Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Seven Sows Bourbon and Larder Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Seven Sows Bourbon and Larder

Seven Sows is a restaurant which focuses on an impressionable and memorable dining experience with down to earth decor, warm and friendly service and delicious food and drink rooted in the nostalgia of our heritage and our past. Seven Sows sets out to embody the interpretation of a southern focused cuisine with impressions of French and modern American techniques and above all a boundless and bold creative spirit.
116 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
(116 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 116 reviews
5 stars
(68)
4 stars
(33)
3 stars
(8)
2 stars
(7)
1 star
(0)
Food 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Service 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Ambiance 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Noise Level
2.3 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • fit for foodies(88)
  • neighborhood gem(41)
  • special occasion(33)
  • good for groups(23)
  • romantic(22)
  • hot spot(21)
Seven Sows Bourbon and Larder Reviews List
Review 1 for Seven Sows Bourbon and Larder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 5/24/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Seven Sows Bourbon and Larder
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 3/14/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Seven Sows Bourbon and Larder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"It was a birthday and the rustic environment, specialty cocktails and fantastic food."
Dined on 1/24/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Seven Sows Bourbon and Larder
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/24/2015
 2012
Dined on 5/24/2015
 2012
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/24/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Seven Sows Bourbon and Larder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/24/2015
 2009
Dined on 5/24/2015
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/24/2015
 2009
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Seven Sows Bourbon and Larder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/22/2015
 2009
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Seven Sows Bourbon and Larder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Delectable!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Food was great! Simple foods - like hushpuppies - were superb. Finer cuisine was interesting and tastefully seasoned. Proportions were reasonable. Everything beautifully presented. We all had the bourbon flight. The bourbons were excellent! What a fun change from wine and beer! A bit pricey but well worth it. Although next time I will choose a bourbon rather than the $15 flight. Second time dining there and I would not hesitate to return or to bring out of town guests again."
Dined on 5/16/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Seven Sows Bourbon and Larder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great dinner

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/15/2015
 2015
Dined on 5/15/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"All the food was very good. The waitress was very helpful in helping us decide."
Dined on 5/15/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Seven Sows Bourbon and Larder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/15/2015
 2011
Dined on 5/15/2015
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/15/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Seven Sows Bourbon and Larder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/01/2014
 2011
Dined on 11/01/2014
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/01/2014
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Seven Sows Bourbon and Larder
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Seven Sows Bourbon and Larder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/08/2015
 2015
Dined on 5/08/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Loved it!! The Hangar steak was fantastic and cooked perfectly. All of the other dishes served at our table were excellent as well as was the service. Will recommend this restaurant."
Dined on 5/08/2015
 2015
Special Features: great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Seven Sows Bourbon and Larder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Consistently good casual-dining

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/08/2015
 2012
Dined on 5/08/2015
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"This was my second successful visit for dinner with my husband and two friends (all locals). Our reservation was on a Friday evening at 6:00 pm. The hostess was patient and cooperative in accommodating our seating preference. Our cocktails were very very good... one of three were from their suggested list, two mixed drinks with call liquors, and one draft beer. Our party ordered two buttermilk fried chicken plates and 2 NC grouper small plates. All very very good, especially the fried chicken served with mac and cheese. Our waitress was very helpful and pleasant. This is a consistently good, friendly, casual downtown Asheville restaurant."
Dined on 5/08/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Seven Sows Bourbon and Larder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/08/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, hot spot, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Seven Sows Bourbon and Larder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2014
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Seven Sows Bourbon and Larder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great little find!!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"First time eaters- pleasant surprise! Great food- limited but eclectic menu. Tasty farm-to-table food. A little noisy but that is expected for such a busy place. Service was top-notch! 3 hungry people shared 3 small plates and one entree."
Dined on 5/02/2015
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Seven Sows Bourbon and Larder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/28/2015
 2010
Special Features: good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Seven Sows Bourbon and Larder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/26/2014
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Seven Sows Bourbon and Larder
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Average. So many other places to dine. Would not recommend ."
Dined on 5/02/2015
 2004
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Seven Sows Bourbon and Larder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Best of Asheville

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Another amazing dining experience at Seven Sows. Best service, food and drinks in town. High quality ingredients masterfully prepared with an emphasis on Southern traditions. Best mixologists too."
Dined on 4/30/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Seven Sows Bourbon and Larder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/25/2015
 2008
Dined on 4/25/2015
 2008
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/25/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Seven Sows Bourbon and Larder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/24/2015
 2011
Dined on 4/24/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/24/2015
 2011
Special Features: hot spot, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Seven Sows Bourbon and Larder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/24/2015
 2010
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Seven Sows Bourbon and Larder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 4/21/2015
 2011
Special Features: hot spot, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Seven Sows Bourbon and Larder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/17/2015
 2009
Dined on 4/17/2015
 2009
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/17/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Seven Sows Bourbon and Larder
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2010
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2010
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Seven Sows Bourbon and Larder
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Jim

