Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Greek Islands Grill Reviews List

Greek Islands Grill

Owners Agie Ziotis and Christina Xenohristos invite you to get lost in a labyrinth of traditional Greek dishes with a twist. Submit to the Siren song of fresh flounder stuffed with spinach and feta cheese, or be thunderstruck by the Lamb Giouvetsi -- oven-baked and served over orzo in a red sauce. Then, wash down an a-meze-ing mix of appetizers with a glass of Kourtaki Retsina while listening to live Greek music on Thursday nights.
See more Greek Islands Grill details
40 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
(40 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 40 reviews
5 stars
(12)
4 stars
(17)
3 stars
(8)
2 stars
(2)
1 star
(1)
Food 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Service 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Ambiance 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Noise Level
2.1 / 3
Energetic
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • neighborhood gem(23)
  • good for groups(13)
  • kid-friendly(11)
  • great for lunch(10)
  • fit for foodies(7)
  • great for outdoor dining(4)
Greek Islands Grill Reviews List
Review 1 for Greek Islands Grill
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 1/05/2016
 2002
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Greek Islands Grill
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 12/19/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Greek Islands Grill
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Superb and fast service, excellent food in abundance (always have to take some home), and comfortable, warm atmosphere. Just a pleasure to go there."
Dined on 12/14/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Greek Islands Grill
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Cozy

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/05/2015
 2009
Dined on 12/05/2015
 2009
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Nothing special, but feels like a family restaurant. Food was good, service was friendly, and ambiance was comfortable. (Loved the salad!!!) What more do you need?"
Dined on 12/05/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Greek Islands Grill
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/05/2015
 2004
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Greek Islands Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Very authentic Greek cuisine !!! Try to eat outsi

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/06/2015
 2015
Dined on 11/06/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/06/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Greek Islands Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/23/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Greek Islands Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Excellent and real Greek good. Took s friend for his first visit. Truly enjoyed. He enjoyed fish starts and main dishes of chicken and salmon were really good and tasty. Service is always spot on!"
Dined on 10/09/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Greek Islands Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Yummy Greek Food

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The Greek Islands Grill is tucked away on New Hampshire and has plenty of parking. I'm sorry it's not closer to us--we'd be there several times a week. Spanakopita was hot, flakey and the filling was the perfect blend of spinach and feta. Greek salad was very good with olives that tasted like we had in Greece. It was our first visit so we tried the sampler platter. The chicken souvlaki was so tender and so juicy I can almost taste it. The pork chop and pork souvlaki were equally good. Next time I'm trying the Moussaka and getting a spanakopita to take home with me. If you like Greek food definitely give the Grill a try."
Dined on 9/29/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Greek Islands Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/27/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Greek Islands Grill
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Casual local Greek Rest. in North Silver Spring

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We had a enjoyable time with our family of five for dinner on a Saturday evening. The food, overall, was good, but not memorable. A high point was the Greek Salad and olives, with special kudos to the Tiramisu for dessert. Prices were reasonable and would recommend the restaurant for anyone in the North Silver Spring area."
Dined on 8/29/2015
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Greek Islands Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/28/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Greek Islands Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/22/2015
 2010
Dined on 8/22/2015
 2010
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 8/22/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Greek Islands Grill
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/16/2015
 2004
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Greek Islands Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Another good time at Greek island Grill

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"This was our 4th at the Greek Island Grill and we were not disappointed. We were early so of coarse it was quite. The food was very good and the service was excellent. We look forward to our next visit."
Dined on 7/23/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Greek Islands Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/21/2015
 2015
Dined on 6/21/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/21/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Greek Islands Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

The food was good but too small.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/25/2015
 2015
Dined on 5/25/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Too small, I don't think it is fair to pay all this money for so little food. They need to change that. I don't think I will be going back for that reason. We had to order extra food on the way home and we don't even eat that much!"
Dined on 5/25/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Greek Islands Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Excellent Service and the food is the real deal. Awesome flavors. Lamb chops were prefect! Talapia was stuffed and very tasty. Everyone is always nice. A must!"
Dined on 4/24/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Greek Islands Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/26/2015
 2011
Dined on 3/26/2015
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Excellent food, friendly folks and an unhurried atmosphere. Really enjoyed it."
Dined on 3/26/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Greek Islands Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Suburban Gem

