Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Piccolo Ristorante Italiano Reviews List

Piccolo Ristorante Italiano

Piccolo Ristorante Italiano is a cozy and intimate authentic Italian restaurant located in the heart of downtown Menlo Park. We are a small 12 table restaurant, which is where our name "Piccolo" comes from. "Piccolo" in Italian means small.
See more Piccolo Ristorante Italiano details
57 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
(57 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 57 reviews
5 stars
(22)
4 stars
(26)
3 stars
(5)
2 stars
(3)
1 star
(1)
Food 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Service 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Ambiance 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Noise Level
2.2 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • neighborhood gem(35)
  • fit for foodies(17)
  • kid-friendly(14)
  • romantic(12)
  • special occasion(8)
  • great for lunch(7)
Piccolo Ristorante Italiano Reviews List
Review 1 for Piccolo Ristorante Italiano
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 3/17/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Piccolo Ristorante Italiano
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/19/2014
 2006
Dined on 11/19/2014
 2006
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/19/2014
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Piccolo Ristorante Italiano
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/13/2015
 2011
Dined on 6/13/2015
 2011
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/13/2015
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Piccolo Ristorante Italiano
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/14/2015
 2012
Dined on 5/14/2015
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/14/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Piccolo Ristorante Italiano
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dependable local joint

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Dependable local italian restaurant, with limited menu, but items prepared very well. Can be quite crowded and noisy. Staff attentive, but at times seem overwhelmed. Not necessarily criticism as much as observation. It definitely is a go to place for us, notwithstanding comments above."
Dined on 5/30/2015
 2009
Special Features: kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Piccolo Ristorante Italiano
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/29/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Piccolo Ristorante Italiano
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/29/2015
 2009
Dined on 5/29/2015
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/29/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Piccolo Ristorante Italiano
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good for girls. Cozy and stuff are nice too.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/27/2015
 2014
Dined on 5/27/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/27/2015
 2014
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Piccolo Ristorante Italiano
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/23/2015
 2007
Dined on 5/23/2015
 2007
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/23/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Piccolo Ristorante Italiano
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/22/2015
 2007
Dined on 5/22/2015
 2007
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/22/2015
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Piccolo Ristorante Italiano
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Neighborhood Great

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Piccolo is our go-to restaurant. Good food and prices. Wine list also has many reasonably priced options. Last time we were there they served day old bread. When we brought it to be their attention they apologized then comped us a dessert. The special minestrone soup that night was fabulous. They paid careful attention to my gluten-free needs. As usual we ate too much, but cannot fault them for that."
Dined on 5/21/2015
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Piccolo Ristorante Italiano
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/01/2015
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Piccolo Ristorante Italiano
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Outstanding, as always

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"fantastic home-made pasta dishes highlight the fare. Have eaten here since the first month it opened and the food has been consistently outstanding. We went on a Sunday evening and we were the only table - guess Sunday nights are not conducive to families eating out - most other nights it is busy but bearable."
Dined on 4/26/2015
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Piccolo Ristorante Italiano
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/21/2015
 2006
Dined on 1/21/2015
 2006
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 1/21/2015
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Piccolo Ristorante Italiano
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Something has changed at this restaurant. There used to be a very effusive manager, who has perhaps left. It was dead when we arrived. The greeter and server were nice and the food was pretty good (they even offered us a large piece of tiramisu which we had not ordered and I don't even like tiramisu but that one was delicious!) so I can't really put my finger on what was wrong, but I don't think I will go back."
Dined on 4/08/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Piccolo Ristorante Italiano
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great Italian Food

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I went here for my mom's birthday. The service was great, the food was delicious and the dinner was perfect."
Dined on 3/08/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, hot spot, great for lunch, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Piccolo Ristorante Italiano
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Very attentive service

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"When I made the reservation online and said it was my wife's birthday, they remembered! They brought champagne and dessert and surprised here by singing Happy Birthday! Now how am I going to surprise her next year?"
Dined on 2/08/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Piccolo Ristorante Italiano
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Too noisy

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Piccolo is a charming little restaurant, but shortly after we arrived for lunch, a group of 8 came in, and later a group of 3. From that time on, my companion and I could hardly hear each other. Also, the one waiter, while pleasant and trying, had a hard time keeping up, even the total in the restaurant was 17 diners.
I ordered a "Pannini" with lettuce, tomato, and mozzarella on Ciabatta. When it came, it was a regular sandwich on a French roll which was hard to eat because it was so thick. I might recommend it for a friend to try because I had heard good things. I might try again.
"
Dined on 1/29/2015
 2014
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Piccolo Ristorante Italiano
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/15/2015
 2011
Dined on 1/15/2015
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We had a party of three. The restaurant staff was very courteous and all the food we ordered was great. The atmosphere was wonderful. My friends and I were really enjoy it."
Dined on 1/15/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Piccolo Ristorante Italiano
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Very nice restaurant except for the noise level.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/11/2015
 2015
Dined on 1/11/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Because the restaurant is so noisy, when we (party of four) made our reservation, we requested a table by the window which we got, but even so, we had to practically yell at each other to converse. We asked that they turn the operatic music off which they did. Other than that, the service and food are wonderful. We've been there several times, and we will be back."
Dined on 1/11/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Piccolo Ristorante Italiano
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Disappointed

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"I really wanted to like this place as I loved it when it was Ristorante Buon Gusto. The wait service was good. The special appetizer of burrata was delicious and I loved the caeser salad as I could taste the anchovies. However, the main courses....my chicken parmagiana tasted tasted like defrosted chicken breast topped with tomato sauce and cheese. The chicken was bland and texture was slightly rubbery. My husband's tortellini tasted of the frozen grocery brand and the pancetta tasted old. I like to support local establishments, however based on Saturday's meal, I won't be returning......"
Dined on 12/20/2014
 2003
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Piccolo Ristorante Italiano
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Piccolo fail

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"they messed up reservations left and right, crammed way to many people into their tiny place and the food was a microwaved mess. no thanks"
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Piccolo Ristorante Italiano
Based on the average of (35) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
28 out of 29 recommend this product
Food 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Service 
4.5 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.5 / 5
Ambiance 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Noise Level
2.4 / 3
Energetic