Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

The Hunt Club Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

The Hunt Club

The Hunt Club Restaurant & Bar located at the iconic Sorrento Hotel is an inviting and romantic place with leather banquettes, dark woods and a fun retro-ambiance. The restaurant’s delicious aromas are sourced from local, natural and seasonal-fresh ingredients culminating in a regional Northwest cuisine expertly prepared by Chef Dan Gilmore. Chef’s menu appeals to all palates including premium cuts, fresh local seafood, Northwest game and poultry. Excellent food served by a knowledgeable and engaging staff makes Hunt Club a top Seattle culinary experience.
64 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
(64 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 64 reviews
5 stars
(26)
4 stars
(22)
3 stars
(8)
2 stars
(6)
1 star
(2)
Food 
4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4 / 5
Service 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Ambiance 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Noise Level
2.4 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • special occasion(30)
  • neighborhood gem(23)
  • great for lunch(19)
  • romantic(19)
  • fit for foodies(13)
  • good for groups(13)
The Hunt Club Reviews List
Review 1 for The Hunt Club
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/19/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Hunt Club
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/02/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Hunt Club
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/01/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Hunt Club
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 3/31/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Hunt Club
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Wonderful smoked salmon eggs Benedict

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We had reservations for Easter brunch and were seated at a window table with enough room between tables so that we could have a private conversation with no fear of disturbing others. The menu choices were largely traditional with some interesting twists. . I opted for smoked salmon eggs Benedict. The dish did not disappoint. The eggs were perfectly poached, large and luscious. The salmon was tender, plentiful and mildly salted. The sauce was lovely with just a hint of lemon. This dish was served with roasted red potatoes. The $17 price was well worth it."
Dined on 4/05/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, great for brunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Hunt Club
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Brunch at the Hunt Club

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"It was a nasty wet morning when we went and the front porte-cochere area was all torn up with construction debris making the only workable entrance into the Sorento Hotel the Hunts Club side entrance. As a result a number of hotel guests were standing around and it was somewhat disruptive. Apparently, the front parking plaza is going to be converted into an outdoor eating area. Hm.m? If cars still drop folks off here this should be interesting mixing food and car exhaust.
The brunch was fine. I had the brioche French toast which was excellent! Would come back another time when construction is complete outside. Probably should have called first."
Dined on 3/15/2015
 2008
Special Features: great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Hunt Club
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Mix ups!

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Our order was mixed up from the beginning when our wine arrived - one 'Angels - something" white (not 'house' - $2 more expensive) and one red (not top of the "interesting whites" as ordered) The red was taken away and replaced properly. My companion's Caesar Salad had no anchovies, as promised on the menu. I requested my Bassicas salad and crab cake be delivered together. Mussels were delivered to both of us, although my companion was the one who had ordered for herself alone. (We wondered why we both were prepared with the bowl and fork for mussels....) After pointing out I had not ordered mussels my order was straightened out, My salad finally came after I had almost finished the crab cake. We wondered if the waiter had a hearing problem! He apologized, telling us he was "learning the new menu" and he did comp the salad. My food was delicious; my companions said hers was 'so-so." It was a confusing evening and rather disappointing. I will, however, give The Hunt Club another chance and hope for the best."
Dined on 3/21/2015
 2015
Special Features: late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Hunt Club
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/07/2015
 2006
Dined on 3/07/2015
 2006
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We had a great time celebrating my birthday there, We will be going back!"
Dined on 3/07/2015
 2006
Special Features: great for brunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Hunt Club
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Hotel currently remodel mode, still excellent

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Food and Beer is the best. this is a historic elegant hotel"
Dined on 3/05/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Hunt Club
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"It's a classic. The Sorrento Hotel, which houses the Hunt Club, was built in 1909! Step back in time as you enter the beautiful wood-paneled restaurant, and feel the warmth as the friendly waiters take care of you. Food is really good and service is attentive, yet not over the top. It feels really special to be there."
Dined on 3/02/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Hunt Club
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Service and food

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/01/2015
 2013
Dined on 3/01/2015
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The service was excellent - we had a very nice accommodating patient waitress.
The food was very good and enjoyed by all.
Perhaps our only point of concern was the amount we were charged for coffee.
It was even higher than what we would have paid at Starbucks for a latte.
"
Dined on 3/01/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Hunt Club
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Nice old world atmosphere but...

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Restaurant in nice old world hotel had quiet ambiance. Restaurant manager very good to accomodate us for earlier seating from an original 9:30pm dinner time on Valentines day. On a special day though, found menu to be dissapointing from very simple desserts to main entrees that weren't enough to choose from. Filet came with some sort of breaded side that went mostly uneaten, very heavy and not something good with a filet. Had a pot pie, again not a choice I would have made, but filet choice did not come with sides and courses I liked, so took a chance. Very sweet and heavy and unfortunately not able to eat so went without. Rose was a nice touch and wine was good. Filet was well cooked, but was pretty much all alone with some mushrooms that were also a lot of "woody" taste."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Hunt Club
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Indifferent