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2009
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2009
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Although restaurant came recommended - it was just average. Food was okay, service was okay at best, soft drink fountain was not working. Food did come fairly quickly. Not much service offered afterwards. Prices are not bad at all though."
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Seven Sows Bourbon and Larder
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Trying hard, and sometimes it works.

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Some dishes were excellent (wings), others less so (fish of the day)."
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2012
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Seven Sows Bourbon and Larder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/16/2015
 2015
Dined on 4/16/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/16/2015
 2015
Special Features: hot spot, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Seven Sows Bourbon and Larder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great wings

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/10/2015
 2015
Dined on 4/10/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/10/2015
 2015
Special Features: great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Seven Sows Bourbon and Larder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

yummmm wings

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Three of us split these dishes: wings, fried chicken/macaroni, Brussel sprouts, hamburger steak, hush puppies/fondue. All was very good. The only issue I had was that every thing was a bit on the heavy side. The oysters on the half shell and the cocktails were delicious."
Dined on 4/09/2015
 2012
Special Features: vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Seven Sows Bourbon and Larder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Love the small plates!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/02/2015
 2014
Dined on 4/02/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I love that they offered small plates! My husband and I shared a few and were happy to be able to taste a few different selections from the menu. The atmosphere is cozy and intimate. The service was attentive but not overbearing. The food was creative but not pretentious. Get the wings, you won't be sorry!"
Dined on 4/02/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Seven Sows Bourbon and Larder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

delish

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Seven Sows never disappoints. The star here is the food."
Dined on 3/31/2015
 2007
Special Features: good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Seven Sows Bourbon and Larder
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Great place for drinks and apps

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The staff was very friendly and welcoming. The drinks were well made and not expensive. The appetizers are flavorful and small plates are a great way to go."
Dined on 3/28/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Seven Sows Bourbon and Larder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Loved Seven Sows!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Our server, Alyssa, should be commended firstly, as she made the visit a blast for us all! Friendly and knowledgeable, she recommended dishes that we all enjoyed thoroughly! The food was expertly prepared and pleasantly presented. We enjoyed ordering many of the small plates and sharing between the four of us. The wings are stellar and worth a trip just to try them! We are locals and will definitely keep this one on our regular list from now on!"
Dined on 3/20/2015
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Seven Sows Bourbon and Larder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Finally got here!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We had been trying to get here for months. Our group of 7 truly enjoyed our visit. Great drinks, wnonderful flavor combination in food choices.....hushpuppies and pimento cheese a must. By the end of our evening this place was hopping. We' d highly recommend."
Dined on 3/20/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for Seven Sows Bourbon and Larder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great Food, Amazing Whiskey List!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Love this place, food is original, creative and super tasty. Whiskey list is superb! Staff is friendly and service is great! Highly recommend."
Dined on 3/18/2015
 2012
Special Features: good for groups, hot spot, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for Seven Sows Bourbon and Larder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

YUM!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Each of the four at our table ordered a different entrée. All raved about their choice. Service was exceptional."
Dined on 3/07/2015
 2012
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for Seven Sows Bourbon and Larder
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

High Hopes

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/03/2015
 2008
Dined on 3/03/2015
 2008
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I had heard this was a great restaurant but was a little disappointed. We ordered oysters and hushpuppies as an appetizer. The oysters had a very strong smell and were overcooked. The hushpuppies were so-so. Our entriees were somewhat bland. The fried chicken needed more spice. Macaroni and cheese was creamy and the brussel sprouts were good. Overall, I expected a fabulous meal but was disappointed. Not bad food but there are other restaurants in Asheville that deliver."
Dined on 3/03/2015
 2008
Special Features: romantic
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for Seven Sows Bourbon and Larder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Best restaurant in Asheville with contemporary southern cuisine."
Dined on 2/21/2015
 2015
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 41 for Seven Sows Bourbon and Larder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great except,

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We four chose the Valentine's Day fixed price menu, and the food and matching wines were excellent -- very unique and delicious. But we felt very rushed, we barely had finished one course, and often not even our wine, and the servers were clearing things away. I could understand it if it had been early in the evening and they wanted to clear us out asap, but that was not the case."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for Seven Sows Bourbon and Larder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Very good but not perfect

