Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

KHONG River House Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

KHONG River House

The Mekong River, or Khong, as it is referred to by locals, has long served as the central form of connectivity from the Tibetan Plateau down through Myanmar, Laos, Thailand, Cambodia and Vietnam. It brings together the people and their varying cultures while its banks and valleys create one of the world’s most biodiverse and fertile areas. This melding of disparate tastes, ingredients, and techniques has resulted in the bold, complex harmony that is the hallmark of authentic Southeast Asian cuisine.
189 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
(189 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 189 reviews
5 stars
(76)
4 stars
(54)
3 stars
(41)
2 stars
(11)
1 star
(7)
Food 
4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4 / 5
Service 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Ambiance 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Noise Level
2.5 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • fit for foodies(85)
  • good for groups(46)
  • hot spot(40)
  • neighborhood gem(24)
  • vibrant bar scene(23)
  • late-night find(14)
KHONG River House Reviews List
Review 1 for KHONG River House
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/12/2014
 2010
Dined on 5/12/2014
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/12/2014
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for KHONG River House
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/17/2014
 2014
Dined on 7/17/2014
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 7/17/2014
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for KHONG River House
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/27/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for KHONG River House
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/24/2014
 2008
Dined on 11/24/2014
 2008
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/24/2014
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for KHONG River House
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/14/2014
 2012
Dined on 9/14/2014
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Great staff, awesome food, awesome value."
Dined on 9/14/2014
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for KHONG River House
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/11/2015
 2013
Dined on 4/11/2015
 2013
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 4/11/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for KHONG River House
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/24/2014
 2014
Dined on 12/24/2014
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 12/24/2014
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for KHONG River House
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 4/23/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for KHONG River House
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 9/07/2014
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for KHONG River House
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/09/2014
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for KHONG River House
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/02/2015
 2012
Dined on 1/02/2015
 2012
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 1/02/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for KHONG River House
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/27/2015
 2012
Dined on 4/27/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 4/27/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for KHONG River House
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/15/2015
 2011
Dined on 5/15/2015
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/15/2015
 2011
Special Features: vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for KHONG River House
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/21/2015
 2009
Dined on 1/21/2015
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 1/21/2015
 2009
Special Features: good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for KHONG River House
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Disappointing

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/11/2015
 2006
Dined on 5/11/2015
 2006
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We went to eat at Khong after hearing great things. The food was unimpressive. Our server was uninformed. When asked about the seasonal crudo he could not articulate anything other than it was with salmon. Moreover we could barely hear him describe the specials; basically he was weak and didn't help the experience. The edamame dumplings were underseasoned and the edamame fillings tasted undercooked. The crab fried rice was mushy, and the "English peas" were frozen not nice fresh seasonal spring peas as the menu insinuated. The place looked cool, and the menu was promising but everything fell short."
Dined on 5/11/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for KHONG River House
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Lunch Menu

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I haven't been there since last year, and they changed the menu for lunch. Although the food was excellent the amount of choices it wasn't to my satisfaction compared to the regular menu that they have in the evenings."
Dined on 5/11/2015
 2013
Special Features: good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for KHONG River House
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2014
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for KHONG River House
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2009
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2009
Special Features: great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for KHONG River House
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2008
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for KHONG River House
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Bad for Brunch

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Their brunch menu is no good. They failed to mention Saturdays are brunch as well around 1 pm. I made a special request for my mom who is a cancer survivor and was her birthday. They did not get the request right. The waitress was extremely unhelpful and aloof. I won't return for brunch. $85 for a bad experience for TWO people."
Dined on 5/09/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for KHONG River House
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/08/2015
 2010
Dined on 5/08/2015
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/08/2015
 2010
Special Features: good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for KHONG River House
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/08/2015
 2014
Dined on 5/08/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/08/2015
 2014
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for KHONG River House
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/01/2015
 2011
Dined on 5/01/2015
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 5/01/2015
 2011
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for KHONG River House
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/03/2015
 2014
Dined on 5/03/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The food had great taste and service was great, the server was attentive!"
Dined on 5/03/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for KHONG River House
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

