Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

smallwares Reviews List

smallwares

Smallwares is a forty-seat restaurant with an open kitchen. We serve small plates of inauthentic Asian cuisine meant to be shared, and eclectic wine, sake and cocktails.
See more smallwares details
171 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
(171 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 171 reviews
5 stars
(81)
4 stars
(64)
3 stars
(20)
2 stars
(4)
1 star
(2)
Food 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Service 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Ambiance 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Noise Level
1.9 / 3
Moderate
Value 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • fit for foodies(133)
  • neighborhood gem(95)
  • good for groups(52)
  • vibrant bar scene(37)
  • hot spot(32)
  • special occasion(31)
smallwares Reviews List
Review 1 for smallwares
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 2/06/2016
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for smallwares
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/01/2016
 2014
Dined on 2/01/2016
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 2/01/2016
 2014
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for lunch, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for smallwares
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, hot spot, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for smallwares
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2014
Special Features: fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for smallwares
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2014
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for smallwares
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Dined on 1/30/2016
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for smallwares
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/23/2016
 2013
Dined on 1/23/2016
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Spicy but delicious. Creative and tasty presentations of meat and veggies. We'll be back."
Dined on 1/23/2016
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for smallwares
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2012
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for smallwares
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great food

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Great food. Nice space. A bit salty. Attentive and knowledgable staff."
Dined on 1/14/2016
 2007
Special Features: good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for smallwares
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2014
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for smallwares
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2007
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2007
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for smallwares
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/07/2016
 2012
Dined on 1/07/2016
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/07/2016
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for smallwares
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great Flavors

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"I enjoyed the meal a lot. The smoked potatoes were INCREDIBLE..
The KAle was also very tAsty . The hanger steak was a tad small in portion, but large on flavor
Also was there on 1 dollar oyster night, and they were GOOD
Would def go back to try more.."
Dined on 1/05/2016
 2016
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for smallwares
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food and service were fantastic.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/04/2016
 2016
Dined on 1/04/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/04/2016
 2016
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for smallwares
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/04/2016
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for smallwares
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great Find!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"While visiting Portland, this is one of the tasty meals we had. My son lives there and wanted to try it. The fried kale dish was outstanding. The delicious oxtail curry was a favorite. Very inviting place."
Dined on 1/02/2016
 2006
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for smallwares
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Awesome as always

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"The food at Smallwares/Barwares is some of the best in town. The flavors and textures are complex and lovely. We particularly enjoyed the grilled octopus dish on this particular evening. And do not miss one of the several salads on the menu on any given night. The radicchio salad with apple, candied nuts and a spicy peanut sauce dressing was perfection. We also had a black cod dish - buttery, silky, delicious! The drinks are always well crafted and unique. Extra points for being in our walking area and on OpenTable."
Dined on 12/30/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for smallwares
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

An Adventure in Flavor

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"Lots of different flavors to try. Our server was attentive and answered questions in a friendly, helpful way. There were gluten free options, but few on the happy hour menu (5 - 7 pm, a bit longer than at many spots). The three small plates we ordered from the happy hour menu, however, were excellent. The cocktail menu contained combinations we'd never seen before; the toddy was dull and the beer with a margarita ice cube was not good. The old fashioned was "okay, but not delish," according to my friend. I liked the hanger steak, my friend liked the black cod, her husband was cool on the flank steak ramen, and my husband didn't say much at all about the short rib."
Dined on 12/30/2015
 2011
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for smallwares
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/29/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/29/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 12/29/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for smallwares
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/26/2015
 2013
Dined on 12/26/2015
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 12/26/2015
 2013
Special Features: good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for smallwares
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/29/2015
 2013
Dined on 12/29/2015
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 12/29/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for smallwares
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 12/26/2015
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for smallwares
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great neighborhood place worth a trip

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Fantastic small plates - very inventive. Wish I could have tried more. Delicious cocktails and a deep and well organized wine list including by the glass. Very attentive and kind service. Out of the way, but worth a trip! Would definitely go back next time in PDX."
Dined on 12/26/2015
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for smallwares
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 12/18/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for smallwares
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Brilliant food

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Unusual combinations of ingredients...but they always work and create great flavors and textures. Go with at least four people so you can order a diverse bunch of dishes."
Dined on 12/17/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for smallwares
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Get the Chicken

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/13/2015
 2012
Dined on 12/13/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Cute spot and a very interesting menu. I got the Iced Margarita, which was floating in Session Beer. Shared the smoked potatoes w. horseradish, which was super flavorful and spicy. My Man and I both got the General Tso's Chicken Sandwich, which I highly recommend. The bread was a french loaf that was perfectly toasted, and the chicken and broccoli were covered in a sweet and spicy sauce that held it all together. The taste was out of this world and the garlic flavor stayed in my mouth all day...I didn't mind. The restaurant itself was super empty during the day on a Sunday, which was nice as the waitstaff was very attentive. I'd recommend it for adventurous eaters."
Dined on 12/13/2015
 2012
Special Features: great for brunch, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for smallwares
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/14/2015
 2014
Dined on 12/14/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/14/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for smallwares
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Dined on 11/28/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for smallwares
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/05/2015
 2011
Dined on 12/05/2015
 2011
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 12/05/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for smallwares
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Different Take on Brunch

