Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Calabash Bistro Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Calabash Bistro

The Calabash is a Vessel that Supports Food, Drink, Art, and Music.
It is our vision to provide dynamic and flavorful Caribbean food in a healthy and creative atmosphere. Our menu has been designed to deliver fresh and uplifting cuisine using local and free range product, complimented by original cocktail recipes & a rum list boasting 80+ varieties Calabash is truly unique to the downtown dining experience. We are trying to provide an inspiring and artistic experience while maintaining the highest levels of quality and service and staying true to the roots and traditions of the Caribbean. We feature a chef’s fresh sheet, where our guests can discover unique combinations of West Coast and West Indian cuisine.
There is live music shows and house DJ's most days of the week.
71 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
(71 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 71 reviews
5 stars
(27)
4 stars
(34)
3 stars
(7)
2 stars
(1)
1 star
(2)
Food 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Service 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Ambiance 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Noise Level
2.4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • fit for foodies(41)
  • neighborhood gem(31)
  • good for groups(25)
  • hot spot(18)
  • late-night find(18)
  • great for brunch(15)
Calabash Bistro Reviews List
Review 1 for Calabash Bistro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 06/08/2014
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, hot spot, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Calabash Bistro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 08/02/2015
 2008
Dined on 08/02/2015
 2008
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 08/02/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Calabash Bistro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 14/02/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Calabash Bistro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 23/01/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Calabash Bistro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Calabash is worth checking out

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Came here for a bite to eat before a hockey game - 10 minute walk to Rogers Arena. Food was great - I would say that this is authentic Caribbean home cooking. The seasonings and flavours were definitely Caribbean but not big restaurant style. Service was great, friendly and quick. Drinks were interesting and tasty. We will be back."
Dined on 04/04/2015
 2015
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Calabash Bistro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/04/2015
 2010
Dined on 10/04/2015
 2010
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 10/04/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, hot spot, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Calabash Bistro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Love, love, love

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"One of Vancity's best kept secret locations! Love the cool vibe, the music, the staff and most of all the food. Put it all together and you'll feel like you've arrived in one of the hippest places in town where everything is 'irie mon'!"
Dined on 12/04/2015
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Calabash Bistro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great Carribean food in Vancouver

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"I was visiting Vancouver and took some friends to dinner. The food was excellent and we enjoyed the appetizers and main courses so much that we even ordered rotis to go.
The staff and service were friendly.
"
Dined on 12/04/2015
 2006
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Calabash Bistro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Calabash Bistro- What a great find!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We went to calabash bistro for my friends 27th birthday dinner. The server was SO helpful and amazing. I love when servers are decisive and actually help you through the menu. Loves the appies...everything was tasty. They also let us bring our own cake which was very nice. I would go back again for sure!"
Dined on 07/04/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Calabash Bistro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great Drinks and Vibe

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 20/03/2015
 2013
Dined on 20/03/2015
 2013
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We went to Calabash for a casual dinner on Friday and it was delicious. Drinks were tasty and definitely not weak. I would definitely recommend getting the coconut dumplings!"
Dined on 20/03/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Calabash Bistro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Fun ambiance, ok food.

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The ambiance is lively with many groups having a good. We were hoping for love music but came on the wrong night. Oops our fault. The music gets progressively louder as the night advances. We didn't mind, but good to know if you need to have a quiet romantic conversation. The good was where is was most disappointed. It smelled so nice when I entered, and the prices are high, so I had high expectations. The food was ok or maybe even good, not definitely not great or spectacular, especially for the price."
Dined on 28/02/2015
 2011
Special Features: hot spot, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Calabash Bistro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

I waited too long

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"This restaurant has been on my list for a very long time. I went with friends who had been there before. We ordered our drinks, I had a dark and stormy. I have not had a bartender make me a drink like that for a while....not stingy, I didn't feel like I had to nurse it, not to mention very tasty. I then ordered the goat, Calabash serves their curry's in tiffins. One layer of salad, one rice and one curry. I thought it would not be enough food but I was stuffed, not to mention the flavours. Subtle and flavourful curries and a nice rice mix.
No room for dessert but I will return.
"
Dined on 17/01/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Calabash Bistro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Happy to find good Jamaican food in Vancouver!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"My husband and I had a date night here last weekend and really enjoyed the atmosphere, the food and the drinks. Our server Meghan was awesome and attentive, and we felt relaxed and welcome to hang out as long as we liked. As for the food, I can't tell you how happy we are to have found good Jamaican and Caribbean food in Vancouver! I had oxtail and he had curry goat and both were delicious. We'll definitely be back."
Dined on 07/02/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Calabash Bistro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Good Eats

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"So I took a couple of people to the Bistro for brunch. The food was excellent and quite filling. Everyone enjoyed it, the place was quite empty for some reason so we had no difficulty talking or hearing each other for that matter.
After brunch, we went downstairs to check out the art work & it was extraordinary. Definitely am going to come back for dinner as well as check out the downstairs as I understand they have live music every night.
I am very excited to come back to Calabash Bistro."
Dined on 31/01/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Calabash Bistro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

This spot is a gem!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Calabash has a fun, quirky atmosphere and absolutely delicious food. The service is impeccable. Lots of great share plates and incredible cocktails on their menu. Try the Dark & Stormy and make sure you order the coconut dumplings to start. We'll be back soon for sure."
Dined on 17/01/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Calabash Bistro
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Comfortable, funky and easy to be here.

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Need a place to hang out that has a pulse? This would be a great choice . Relaxed, and with really great music and a competent and familiar staff, it's kind of like being with friends even if you don't know a soul .
The food is ok, and the menu gives plenty of choices in the category. The whole experience reminded us of what it might be like to have your own " cheers " bar.
"
Dined on 31/12/2014
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Calabash Bistro
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

good but not excellent

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Heard so much but food didn't live up to hype. Maybe dinner better than brunch.
Great house hot sauce.
"
Dined on 29/11/2014
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Calabash Bistro
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Completely unprofessional

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 29/11/2014
 2013
Dined on 29/11/2014
 2013
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I made a reservation for myself and three friends 3 weeks in advance, and Calabash phoned me the day before to confirm. However, when we arrived they put us downstairs, at the only table that was not part of an engagement party, which had rented out the space for a private event (except for that one table, apparently). We requested another table 3 times, from 3 different people. Each time they acted as if we were crazy for not wanting to sit there (there were speeches even!). We didn't stay for dinner, because it was uncomfortable and loud. And we felt very disrespected. When we left we expressed our feelings to the staff (at this point 4 people were all around us), all of whom continued to say "It'll be fine down there, don't worry about". Never once did anyone give us the common courtesy of respecting that this is maybe not an appropriate place to put a reservation table. Might I add that half of the upstairs empty (albeit reserved).
I was really looking forward to my meal, and I am very disappointed that I will not be going back."
Dined on 29/11/2014
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Calabash Bistro
Based on the average of (53) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
44 out of 46 recommend this product
Food 
4.5 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Noise Level
2.5 / 3
Energetic