Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Le Jardin Bistro Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Le Jardin Bistro

The original Le Jardin Bistro, was known for its welcoming and comfortable atmosphere accompanied by well-priced renditions of traditional dishes. It received a glowing review from The New York Times in 1995, recognized as serving “cuisine bourgeois that tastes as good as simple French food does on a first trip to France.”
The new location of Le Jardin Bistro Draws inspiration from French tradition, with a menu that is devoted to the celebration of classic flavors.
Divided between two floors, the bistro boasts a stately and inviting oyster bar, dining room and small patio on the first floor. A busy open kitchen sets the tone for a lively second floor, made up of an additional dining room and namesake, candlelit “jardin” seating open year-round. With seating for 100, the space is fashioned with antique mirrors, vintage art and a wood burning fire place, embodying a casual sophistication.
59 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
(59 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 59 reviews
5 stars
(23)
4 stars
(28)
3 stars
(7)
2 stars
(0)
1 star
(1)
Food 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Service 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Ambiance 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Noise Level
1.9 / 3
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • neighborhood gem(36)
  • romantic(25)
  • fit for foodies(22)
  • great for outdoor dining(18)
  • good for groups(16)
  • great for brunch(10)
Le Jardin Bistro Reviews List
Review 1 for Le Jardin Bistro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/10/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Le Jardin Bistro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/11/2015
 2011
Dined on 6/11/2015
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/11/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Le Jardin Bistro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/07/2015
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Le Jardin Bistro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/07/2015
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Le Jardin Bistro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/24/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Le Jardin Bistro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/13/2014
 2010
Dined on 12/13/2014
 2010
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Great restaurant tucked away in alphabet city. Food was very good and experience felt very intimate. Would definitely recommend! Only complaint was service was a bit spotty"
Dined on 12/13/2014
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Le Jardin Bistro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

relaxed bistro feeling

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"It has the feel of an authentic French bistro. The greeting was warm and welcoming. Upstairs dining in the "garden-like" area is very nice. We empathized with the waitstaff who had to climb up and down the stairs all night. The ambiance was casual. The food was good, not knock-your-socks-off. As one person in our party put it: There are no pretensions, it is what it ought to be, a basic bistro. We base our opinion on having the onion soup, escargots, various salads, duck breast, pate, and cassoulet. Some minor cavils: The pate was served cold rather than room temp, and what was on the website was not on their menu, which disappointed those of us who hoped for the confit de canard. The house wine is serviceable and bargain-priced. The service was helpful and the French-speaking bus-person was lovely and accommodating."
Dined on 5/09/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Le Jardin Bistro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/08/2015
 2009
Dined on 5/08/2015
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Everything was perfect, from the service to the food, the atmosphere, especially the food. Had the duck, outstanding!!!"
Dined on 5/08/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Le Jardin Bistro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/01/2015
 2008
Dined on 5/01/2015
 2008
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/01/2015
 2008
Special Features: romantic, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Le Jardin Bistro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/12/2015
 2006
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Le Jardin Bistro
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/26/2015
 2014
Dined on 4/26/2015
 2014
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/26/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Le Jardin Bistro
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/25/2015
 2008
Dined on 4/25/2015
 2008
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/25/2015
 2008
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Le Jardin Bistro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/22/2015
 2015
Dined on 4/22/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/22/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Le Jardin Bistro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/19/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Le Jardin Bistro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2015
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Le Jardin Bistro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"My second visit was as good as the first. Attentive service but not intrusive, great upstairs dining area, great for kids, great French bistro menu and fare."
Dined on 4/04/2015
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Le Jardin Bistro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Delicious and very authentic!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"A beautiful French restaurant with a beautiful cuisine. Loved it very much and will be back for sure. Highly suggest going when it is a little warmer so you can sit out on the garden deck."
Dined on 1/20/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Le Jardin Bistro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

loved old location & this one also

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Feels like a true French bistro. Very reasonably priced; great menu. We enjoyed the setting and the food. A little hard to get to for us."
Dined on 3/28/2015
 2002
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Le Jardin Bistro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

At last, we have our local

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"When you just don't have the energy to cook, let alone clean up; when you don't want to be annoyed by throngs of neighborhood invaders; when your favorite dish and a drink by the fireside can make your day, that's when you need a local. Le Jardin is ours."
Dined on 3/20/2015
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Le Jardin Bistro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

One of the best meals ever!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/07/2015
 2013
Dined on 3/07/2015
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We were a party of 4 that was a bit late, but the staff was amazing seating us. We had one of the best cocktails prepared by our bartender , he was great . We had a wonderful meal and we were the last ones to leave. At no point did we feel rushed to leave. The whole restaurant from the owner on down made us feel welcomed and special. We will be back at this amazing place . I highly recommend this wonderful place to anyone visiting NYC."
Dined on 3/07/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, scenic view, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, kid-friendly, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Le Jardin Bistro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great Place To Eat

