Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

East 12th Osteria Reviews List

East 12th Osteria

Restaurant Week: prix fixe 3-course dinner offered except Friday and Saturday.
----
Food & Romance — celebrate Valentine's with a delectable menu that includes fresh perigord truffles, foie gras, oysters and morels, chocolate and passion fruit.
$95 per person. To see the menu: http://www.east12osteria.com
We will require a credit card for all Valentine's dinner reservations.
---
East 12th Osteria is a small, chef-driven, jewel of restaurant in the heart of the East Village. Come savor the inspired, organic and modern Northern Italian cuisine of chef/owner Roberto Deiaco.

On its first anniversary in March 2014, East 12th Osteria was hailed by The Financial Times as one of the 5 Best Italian Restaurants in New York
See more East 12th Osteria details
200 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
(200 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 200 reviews
5 stars
(120)
4 stars
(59)
3 stars
(10)
2 stars
(8)
1 star
(3)
Food 
4.6 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.6 / 5
Service 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Ambiance 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Noise Level
1.9 / 3
Moderate
Value 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • fit for foodies(120)
  • neighborhood gem(112)
  • romantic(53)
  • special occasion(53)
  • notable wine list(43)
  • good for groups(19)
East 12th Osteria Reviews List
Review 1 for East 12th Osteria
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for East 12th Osteria
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

meh food, super slow service

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2011
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"Went here for restaurant week with my wife. We had a 7pm reservation and other plans closeby at 9pm (2 hours to eat a pretty casual dinner is not unreasonable by any account). We got in and ordered our 3 courses along with some wine. Fast forward to 7:45, and our first courses arrive. They are both good, but we agree the service was slow. We finish and the waiter comes to clear our plates, tells us that entrees will be up in a few minutes. Fast forward to 8:30 - still no food in front of us. My wife approaches the waiter to ask what's going - when told that the food will be up in a minute, she asks that we also get our check with our entrees because we are now in a crunch and must leave soon after. 8:45 we finally get our food. It wasn't bad, but was VERY mediocre. We have to ask for the check two more times before it actually comes. They apologize and ask if they can get us something else, we politely decline. Dessert was then requested "to go" because they are so late with everything. We end up having to leave before we even get it. Left hungry and annoyed - don't bother coming back here, they don't know how to handle a weekend dinner rush, maybe things are better on week days?"
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for East 12th Osteria
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 2/02/2016
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for East 12th Osteria
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/01/2016
 2007
Dined on 2/01/2016
 2007
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 2/01/2016
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, scenic view, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for East 12th Osteria
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/24/2016
 2013
Dined on 1/24/2016
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 1/24/2016
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for East 12th Osteria
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Lovely dinner

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"This was a lovely dinner with a great staff and chef from the Italian Dolomites. The risotto with mushrooms was great and the wine from Sicily perfect."
Dined on 2/02/2016
 2005
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for East 12th Osteria
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Nice Italian

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Solid menu - and very accommodating chef. Nice simple decor. Great Italian beer selection.b"
Dined on 2/01/2016
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for East 12th Osteria
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Silent warm venue, great food professional service

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2014
Special Features: great for brunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for East 12th Osteria
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2012
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2012
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I'd really like to know who is writing these reviews as this was easily the worst service I have ever experienced in my life. We had a reservation, yet weren't seated for another hour. Normally this would not be the biggest deal in the world, but the restaurant itself is tiny and poorly designed so there is simply nowhere to sit, let alone stand, while you wait on a chilly January evening.
Once we were finally seated, it took the waiter another 45 minutes to bring us water and bread. We had to ask for bread 5x and constantly had to keep asking for more water. They also took 30 minutes to bring us a bottle of wine after we placed the order, and don't even get me started on the amount of time it took the waiter to take our order, let alone acknowledge us.
There are 11 tables total in this restaurant--only 7 of which were full by the time we actually placed an order--so there was really no excuse for the disgraceful service. The food was fine, but nothing to write home about. And it may have only tasted good simply because it wasn't until after 11 pm that we finally tasted it.
With all of the amazing restaurants in this city, there's no excuse for such inattentive service. I know for a fact that my party, as well as the two parties dining next to us, will never be back. Don't waste your time."
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for East 12th Osteria
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2014
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for East 12th Osteria
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Don't be in a hurry

