Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Roppongi Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Roppongi

Located on Prospect Street in downtown La Jolla, it’s obvious why Roppongi Restaurant & Sushi Bar was named a “World’s Top Restaurant” by Zagat Survey and is a recipient of Wine Spectator’s “Award of Excellence.” Roppongi’s bold menu invites guests to share dishes and try a mélange of flavors in a relaxed, upscale and intimate setting in one of San Diego’s finest neighborhoods.
205 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
(205 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 205 reviews
5 stars
(87)
4 stars
(63)
3 stars
(22)
2 stars
(23)
1 star
(10)
Food 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Service 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Ambiance 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Noise Level
2 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • fit for foodies(98)
  • special occasion(76)
  • great for outdoor dining(75)
  • good for groups(66)
  • romantic(62)
  • neighborhood gem(57)
Roppongi Reviews List
Review 1 for Roppongi
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Good as usual !!!"
Dined on 10/11/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Roppongi
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/31/2015
 2015
Dined on 10/31/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/31/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Roppongi
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Outstanding service and fresh delicious food!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/31/2015
 2015
Dined on 10/31/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/31/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Roppongi
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Too pricey and not for kids

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I was looking for a fun family oriented place for a special dinner. It got high ratings on Yelp. The food was very good but overpriced. My kids did not like anything on the menu so we ordered a few options for them. They didn't like any of it and we ended up spending a fortune. Next time we will go for pizza or burgers."
Dined on 10/30/2015
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Roppongi
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/23/2015
 2013
Dined on 10/23/2015
 2013
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Loved the food...it was flavorful and a little out of the box! It was quiet there which was great! The setting was great also! I will return"
Dined on 10/23/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Roppongi
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Other than the beef sliders, we were disappointed.

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 10/23/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Roppongi
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/21/2015
 2007
Dined on 10/21/2015
 2007
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/21/2015
 2007
Special Features: romantic, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Roppongi
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Very good sushi...SLOWWWWW service

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Overall OK but 90 minutes for 3 rolls and only 5 tables full seems like poor effort."
Dined on 10/18/2015
 2007
Special Features: romantic, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Roppongi
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 10/13/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Roppongi
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Long time to get sushi

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Went there expecting to have sushi. We were immediately told the wait for sushi and/or sashimi was over one hour. It is a sushi restaurant..
Our waiter offered some other dishes that were OK, but not what we wanted when we arrived."
Dined on 10/10/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Roppongi
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 10/09/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, great for lunch, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Roppongi
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 10/06/2015
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Roppongi
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Dysfunctional service

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/26/2015
 2014
Dined on 9/26/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We had a very disappointing service experience here while on vacation. We saw our waiter a total of three times the entire dinner. One to take our order, one to breeze by the table without stopping and one to bring the check. The hostess took our drink order, the manager explained the menu and made recommendations and stopped by to see how we were. He basically did the servers job. At the end of the meal nobody thought that was weird. We had never experienced anything like that, and luckily the rest of our trip we had good experiences at all other restaurants making this even more bizarre."
Dined on 9/26/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Roppongi
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Disappointed

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/27/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Roppongi
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/26/2015
 2011
Dined on 9/26/2015
 2011
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/26/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Roppongi
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/28/2013
 2009
Dined on 9/28/2013
 2009
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 9/28/2013
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Roppongi
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/20/2015
 2009
Dined on 9/20/2015
 2009
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 9/20/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Roppongi
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/21/2015
 2003
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Roppongi
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 9/19/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Roppongi
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/19/2015
 2007
Dined on 9/19/2015
 2007
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 9/19/2015
 2007
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Roppongi
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Wonderful fusion quisine by the beach

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"very creative fusion cuisine, featuring Asian fusion tapas, sushi and sake, in La Jolla close to the beach. One of San Diego's most distinctive restaurants."
Dined on 9/12/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Roppongi
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/04/2015
 2002
Special Features: neighborhood gem, hot spot, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Roppongi
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/07/2015
 2012
Dined on 9/07/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 9/07/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Roppongi
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great dining experience

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Excellent food. Excellent service. Several vegetarian options. Generous portions. To sum up, experience has been outstanding at every visit."
Dined on 9/06/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Roppongi
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/06/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, hot spot, great for lunch, special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Roppongi
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/19/2015
 2014
Dined on 2/19/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 2/19/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Roppongi
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/06/2015
 2007
Dined on 9/06/2015
 2007
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 9/06/2015
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Roppongi
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Hype Well-deserved

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Recommended by a few friends, I wasn't totally excited to drive 20 min from downtown to go there, but once we got there, it more than met expectations. Happy hour is an unbelievable deal. We tried about seven of their dishes and they were all great.
I highly recomnend it."
Dined on 9/06/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Roppongi
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/30/2015
 2009
Dined on 8/30/2015
 2009
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/30/2015
 2009
Special Features: kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Roppongi
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/30/2015
 2012
Dined on 8/30/2015
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/30/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Roppongi
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great Outdoor dining

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"On a warm sunny summer Saturday afternoon, we spent a few hours here on the patio savoring
innovative tapas and having good conversation. Later in the evening, some live jazz
music added to the lofty ambiance. Wonderful!
"
Dined on 8/29/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Roppongi
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Waitress was very unfriendly, had to hunt down a bus boy to get refill on water, etc. Happy hour is not very good in regards to discounts on wine, only on "specialty" drinks and even those are kind of high. Food was so, so, nothing to write home about or recommend."
Dined on 8/26/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Roppongi
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Not for the hungry