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The restaurant was very nice, the food was great for me, one of my companions wanted a vegetarian option and was only mildly satisfied with what she ordered. My other companion liked her food but found the menu gave rise to lots of questions for the waiter. The only negative for me was that the windows could use shades because due to the table arrangement the sun was full glare in the face for those facing south."
Dined on 12/06/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for smallwares
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/05/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for smallwares
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/22/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for smallwares
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/19/2015
 2007
Dined on 11/19/2015
 2007
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/19/2015
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for smallwares
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Oysters and Asian cuisine

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"My significant other loves the oysters. We have been to Small Plates many times, and I'm becoming less enchanted with its Asian influence since something in the Asian cuisine seems to be elevating my blood pressure. It's hit or miss for me.The curried oxtail dish ($18) was good, but not the brussels, honey, mustard seeds and Chinese sausage dish (a reasonable $11). The mustard overpowered the dish. I've noticed lately that small plates no longer have a commensurate price. Normally we sit in the back dinning room at the bar and enjoy the silent or silenced movie on a gigantic screen and the excellent service, but there was a wedding party there this night."
Dined on 11/13/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for smallwares
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/15/2015
 2014
Special Features: great for brunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for smallwares
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Great ambience, good service. Menu has great ideas and flavors, but every dish was completely over-salted."
Dined on 11/16/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for smallwares
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 10/31/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for smallwares
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

John sat next to a puddle, with no explanation.

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The restaurant had a flood/leak of some kind and we were seated next to a large puddle. After sitting for 10 to 15 minutes our waitress came to ask if we wanted a drink. Asked to be reseated as several couple without reservations had come in and were seated in the back room were there was not a water problem. We were told we could not be reseated. Why would they seat a customer as they did when they had reservation? We left without so much as an apology. Too bad because when we have been to Small Wares in the past we really enjoyed the food."
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2013
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for smallwares
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Amazing food. Amazing drinks. Perfect ambiance.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The food was out of this world. The fried kale salad is the best I've ever had. We got seven or eight dishes, and every one was better than the next. The menu changes, but we loved the potato salad and the lobster mushrooms. This is a great place to get out of your comfort zone and experiment with some new foods and flavors. Everything is good! The front room was very cool for dinner and conversation, the back bar was darker and cozy but it is also a little louder back there. Just like the food menu, the wine and cocktail list was great. The Gin was amazing, as was The Vodka. So many wonderful flavors. Thank you Smallwares for a delicious evening."
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for smallwares
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Great food, slow and smelly service.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I made a reservation and met a friend here for dinner. We ordered beverages (mediocre) and then ordered our entrees. We ordered the pork/corn cake special, shrimp with black pepper, and oxtail curry. The server asked if we wanted everything to be brought out at once since my friend ordered an the special as her entree. This is where the service fell apart...
The special came out as our appetizer. We shrugged it off and decided to share what we ordered so one person would not starve until another item showed up. The server apologized saying there were issues in the kitchen. In fact, the servers kept complaining to each other about the kitchen mix ups.
Then another item showed up followed by a swiftly dropped off appetizer that we did not order. Not sure what to do, I flagged down our server who apologized, asked how long it was sitting there (about 10 mins), then took it away. We then waited almost 30 minutes for our final entree to arrive. During that time, our server did not check in with us, update us on the eta, nothing. Once the oxtail curry arrived, our server came back to warn us that the side sauce is very spicy and to proceed with caution.
Overall, the food was very tasty and priced well for the quality. The service was very slow- even with just three items ordered, we were there for almost two hours.
Also, and here's where the SMELLY comes in, the hostess had extensive body odor to the point I knew she had just passed behind me without turning around. I get it, we're in Portland, but when you work in food service try to throw on some deodorant at least before coming to work. It was really overpowering."
Dined on 11/06/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for smallwares
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 11/06/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for smallwares
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great shareable dishes

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/06/2015
 2011
Dined on 11/06/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Great selection of food options for a nice shareable date for 2. My wife and I enjoyed a number of different dishes that all had a unique flavor and presentation. The cocktails were great as well."
Dined on 11/06/2015
 2011
Special Features: hot spot, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for smallwares
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

5th year anniversary dinner

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We enjoyed our time at Small Wares. We enjoyed the atmosphere, the drinks and had a great time trying to be food critics. We based our scores based on Creativity, Taste, and Presetation. Overall we gave good scores. But fell a little bit in all three categories. We ordered 2 appetizers, and 2 entries. Overall score was 3/3.5 stars."
Dined on 11/06/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for smallwares
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/02/2015
 2011
Dined on 11/02/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/02/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for smallwares
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/31/2015
 2011
Dined on 10/31/2015
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 10/31/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for smallwares
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/23/2015
 2015
Dined on 10/23/2015
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Food nothing special. Decent quality but not very inventive."
Dined on 10/23/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for smallwares
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/26/2015
 2005
Dined on 9/26/2015
 2005
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 9/26/2015
 2005
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for smallwares
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 10/25/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for smallwares
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Smallwares

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"A couple dishes were oversalted, but other than that, really distinctive flavors, perfect textures."
Dined on 10/18/2015
 2009
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for smallwares
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/17/2015
 2015
Dined on 10/17/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/17/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>