Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Chops Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Chops

Chops Steak Seafood & Bar of Sacramento is an award-winning restaurant and bar. Locally owned, Chops specializes in classic Midwestern, corn fed, dry aged beef and the freshest seafood. Our prime ribs, steaks and chops are dry aged up to 28 days in our aging facility then hand trimmed and cut to generous portions ensuring that every steak is tender and flavorful.
74 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
(74 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 74 reviews
5 stars
(27)
4 stars
(27)
3 stars
(11)
2 stars
(7)
1 star
(2)
Food 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Service 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
2.6 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • special occasion(33)
  • romantic(26)
  • fit for foodies(17)
  • good for groups(16)
  • notable wine list(15)
  • great for outdoor dining(11)
Chops Reviews List
Review 1 for Chops
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Chops
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 9/23/2014
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Chops
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/28/2014
 2014
Dined on 4/28/2014
 2014
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 4/28/2014
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Chops
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great service, Excellent Food.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We did have to send back a plate, but when it came back out it was well worth the wait. Food was excellent and our waiter was wonderful"
Dined on 3/11/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Chops
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

CHOPS continues to be one of the best!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"CHOPS is still one of the finest restaurants in Sacramento. It had been a number of years since I was last there, but it was superb as always."
Dined on 3/08/2015
 2015
Special Features: hot spot, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Chops
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Flavorful & beautiful place to dine :)

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Love the sliders especially - salads are fresh and the service is just what we expected."
Dined on 11/08/2014
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Chops
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Very Disappointed

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We received good, attentive service at Chops. The food was disappointing. The calamari we ordered in the bar was cold and bland. The braised short ribs were mostly fat and gristle, and the meat was dry and overcooked. The "blackened" prime rib just had a sprinkling of Cajun spice on top, and it was not seared through with Cajun flavor. We would not return or recommend this restaurant, because the food was high priced for the quality we received. There are much better steak restaurants throughout the Sacramento area with lower prices."
Dined on 2/20/2015
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Chops
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great bar service

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/17/2015
 2010
Dined on 2/17/2015
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Sat at the bar and the bartender was amazing. Quick, attentive and personable. Make great food and wine recommendations and overall was a great experience."
Dined on 2/17/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, notable wine list, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Chops
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Fine dinning at its best

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Made reservations at this restaurant for the first time and for Valentibes dinner. Didn't know what to expect but for menu prices I knew it would have to be spectacular. Chops did not disappointe and the service and cuisine were absolutely Five star in my book. Oredered the porterhouse steak and was served to my liking and turned out very flavorful. I will definatly go back."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Chops
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Not a great experience.

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"My girlfriend and I celebrated our 1-yr anniversary here during Sacramento Restaurant Week. We planned on each getting one of the $31 meals, which included a first course, main course, and dessert. I was going to get the 6oz Top Sirloin, until I noticed that the 12 oz sirloin was only $20. Since I didn't need a salad and my girlfriend and I could split her dessert, this seemed like a much better deal than their advertised meal. The service was initially fine by our server, but it dropped off after that. I order a medium well steak, but it was cooked medium rare. I ordered mashed potatoes, but received a baked potato. Had to ask several times for more bread. Received our bill (with a charge for bacon and cheese for the baked potato I didn't order) before we received our dessert. Had to find another waiter to request our dessert. The portion we received was half of what was received at the table next to us and it ward hard and burnt. We also didn't receive all of our food in our to go container. I hate that! The final indignation was that the ticket he gave us to validate our parking was not accepted at the parking garage. Don't think I'll be going back."
Dined on 1/24/2015
 2008
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Chops
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Excellent meats, terrible dessert

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We had a sirloin steak and a pork chop; both were expertly prepared and delicious. Vegetables (broccolini) were also excellent, and wine pairings were appropriate. However, the dessert (Apple crisp) was Inedible, having turned into a caramelized rock after two hours or more under a heating lamp. When this problem was brought to the server's attention, his response was argumentative rather than apologetic. We were also charged for extras (e.g., bacon and cheese on a baked potato) that were not requested. Unprofessional service marred what would otherwise have been a very positive experience."
Dined on 1/24/2015
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Chops
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The food was great, but I was most impressed with our waiter....
Very professional!
"
Dined on 1/22/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Chops
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Would not go back