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Firsts time visit on a Friday night during Restaurant Week. 7pm reservation, we were one of just a handful of tables at that time. Restaurant week menu fairly extensive, which might have been the downfall of the kitchen that night. we did not get our entrée until 8 25 , a full hour and 25 minutes after we arrived. By that time the restaurant was full, very few people had plates in front of them and there was a lineup of people a the bar waiting for tables to turn over.
Food was good, not great. Service amicable and apologetic.
We would not go back.
"
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2009
Special Features: hot spot
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for East 12th Osteria
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Dined on 1/31/2016
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for East 12th Osteria
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Excellent neighborhood restaurant... We will be back again"
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for East 12th Osteria
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Food and wait staff are great. Unfortunately kitchen times are horrendous. Took 1.5hrs for main course to arrive."
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for East 12th Osteria
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 1/31/2016
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for East 12th Osteria
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2015
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for East 12th Osteria
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

3 hours...

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"The food was very good, but the time we waited for our food was astounding. At 30 minutes in we hadn't even been offered menus yet. Finally once we ordered, it took 1 hour to get our appetizer. They came over with random soup "compliments of the chef" but made no mention about why our food was taking so long. We did finally get our appetizer and meal, but were wondering what the deal was with our dessert, as it was included in the restaurant week menu. We finally asked to just get it wrapped up since we had been there so long. We ended up being the last people in the restaurant and it took 20-30 minutes just to get our desserts and check. We arrived at 8:15 and had no idea we would be there until almost 11:30. Very disappointing."
Dined on 1/28/2016
 2015
Special Features: special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for East 12th Osteria
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2007
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2007
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Decent food, terrible service. I was excited to try E. 12th Osteria, but was really disappointed with the quality of their service, especially given the prices they charge. We arrived at 8:30, but didn't get our meals until 10:00. We told the server that we didn't eat meat, they sent out soup with pork, and never checked back with us. We were mostly ignored by the waitstaff throughout the evening; the only thing that arrived quickly was the check."
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for East 12th Osteria
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2009
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Always excellent. We come back here again and again. Great specials and friendly service."
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for East 12th Osteria
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 1/29/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for East 12th Osteria
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for East 12th Osteria
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

AMAZING

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Everything was absolutely amazing. The service, the ambiance, and especially the food. The chef even brought us complimentary soups that were delicious. A real gastronomical treat from start to finish."
Dined on 1/18/2016
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for East 12th Osteria
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 1/22/2016
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for East 12th Osteria
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Amazing experience!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/22/2016
 2013
Dined on 1/22/2016
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"We were there for Restaurant Week—all the food was absolutely incredible. That housemade warm bread basket was something else (mmm...the carta di musica). Our server said it is made fresh by the chef every day. Loved the romantic ambiance too."
Dined on 1/22/2016
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, scenic view, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for East 12th Osteria
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/22/2016
 2009
Dined on 1/22/2016
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 1/22/2016
 2009
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for East 12th Osteria
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 1/24/2016
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for East 12th Osteria
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Trendy and Friendly

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"This great little restaurant is trendy with a very warm and cozy feeling. The surrounding windows that run the length of the walls allow for a great view of the hustle and bustle outside while adding an elegant feel inside . Our party of 4 enjoyed all their dishes. My favorite was the seared sea scallops with truffles appetizer. And I will definitely have their delectable home made ice creams again when I re visit, which I definitely will"
Dined on 1/21/2016
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for East 12th Osteria
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 1/21/2016
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for East 12th Osteria
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/20/2016
 2014
Dined on 1/20/2016
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/20/2016
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for East 12th Osteria
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Outstanding Food

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"I've wanted to try East 12 Osteria for some time since it opened. We had an early dinner there. The restaurant was not crowded but had a stead stream of people coming in as we ate. The menu had several options fit for everyone. Everything we had was outstanding. The chef sent out a complimentary starter, a bean soup of some sort. Amazing. We had the scallop appetizer which is considered their speciality. Delicious. My husband had the crab gnocchi and I had the branzino. All the food was excellent, very high end and cooked to perfection. If you are looking for a good Italian meal, go here."
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2010
Special Features: special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for East 12th Osteria
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 1/22/2016
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for East 12th Osteria
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great place

