Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Michelangelo's Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Michelangelo's

One of Houston's finest Italian Restaurants, Michelangelo's Restaurante is well known for it's romantic atmosphere, elegant food, and fine service.


Description

A staple to the community for an amazing 45 years, Michelangelo's takes us back to authentic Italian cuisine. For an elegant yet casual fine dining experience, drop in anytime and try one of our specials created by Executive Chef, Enrique Hernendez.
50 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
(50 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 50 reviews
5 stars
(19)
4 stars
(17)
3 stars
(10)
2 stars
(3)
1 star
(1)
Food 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Service 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4 / 5
Noise Level
2.5 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • romantic(24)
  • neighborhood gem(15)
  • special occasion(15)
  • great for lunch(7)
  • notable wine list(7)
  • good for groups(6)
Michelangelo's Reviews List
Review 1 for Michelangelo's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/30/2015
 2009
Dined on 1/30/2015
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 1/30/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Michelangelo's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/24/2015
 2014
Dined on 1/24/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"My husband and I favorite Italian eatery"
Dined on 1/24/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Michelangelo's
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Unprofessional Service

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Everything was fine until it was time for check out. The waiter was given a gift card for $100.00. He came back I was told that the gift card did not go through. The waiter never revealed that the purchase was over $100.00 and that he had put 20% gratuity on the card making the amount over $100.00. The bill was only around $92.00. it was embarrassing and I feel the waiter should have known that if he was given a gift card for $100.00 that the card would not take more than that. Very unprofessional and hard to believe that he didn't see the amount on the gift card. It's hard to say if I would recommend someone here again. Obviously they're overcharging and didn't have enough sense to read the value on the gift card. I made reservations and gave this gift card to friends as an anniversary gift. Imagine how I felt when I found out they couldn't use their card and had to come out of their own pockets to pay for their meal. Sad, greedy and unprofessional."
Dined on 2/12/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Michelangelo's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

still standin'

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"it is still as good and memorable as it was when I first went 40 years ago. Good food at reasonable prices and still that great ambience, and now it has a piano. if you have not been in awhile, go back and rediscover why this place is still in the same place and looks exactly the same as it did when it opened in 1969."
Dined on 2/10/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Michelangelo's
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

At least the company was good.

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Not a bad place. How's that for a recommendation? It's just that the food had no pizzazz. It was very average. Good... but average. I had Minestrone soup and what was supposed to be a seafood salad. It was made of field greens and 5 shrimp.
Except for another couple, the place was empty. Fortunately, my eating companion, Lisa, made the experience worthwhile."
Dined on 2/06/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Michelangelo's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Michelangelos

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/06/2015
 2011
Dined on 2/06/2015
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Restaurant is tired but food is solid & tres leches is to die for. Not a huge fan of the appetizers though. We were bummed that the piano player was not there but all in all, michelangelos won't disappoint."
Dined on 2/06/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Michelangelo's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Comfortable

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We don't go to Michelangelos that often, but it's kind of like going home. It is familiar. Always satisfying experience. We leave wondering why we don't go there more often. Music in the evening adds a nice touch. Service is great."
Dined on 1/24/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for brunch, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Michelangelo's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great environment and vibe

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Went for breakfast Sunday with wife. It was so low key. The atmosphere was great for the wife and I it was a very unexpected romantic breakfast. There wasn't anyone there and the place looked high class on the inside. Service was good and the food seemed fresh. My wife had the stuffed chicken and I had the steak and eggs. My only regret is I asked for medium well and the steak was more medium. Still good food. We will go back again for another breakfast and dinner one evening to see what it's like."
Dined on 1/18/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Michelangelo's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Our first visit was 1976 so we returned Saturday night for a anniversary. The food was great. The fettuccine was the best I have ever had. My husband had osso bock. The carpet, drapes and paint really need updating but the food is very very much worth returning."
Dined on 1/17/2015
 2009
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Michelangelo's
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Chicken with mushroom soup

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"My date and I both ordered chicken Marsala. There was no hint of Marsala and the sauce was similar to mushroom soup thickened with flour. In addition, it was significantly over-salted. The worst chicken Marsala i have ever eaten.
On the plus side, the soup - pasta fagioli - and the piano player were highlights.
Michelangelos needs to revise its cookbook on the chicken Marsala.
This used to be a pretty good Italian restaurant."
Dined on 1/13/2015
 2004
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Michelangelo's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great New Years Eve

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"A really nice New Years Eve dinner. The meal was good and I particularly enjoyed the music from the live combo."
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2011
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Michelangelo's
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Large Groups Not Welcomed

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/20/2014
 2013
Dined on 12/20/2014
 2013
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"While the ambiance was great with the piano music downstairs, we had reserved the upstairs large private room for 20 people. We waited almost 2hrs for our food to come out and we only had 1 waiter checking on us on occasion. Some of our guests were ready to just leave and find food elsewhere. At one point, I had to go downstairs in search of our waiter. I suppose he had other tables downstairs to care for. Do not reserve the private rooms or else you will be forgotten!"
Dined on 12/20/2014
 2013
Special Features: romantic
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Michelangelo's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good food poor service