We'll be back!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"This was our first time here and it was a fantastic experience all around. We'll definitely be back on our next trip to Miami!"
Dined on 4/25/2015
 2006
Special Features: hot spot, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for KHONG River House
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food was ok

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The food is all right but not worth the price. We started off with the pot stickers, which tasted good but were burned--not just crispy, burned to the point where three of them were black. For my main plate, I got the trout, which was a bit bland. My mom got the duck curry, which was so salty that she had to send it back (which she had never done before, but this was inedible). She then ordered the larb, which also just didn't taste amazing. The service was great, but the food was just not worth it."
Dined on 4/21/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for KHONG River House
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/03/2014
 2012
Dined on 8/03/2014
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I went with three of my best friends and I has a little taste of all their food. It was all delicious. You cannot have anything bad. Unfortunately, I can't say the same about their drinks, which are just average."
Dined on 8/03/2014
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for KHONG River House
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/17/2015
 2007
Dined on 4/17/2015
 2007
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/17/2015
 2007
Special Features: hot spot, great for lunch, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for KHONG River House
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Just ok.

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I was expecting a little bit more from Khong River House especially after dining at Swine. I had the crab fried rice and it was just okay. It was filled with crab meat and the crabs werent fishy but the rice lacked overall flavor. I also had the whole fried fish which was good."
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for KHONG River House
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2002
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for KHONG River House
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Good was not to be in 2014. Disappointed .

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 4/17/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for KHONG River House
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/17/2015
 2011
Dined on 4/17/2015
 2011
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Food was overly spiced and menu was not cohesive. Server had terrible recommendations and did not know the menu. Very disappointing."
Dined on 4/17/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for KHONG River House
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Terrific

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/10/2015
 2006
Dined on 4/10/2015
 2006
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Amazing cocktails and food. Fantastic service. Wish I lived in Miami and could frequent this wonderful restaurant."
Dined on 4/10/2015
 2006
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for KHONG River House
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

excellent

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Everything about our dinner here was top-rate. The service was really attentive, and patient in explaining the menu. The food is just out of this world good. and the ambiance is lovely. everything we want in a romantic birthday dinner!"
Dined on 2/28/2015
 2007
Special Features: romantic, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for KHONG River House
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great duck dish

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Both duck dish, the fries rice and duck hash were good. Eggs benedict was strandard. $20 bottomless mimosa was a good deal."
Dined on 3/29/2015
 2009
Special Features: great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for KHONG River House
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Experience was great. Food was excellent, cocktails were good. Service was so-so, but they were pretty busy. I will definitely continue to come back!"
Dined on 3/27/2015
 2012
Special Features: good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for KHONG River House
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Been here 3 times now and each time has been a hit

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Awesome Gin selection! Menu changed and was still a great selection to choose from. I recommend the noodles!"
Dined on 3/28/2015
 2015
Special Features: hot spot, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for KHONG River House
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Great for a bite

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Service was great. Lovely knowledgeable staff. Nice cocktails, great appetizers. Didn't like the grouper much but noodles and rice were great. Definite must try."
Dined on 3/17/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for KHONG River House
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Small Menu but Delicious

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"this is not your typical thai - it's very inventive and a rather small menu but everything was delicious! the drinks are very unique with a lot of interesting ingredients. this is owned by the yardbird group so you know it's going to be good!"
Dined on 2/25/2015
 2004
Special Features: good for groups, hot spot, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for KHONG River House
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Khong

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Was expecting better. Ordered the tuna poke, spareribs, and duck massaman. Everything needed more seasoning. Poke could have also used a touch more soy and a touch less wasabi.
Ribs were pretty good. Duck also needed more seasoning. Got the chocolate spring rolls with ice cream for dessert. Spring rolls had all bitter chocolate and wasn't quite sweet enough for a dessert. Great ambiance, and the service was pretty good. They do try to move tables along as our ordering which is annoying when spending nearly $200 after drinks."
Dined on 3/12/2015
 2008
Special Features: good for groups, hot spot, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 41 for KHONG River House
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great cocktail list!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Went with my husband and 7 year old for dinner. Excellent cocktail list (and I am not usually a cocktail drinker - but these were terrific and unique) Food was wonderful too. Loved that they had small plates that we could share and sample. The 7 year old was a big fan of the whole fish. Definitely would recommend and will go back next time I am in Miami!"
Dined on 3/10/2015
 2013
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for KHONG River House
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Watch out for private events!