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"The place is airy, not noisy, with lots of natural light and a great street view in the trendy busy east village neighborhood. We went for lunch with teenagers and smaller children and everybody loved it ! The Italian food was very refined but remained simple very good food. Ingredients are locally sourced and you can taste that everything is homemade. Will definitely come back for lunch or dinner"
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for East 12th Osteria
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/18/2016
 2006
Special Features: good for groups, neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for East 12th Osteria
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/20/2016
 2010
Dined on 1/20/2016
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 1/20/2016
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for East 12th Osteria
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Went there by accident as did not know good restaurant in the east Village, so i lookt in Open table, i needed a restaurant not more than 5 block north or south from second av. and 12th street and there it was .......12th street Osteria, we just adore it, my husband chose beef carpaccio with marinade delicious muchroom the meat was so good melting in the mouth,
To be follow By one of the best pasta Bolognes, with big chunk of meat, it was a delicacie.
I choose grilled seafood, simple with an excellent tartare sauce, and a pasta with mushroom
And black trufles it was so ligth and so tastful, on the side of the plate was a beautiful Langoustine, so deligthful. And as a surprise, the chef send us a small bean soup, as good as the rest of the dinner, next time i go to 12th street Osteria it will not be by accident but By choice!!!
"
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, great for lunch, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for East 12th Osteria
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 1/15/2016
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for East 12th Osteria
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"This was a real find. Excellent service and food. We were not rushed and had a wonderful experience."
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for East 12th Osteria
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/12/2016
 2009
Dined on 1/12/2016
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/12/2016
 2009
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for East 12th Osteria
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Excellent

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/14/2016
 2015
Dined on 1/14/2016
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Slightly pricy, and the table next to us was extremely loud. The good was amazing though, and the server was attentive and helpful, as was (believe it or not) the back-waiter."
Dined on 1/14/2016
 2015
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for East 12th Osteria
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 1/09/2016
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for East 12th Osteria
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/12/2016
 2013
Dined on 1/12/2016
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/12/2016
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for East 12th Osteria
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/29/2015
 2011
Dined on 12/29/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 12/29/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for East 12th Osteria
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/01/2016
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for East 12th Osteria
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for East 12th Osteria
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2013
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for East 12th Osteria
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

excellent east village dining

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"I generally do not associate the east village with great dining, although there are obvious and noteworthy exceptions. However the chef was formerly at Palio, a wonderful restaurant that had its demise much too soon. I looked forward to tasting the offerings of Chef Deiaco.
I was worried as I walked in the door to an empty restaurant at 715pm. I am always concerned when no one else is in a restaurant. Makes me think of a hotel in a leper colony. But it was just pre-New Years eve and the restaurant was a bit slow and picked up later in the evening. The decor was sleek and inviting. The waitstaff were prompt but not overbearing, just the way I like it.
Cocktails were innovative and delicious. The wine list details were unfamiliar to me but a very thoughtful mix of predominantly Italian wines from good regions in good vintages. I enjoyed a 2010 Barbaresco.
The menu was surprisingly extensive with adventurous interpretations of predominantly northern tastes. I particularly enjoyed the octopus over bagna cauda and the duck two ways was delicate and tender all ways. I just cannot figure out how good chefs can get it so. A thoroughly enjoyable dish.
I usually do not partake of desserts; they just don't do much for me, so I cannot comment on it.
The menu was very robust and diverse with much for many tastes. I will visit again soon to do some more exploring.
Highly recommended.
"
Dined on 12/30/2015
 2002
Special Features: neighborhood gem, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for East 12th Osteria
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 12/29/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for East 12th Osteria
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/28/2015
 2008
Dined on 12/28/2015
 2008
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 12/28/2015
 2008
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for East 12th Osteria
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2009
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2009
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for East 12th Osteria
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/24/2015
 2014
Dined on 12/24/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/24/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>