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Although there were not many people in the restaurant, we had to wait a long time to get our entrees. The food was good but because of the poor service, I'm not sure I wold recommend this restaurant."
Dined on 12/23/2014
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Michelangelo's
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Not as good as usual

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/23/2014
 2009
Dined on 12/23/2014
 2009
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Our group's dinner was a mixed bag. The snapper special was very good, but the snapper off the menu was over cooked and dry. The lobster ravioli was ok, but not what you expect for this restaurant. Our service was spotty, we told the waiter we had a deadline to make for the theater but he kept disappearing for long times so we ended up very rushed at the end. Michelangelos is one of our favorite restaurants and it was a disappointing night."
Dined on 12/23/2014
 2009
Special Features: romantic
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Michelangelo's
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/18/2014
 2012
Dined on 12/18/2014
 2012
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"The building is really neat, and there is a tree growing right in the middle of the restaurant, which is in an old house. Our service was okay, although we had to send our bill back to be adjusted for the happy hour wine prices even though we were well within the time limit and the deal was clearly stated on the menu. The food was good, and it was lovely when the pianist arrived and started playing (around 7:30). A nice little neighborhood find, overall."
Dined on 12/18/2014
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Michelangelo's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Awesome atmosphere

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/09/2014
 2014
Dined on 12/09/2014
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Wonderful experience. The piano player was a great addition to an amazing menu. The service was prompt and the food was delicious. Perfect for a romantic date or a memorable evening with family."
Dined on 12/09/2014
 2014
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Michelangelo's
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/12/2014
 2014
Dined on 12/12/2014
 2014
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Service was excellent during the meal but took 10-15 minutes to process the bill after she took our credit card. Their steak "special" was almost too tough to cut and ended up only eating a portion of the meal. Sides were very good."
Dined on 12/12/2014
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Michelangelo's
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Good Not Great

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Michelangelo's is a very cute little restaurant that appears to have regulars that feel like family. I liked the ambiance being white linen table cloth in a creekitey old house. They did have musicians playing in very cramped quarters but really only playing for a large Christmas party that was being hosted there which also made it pretty loud but that was ok. They put us in a separate little room and we had a very kind waiter who delivered good service albeit he came to the table finishing some food he had in his mouth once but he was a young man and probably not been taught that this is not appropriate. My husband had the lobster ravioli but it tasted like it was minced lobster and there wasn't much of it served on a thick small white platter with absolutely no garnish so white sauce, white ravioli on a white serving platter NOT very appealing to the eye. I had the venison chop with rosemary potatoes and it was very good, a large portion of venison but it was $38 too. The sauce was scrumptious with mushrooms and potatoes were excellent but again it was a small serving platter with the chop in the middle of the plate over the few slices of roasted potato and 0 garnish. We probably will not return but it's not a bad restaurant, we're just used to a little nicer/tastier experience."
Dined on 12/12/2014
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Michelangelo's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Loved it

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I found out about Michaelangelos from a negative online review about another Houston Italian restaurant. The reviewer said to try Michaelangelos instead, and I decided to check it out. I booked a reservation on the night my husband and I were to attend the Andrea Bocelli concert at The Toyota Center. We were not disappointed. First of all, I am a huge fan of Italian food. Although I detest most Italian restaurant chains and prefer to cook at home. I ordered the pomodoro salad which was made of spring mix greens topped with tomato slices, cheese, and what I think were sweet soaked sundried tomatoes and a fruity balsamic vinaigrette. The cheese was goaty tasting and very farm fresh. So so good. My husband polished off his Caesar salad and then finished up mine! I ordered the cannelloni Pavarotti which was ground veal stuffed cannelloni pasta noodles with a creamy melted cheese on top. It was buttery, succulent, and just out of this world. I could tell right away the pasta was made from scratch. I would love to have the recipes to my salad and entree! The price point was perfect and the atmosphere inviting and classy without intimidation. After our dinner we drove a little ways to the Toyota Center for our concert with Bocelli. It was a perfect evening. I am looking forward to returning to this restaurant with my family and friends many times over."
Dined on 12/10/2014
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Michelangelo's
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Tradition Lives On

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"I made a very last minute reservation for 10 people and they were very accommodating. Michelangelo's is truly a Houston gem. It's been around for a very long time and consistently serves good food. Do not pass up on the carpaccio, it is a must have appetizer. This is one of the only places I know that still have live music on the weekends. Great spot for a romantic date as it is dimly lit in the main dining room. Parking is not the best, but they do have valet."
Dined on 10/17/2014
 2010
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Michelangelo's
Based on the average of (30) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
19 out of 22 recommend this product
Food 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Service 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Ambiance 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Noise Level
2.5 / 3
Energetic