Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Talara Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Talara

Talara Latin Fusion restaurant offers an extensive menu that includes flavors and recipes from Central & South America. Our chefs take old, traditional Latin American recipes and execute them with new technology and new ingredients. Our restaurant features Baltimore's ONLY Seviche Bar. Our Seviche Bar offers 6 different Seviche preparations and 10 seafood options so that you can mix & match to create your own seviche. In addition to our Seviche Bar, our menu features other Tapas, Sushi, Soups & Salads, Entrees, & Desserts.

Talara also has a full bar that features an array of hand-made mojitos & caipirinhas, as well as an extensive offering of cocktails and beer. Our Wine List features 50 wines from South America and Spain.
20 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
(20 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 20 reviews
5 stars
(6)
4 stars
(8)
3 stars
(3)
2 stars
(1)
1 star
(2)
Food 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
2.2 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • fit for foodies(6)
  • good for groups(6)
  • late-night find(5)
  • hot spot(4)
  • romantic(4)
  • vibrant bar scene(4)
Talara Reviews List
Review 1 for Talara
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/15/2014
 2011
Dined on 8/15/2014
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/15/2014
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Talara
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 1/12/2014
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Talara
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

So sad it's closed

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Great place, so sorry it's closed. Service was very inconsistant. Too bad, it was probably in a very high rent place."
Dined on 5/11/2014
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Talara
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/31/2015
 2014
Dined on 1/31/2015
 2014
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"No record of my reservation, no apology, no menu, take it or leave attitude, for a terrible, again terrible, pre-made 6 course meal. Oh, but the classic salsa (music type) was good."
Dined on 1/31/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Talara
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Is Talara closing down?

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I have been going to Talara for a few years and it quickly became one of my favorite restaurants in Baltimore, until last night. First, for a Friday night, the place was only 1/4 full. Second, the menu had been chopped down by about 60%. Third, 30% of what was on the new (plain white sheet) menu was "sold out". So we weren't left with much choice. Whatever they served us was very good just as before, but the portion was much much smaller and they swapped a few things in our dishes because they had "run out". The waiter was extremely professional and friendly, the few food they served us was excellent but apart from that, it was a huge disappointment. It seemed to us that the restaurant is closing down and they are getting rid of their stock. It would be a shame if it closes down because the food is excellent and the location is great, but if they remain open, they should definitely make sure they are all stocked up on food for the weekend!"
Dined on 1/23/2015
 2009
Special Features: good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Talara
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Solid

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/17/2015
 2015
Dined on 1/17/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Overall I enjoyed the experience and food. I will say they did seem to be out of a few items on the menu which was annoying, but what we did get was tasty. Drinks were excellent as well."
Dined on 1/17/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Talara
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Amazing place... except very loud on salsa night

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Talara has always been an amazing place for Central American food. All of the food is very fresh, and the service is exquisite. Initially, I had made reservations for two through open table. When my guest and I arrived, Talara never received the reservation from open table . Was not that big of a problem as there was space at the serviche bar. Then the music started and the server couldn't hear our order...
Come to find out, they were having salsa lessons that night. The lesson itself only lasted one hour but the extremely loud music (which was turned up a few times) continued on after and the soon to be overcrowded dance floor led to the constant hitting of our seats and eventual need for us to leave. It took approximately 5 minutes to navigate to the exit through the croud... No sarcasm. It was that crowded. Our server couldn't even make it back to us to get the bill... We had to hand it to the cooks to pass along.
If you are there for the salsa lessons, by all means have a blast! However, you want a finer experience here that you can sit back, relax and enjoy? Go on a night that is much quieter and call to confirm reservations."
Dined on 12/23/2014
 2013
Special Features: romantic, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, late-night find
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Talara
Based on the average of (13) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
7 out of 9 recommend this product
Food 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Service 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Ambiance 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Noise Level
2.5 / 3
Energetic