Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

D Bar San Diego Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

D Bar San Diego

The D in D Bar stands for Drinks, Dining, and Dessert.

Drinks: We have an excellent wine, beer and cocktail menu that suits all price ranges and occasions. Not to toot our own horn (toot toot), but we even have a wine made just for us called Mr. Cupcake by Charles Smith, so fun! We also have an awesome Happy Hour called Nibbles and Sips with great food and drink specials (6 days a week from 3pm-6pm).

Dining: D Bar isn't based on one particular "type" of dining. As chefs, we pull from what we personally enjoy eating. Thus, our menu is based on our childhood favorites, inspiration from travels, and just simply things we like to eat!

Dessert: Our passion and background is pastry and that is why we have our very own dessert bar! It's kind of like when you go to a sushi bar, but instead of raw fish, we have delicious desserts being made right in front of you.
288 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
(288 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 288 reviews
5 stars
(153)
4 stars
(104)
3 stars
(25)
2 stars
(5)
1 star
(1)
Food 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Service 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Ambiance 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Noise Level
2 / 3
Energetic
Value 
3.5 / 5
(Very Good) 3.5 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • fit for foodies(154)
  • good for groups(122)
  • neighborhood gem(113)
  • special occasion(91)
  • hot spot(75)
  • great for brunch(71)
D Bar San Diego Reviews List
Review 1 for D Bar San Diego
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/26/2013
 2009
Dined on 1/26/2013
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 1/26/2013
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for D Bar San Diego
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2015
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for D Bar San Diego
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/17/2014
 2014
Dined on 8/17/2014
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I loved this place. Sad to see it go."
Dined on 8/17/2014
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for D Bar San Diego
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/03/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for D Bar San Diego
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 12/20/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for D Bar San Diego
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/02/2013
 2010
Dined on 11/02/2013
 2010
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/02/2013
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for D Bar San Diego
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2013
 2015
Dined on 2/14/2013
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 2/14/2013
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for D Bar San Diego
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Eclectic and innovative... but now closed!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"I went to D Bar because of the OpenTable listing, and wasn't disappointed. And I'm glad I went in early December, because they closed this location a few weeks later, supposedly in order to focus on their original Denver location. So there's little point in telling how good the food was."
Dined on 12/11/2015
 2010
Special Features: good for groups, hot spot, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for D Bar San Diego
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/20/2015
 2010
Dined on 12/20/2015
 2010
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/20/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for D Bar San Diego
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/10/2015
 2014
Dined on 12/10/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/10/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for D Bar San Diego
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 12/10/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for D Bar San Diego
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 12/04/2015
 2013
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for D Bar San Diego
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 12/11/2015
 2013
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for D Bar San Diego
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 12/04/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for D Bar San Diego
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/27/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for D Bar San Diego
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 10/24/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for D Bar San Diego
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Sweet Date

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I normally like to visit D bar for sweet and special occasion with my girl friends; but it was my first time visiting with my boyfriend.
First, there was a birthday celebration going on in our neighboring table, so the vibe was very festive in our area.
I was very glad that they brought the Banana Impostor(could be wrong on the exact name) back onto their menu. We devoured that plate so quick. We also got the souffle , but I think I enjoy the dish better when it's made with chocolate. I could taste/smell the egg in the dessert, which is not the factor I enjoy much.
Overall, it's always pleasant making a visit to this place :)"
Dined on 11/21/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, fit for foodies, kid-friendly, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for D Bar San Diego
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/21/2015
 2006
Dined on 11/21/2015
 2006
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 11/21/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for D Bar San Diego
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/15/2015
 2015
Dined on 11/15/2015
 2015
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Extremely disappointed with the food. For the price I'm paying for an entree I expected something more delicious. Website gave too much hype and not very good food."
Dined on 11/15/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for D Bar San Diego
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Unfortunately we had Poor Service.

