Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Desmond's Steakhouse Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Desmond's Steakhouse

Desmond's Steakhouse takes a contemporary approach to the quintessential New York steakhouse, melding stylish ambiance and service with culinary substance. Beef, USDA prime aged to perfection in our open-to-view dry aging room and prepared for the kitchen by our butcher, shares the menu with succulent raw bar selections, along with an array of other tempting non-steak offerings - fish, seafood, lamb, chicken and more.

Like our diverse menu, Desmond's offers a variety of dining experiences. From a quick bite at the marble-topped bar - one of the city's longest (and most inviting!) to a business meal at the dining room's placed for private conversation tables or a romantic dinner at one of our cozy booths.

Everywhere, there is a luxurious sense of comfort made even more welcoming by a staff dedicated to gracious service.
59 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
(59 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 59 reviews
5 stars
(22)
4 stars
(17)
3 stars
(7)
2 stars
(6)
1 star
(7)
Food 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Service 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Ambiance 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Noise Level
2.4 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • good for groups(24)
  • special occasion(22)
  • romantic(14)
  • fit for foodies(13)
  • neighborhood gem(12)
  • notable wine list(8)
Desmond's Steakhouse Reviews List
Review 1 for Desmond's Steakhouse
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2011
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Went for Valentine's Day & the food was amazing."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Desmond's Steakhouse
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

desolate and abandoned

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"When my boyfriend and I showed up, the restaurant was boarded up with a notice from the city. we thought we went to the wrong location. Double checked the address on the website to the street we were standing on. Sure enough we were in the right spot. Called the restaurant phone. Unsurprisingly, No answer. An update on the website would have been nice so we wouldn't have wasted our time going to a shut down restaurant"
Dined on 3/28/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Desmond's Steakhouse
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

They are out of business landlord seized it

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Too bad it was a nice place with a cool bar and good food"
Dined on 3/11/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Desmond's Steakhouse
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

A boarded-up restaurant

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/08/2015
 2006
Dined on 3/08/2015
 2006
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Desmond's Steakhouse was served with an eviction notice for failure to pay rent. The City marshals boarded up the entrance. We were unable to eat there."
Dined on 3/08/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Desmond's Steakhouse
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Really great food, service, and ambiance.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"First time at desmonds and it was great. Everyone was friendly and attentive at just the right times. Ribeye and tuna were fantastic and cooked just right. Good and reasonable wine list. the proprietor Mr Kelly was right there to assure you were having a good time. I will go back for sure."
Dined on 2/24/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Desmond's Steakhouse
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"On a recent trip to New York during frigid temperatures, we were looking for a nice restaurant nearby our hotel. Desmond's was only about a block away, so we decided to give them a try. We were not disappointed! Excellent food and staff and lovely atmosphere."
Dined on 2/16/2015
 2010
Special Features: special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Desmond's Steakhouse
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

The food was so bad.

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The food barely rivaled that of an Apple Bees and yet it was one of the most expensive bills I have ever received. The service was barely noticeable as well as it took 15 minutes to get our drinks."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Desmond's Steakhouse
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Just OK

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Went for dinner on a weeknight but was still rather surprised how empty it was. Other than the great steakhouse type service, nothing much to discuss here. There are better steakhouses in NYC."
Dined on 2/09/2015
 2003
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Desmond's Steakhouse
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great experience!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"My wife and I went to Desmond's with another couple for dinner prior to going to the Carole King musical "Beautiful". Desmond's was exactly what we were looking for. Be sure to bring your credit card and be prepared to use it. But after accepting this going in, sit down, relax, and enjoy. They have a nice prix fixe dinner menu that is very good, and the Porterhouse for 2 was amazing. Service was outstanding and food was prepared as ordered and delivered in appropriate time. We enjoyed a bottle of wine, dinner, and dessert. We were in the restaurant for approximately an hour and 40 minutes; then a nice stroll to the theatre. While not someplace that I would eat every week, this is a great steakhouse for dinner on a special occasion. We are visitors to the city and will definitely return to Desmond's for dinner prior to a Broadway show in the future."
Dined on 2/06/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Desmond's Steakhouse
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Average

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"I think this place is all about spending the BIG bucks...they want you to order the $48 steaks, the $9 sides, $14 drinks....we ordered the $55 prix fixe. French Onion soup and wedge salad to start - both decent. Filet migon was rare, not medium as ordered, it came with simply a piece of meat on the plate...ZERO presentation...I felt like you ordered the prix fixe - you are not going anything extra...no sauce on the steak....I got a spig of parsley on the plate...came with a small scoop of mashed potatoes & creamed spinach. Salmon was plated with mixed veggies which was 3 baby carrots & celery mixture...as my mom said average at best. Dessert was ice cream and bread pudding. There are much better steakhouses in NYC."
Dined on 1/29/2015
 2013
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Desmond's Steakhouse
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Always a pleasure

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Dining at Desmond's is always a pleasure. The staff is cordial and professional, and the food is expertly prepared and beautifully presented. We go to Desmond's several times a year, It's worth the trip."
Dined on 1/21/2015
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Desmond's Steakhouse
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Brunch At It's best

