Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Mama Kim Eats Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Mama Kim Eats

New Southern cuisine built around the diverse flavors of creole cooking using locally sourced ingredients. A casual environment where friends can kick back and enjoy great food and wine paired with soulful music.

Although we are normaly open Thursday - Sunday, please call us if you are interested in booking an event for any day of the week. We are also available for private functions in conjunction with the Temp Gallery.
18 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
(18 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 18 reviews
5 stars
(7)
4 stars
(7)
3 stars
(4)
2 stars
(0)
1 star
(0)
Food 
4.6 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.6 / 5
Service 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Ambiance 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Noise Level
2.6 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • fit for foodies(12)
  • neighborhood gem(10)
  • good for groups(8)
  • special occasion(8)
  • great for brunch(7)
  • great for lunch(3)
Mama Kim Eats Reviews List
Review 1 for Mama Kim Eats
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Too loud

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"It was too loud and impersonal for me. The food was too ambitious and didn't hit the mark."
Dined on 2/14/2014
 2012
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Mama Kim Eats
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Great Food, Inexperienced-Unknowledgable Servers

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Possible the worst service ever and I've heard from others that this is not unusual for Mama Kim's. Too bad because the food was excellent (except for the bland crab cocktail - needed some spice or something crunchy.) It was Valentine's day and they served a Fixed Price menu (something I was not told when I called to ask about the menu before making my reservation.) The food is good, but probably not good enough to suffer through the shoddy service."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2008
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Mama Kim Eats
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

misses the mark

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"owner's band was so loud we could not have a conversation. all other tables had flowers but ours and when pointed out, they did not address that. price was about 15 percent too high for what we got. But the food and service was very good."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Mama Kim Eats
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Nice restaurant for music and theatre

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"I chose this restaurant for its close proximity to the Big Idea Theatre, and was pleasantly surprised to find it adjoining the theatre and an art gallery. Great gallery! The restaurant was cozy but loud when the jazz band started. The music was great and included, so made for a nice night. The food was pricey, but inventive and delicious. Especially liked the shrimp/grits and fried chicken. The only downside was the shorthanded wait staff. 2 waiters for the entire room made for poor service and a long wait for food and drinks. But, definitely will return to this restaurant when another good play returns to Big Idea. Overall, a great night of art, dinner, jazz, and theatre, in one location."
Dined on 1/24/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Mama Kim Eats
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great food and nice entertainment on a Saturday.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Food is flavorful and tasty. Can get busy so make a reservation. Entertainment was a nice touch on a Saturday night."
Dined on 1/17/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Mama Kim Eats
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Tickled taste buds

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The trout hash was divine. It tickled my taste buds! And the cornbread is not to be missed.
I forgot there is music with brunch so it was a Lille loud to visit but the music was so good we adjusted and enjoyed. Great hidden gem of a restaurant.
"
Dined on 1/11/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Mama Kim Eats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Fancy comfort food

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"I've eaten dinner and brunch here, and both are fantastic. Very well done versions of southern classics (fried chicken, ribs, catfish, et al). The jalapeno cornbread is particularly fantastic."
Dined on 1/11/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Mama Kim Eats
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great Southern Based Choices

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We went for Brunch, we have been several times and always enjoyed our visits. For us its out of the way so we have to plan ahead. My wife had Chicken and Waffles they were excellant. We agreed the salad that came with it fantastic. Smoked Pork chops, grits and greens were also great. We will be back more offten."
Dined on 1/04/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Mama Kim Eats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Wonderful Meal!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We went for the first time on New Year's Eve. Went for the early seating. Fixed menu with delicious choices and two to three options for most courses. Had the duck breast and it was cooked to perfection. Booked a table for Sunday brunch with live jazz while having dinner. Delightful meal."
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2013
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Mama Kim Eats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Mama Juns is afice star restaurant

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2014
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Mama Kims is everything i wanted for New Years Eve celebration!!! The food and service on point, the live band was awesome!!!"
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Mama Kim Eats
Based on the average of (8) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.5 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.5 / 5
7 out of 7 recommend this product
Food 
4.8 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.8 / 5
Service 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Ambiance 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Noise Level
2.6 / 3
Energetic