Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Bella Gente Reviews List

Bella Gente

Bella Gente is one of Verona, N.J.'s most popular Trattoria & Ristorante. We are famous for our Brick Oven Pizza and are considered one of the best in town, as well as a variety of specialty dishes created by our own chef Angelo, such as Rock Shrimp Arrabiata, Homemade Soups, Scungilli Fra-Diavolo served with Long Hot Peppers etc. We provide a casual dining experience as well as a formal dining experience with a Mediterranean decor along with a fast, friendly and efficient waitstaff to cater to your every need. We look forward to receiving your reservations and treating you the way you deserve.
See more Bella Gente details
34 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
(34 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 34 reviews
5 stars
(10)
4 stars
(13)
3 stars
(9)
2 stars
(2)
1 star
(0)
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Ambiance 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Noise Level
1.6 / 3
Moderate
Value 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • neighborhood gem(19)
  • good for groups(15)
  • kid-friendly(11)
  • special occasion(7)
  • fit for foodies(6)
  • great for lunch(4)
Bella Gente Reviews List
Review 1 for Bella Gente
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good food and service but a little pricey

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"We stopped by on a Friday night and the restaurant was half empty. We ordered clams oreganato and soup for appetizers. Dinner was a delicious blackened scallops with risotto and Chicken Marsala. Food was delicious and service very attentive. Prices were expensive for a local restaurant. It is a BYO so be prepared."
Dined on 2/05/2016
 2011
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Bella Gente
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Good food terrible service

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"The prices are very reasonable & the food was really pretty good. It's a shame the service was so bad. Hadn't been here since they were located further down Bloomfield Avenue (maybe different owner's? Not sure). The new location is not an improvement. The room could use a renovation. Anyway, waitress was very nice but had (obviously) just returned from her cigarette break. The (I believe) manager took over from her but he wasn't an improvement. He was apologizing all over the room for the kitchen. Maybe that was the problem but 1/2 hour wait for a salad & then another 45 minutes for one entrée to appear & then another 15 minutes for the other entrée is unacceptable. We won't be going back."
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2000
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Bella Gente
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2006
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2006
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Bella Gente
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The waitress was very nice and friendly. She read us all of the specials and answered any questions we had. The food was good. We were there towards the end of the night when they were closing and they did not rush us out which was nice.."
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Bella Gente
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/22/2016
 2015
Dined on 1/22/2016
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/22/2016
 2015
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Bella Gente
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2014
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Bella Gente
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Dined on 12/31/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Bella Gente
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 12/19/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Bella Gente
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Quiet Sunday Test Drive

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We decided to try out this restaurant as it was one of the few scheduled to be open on Christmas Day that had decent reviews.
We wanted a nice place with good food where we could host a relatively small number of family members for Christmas
When we arrived at 3:00 on Sunday afternoon, we were the only diners inside the place.
We remained the only diners for the next couple of hours. There was a steady stream of take out customers (mostly pizza).
Service was excellent (fast and friendly). This was to be expected since we were alone.
Clams Oreganate were excellent (juicy, good size and well seasoned and crisp)
The Caesar salad was good but not great (ordinary croutons, no fresh cheese, no anchovies).
I had the excellent chicken della casa. My wife really enjoyed her baked orata (fish fillet).
I thought it was a little overdone but my wife prefers it that way.
I thought the vegetables could have been more al dente. The host (also our waiter) accepted the critique said we could just have asked for them and they would have gladly make them that way.
Desserts were very good (cannolis for me and lemongello cake for her).
Really good espresso and cappacino.
BYO from across the street. Moderate prices.
Will bring the family there for Christmas if they have a reasonable menu (won't be full) prepared.
"
Dined on 12/13/2015
 2013
Special Features: good for groups, neighborhood gem, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Bella Gente
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 12/12/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Bella Gente
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Excellent food at a reasonable price.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"As the title says, Bella Gente has excellent food at a reasonable price. We mostly eat on the non-pizza side, but the pizza is excellent as well. It is an under the radar find, so you can usually get a table, unless there's a party. The only downside is if it is packed, you may have to wait for your food, but on the good side, you get to spend time with the people you came with. A bonus is it is a BYOB. I can honestly say that I have never had a bad appetizer or entree, and I usually go the Bella Gente every week."
Dined on 11/28/2015
 2014
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Bella Gente
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Never Disappoints

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"For my mother's birthday, we took her to Bella Gente and, once again, came away happy and impressed. The food was wonderful, and everyone at our table - ages ranging from 3 to 69 - was extremely happy with their meal. The staff is understanding of a toddler and go out of their way to be sweet to her. The desserts are great too. We've lived in the area for a little over a year and Bella Gente is our favorite new restaurant."
Dined on 11/15/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Bella Gente
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/14/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Bella Gente
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"A family restaurant, it was pleasant and fairly inexpensive. We were there on a Saturday night. It wasn't too noisy so it was easy to talk. My salmon was good. There was no homemade pasta, but my friend enjoyed the pasta she ordered."
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Bella Gente
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Always a pleasurable experience and good meal.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/17/2015
 2015
Dined on 10/17/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Have been to Bella Gente many times,never had a bad meal.Service is always right on.Staff is friendly and knowledgeable. Price is very fair. Very clean and simply decorated.Looking forward to my next visit."
Dined on 10/17/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Bella Gente
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 9/12/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Bella Gente
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/11/2015
 2010
Dined on 9/11/2015
 2010
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 9/11/2015
 2010
Special Features: kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Bella Gente
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Everyone enjoyed their dinner. Great place to celebrate our parent's 68th wedding anniversary. Waitress was very accommodating with our little ones thanks!"
Dined on 9/05/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Bella Gente
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Friendly, warm atmosphere and delicious food

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We started going to Bella Gente to eat their fantastic thin-crust pizza, which is always delicious and very much to our taste. Then we started trying their main dish specials and once again, everything we have selected has been delicious, especially seafood and pasta dishes. The dining room is lovely, but the decor of the pizza parlor next door needs updating and looks tired. The staff is friendly and very eager to make us comfortable and take care of us in any way that we desire. We have brought friends and they too have been pleased with the food and the service. We are impressed that they will divide our entrees in half and not charge us extra for the additional plating and service. This restaurant is a real find and we hope that others become regular diners there, as we have done."
Dined on 8/29/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Bella Gente
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"This restaurant falls back on service. It's inconsistent and sometimes even annoyingly clumsy. A lot of inexperienced servers over the years since the original staffers left. This visit, we had 3 servers. They moved things along, but it was confusing and overkill. Tables should have one wait staffer, not various staffers coming and going."
Dined on 8/08/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Bella Gente
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/29/2015
 2015
Dined on 7/29/2015
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/29/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Bella Gente
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/01/2015
 2007
Dined on 8/01/2015
 2007
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 8/01/2015
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Bella Gente
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Service slow. Food salty

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Our second visit here. Found service very slow, could have been new waiter food was very salty"
Dined on 7/31/2015
 2008
Special Features: kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Bella Gente
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food is good but the service is unpredictable.

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/16/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Bella Gente
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Perfect Spot for our celebration

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Sometimes you get lucky and we did this past Saturday night having 13 people for dinner at this neighborhood restaurant. Food was great, our table was perfect, service was good and the waiters earned their money. It was relatively busy but not too loud. I have to say it was just a perfect evening and I would highly recommend."
Dined on 5/16/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Bella Gente
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/13/2015
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Bella Gente
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2007
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2007
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Bella Gente
Based on the average of (7) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
7 out of 7 recommend this product
Food 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Service 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Ambiance 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Noise Level
2 / 3
Moderate