Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Maria's Taverna Reviews List

Maria's Taverna

Welcome to Marias Taverna a family owned and operated restaurant, where great food and good times come together. Located in the heart of Kitsilano, Vancouver our Restaurant offers Fine Greek Cuisine in a Charming Atmosphere. We Hope to See You Soon!
See more Maria's Taverna details
57 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
(57 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 57 reviews
5 stars
(17)
4 stars
(26)
3 stars
(10)
2 stars
(3)
1 star
(1)
Food 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Service 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Ambiance 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Noise Level
2 / 3
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • neighborhood gem(30)
  • good for groups(16)
  • fit for foodies(15)
  • romantic(13)
  • special occasion(11)
  • kid-friendly(9)
Maria's Taverna Reviews List
Review 1 for Maria's Taverna
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 20/04/2016
 2016
Dined on 20/04/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 20/04/2016
 2016
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, notable wine list, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Maria's Taverna
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Pre-fireworks Platters

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 25/07/2015
 2010
Dined on 25/07/2015
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Our first visit to Maria's was in the summer of 2015, as a large party of 2 families for supper prior to The Festival of Light in English Bay. The platters are great for sharing and provide a good introduction to Greek food. The service is friendly and efficient. The restaurant was busy, but they made sure we got fed in time to walk down to nearby Kits Beach for the fireworks show."
Dined on 25/07/2015
 2010
Special Features: good for groups, neighborhood gem, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Maria's Taverna
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 16/04/2016
 2012
Dined on 16/04/2016
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 16/04/2016
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Maria's Taverna
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 17/04/2016
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Maria's Taverna
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/04/2016
 2012
Dined on 11/04/2016
 2012
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 11/04/2016
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Maria's Taverna
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 18/03/2016
 2012
Dined on 18/03/2016
 2012
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 18/03/2016
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Maria's Taverna
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Reliable neighbourhood favourite

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 06/03/2016
 2010
Dined on 06/03/2016
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"As a farewell dinner in March 2016 for our overseas (and non-Greek) friends, we wanted a Vancouver food experience that they hadn't had yet and probably can't find at home. Maria's came through like always! Our group of 8 (including 4 kids) shared 2 of the large platters (around $50 each) and 3 of the souvlaki dinners. It was a nice variety of delicious Greek cuisine, and plenty of food. Both families were able to take home some leftovers. Our server was very friendly and attentive. On this busy Sunday night it seemed there were lots of regular customers who (like us) have come to love this place since it opened almost 30 years ago!"
Dined on 06/03/2016
 2010
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, special occasion, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Maria's Taverna
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 26/02/2016
 2015
Dined on 26/02/2016
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 26/02/2016
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Maria's Taverna
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 24/02/2016
 2016
Dined on 24/02/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 24/02/2016
 2016
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Maria's Taverna
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 14/02/2016
 2008
Dined on 14/02/2016
 2008
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 14/02/2016
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Maria's Taverna
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 02/02/2016
 2012
Dined on 02/02/2016
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 02/02/2016
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Maria's Taverna
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Adequate

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 30/01/2016
 2016
Dined on 30/01/2016
 2016
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"The food was fine, not hot though. Mine and my date's appetizer came out at different times. The entrée wasn't hot but the flavours were nice. The baklava for dessert was stale and ice cold. Would have been better if it was fresher and served slightly warm. Overall, dinner was adequate. If I were in the area craving Greek I'd probably go back. But I won't be going out of my way to come back."
Dined on 30/01/2016
 2016
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Maria's Taverna
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Too salty and oily.

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"We ordered the prawn and the toast lam for entree. The prawn was too salty. The toast lam was too oily. The space was too small. It's hard to get the waitress attention. Other food was okey."
Dined on 29/01/2016
 2016
Special Features: romantic
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Maria's Taverna
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 29/01/2016
 2016
Dined on 29/01/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 29/01/2016
 2016
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Maria's Taverna
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 29/01/2016
 2016
Dined on 29/01/2016
 2016
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"The tables were very close together and the restaurant was very noisy. Our server was nice but didn't come by very frequently. The food was good though."
Dined on 29/01/2016
 2016
Special Features: hot spot
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Maria's Taverna
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 26/01/2016
 2013
Dined on 26/01/2016
 2013
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 26/01/2016
 2013
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Maria's Taverna
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 23/01/2016
 2009
Dined on 23/01/2016
 2009
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 23/01/2016
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Maria's Taverna
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 20/01/2016
 2013
Dined on 20/01/2016
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 20/01/2016
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Maria's Taverna
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Neighbourhood gem

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Avgolenono soup was excellent, saganaki cheese was also very good. The kleftico lamb was the most tender I have ever had. Prawn souvlaki and Greek salads were tasty. Baklava was not too sweet. Would go back and try the lunch menu also."
Dined on 18/01/2016
 2007
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Maria's Taverna
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"We came a little bit earlier to see if they had any open tables and they were accomodating to have us seated earlier because there was only 2 tables seated. The applies were quite small but lamb was pretty good. Presentation was meh and lots of oil or sauce on the plate.i would overall still go to stephos for roast lamb."
Dined on 18/01/2016
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Maria's Taverna
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 15/01/2016
 2006
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Maria's Taverna
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

food makes up for service

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"We came for dine out and we had a reservation which apparently did not matter as we still had to wait 30 mins for a table. The appetizer and dessert were just ok, however the entree was phenomenal, made up for the long wait and poor service!However I should mention that I don't think it was the servers fault that the service was bad, I think the problem was that they only had 3 servers for the entire restaurant on a busy Saturday evening..."
Dined on 16/01/2016
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Maria's Taverna
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Kitsilano Cozy

