Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Heritage House Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Heritage House

Everything begins with food and revolves around it! Family dinners, holidays, celebrations and simply a fun evening out. Food is the back bone of life. We look forward to FEEDING you!
15 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.5 / 5
(Very Good) 3.5 / 5
(15 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 15 reviews
5 stars
(3)
4 stars
(5)
3 stars
(4)
2 stars
(3)
1 star
(0)
Food 
3.5 / 5
(Very Good) 3.5 / 5
Service 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Ambiance 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Noise Level
2.1 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • good for groups(6)
  • fit for foodies(5)
  • neighborhood gem(4)
  • kid-friendly(3)
  • great for brunch(1)
  • great for lunch(1)
Heritage House Reviews List
Review 1 for Heritage House
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/24/2014
 2009
Dined on 10/24/2014
 2009
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/24/2014
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Heritage House
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Had high hopes...

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The location is nice, menu looked great and the service was friendly - those are the only good things I can say about this place. Everything we had with the exception of the Kale soup (it is excellent) was bland. Overpriced as well. I know this place is new, but I don't see any potential."
Dined on 4/05/2015
 2000
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Heritage House
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Good News

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Much to my dismay I was told that Heritage House closed and that Trattoria Rustica was moving in there. But this is not the case. You get the best of both. Trattoria Rustica did close their restaurant on Bloomfield Avenue but Heritage House is still there with their menu and with items off of Trattoria's menu. I have always liked Heritage House menu and really like the ambiance of the restaurant. So now you have both in one place on Park St. The other plus it's close to the parking garage.
Now that said, I had a great steak there and they called the wine store to deliver me a bottle of wine.
Also love their small plates. So if you heard it had closed you can go check out their old/new menu.
"
Dined on 4/01/2015
 2010
Special Features: good for groups, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Heritage House
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

not worth it, too many other good option in Mntclr

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/27/2015
 2015
Dined on 2/27/2015
 2015
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Asked if shrimp in pasta dish were grilled, Told yes, but when the dish arrived, they were not. The tuna tacos - ordered as a main menu item - arrive as two tiny tacos, and nothing else on the plate - more of an appetizer. Would definitely not return. Too many other good options in Montclair. Also the decor is very bad."
Dined on 2/27/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Heritage House
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Good vibes - nice meal

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The hostess was very accommodating. Having heard of how roomy the place was, I was initially disappointed with my seating, but this was rectified rather quickly. The appetizers were not particularly impressive, but the main course was on the money. We ordered steak - bone in & ny skirt steak. They were seasoned and cooked to perfection. And, dessert was no let down. The apple crumb and cinnamon rum raisin ice-cream and the lava cake and vanilla ice-cream paired perfectly with our hot cappuccinos."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Heritage House
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Get the Word Out!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Heritage House is a new restaurant in a town filled with great places to eat. They need to let people know that they are there, they are different & they are worth trying out or they won't be there for long. The food is interesting, tasty & varied. We enjoyed several Tapas & were quite pleased with them. Service was great & the atmosphere is funky & fun. BYOB. Hope they last- I will go back for sure."
Dined on 2/12/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Heritage House
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

enjoys food

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We were only people there on a Thursday evening/ service was AWESOME! No real salad selection though! while off menu we have steaks and both were good. BYOB was helpful. Food was weakest link and while acceptable not special and presentation was lacking. they did comp us the tomato/motz appetizer that was not on the menu but they made for us. its worth a try as they will work out the kinks and its always good to give a new place a chance."
Dined on 1/15/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Heritage House
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great new place in Montclair

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Love the accessible farm fresh, locally sourced concept. The kids loved the mac and cheese bites. The chicken in the Chicken and Waffle dish was amazing! The brussel sprouts were unique and divine. Service was great and the whole staff was very attentive. Looking forward to going back to explore more on the menu."
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Heritage House
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Good service but not great food

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The restaurant is beautiful inside and very good service, but the food was ok, not great. Good for a quiet dinner since the restaurant doesn't seem to get busy, it was actually quite empty. Better chef and this place has great potential."
Dined on 12/12/2014
 2006
Special Features: good for groups, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Heritage House
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Something new and different

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"This is a great restaurant. Casual but upscale. Not expensive and some exciting entrees. Chicken shrimp and grits were excellent. Cauliflower was very good as was the salmon. Also the best Naan bread. This restaurant is so good I don't understand why it is not busy. Other restaurants in Montclair have a line that are not as good."
Dined on 11/29/2014
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Heritage House
Based on the average of (5) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
4 out of 5 recommend this product
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Ambiance 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Noise Level
2.4 / 3
Energetic