Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Gallop Asian Bistro Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Gallop Asian Bistro

Gallop Asian Bistro is officially open!!! UNDER NEW MANAGEMENT! Please come in and enjoy our Special Sushi Techniques! Or our Signature Gallop Fish, there is nothing else like it in New Jersey. You will love our unique take on Traditional Szechuan and Contemporary Fusion Cuisine. Please, come in and enjoy our
30 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
(30 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 30 reviews
5 stars
(9)
4 stars
(8)
3 stars
(9)
2 stars
(3)
1 star
(1)
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3.2 / 5
(Very Good) 3.2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
2 / 3
Moderate
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • fit for foodies(8)
  • neighborhood gem(8)
  • good for groups(6)
  • kid-friendly(6)
  • great for lunch(5)
  • special occasion(4)
Gallop Asian Bistro Reviews List
Review 1 for Gallop Asian Bistro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

A pleasant surprise in a local restaurant.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"What a lovely experience. The food was excellent. We had four different dishes and they were all equally enjoyed, and plentiful. The service was outstanding as well. A very nice dining experience, I will definitely return."
Dined on 6/25/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Gallop Asian Bistro
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/17/2014
 2011
Dined on 5/17/2014
 2011
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/17/2014
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Gallop Asian Bistro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Delicious real Chinese food"
Dined on 9/05/2014
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Gallop Asian Bistro
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/24/2015
 2014
Dined on 6/24/2015
 2014
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/24/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Gallop Asian Bistro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Very good lunch

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"They have a special lunch menu which is inexpensive and diversified. Also very good!"
Dined on 6/19/2015
 2006
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Gallop Asian Bistro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/03/2015
 2014
Dined on 6/03/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Like the traditional Chinese dishes best. 3rd visit."
Dined on 6/03/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Gallop Asian Bistro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2014
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2014
Special Features: fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Gallop Asian Bistro
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food Good Service very Slow and Bad.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"My food at Gallop was very good although I got something different from what I ordered but didn't want to wait forever for what I did order. The service (on Mother's Day) was HORRIBLE and SLOW. They were not prepared for the number of diners and had to pull their sushi chef into the kitchen(so if someone wanted sushi as some in our party did you were out of luck.) The hostess was our waitress, no drinks were offered, but they really pushed filling the water, I guess to keep our minds off of how slow they were. The staff was friendly, just not organized.
Next time, instead of dining there, I will order take out and get my food much quicker. I still gave this an overall 3 because the food was good and I knew going in that service might be slow because of other reviews."
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2010
Special Features: kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Gallop Asian Bistro
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2015
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2015
Special Features: scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Gallop Asian Bistro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Asian Bistro meets rural America

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"This restaurant is exactly what this area needed. While there are lots of Chinese restaurants in this area none equal this one. I highly recommend this restaurant to anyone that enjoys excellent Asian cuisine."
Dined on 3/21/2015
 2004
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Gallop Asian Bistro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

2nd time was better than first.....

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"try thr Mei Fun and the pumpkin ginger dish ...both were great! Our server was very helpful!!!"
Dined on 3/14/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Gallop Asian Bistro
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Bistro that has a lot of potential in Bridgewater

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Bistro had a nice ambiance. Courteous host. Main server was quite busy, but others helped out. My seafood was tasty, my wife’s vegetable low mien was not. Appetizers were very good. They were out of a few things on the desert menu.
The outside dining area looked interesting. I will try it again to see how that is."
Dined on 1/31/2015
 2012
Special Features: great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Gallop Asian Bistro
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Food was good however, servers had no idea what ingredients were in a particular dish when asked."
Dined on 2/07/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Gallop Asian Bistro
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Forget it.

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Nice decor. That is it. Menu has 5 salads listed, none available. Ordered Duck, not
available. We were informed in both cases long after the order was placed.
One main course did not arrive until I went to the manager. The manager
gave us a coupon for 10% off our next meal if we pay cash.
Best part of the meal was leaving.
"
Dined on 12/29/2014
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Gallop Asian Bistro
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Good food, bad service

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Very good food but the service was not great. We were not greeted nor seated promptly even though the business was slow. Our waitress was good, she took our orders and delivered food in a timely manner."
Dined on 12/22/2014
 2014
Special Features: great for lunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Gallop Asian Bistro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

First time and really enjoyed

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"First time we went and thoroughly enjoyed it. Just had lunch but it was delicious and we will be back again soon for dinner."
Dined on 12/08/2014
 2006
Special Features: good for groups, neighborhood gem, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Gallop Asian Bistro
Based on the average of (14) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
9 out of 11 recommend this product
Food 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Service 
3.1 / 5
(Very Good) 3.1 / 5
Ambiance 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Noise Level
2.3 / 3
Energetic