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Had Sunday brunch at Desmond's. Great food, terrific service. Wait staff seems friendly but inattentive. Sunday brunch featured Tara O'Grady a jazz singer, this was a great way to have brucnh."
Dined on 1/18/2015
 2011
Special Features: great for brunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Desmond's Steakhouse
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Unexpectedly Fantastic!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/16/2015
 2010
Dined on 1/16/2015
 2010
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"I consider myself a steak lover and Desmond's didn't let me down! The blue oysters and shrimp cocktail were fabulously fresh. I recommend you ask for extra horseradish! My wife had the fillet and I had the strip. Both were cooked perfectly and the strip was well trimmed with just the right amount of marble. We split the wedge salad and shared a baked potato. The waiter suggested the creamed spinach and it was a winner!
The wine list is limited and although Silver Oak is my favorite I couldn't see spending over $300 on a 2008!
Service was great. Overall a very good experience and would go back!"
Dined on 1/16/2015
 2010
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Desmond's Steakhouse
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great food and service

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The food was outstanding. The service was great. From the bartender to waiter everyone was terrific. Will be dining here again soon."
Dined on 1/13/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Desmond's Steakhouse
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/10/2015
 2015
Dined on 1/10/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Great food with excellent service. Older style restaurant but well worth a visit."
Dined on 1/10/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Desmond's Steakhouse
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Great food - in an under served neighborhood!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We were a party of seven and we did arrive 15 minutes early - once we were seated it took way too long before anyone even approached our table. Food was good but the wait was tooooooooo long!"
Dined on 12/12/2014
 2008
Special Features: good for groups, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Desmond's Steakhouse
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/03/2015
 2014
Dined on 1/03/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"This was my second visit to Desmonds and enjoyed it greatly. The only one drawback was that for the second time, they had no mashed potatoes as indicated on the menu. I'm sure I'll be back again and hope the mashed potatoes make it too :)"
Dined on 1/03/2015
 2014
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Desmond's Steakhouse
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/29/2014
 2014
Dined on 12/29/2014
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Best rib steak in all of New York City - great service as well highly recommend"
Dined on 12/29/2014
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Desmond's Steakhouse
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Great food..lousy Service!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"This restaurant would have received 5 stars if it wasn't for the horrible waiter! We saw the person who filled our water glasses more than our waiter. He took our order and that was the only time we saw him except to get the check and we had to ask for that 5 times. We were seated on time and we were there for an hour and a half and had NO attention from our waiter. We were so disappointed as the ambience and view were fabulous! We spent $165 on dinner and drinks and that snooty waiter could have made a very generous tip but he missed out. I have never not left a tip but I could not think of one reason that I should. It was not busy at all either. Food was fantastic but steer clear of a mid 40ish waiter with a french accent..he ruined our whole New York experience on Christmas day!"
Dined on 12/25/2014
 2014
Special Features: romantic, scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Desmond's Steakhouse
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Review

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"It was not really what we had in mind. First we ordered a glass of champagne to start with. Immediately after ordering our main course was ready and our champagne was even not touched.
The meat was burned. It looked black. There was nothing with the steak… No vegetables, fries, sauce, nothing.
We payed over $280,-!!!!
Really disappointing visit."
Dined on 12/24/2014
 2014
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Desmond's Steakhouse
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Poor

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Food was cold for everyone's meal, for price of menu food should not have been cold. Wait for food was extremely long, floor was very slippery someone spilled drinks in bar area with no sense of urgency around filling it up. Felt very rushed to order food."
Dined on 12/20/2014
 2014
Special Features: romantic
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Desmond's Steakhouse
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Amazing Steakhouse!!!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The food & service was beyond amazing!!! I cannot wait to return!!!!!"
Dined on 12/13/2014
 2008
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Desmond's Steakhouse
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Surprisingly disappointing

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"I have been to Desmonds a number of times and always left raving about the quality of the food and service. For a mid-week lunch it took too long to get fed.
Our starters arrived in a timely fashion and were great. Our main course took forever to arrive and the excuse given was that my lunch partner's request for
well done salmon delayed the meal. Really? My Filet Mignon was medium well not medium rare as ordered, Given the already long delay I was not about to
sent it back.
Everyone has bad days but I was surised."
Dined on 12/09/2014
 2014
Special Features: great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Desmond's Steakhouse
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

First Time

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I was desperately looking for reservations for a steakhouse after I received a call from a friend that she would only be in town for the evening. I picked Desmond's because of availability, menu and location. The food was not terrible, but not amazing. All steaks for our table were more well done than ordered. I would have complained about the server, but I had no idea what his name. He never stayed at the table long enough to ask. Had to ask multiple times for water and drink refills. The bar staff were friendly and engaging & it would have been a better experience if the table service were the same."
Dined on 12/12/2014
 2014
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Desmond's Steakhouse
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

1st time to Desmond's - will return!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Although I made a reservation through Open Table, upon arriving I found an empty seat at their large bar and was greeted instantly and warmly by its tenders: Ira and Tommy. Both food and drink were ordered on their excellent recommendations. "Josh" is their house Cabernet, a Joseph Carr offering, and it was a delightful companion to the meal. The NY strip was perfectly cooked with no added flavorings (much preferred) and they have one of the best baked potatoes in the business.
This is a friendly place that I look forward to returning to the next time I am in the city."
Dined on 12/08/2014
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Desmond's Steakhouse
Based on the average of (34) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
29 out of 33 recommend this product
Food 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Service 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Ambiance 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Noise Level
2.4 / 3
Energetic