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Went here for a choice of sushi and seafood. The menu items looked good and the sushi rolls we ordered were very good and normal sized. We tried to share 5-6 tapas dishes but they came slowly and they were too small. For example, one dish was four standard sized pot-stickers, nothing special, for $17."
Dined on 8/15/2015
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Roppongi
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Roppongi...great as usual

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"This is not the first time we have been here and, as usual it is great. Lovely and quiet (Sunday evening) and an interesting menu. Five of us have had the seafood Yakatori and loved it. For a change I had the chicken, which was good but I will probably go back to the Yakatori next time.
Good service, and as always a very lovely evening. We will be coming back"
Dined on 8/23/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Roppongi
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Dinner at Roppongi

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/23/2015
 2009
Dined on 8/23/2015
 2009
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Good food, efficiently served, but always problems with the check. Somehow they always manage to add on items that we never ordered."
Dined on 8/23/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Roppongi
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/21/2015
 2014
Dined on 8/21/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/21/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for Roppongi
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/18/2015
 2011
Dined on 8/18/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 8/18/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for Roppongi
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/16/2015
 2015
Dined on 8/16/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/16/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, hot spot, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for Roppongi
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Not what it once was

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We have dined at Roppongi many times over the years, and they have always had some great tapas - the scallops and calimari were particularly nice. However, things seem to have changed recently, and last night almost every dish was either too salty or too sweet. I guess this is a matter of taste, but we found it worth mentioning. You can't unsalt.
I did love the Forest Walk cocktail..."
Dined on 8/21/2015
 2006
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for Roppongi
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 8/20/2015
 2006
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 41 for Roppongi
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Don't Go Here

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I had not been to this restaurant for a long time and I was anticipating a fun time and good food. I was so very wrong. The service was the worst I have experienced ever. The server was inattentive, did not even offer to refill our water glasses. After he took our order, we waited at least 20 minutes before the first plate of food (for one of the five people in our group) came out. Then very slowly the other food came, with the last plate coming 1 hour and 15 minutes after it was ordered. It was sushi and had a very fishy smell, something you don't expect in fresh raw fish. The manager did remove the cost of the sushi from the bill. I will not return."
Dined on 8/19/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for Roppongi
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 8/18/2015
 2013
Special Features: special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 43 for Roppongi
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Deserted at the table-Terrible service!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We had reservations at 7:00 on the patio. When we arrived we were told that there were no tables available on the patio. They told us that if we had called the restaurant directly and not made a reservation with Open Table that they would have held a table for us. We were seated in the bar and waited 20 minutes before anyone came to talk to us. We then were reseated outside on the patio - two mismatched tables haphazardly pushed together and waited another 20 minutes before anyone came to give us a menu or see to us. Then another 15 minutes before they took our order. We ordered wine and our food at the same time. Half of the ordered food arrived but no wine. Then the other half of the food and still no wine. And there was never anyone around to ask for assistance. Overall the food was very good, but I would never recommend this restaurant because of the extremely poor service and mis- management. It ruined the entire evening."
Dined on 8/18/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 44 for Roppongi
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/14/2015
 2008
Special Features: great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 45 for Roppongi
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Below expectations

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"My friend and I tried several of their menu items. From drinks, appetizers , sushi and dessert. All underwhelming just like the service."
Dined on 8/15/2015
 2015
Special Features: scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 46 for Roppongi
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 8/15/2015
 2009
Special Features: hot spot, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 47 for Roppongi
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We were looking to try a new, fun restaurant with a variety of foods from tapas to sushi to fuller meals. Roppongi definitely fit the bill. The food was so yummy we actually added another tapas after we thought we had finished because the taste of my Mongolian shrimp was to amazing to stop at one! My only complaint has to do with our server and the availability of food. We were a group of 6 and 4 of us showed up 20 minutes early. The hostess seated us, no problem, and the waitress was aware that we were waiting on the other 2 people in our party. By the time the rest of our party came (on time at 8 p.m.) the waitress didn't come back to check on us until approx 8:20. Not a big deal, as we were having drinks and enjoying the company. The problem was this restaurant is known for their sushi and seafood rolls, which is the main reason I came, and after being seated for approx 40 min., when it was time to start ordering appetizers and meals, our server told us the wait for the sushi and rolls would be at least 1.5 hours. Seriously!! It's a Saturday night and they are that unprepared to handle guests on what's one of their most popular menu items! Not cool. Especially since it would have been nice if she had mentioned that at 7:40 p.m. when we first arrived. At that hour we would have been more motivated to get our sushi orders in. That news eliminated approx 30% of their menu. Very disappointing. Unfortunately, the service never did improved. Our server was polite, nonchalant, and not terribly attentive to our group. Yet, we would go back as the restaurant has a great atmosphere, both inside and out, and the food was scrumptious. I'm hoping one mediocre server was a fluke. Also, next time we will know better to inquire about the sushi status the moment we get there : )."
Dined on 8/15/2015
 2013
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 48 for Roppongi
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great experience!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/14/2015
 2015
Dined on 8/14/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Romantic and fun! Great menu. I highly recommend it!"
Dined on 8/14/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 49 for Roppongi
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/09/2015
 2014
Dined on 8/09/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 8/09/2015
 2014
Special Features: hot spot, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 50 for Roppongi
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Service was a little slow but food was good. We went for 50 dollar deal on Tuesday. Each had a glass of wine, shared a nice salad with figs, blue cheese and baby greens, shared barley, soybean salad, shared poke and shared lebni cheese and flat bread. All very good!"
Dined on 8/11/2015
 2010
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>