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We went to Chops during Dine Downtown week and chose the spinach salad, Top Sirloin, and had warm Apple Crisp for dessert. The salad was fairly good, and the potatoes and veges good. The dessert was outstanding, but the steak was a little tough and not that flavorful. I expected more from what I had heard about this restaurant. The service was very adequate with the waitress and the servers polite and attentive."
Dined on 1/22/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Chops
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great service.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We enjoyed our first meal at Chops. Only problem was that my wife's brick-pressed chicken was not all that great of a dish. The waiter was very accommodating and offered to bring over some sauces for the chicken, one of which helped improved the dish. I had a terrific steak that was cooked perfectly. The manager came over to our table after the meal was served and asked how things were. My wife told him that the chicken was not great. He apologized and without any prompting gave my wife a gift certificate for the full value of her meal. That was very nice and unexpected. We will be coming back."
Dined on 1/20/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Chops
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

quality of steak

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"The sirloin was Cooked to request, however both my friend and I found it tough and very hard
to Cut, We took it home to slice and make sandwiches, The Apple Crisp was somewhat sour and oat meal wasn't soft. Salads were good. Appreciated the nice wine selection.
"
Dined on 1/18/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Chops
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Date Night

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Food and service were very good. Husbands steak was excellent. Walls could use a wash down along with some paint."
Dined on 1/17/2015
 2014
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Chops
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dine Downtown

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"The service and ambiance were nice with the capital in the background. The sirloin was a bad cut mostly sinew and gristle that the knife could not begin to slice through. I wonder if the "Dine Downtown Discount" had something to do with it. The portions were also on the small side."
Dined on 1/17/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Chops
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We were disappointed that we were seated in the bar area to dine. We had made reservations for dinner at least 2 weeks ago. The TV's were distracting to us while dining."
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Chops
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great Steakhouse

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/30/2014
 2014
Dined on 12/30/2014
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Took my wife out for our anniversary dinner here. I had the prime rib and wife had the top sirloin. Food was great. Would recommend place."
Dined on 12/30/2014
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Chops
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Disappointed

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"HAVE AGAIN: macroni and cheese, carrots, mashed potatoes were good. NOT HAVE AGAIN: prime rib had too much fat and was not cooked as ordered."
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Chops
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

New Year's

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Family came for the holiday and we gathered at Chops for dinner. It was very pleasant....especially for a New Year's Eve. Service was wonderful and exceedingly pleasant. They were there if needed but not hovering. Food portions were enormous. They accommodated our special requests with ease and good cheer.
We all remarked that the prices were a good value for what we received.
Meat was too rare for my taste but all others in the group raved about how good it was.
We will certainly return"
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2014
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Chops
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Service very slow, room noisy, food not hot, meat not good quality.
Good location.
"
Dined on 12/27/2014
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Chops
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

First time eating here!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/24/2014
 2012
Dined on 12/24/2014
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We ate here for a family Christmas Eve dinner. We all enjoyed the food and wine. Our server was very nice and took great care of us! Our only complaint was that the seating made it difficult to talk to everyone...it would have been much better if we were seated at a round table...(we had made our reservation several weeks in advance...) But overall we liked Chops!"
Dined on 12/24/2014
 2012
Special Features: notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Chops
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Chops is very expensive. The meat is excellent. But it stops there. I thought the broccoli was overcooked until I tasted the Brussels sprouts! The garlic in the Brussels sprouts was off, like it had been burned ( but it wasn't discolored). It's like they have this one stellar item ( beef) but it stops there. Service was friendly and excellent."
Dined on 12/26/2014
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Chops
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Loved our server and the food and drinks were top notch! If first time the parking is very hard to figure out."
Dined on 12/19/2014
 2010
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Chops
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Steaks and Chops are Excellent

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We have been to Chops many times. We had dinner prior to a show at the Crest. The food came out slower than usual. The restaurant was very busy. Aaron, our waiter did a great job checking on us. We will be back."
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Chops
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Chops Sacramento, Friday 12/5/14

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/05/2014
 2013
Dined on 12/05/2014
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We found Chops through my app for them Passport Dining club. We were looking for a great steak and seafood house. We were extremely happy with the quality of the food. The bread before dinner was lacking, but really, who cares in the long run. The dinner itself was fantastic, Fillet, Salmon, and Lamb. The service was good, we were left alone for a while, but the big problem was the time, and I think that's why we were left alone by the server. How many times honestly can you say it's only going to be a few more minutes. The restaurant was not very full, and we waited almost an hour for our food once we ordered. There were a couple of big groups there, so I can understand a little, but it was simply way too long to wait for food. However, again, once we got the food it was excellent. The service was also very good, it was just the slowness of the kitchen. To sum up, excellent food, good atmosphere, long wait for our meals. Might have been a fluke."
Dined on 12/05/2014
 2013
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Chops
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Always Great

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Celebrated my Wife's Birthday. We always have a great time at Chops. The waiter was great. The food came out slow but he comped the desserts for our trouble. As always the prime rib was fabulous. Plus some fantastic sides. The mac and cheese is great."
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2014
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Chops
Based on the average of (46) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
37 out of 41 recommend this product
Food 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Service 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Ambiance 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Noise Level
2.7 / 3
Energetic