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Greek Islands Grill is one of our favorite spots. It's nothing fancy but it's very consistent in terms of the quality of the food and the attentiveness of the service staff. My wife and I have been here many times and will continue to come back since we can always count on a tasty meal without any hassles."
Dined on 3/14/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Greek Islands Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good local spot

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We had a very nice dinner for two. The mezze apps were tremendous- some of the best spanikopita I've tasted. The entrees are hit or miss: stick to the Greek fare as a rule. This is a great place for dinner with friends and family: low-key, friendly, generous portions and some great dishes."
Dined on 3/03/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Greek Islands Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

The real deal....

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Very real and tasty Greek food. Truly one of my favorite. The spinach dish to start was perfect. Dinner was awesome Rock fish, eggplant and gyros. Excellent service. Everyone friendly."
Dined on 1/31/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Greek Islands Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Finally! I found my new favorite Greek restaurant!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"I've had some unfortunate dining experiences lately and Greed Islands Grill has turned my luck around. Everything was wonderful. The dining area was comfortable and modern-looking. The food... ugh... so good. We had the greek dip sampler as an appetizer and the dips were delicious and fresh and pita bread was perfect and didn't dry up really fast like I've experience at other places. I ordered a traditional gyro and it was excellent- meat was delicious, the salad was very fresh. We also ordered something I've been looking for since I first had it a few years ago- Galaktoboureko. Hard to find, but they have it and it was both enormous and delicious. We were there kind of late for dinner, so I saw one of the workers there (a teenage boy) clean the dessert case.... I was impressed. He wiped down every single bit of that thing. Hard to get a teenager to clean anything let alone clean it well. Witnessing that told me that this place not only puts out good food but is also run well and the staff cares. Needless to say, I will be back!"
Dined on 1/18/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Greek Islands Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great Foord; Beats the Pizza Hut Architecture

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"This "neighborhood gem" (per many online reviews) was quite out of the way for us but proved to be worth the drive. Situated in a converted Pizza Hut (unmistakable architecture) at the end of a suburban strip mall, the mediocre curb appeal had nothing to do with that we found inside.
Inside, our palates were sated and then some with tasty Greek cuisine imaginatively prepared by a very solid and experienced kitchen. Competence shows; we are picky and were not disappointed in the least by the food.
We had made reservations, which proved to be a good thing because within minutes of our 6:30PM Saturday arrival, the place was packed. The wait staff seemed somewhat overwhelmed from time to time, but we were in no hurry and tempered our view of this with the realization that we were seeing Greek Island under the strain of a full house.
With another waiter or two, five stars are not beyond the pale of possibility, and we do plan to be back despite (for us) the drive."
Dined on 1/17/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Greek Islands Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great service

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Service is usually the most important part of a restaurant experience, and they were very friendly and attentive at Greek Islands. Plus, the food was all very delicious so they followed great service with great food."
Dined on 1/11/2015
 2010
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Greek Islands Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great Greek food

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"The Greek food was authentic and delicious. The service was exemplary. Great choice to go out with friends."
Dined on 12/27/2014
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Greek Islands Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Always a nice experience

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/14/2014
 2005
Dined on 12/14/2014
 2005
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We like this restaurant because the owner is present, overseeing the guest experience. The food is authentic and well prepared. Service is never slow.
We also like that it is easy to park and there is a good variety of choice on the menu.
"
Dined on 12/14/2014
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Greek Islands Grill
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

great baklava but

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Best baklava ever, but the rest of the food was average. Wait staff was wonderful."
Dined on 12/10/2014
 2011
Special Features: kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Greek Islands Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great First Time

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"excellent first time at the restaurant I had read about it in the newspaper and gave it a try. Everyone was welcoming and made us feel like we were regulars. Fish and chicken were awesome as main dishes. The eggplant dish that we had as a starter was great. Will be back"
Dined on 11/29/2014
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Greek Islands Grill
Based on the average of (11) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
8 out of 9 recommend this product
Food 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Service 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Ambiance 
3.4 / 5
(Very Good) 3.4 / 5
Noise Level
2.4 / 3
Energetic