Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Bar Rique Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Bar Rique

Bar Rique offers a wide variety of wines from around the world in addition to professionally tailored cocktails and spirits. Our food is expertly prepared tapas and entrees in the traditional Spanish preparation.
43 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
(43 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 43 reviews
5 stars
(15)
4 stars
(15)
3 stars
(5)
2 stars
(3)
1 star
(5)
Food 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Service 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Ambiance 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Noise Level
2.7 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • neighborhood gem(16)
  • fit for foodies(14)
  • late-night find(4)
  • romantic(4)
  • special occasion(4)
  • good for groups(3)
Bar Rique Reviews List
Review 1 for Bar Rique
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 3/17/2014
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Bar Rique
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/20/2014
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Bar Rique
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Restaurant is out of business

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Should not be accepting reservations on open table as its out of business!"
Dined on 2/17/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Bar Rique
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Never again!

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We went here for Valentine's day. The food was absolutely awful and overpriced. We ended up spending over $200 for 2 people on a meal that left us feeling like we got robbed. The short ribs were so inedible that we had to send them back. Then they brought us chicken instead which was terribly dry. The food that wasn't terrible was mediocre at best. The service was extremely slow, and this was on a night where the restaurant wasn't completely full and they were serving a pre-fixe menu. I could hear people at the tables around us complaining about their food to the waiters as well. This was a total fail. There are too many good restaurants in the area to bother giving this place a second chance."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Bar Rique
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

This place should close! Now!!

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"My wife and I have traveled to New York for over 30 years and have eaten in restaurants all over the city. This place has the distinction of being the worst restaurant we have ever eaten at in the city. We went on Valentines Day for a quick meal of Tapas before we headed out to theatre. When we were seated, we were handed a set menu, understandable on a holiday, that was not tapas. We decided to stick it out as we did not have time to do anything else. The first course was some type of a crab salad with a little avocado, that my wife ordered, and I had what turned out to be chopped cucumber, tomato and snow peas tossed in salad dressing. Eatable, but no something that a restaurant serves with a set menu on Valentines day. Then a soup that was basically beef broth, some blue chees crumbles and dehydrated mushrooms, came. I have no idea where this idea came from, but it was not eatable. I cannot imagine anyone in the kitchen tasted this mess. By this time an hour and fifteen minutes had passed and we ran out of time and had to pay the bill and leave. Keep in mind the bill for the set menu was 85.00. We did only pay for the salads and drinks, but still 60 plus dollars later we were out. The table next two us was seated twice and both times the customers looked at the menu and left. The guests next to us saw us leaving and told us we were luck as the other two courses were also a tragedy. In the end, this a tapas restaurant, where is the tapas? If they are going to continue to attempt to do things beyond tapas, they should just close today and save everyone a lot of aggravation."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Bar Rique
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Seated in cold patio!

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Even with a reservation at the early hour of 6 pm on a Saturday, we were seated in the crowded back patio (not necessarily crowded with people but with furniture) in 20-degree weather, which was not well enclosed and heated with only one electric heater that made the patio comfortable for the 2 people right in front of it! We complained about the chill and were told they'd try to seat us inside, but it never happened. We will NOT be going back!"
Dined on 1/31/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Bar Rique
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great Spot near The Beacon Theatre

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"This a great small neighborhood restaurant with very good tapas and a short but very good selection of affordable wines. Service was very good and the atmosphere was cozy and enjoyable."
Dined on 1/23/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Bar Rique
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great pre-Opera Choice

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Found Bar Rique through OpenTable looking for an interesting place eat before an evening performance at the Met. Had a wonderful time with my wife and daughter. We soup and then just shared six hot tapas for dinner and that was more than enough food. All the food was great - prawns, lamb, stuffed peppers. Service was superb - friendly, warm, efficient, attentive. Would go again and highly recommend. Not many tables. Make a reservation. Short walk down Columbus to Lincoln Center."
Dined on 1/24/2015
 2011
Special Features: special occasion, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Bar Rique
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/22/2014
 2012
Dined on 11/22/2014
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"This is a fun tapas place with innovative dishes and a super friendly staff. The food is excellent."
Dined on 11/22/2014
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Bar Rique
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Bar Rique-- ¡qué rico!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/02/2015
 2013
Dined on 1/02/2015
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Inspired by Spanish cuisine but nothing like your typical tapas food. A sophisticated fusion of Latin American influences. A small, intimate place-- good for a date. Pricey but worth it for a special occasion (or if you have deep pockets)."
Dined on 1/02/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Bar Rique
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Pleasant experience

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The food was delicious. The service great and attentive. Manager/owner stopped by table. Definitely a place I'll visit again."
Dined on 12/11/2014
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Bar Rique
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Terrific food!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I was at Bar Rique on Friday night. I ordered the seafood ceviche, which was delicious, as good as the ceviches served in Miami's Peruvian restaurants. We also had fried artichokes, fried calamari, and figs with Brie and Serano ham. Everything was very good. The restaurant is very tiny and narrow, so there's quite a hubbub on a busy night, and definitely not a place to go if you're claustrophobic. Our server was extremely nice and did a wonderful job of describing the wine and cocktails."
Dined on 12/05/2014
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Bar Rique
Based on the average of (31) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
22 out of 25 recommend this product
Food 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Service 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Ambiance 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Noise Level
2.8 / 3
Energetic