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We were excited to try this Restaurant. Food was not bad but service was bad. Server totally forgot about us and we kept having to ask other servers for water and condiments. We finished our meal and sat for 15 min before asking other servers to please get our server so we could pay and leave. She came over and said sorry that she had a large party. Things did not seem organized."
Dined on 11/14/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for D Bar San Diego
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/14/2015
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for D Bar San Diego
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/14/2015
 2015
Dined on 11/14/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/14/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for D Bar San Diego
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/01/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for D Bar San Diego
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/09/2015
 2015
Dined on 9/09/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The thing I appreciate most about D bar is that it can stand as dessert destination on its own given its seasonal as well standard dessert menu- both of which NEVER fails to impress!
We made a meal of desserts and tried:
cake and shake :this is no ordinary cake + milk shake so don't pass this up! The 3 layer chocolate cake is moist decadent and absolutely sinful...and when paired with the raspberry milkshake ( topped with choco crispies ) it provided just the right amount of acidity to a rich dessert
Molten lava thingy everybody has..: another classic dessert pairing of warm gooey molten lava chocolate cake topped with a scoop of smooth pistachio ice cream, in a tart raspberry compote
d=mc2: a light airy dessert striking the perfect balance of milk chocolate mousse, salted caramel, peanut butter brittle, and peanut butter crumbles...try this if you are a PB and salted caramel fan!
Chocolate Passion: a delightful spread of varying textures using chocolate or passion fruit flavors... A seasonal must-try!!!
Nutella beignets: though these are technically a 'side order' they are basically three ginormous pillows of chocolates Nutella goodness sure to transport you to your happy place if you have not yet run there yourself after trying the other desserts!"
Dined on 9/09/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for D Bar San Diego
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Stick To The D (Desserts)

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I would come back JUST for the desserts. The desserts were amazing. The food was so blah. They even managed to mess up the easiest thing in the world for me to enjoy: french fries. Some of the fries were ice cold and stale. Stale fries at a place like this though? Unacceptable. Highlight of my night was the pistachio ice cream. In love with it. As far as service goes, our waitress was wonderful. But when we initially arrived for our reservation, we were brought to an uncleaned table and ended up sitting in the lounge area."
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for D Bar San Diego
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/15/2014
 2011
Dined on 10/15/2014
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 10/15/2014
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for D Bar San Diego
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/01/2015
 2007
Dined on 11/01/2015
 2007
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/01/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for D Bar San Diego
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The food was excellent and the staff were friendly and extremely helpful."
Dined on 10/25/2015
 2011
Special Features: great for brunch, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for D Bar San Diego
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/27/2015
 2015
Dined on 10/27/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I loved it!!!! I took my wife for an early birthday dinner, and we both loved it. Excellent staff and great food."
Dined on 10/27/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for D Bar San Diego
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/25/2015
 2013
Dined on 10/25/2015
 2013
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"It wasn't too busy, but our server was and I had to ask another staff person to see who our server was. He came back over because our actual server was busy but it wasn't very welcoming. Had a reservation at 11:00 and was there before that. Because of our wait time to get service we didn't get out food til after 11:45am, even though two table that had arrived around the same time as us were already done and paid their check."
Dined on 10/25/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for D Bar San Diego
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 10/24/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for D Bar San Diego
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/24/2015
 2015
Dined on 10/24/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/24/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for D Bar San Diego
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

The food was great but service could be improved.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/19/2015
 2014
Dined on 10/19/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The food delivered at this celebrity owned bar featuring shareable apps and amazing desserts. The service wasn't as four star as the food. The wait staff was friendly and personable but there were mix-ups with some of our entrees and a silly issue with a cocktail. To really complete a special dining experience D Bar needs the service to match the elevation of the food."
Dined on 10/19/2015
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for D Bar San Diego
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 10/16/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for D Bar San Diego
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Good food

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Went there on 10/17 for brunch. Chicken fried steak and eggs (2 of us had this)was great and one of best I've ever tasted. The bacon, avacodo, cheese & tomato was good and came with a nice simple salad. Al food had good taste and presentation. We all had dessert. Molton chocolate cake and a cream brûlée. All good. We did take a couple of their chocolate chip cookies and were disappointed with them. No taste, the chocolate chunks had no taste and the over all texture was with no taste."
Dined on 10/17/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for D Bar San Diego
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