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The pork was wonderful and the bourbon selection was good. The fried chicken was a little underseasoned."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 43 for Seven Sows Bourbon and Larder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Best wings ever. Period. Really good cocktails, and cool vibe."
Dined on 2/06/2015
 2006
Special Features: fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 44 for Seven Sows Bourbon and Larder
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Lack of flavor

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We first sat at the bar. The bourbon and bourbon selections were wonderful, however the bartender lacked in overall friendliness. We sat in a booth to eat. The overall ambience was perfect minus the disco ball. The menu looked amazing, we chose to go with tapas instead of entrees. The food looked amazing and plated beautifully. I was then quickly disappointed when every dish was bland and lacked flavor. I mean even the pork belly was bland. I didn't even think bland pork belly was possible. The only reason why I would give this place another try is because a friend of mine said it was one of their favorite restaurants. Maybe the chef was having an off day."
Dined on 2/06/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 45 for Seven Sows Bourbon and Larder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Birthday dinner

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"My wife picked this restaurant for her birthday dinner. My 6yo daughter really enjoyed her mac n cheese AND the hush puppies. We enjoyed her meal being free. We were seated right away for our 6:00PM saturday night reservations and sat in one of the booths which really suited our family. Our server came over to greet us and get our drink order and we were told they were out of two of the small plates. Hmmm. Ok. Not too big of a deal. Then my wife wanted to try some of the bourbon since this is a bourbon place. We sat near the chalkboard and she asked about one that was listed. Again, sorry but we are out of that one. Hmmm. Ok. Perhaps a Friday night would have been better. The food was great! No complaints on the taste or the presentation. Our family shared the hush puppies and the charcuterie. Delicious! My 18yo son ordered the steak and he said it was outstanding. My 6yo agreed as well. My wife and I shared the fried chicken which was outstanding. Coming from Atlanta the meal was priced very well. When I made the reservations I noted that we were celebrating a birthday, No mention of this was ever made. Not a deal breaker but it would have been nice for that to have been recognized."
Dined on 1/31/2015
 2011
Special Features: special occasion, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 46 for Seven Sows Bourbon and Larder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

amazing.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"This was our first time sitting to have dinner at Seven Sows. We came in after a wedding 2 years ago already stuffed but after seeing the menu we to at least try some small plates. We swore that the next time we came to town, that was going to be our dinner spot. Everything was absolutely perfect. Perfect. The cocktails, the food, the service; perfection! While we always try to find a new restaurant every time we visit asheville, Sevens Sows will be a definite go to every time. Keep up the amazing work! Thank you for creating an incredible experience for us and every other patron you have served."
Dined on 1/30/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 47 for Seven Sows Bourbon and Larder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Don't forget the bourbon!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"If only I lived in Asheville! Well, good thing I don't because I'd have a thicker waist and a thinner wallet! Seven Sows is a must. If you only get to eat out once, this would be that place. That said, in Asheville, if you pick up a stone and throw it in any direction you hit a bullseye of a restaurant - fabulous dining in this town! Seven Sows has a secret ingredient, Todd Woods, formerly of Restaurant Nora in Washington, DC. As chef de cuisine, he brings the theme of farm to table dining crazy good with innovative pairings. And, the bourbon, don't forget the bourbon. Get a flight and savor each sniff and taste."
Dined on 1/02/2015
 2004
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 48 for Seven Sows Bourbon and Larder
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Seven Sows

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/18/2015
 2013
Dined on 1/18/2015
 2013
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"I am glad that we went and tried this restaurant. Lots of small plates to choose from and excellent mixed drinks. The food was just not special enough to go back for. Average food, great drinks!"
Dined on 1/18/2015
 2013
Special Features: hot spot
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 49 for Seven Sows Bourbon and Larder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Highly recommend

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Great food and service! We will definitely return."
Dined on 1/16/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 50 for Seven Sows Bourbon and Larder
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Hit & Miss

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Our second visit to this restaurant was a bit disappointing. The signature cocktail I enjoyed on my first visit is no longer available. The chowder appetizer had amazing fried oysters but the chowder itself was not very appealing. The wonderful sweetbreads were accompanied by a burned, inedible hockey puck of bread. The New York strip was cooked perfectly but was not a very good cut of meat. The sides were okay. The service was fantastic. Our server and the hostess did their best to defend the dishes and offered us a free dessert as a consolation. Unfortunately, the dessert was another disappointment. Very dry chocolate cake."
Dined on 1/17/2015
 2013
Special Features: special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>