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 16/01/2016
 2015
Dined on 16/01/2016
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Maria's Taverna is a Kits neighbourhood gem! We have been going to it for over 25 years. Maria and her sons all do such a fine job! Whether it is a group event or dinner for two ,they take such good care of you. In today's world where everything seems to be disappearing in ones' locale it is a delight to have them there. The shoulder of lamb and Calamari dinners are our favourite meals."
Dined on 16/01/2016
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Maria's Taverna
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 16/01/2016
 2014
Dined on 16/01/2016
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 16/01/2016
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Maria's Taverna
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 16/01/2016
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Maria's Taverna
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Excellent Food

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"I started with spanikopita, tasted homemade, best spanikopita, not too salty. The lamb was very flavourful and tender. Great atmosphere, music could have been a little bit louder."
Dined on 15/01/2016
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Maria's Taverna
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 15/01/2016
 2016
Dined on 15/01/2016
 2016
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 15/01/2016
 2016
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Maria's Taverna
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great Service Despite Mix-up with reservations

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 29/12/2015
 2006
Dined on 29/12/2015
 2006
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"I was recently at a family reunion and we needed a reservation for 11 people. I went on Opentable and made a reservation at Maria's Taverna. When we arrived, they had no idea we had in fact made a reservation (despite receiving a confirmation email). Apparently they did not receive a communication from Opentable. Despite the lack of notice the staff quickly accommodated us and we proceeded to enjoy a really delicious meal. Thanks to Maria's staff for making our evening enjoyable!
I would like to receive the points promised as well."
Dined on 29/12/2015
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Maria's Taverna
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 29/12/2015
 2010
Dined on 29/12/2015
 2010
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 29/12/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Maria's Taverna
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 25/12/2015
 2015
Dined on 25/12/2015
 2015
Dined on 25/12/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Maria's Taverna
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/12/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/12/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/12/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Maria's Taverna
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The charbroiled Kalamari was very good. I wish more restaurants offered this style of Kalamari instead of just the deep fried variety. The other dishes we tried were good too, but not great.
The food was just a little too salty, and I usually like saltiness.
"
Dined on 05/12/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Maria's Taverna
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 28/11/2015
 2015
Dined on 28/11/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Quaint restaurant. Will definitely go back. Service was a little slow at the beginning, but improved after we got our appetizer."
Dined on 28/11/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Maria's Taverna
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 27/11/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Maria's Taverna
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 21/11/2015
 2006
Dined on 21/11/2015
 2006
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 21/11/2015
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Maria's Taverna
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good Greek food at Maria's Taverna

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Maria's Taverna was recommended to me by a Greek so I figured the food would be good...and it was!
Although our party wasn't terribly adventurous in our selections, everyone was very satisfied with their meal. My lamb souvlaki was delicious and I highly recommend it. Overall, the meal was very reasonably priced.
Because we were on our way to the theatre, our dinner reservation was for 5:30pm and the restaurant was nearly empty. It didn't stay that way, though. By the time we left at 7:30, it was almost full - it's obviously popular. We'll definitely be back!"
Dined on 07/11/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Maria's Taverna
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 27/10/2015
 2013
Dined on 27/10/2015
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 27/10/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Maria's Taverna
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

One of my favourite Greek restaurants!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I love Greek food(!)--and this restaurant does it beautifully! On this visit, my guest and I shared the Hot Appetizer Platter and a small Greek Salad and, though more than we could eat, and it was fabulous! I've been going to this restaurant on-and-off for over 25 years--it's definitely one of the best! Enjoy!"
Dined on 10/09/2015
 2012
Special Features: good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Maria's Taverna
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 04/07/2015
 2009
Dined on 04/07/2015
 2009
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 04/07/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Maria's Taverna
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/07/2015
 2015
Dined on 10/07/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/07/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, great for lunch, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for Maria's Taverna
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/06/2015
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Maria's Taverna
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 01/05/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Maria's Taverna
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Too loud to visit with friends

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Too many people were crammed into this small room, with sound-reflective walls. The sound was almost deafening. We waited an hour for our food. We asked to have it as take out so we could find relief from the din. The food was OK, but in future would only do take-out here, not dine-in, unless you need loud noise to enhance your dining experience."
Dined on 10/05/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Maria's Taverna
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

The food is very authentic and good.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 15/04/2015
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Maria's Taverna
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Delicious Greek food!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Authentic and flavourful. Nice presentation and flavourful seasoning. The service was attentive, friendly and personable. Will go back again."
Dined on 13/04/2015
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Maria's Taverna
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Will go again and again!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The menu is the most authentic I have ever seen! Next time I will try every hot appetizer as they are truly a mouthwatering array. Each Apple is enough for two, as typical of most Greek restaurants, portions are huge. The waitress was fun and attentive. A definite gem!"
Dined on 20/03/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Maria's Taverna
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Yum!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 01/02/2015
 2012
Dined on 01/02/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We came here during the dine-out in Vancouver and we were not disappointed. The Kleftico was amazing! The best we've had anywhere, melt in your mouth, delicious and the lemon potatoes were so yummy! Would definitely recommend this little gem in Kits!"
Dined on 01/02/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Maria's Taverna
Based on the average of (10) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
10 out of 10 recommend this product
Food 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Service 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Ambiance 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Noise Level
2.6 / 3
Energetic