D Bar was a fun experience!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"First time there - our server Daniel was AWESOME!! So nice and funny and knowledgeable about everything on the menu!
We ordered a cheese plate - he recommended the cheese and he was spot on. Then we ordered the myer lemon desert - delish with desert drinks - espresso martini - omg!
We really enjoyed everything and will definitely be back!"
Dined on 10/16/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for D Bar San Diego
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/16/2015
 2012
Dined on 10/16/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/16/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, kid-friendly, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for D Bar San Diego
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/18/2015
 2014
Dined on 10/18/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Excellent food and service. But no longer serving churros! Had to go to old town for that."
Dined on 10/18/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for D Bar San Diego
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/10/2015
 2012
Dined on 10/10/2015
 2012
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 10/10/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for D Bar San Diego
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/10/2015
 2013
Dined on 10/10/2015
 2013
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 10/10/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 41 for D Bar San Diego
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/10/2015
 2010
Dined on 10/10/2015
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 10/10/2015
 2010
Special Features: good for groups, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for D Bar San Diego
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/15/2015
 2014
Dined on 4/15/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 4/15/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 43 for D Bar San Diego
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

The Pastry Chef is my Idol!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The food was outstanding but I was in awe of the Pastry Chef and her team with their ability to create and execute such fine desserts. However I was truley impressed with how friendly the whole team was espeacially in welcoming my family, explaining what they were doing as they were working and making my Dad's birthday truley speacial. My top fave desserts: Snicker doodle cookie, cake and shake , and I'm glad to see the imposter foster still there!"
Dined on 10/03/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 44 for D Bar San Diego
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Best Chocolate Cake EVER!

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/26/2015
 2012
Dined on 9/26/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We went for dinner during Restaurant Week, and what a treat! The RW menu had lots of great choices, and very generous portions - enough to share. The bacon-wrapped dates melted in your mouth, the roasted Brussells sprouts were delicious, and our mains (Lobster Mac and Grilled Sea Bass on maq choux) were out of this world in flavor. But the desserts...... oh my.......
Being a verified chocoholic :^), I've had my share of chocolate cakes, cookies, brownies, souffles, puddings, etc. If it's chocolate (and dark), I'll order it. We'd been to D-Bar once before and had the chocolate martini (P.S. why isn't that on the menu anymore???)! For dessert on this visit we ordered the mini Lemon Souffle (lovely, lemony, with little sides that compliment it perfectly), and the House signature dessert, Cake and Shake. Three scrummy (scrumptious AND yummy) layers of incredibly moist dark chocolate cake with a wonderful creamy chocolate frosting that is absolutely amazing. It's exactly what a chocolate layer cake should be.
And on the side, your choice of a small vanilla, chocolate or strawberry milkshake. OMG, I am STILL dreaming and drooling over that cake! Luckily I was so full from dinner, (and three bites of cake, and souffle, and the milkshake), that I had to take the rest of the cake home with me. Oh darn! Somehow I made it last another two days, and savored every last bite until I was licking the fork with the last scrapings of frosting. Happy, happy, happy!!!!
Without a doubt, D-Bar makes the BEST CHOCOLATE CAKE EVER. Chef, please don't ever change the recipe!!! Ok, I'm heading down there this weekend - once was not enough. I can always diet tomorrow.....
P.S. Our server, Joe, was absolutely perfect too! Really made the evening even more fun, and provided impeccable service. All San Diego restaurant staff should be trained by him!"
Dined on 9/26/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 45 for D Bar San Diego
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food & Drink was FABULOUS!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We went for Brunch! Try the Spiced Sangria! It probably the best sangria in San Diego!"
Dined on 10/04/2015
 2003
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 46 for D Bar San Diego
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 10/02/2015
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 47 for D Bar San Diego
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/04/2015
 2014
Dined on 10/04/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 10/04/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 48 for D Bar San Diego
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

loved everything we had at the d bar!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/26/2015
 2010
Dined on 9/26/2015
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/26/2015
 2010
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 49 for D Bar San Diego
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

D bar never disappoints!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Devin was a great server! We usually ask for Joe as our server, but Devin was cool. Our friends from out of town loved D bar! We havent been back here for awhile, and the place has changed a bit in regards to seating options but change is good for the better. We had some appetizers, cocktails and dessert (of course)!! My friends chose this place because they closed at midnight, and they were running late from LA. But D bar never disappoints based on service, ambiance and quality of food. We will always be back for more and recommend D bar to our family and friends that visit SD. Good job on all the changes you've done Chef Keegan! We'll be back soon!!"
Dined on 9/26/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 50 for D Bar San Diego
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Repeat customer

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I often come to D Bar and am never disappointed. They had an awesome menu for restaurant week and their staff is always vibrant with life and very friendly! I definitely recommend coming out to D Bar on a night out!"
Dined on 9/22/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>