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2012
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2012
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We've always loved the atmosphere at The Hunt Club and this visit didn't disappoint in that area. However, we were very disappointed to hear of the new chef's menu and the lack of steak - that's one of the main reasons we loved it here. Go for the service at atmosphere - great wine last too - but just know, the menu is very "Seattle" no prime rib, porter house, etc."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Hunt Club
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great menu with lots of delicious selections.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Really enjoyed the burger...who knew it would be on the menu at The Hunt Club??"
Dined on 2/04/2015
 2007
Special Features: great for lunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Hunt Club
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

New Menu; Same Great Food

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"The new menu is scaled back from previously, but still contains many of the same favorites. I do miss the crab/grapefruit/nut salad which was my favorite, but that left 2 menus ago :-) Still great choices and amazing service. The 3-item/45 minute lunch is perfect for a fast break from the office."
Dined on 1/16/2015
 2014
Special Features: great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Hunt Club
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Avoid the restaurant, stick to the bar

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Sorry, but as much as I *love, love, love* the decor and intimate feel of the place, the dining room is lacking with respect to service. Unorganized, late, and perhaps understaffed. I loved my brunch meal, but it took forever to get our food and the first round of coffee was TERRIBLE. They did comp us the coffee. I'll be back, but without the kid, so I can hang out in the bar."
Dined on 1/01/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Hunt Club
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Forget the cacophony of most restaurants.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Love the ambience of this small room. Food and service was excellent not to mention the complimentary valet service. A great place to converse over wonderful food. Price is very reasonable for today's Seattle. We will be back for sure."
Dined on 12/29/2014
 2014
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Hunt Club
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Christmas Dinner

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/25/2014
 2009
Dined on 12/25/2014
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Everything about the christmas dinner buffet at The Hunt Club was phenomenal and made our holiday stay extra special. I look forward to making this a Christmas tradition."
Dined on 12/25/2014
 2009
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Hunt Club
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Good food, not-so-great service.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/25/2014
 2014
Dined on 12/25/2014
 2014
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"My husband and I ate here two times during our stay over the Christmas Holiday. There seems to be a LOT of disorganization in the restaurant. We, along with other tables were not being attended to, while clusters of employees ran around like chickens with their heads cut off...not sure what the deal was. I know it's Christmas, but consistent good service should be a given."
Dined on 12/25/2014
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Hunt Club
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great food-old school ambiance.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/20/2014
 2014
Dined on 12/20/2014
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"My husband and I were staying at the Sorrento Hotel so the Hunt Club was very convenient. A number of employees walked past us before offering us any help which was a little rude but soon we were sat and dinner went smoothly. Our food was delicious and came in a timely manner.
We had a very noisy group of 8 next to us which drowned out most of our conversation, but hey-it's Christmas and people are in a good mood. Would definitely return."
Dined on 12/20/2014
 2014
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for The Hunt Club
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great place for a special occasion dinner.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"For dinner, we had fresh oysters on the half-shell as appetizer, the organic greens salad, scallops and sirloin for entrees, and trifle and bread pudding with cappucino for dessert. We wanted a pinot noir with enough breadth, texture and liveliness for the range of the entrees, and chose a very pleasant discovery--Willkenzie. Attentive and helpful service. All were excellent."
Dined on 12/19/2014
 2010
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for The Hunt Club
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/14/2014
 2011
Dined on 12/14/2014
 2011
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"we went as a group for brunch
coffee was slow to come all through breakfast
the benidicts were wonderful but the potatoes were very ordinary and tastless
"
Dined on 12/14/2014
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for The Hunt Club
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Perfect for Everyday or Special Occasion

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"This gem is a great place for all occasions. Their lunch menu is robust and there are quick lunch menus that get you in and out in 45 minutes. On the other hand, you can enjoy a leisurely break and enjoy the ambience and delicious food. I've never been disappointed here."
Dined on 12/10/2014
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for The Hunt Club
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

r mackie

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Took 2 energetic grandchildren to brunch prior to going to a childrens theater event. Great service and good food. Thanks Hunt Club and Sorrento Hotel for great experience for our grandchildren."
Dined on 12/07/2014
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for The Hunt Club
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

2/5 dinners were outstanding, the other 3 were...

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We expected a special evening out with our visiting 90yo Aunt, and unfortunately, 3 of the 5 people at our table were disappointed with their food. The ambiance and service were perfect, and the waiter paid particular attention to our Aunt, which was nice. And it was quiet enough for our Aunt to hear which was appreciated.
Three of us had the Salmon, which was less than mediocre, despite coming "highly recommended" by the waiter. I'm really not sure why restaurants have a hard time getting Salmon right, as we cook it at home all the time, and it's almost always great. It wasn't that it was too dry, instead, it didn't have much flavor. Maybe it was the quality of the fish.
My wife got the Caesar salad and wasn't impressed with that.
On a positive note, I had the Grilled Sirloin and thoroughly enjoyed it. The bacon and caramelized onion potato gratin and mushroom reduction were outstanding. Highly recommended.
I'm hopeful the Salmon issue was a one-time problem, but for the price, we (and particularly my Aunt) were expecting excellent food, and the Salmon certainly missed the mark."
Dined on 12/04/2014
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for The Hunt Club
Based on the average of (39) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
33 out of 37 recommend this product
Food 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Service 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Ambiance 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Noise Level
2.4 / 3
Energetic