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I made a rookie reservation mistake on OpenTable and used the wrong date making my reservation for Thursday instead of Friday. The maître d who greeted us was great about the situation, made all the necessay adjustments and seated us. The waitress and staff was sweet and took care of everything. The food is good old fashioned French eats without the pretentiousness or the high prices. I really like Le Jardin and have been there a couple times. It is always easy, laid back and the food is good."
Dined on 2/27/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Le Jardin Bistro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Skip the Brunch Lines

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"If you live in New York, you know how stressful brunch can be. Putting your name on a list. Waiting 2 hours. Being squeezed onto a table small enough that your neighbor is breathing on your food. Dealing with crabby servers. Only to be shooed out afterwards like a heard of cattle.
That's why this experience felt like a breath of fresh air!
My group of 4 arrived for our reservation at 12pm sharp--surprisingly to an empty restaurant since it opens at 12. We were promptly seated in the bright and beautiful upstairs sun room. (Where else can you get sunlight in the winter?!) The waitress was absolutely fabulous--happy, accommodating to our needs, and very attentive without being overbearing. The brunch menu was small, but had enough options to satisfy "breakfast eaters" and "lunch eaters". Overall the food was good--not the finest of French foods, but certainly exceeded what I thought I'd get for the very modest prices! The mimosas were excellent. The coffee was delicious (and the free refills were a very happy surprise).
After talking our way through a 2 hour brunch, the waitress kindly asked if our group would be willing to move one table over to accommodate a larger group. She felt so bad asking and promised she'd bring us a round of mimosas on the house if we were ok with it. (Nothing a little alcohol on the house can't fix, right?) So, we happily obliged and stayed another hour drinking our coffee and mimosas on the house.
We'll all be back. Soon."
Dined on 2/22/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Le Jardin Bistro
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Maybe not on Valentines Day

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I specifically reserved a table at this place because they DIDN'T have a valentines day menu, and they DIDN'T dress up their website to seem like a great "valentines day deal". It was a small place and I hoped to forego the Valentines Day formalities, and just have a nice relaxing dinner with my significant other. Alas, I arrived only to find that the staff were hastily pasting red hearts and curly cues to the windows and ceiling. The hostess was frantic, and who I assume to be the owner of the restaurant ran up and down the stairs several times to count how many tables there were. We were placed in an enclosed outdoor seating balcony thing that was FREEZING! My boyfriend and I were SO cold. And then we got the 16 dollar cocktail shrimp- and it was delicious and it better have been because there were only 5 shrimp.
Otherwise, the food was tasty, the staff was very nice. They kept cleaning the table of breadcrumbs, even when I told them they really didn't have to. I'm a very messy eater and it made me feel uncomfortable. Nice of them though.
So, don't go on Valentines Day, do go if you want a yummy (but kind of expensive) meal served with warm fresh bread, maybe don't get the cocktail shrimp if you're on a budget, and don't sit outside unless it's warm out."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Le Jardin Bistro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

New favorite

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"This new quiet gem was a perfect setting for a nice evening out. We were seated immediately by a beautiful fire place and were attended to quickly. The wine list was modest, but well selected, and their house wines were fantastic! Our entrees were perfect; flavorful and creative, a great combination of traditional and inventive! The staff was excellent - friendly and helpful, fast and kind. A great new spot!"
Dined on 1/06/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Le Jardin Bistro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

French bistro in East Village

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Arrived 7 PM New Year's Eve with my brother and two nephews. Thankfully, none of the typical one price limited New Year's Eve menu you see everywhere. Attentive but not overbearing service, great bistro menu, very good food, and no tiny portions surrounded by acres of open plate. Solid wine list. We sat downstairs, more casual than upstairs. I would return and would recommend to anyone looking for this type of food."
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Le Jardin Bistro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Glad It's back!

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/02/2015
 2006
Dined on 1/02/2015
 2006
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We ate at the previous Le Jardin Bistro on Cleveland Pl many times and were very sad when it closed several years ago. It's great to see it back in a new location with virtually the same menu (actually a little expanded), an even nicer duplex space, a great staff and very reasonable prices. We'll be returning many times. Welcome back!"
Dined on 1/02/2015
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Le Jardin Bistro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Delightful experience all around. Lovely warm and gracious. Will be going back again and again."
Dined on 12/26/2014
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Le Jardin Bistro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Charming

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/24/2014
 2014
Dined on 12/24/2014
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Had Christmas Eve dinner here . Wonderful cooked goose, they had very attentive service, food was very tasty and everyone enjoyed themselves."
Dined on 12/24/2014
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Le Jardin Bistro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Le Jardin Bistro adds to the neighborhood

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We brought friends here when they were visiting from out of town. The servers were attentive, the ambiance was warm and inviting, and the food was top-notch. Combine these factors with the all-around great prices, and this is a place that we'll go for years to come."
Dined on 12/13/2014
 2010
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Le Jardin Bistro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Really solid dinner and great inexpensive house wine. The restaurant was incredibly charming, although be careful not to sit too close to fireplace as it gets very warm! Beautiful decor, friendly service and good food."
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2008
Special Features: romantic, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Le Jardin Bistro
Based on the average of (29) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
21 out of 21 recommend this product
Food 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Service 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Ambiance 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Noise Level
2.1 / 3
Energetic