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"I went last January for my birthday at lunch and everything went almost smooth, except for the waiter disappearing and forgetting things. We were sitting in the back in a nice square table.
I went back with my husband and we were very disappointed. That evening there was a very loud private party, so it was impossible to sit at the bar. They couldn't accomodate us at the table in the back, because we were "too early" and they kept repeating that. But how could we know that the place was such a mess. We got there earlier to have drinks at the bar! We left without even being able to let the hostess know, because she was too busy...
I think they shouldn't accept other reservation while they have private events. Or at least they should warn them.
"
Dined on 1/27/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 43 for KHONG River House
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

creative cuisine, fine dining

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/07/2015
 2012
Dined on 3/07/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I really enjoy the refreshingly creative, tasty and fresh food preparations and presentations. Attentive service, hip yet relaxed atmosphere."
Dined on 3/07/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 44 for KHONG River House
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Would come come for dinner next time. The french toast for brunch is incredible!"
Dined on 2/15/2015
 2012
Special Features: great for brunch, hot spot
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 45 for KHONG River House
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Service Lacking.

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/07/2015
 2008
Dined on 3/07/2015
 2008
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Although the waiter was very nice and well-intentioned. He did not oversee the delivery of our food. We had to cancel a dish because it did not come, as ordered, with the entree. Our appetizers came as expected and were delicious. But we had finished the entree before the fried rice dish was delivered. We had to call over another server to cancel the rice. Unfortunate because we were looking forward to trying that interesting dish. The bar area was very busy when we left. I will graciously suppose, the kitchen was overwhelmed!"
Dined on 3/07/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 46 for KHONG River House
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Not as good as the original, but still good

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The menu has changed from the first incarnation of this restaurant (perhaps the chef has changed as well?). This is no longer a "wow" restaurant. Now it's just solid pan-asian food."
Dined on 3/02/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 47 for KHONG River House
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Really????

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"This is supposed to be a Thai / Asian restaurant.
There is NOTHING that arrived with even the remotest indication that the chef or anyone involved with the food preparation has ever tasted Thai (or South-East Asian) food. The appetizer, BURMESE RICE NOODLE WRAPS, came closest to having some Asian flavour (the peanut butter peanut sauce)... but it was topped with a dill garnish!!! WHAT????
The CAMBODIAN YELLOW CURRY (vegetarian) was a collection of unidentifiable mushy vegetables cooked in what must have been a sauce of 1 cup water, 5 tablespoons of corn starch, 1/2 teaspoon coconut milk, topped with a sprig of coriander. Absolute "Glock". Horrible.
The THAI CRISPY DUCK was 2 pieces of dried-out duck legs, served with what the menu describes as a "chili orange emulsion". I won't even go there!!!
The service was mediocre at best. Never once did the waiter ask us how the meal was. It was almost impossible to get his attention to order a beer. Never in my life have I tasted such bad restaurant food.
"
Dined on 2/07/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 48 for KHONG River House
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

dinner

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"excellent dinner, would certainly recommend their dumplings, curry and creme brulee chai!!!"
Dined on 2/24/2015
 2008
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 49 for KHONG River House
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Perfect 10

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Outstanding service. Fabulous food. Interesting decor. Will return again and again. Would love to take a group cooking class with the chef in a lunch and learn setting. Thank you for an amazing dining experience."
Dined on 2/15/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, hot spot, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 50 for KHONG River House
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Khong Traffic Jam!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2011
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The restaurant, food and service was great.. But the traffic to get there was almost unbearable. Unfortunately it's no fault of the restaurant but we had to valet 8 blocks away and had to walk to the restaurant. We got there 20 mins early and just finding parking or a valet it took 45 mins making us 25 minutes late. Yes 45 mins in bumper to bumper traffic frantically looking for parking.. Not fun.. Anyways I would highly recommend the restaurant but if you go on a Weekend night good luck!!"
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>