3.2 / 3
Energetic